Importing an iPAD

triniboi49

Importing an iPAD

Postby triniboi49 » November 24th, 2010, 6:43 pm

Is an Ipad subject to vat and import duties?

Re: Importing an iPAD

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2010, 6:59 pm

^ yes

Postby bushwakka » November 24th, 2010, 7:38 pm

/thread

aidan

Postby aidan » November 24th, 2010, 10:13 pm

ibtl|||

Devourment

Postby Devourment » November 24th, 2010, 10:33 pm

Don't mean to falsify any info provided by the mighty duane, but I have brought down 6 pads and have never paid any duties or taxes.

It was considered a computer in all 6 cases buy customs officers.

Postby Monk BANzai » November 24th, 2010, 10:34 pm

^^^ exactly.....i've brought in 3 thus far...no issues.....

my only advice to you is to activate it in the US b4 yu bring it in....

Postby nemisis » November 24th, 2010, 10:37 pm

bring it in and post your results

Devourment

Postby Devourment » November 25th, 2010, 12:15 am

Anyone bring in an Amazon Kindle recently? did this make it under the "computer" classificaiton?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 25th, 2010, 12:26 am

^ no it didnt - you still have to pay duty and VAT on a Kindle

only if you bring a laptop, or a COMPLETE computer system would it be free of duty and VAT

Postby shogun » November 25th, 2010, 1:32 am

Damnit! was hoping the kindle carried no duties or tax.

Driven

Postby Driven » November 25th, 2010, 2:58 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ no it didnt - you still have to pay duty and VAT on a Kindle

only if you bring a laptop, or a COMPLETE computer system would it be free of duty and VAT

this may be a stupid question... but when you say complete you mean Monitor, tower, keyboard and mouse?

why I ask is I am considering shipping down a system myself (no monitor)

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » November 25th, 2010, 4:26 am

I brought in a kindle and only paid shipping.

Postby RBphoto » November 25th, 2010, 5:05 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^^ exactly.....i've brought in 3 thus far...no issues.....

More info on this? How am I dong that and how does that help?

Postby Kenjo » November 25th, 2010, 5:52 am

i brought in a kindle and i only paid shipping alone also.i forgot to update my original post on the kindle.i will do that sometime later.with aeropost(upxpress) you can pre-alert your package and this ensure that a clueless customs officer does classify it as a computer

Postby Trini Hookah » November 25th, 2010, 7:18 am

Has your iPeriod come early?

Postby cinco » November 25th, 2010, 7:27 am

Driven wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ no it didnt - you still have to pay duty and VAT on a Kindle

this may be a stupid question... but when you say complete you mean Monitor, tower, keyboard and mouse?

why I ask is I am considering shipping down a system myself (no monitor)

you pay vat and duties on the peripherals
key board mouse speakers

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » November 25th, 2010, 8:35 am

crossdrilled wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^^ exactly.....i've brought in 3 thus far...no issues.....

More info on this? How am I doing that and how does that help?

Rasta might know a bit more since he is ah IT man and all...However, I don't believe it is necessary to activate in the US. I bought one and had it shipped to my sister's in Miami - and collected it there. It comes with an AT&T mini-SIM card that would need to be activated there - if you want to use AT&T's 3G service on it. However, I believe you can get a SIM locally with EDGE / 3G on it, and cut it down to fit the slot.

doc123

Postby doc123 » November 25th, 2010, 9:09 am

shogun wrote:Damnit! was hoping the kindle carried no duties or tax.

I didn't pay VAT or Duties on my Kindle either.

Postby Greypatch » November 25th, 2010, 9:17 am

does TSTT or Digicel have a data plan for the ipad ?

Or are users limited to WiFi ?

2sweet

Postby 2sweet » November 25th, 2010, 10:08 am

Brought in an ipad in early september in my carry-on in full box/packaging and paid nothing as well. Don't know if things changed since then but I hope not because plan on buying another when I travel next month.

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » November 25th, 2010, 10:18 am

Greypatch wrote:does TSTT or Digicel have a data plan for the ipad ?

Or are users limited to WiFi ?

Patch - This I would like to know too. I am guessing that you can get a SIM card with just a data package on it from either provider - similar to what you would use on smart phones. However, I highly doubt that they have the mini SIM that the iPad requires. In which case, you would have to carefully cut the SIM card to fit in the slot.

Postby Greypatch » November 25th, 2010, 11:08 am

Would like to hear from the users...

ah fell dem rocking WiFi only

Postby SR » November 25th, 2010, 11:11 am

Wifi

wuks good but there is a catch when u want to purchase apps etc for it you have to have a US credit card

enigma

Postby enigma » November 25th, 2010, 11:21 am

SR, if u have an apple account from before u can use that to purchase ur apps, OR, i used my local card to purchase stuff from apple before but its tricky. PM me if you wanna know how.

Postby Monk BANzai » November 25th, 2010, 12:25 pm

Tired Accord wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:

Rasta might know a bit more since he is ah IT man and all...However, I don't believe it is necessary to activate in the US. I bought one and had it shipped to my sister's in Miami - and collected it there. It comes with an AT&T mini-SIM card that would need to be activated there - if you want to use AT&T's 3G service on it. However, I believe you can get a SIM locally with EDGE / 3G on it, and cut it down to fit the slot.

agreed..but then when you try to download apps for the Ipad it asks for your i-tunes account or info regarding it....the last one i brought in (for myself) i had to use a friends US CC info to activate it locally...

bear in mind folks that just like the Iphone, any one sold out of the US or the UK is considered to be an illegal unit...

Postby SR » November 25th, 2010, 12:32 pm

yup yup

bought it for my sis and bro in law so dem go see bout the activation part

and yes he hada go tru the us account

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » November 25th, 2010, 12:40 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:agreed..but then when you try to download apps for the Ipad it asks for your i-tunes account or info regarding it....the last one i brought in (for myself) i had to use a friends US CC info to activate it locally...
bear in mind folks that just like the Iphone, any one sold out of the US or the UK is considered to be an illegal unit...

Oh yes! F0@k - I forgot that! If you don't have an iTunes account - you need to put in a credit/debit card to activate an account - and you need to do that first before you can even use the 'Pad. I used my Bank of America debit card. But I guess there is a way to use your local credit card as was said a couple posts back.

Postby Sky » November 25th, 2010, 12:51 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
Tired Accord wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:

agreed..but then when you try to download apps for the Ipad it asks for your i-tunes account or info regarding it....the last one i brought in (for myself) i had to use a friends US CC info to activate it locally...

Another reason why I will never buy an apple product. All their products must be exclusive to a group in some way. And the Ipad aint all that great!

Postby Monk BANzai » November 25th, 2010, 1:02 pm

^^ who cares? to use apple lovers its cool...if yuh doh like it..block yuh eye...

does teh screen flip automatically on the HP? when yu flip the unit?

can i automatically resize photos with my fingers?......all the good gooey stuff?..

no?...

(hands him iFail sticker)....

use it...

Postby Sky » November 25th, 2010, 1:04 pm

.....MY HTC DOES THAT!!
And I don't have cargo pockets that big :P