16 cycles wrote:Rowley better come good in all this. Patos has made more waves in this one episode than Rowley has in the last 6 months.
You can do it!!!!
pioneer wrote:Not sure how true this is...but i heard she ordered not one...but two Maybach 62 S
fully custom built, bullet proof etc etc for "diplomats" and high ranking state officials
cost???
pioneer wrote:Not sure how true this is...but i heard she ordered not one...but two Maybach 62 S
fully custom built, bullet proof etc etc for "diplomats" and high ranking state officials
cost???
cost???
Rowley: We stand by Manning
Richard Lord
Published: 23 Nov 2010
Richard Lord
Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley says the People’s National Movement (PNM) is standing by former prime minister Patrick Manning’s claim about the construction of Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s private residence in south Trinidad. Speaking in Parliament last Friday, Manning raised questions about the funding for the project and called on Persad-Bissessar to produce documents to show the property had all the required approvals. He said the property was built at a cost of $150 million. Persad-Bissessar has since denied that claim and maintained that all was above board with the project.
Asked to comment on the matter during a news conference at his Charles Street, Port-of-Spain office yesterday, Rowley declared: “We stand by our Member of Parliament, assuming that he is responsible and well informed. “Mr Manning does not stand alone, Mr Manning is a PNM MP and therefore, if he is taking a position in the Parliament, until it has been shown that he has been wrong, we are not taking a position on it.” Rowley noted that “all our MPs are expected to be responsible when they take the floor in the Parliament.”
Rowley said the present situation reminded him of a similar situation years ago, when Persad-Bissessar (as an Opposition MP) supported claims of wrongdoing in the Landate project at Mason Hall, Tobago, by then Chief Whip Ganga Singh. Landate was a private housing project owned by Dr Rowley’s wife, Sharon. Rowley said he hoped Persad-Bissessar now understood how he felt over unfounded claims of wrongdoing against him. “I hope she understands now what it feels like to be accused unjustly,” he added. Rowley said he was subjected to a series of investigations and was treated as a criminal.
Rowley said at that time House Speaker, Wade Mark (then Leader of Opposition Business in the Upper House) led a walkout of the chamber in protest of his (Rowley’s) presence. Rowley later reiterated his call for citizens to deal with the institutions of State and not individuals. He said that was the only way for the nation to advance. “If we run this country on personalities we are never going to build the independent democracy that we are trying to build,” he added.
'Prove Manning wrong'
Rowley: PNM not taking any position
By Ria Taitt Political Editor
Story Created: Nov 22, 2010 at 10:47 PM ECT
Story Updated: Nov 22, 2010 at 10:47 PM ECT
Until it has been shown that San Fernando East MP Patrick Manning's allegations against Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar are wrong, the People's National Movement (PNM) is not taking any position on it, except to say that all MPs are expected to be responsible when they take the Parliament floor, Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley said yesterday.
"Mr Manning is a very experienced Parliamentarian and I am sure he would be able to handle himself," he said at a press conference at the Opposition Leader's yesterday.
He added that Manning was responsible for the content of his speech on Friday.
"I am in no position to say whether what he said is true or not. So I can't adjudicate on it, nor can the party headquarters. What we can say is that we stand by our Member of Parliament, assuming that he is responsible and well-informed," Rowley said.
Rowley stressed that MPs were responsible for their own actions in the Parliament.
Rowley who said he had no prior knowledge or consultation with Manning on the contents of his contribution, stated: "Mr Manning is a Member of Parliament and members of Parliament have privilege and that privilege is not offered to them by party headquarters or by the leader of the party or by anybody. It is privilege offered to them by virtue of the office they hold...Any Member of Parliament can choose to raise whatever he wants to raise. His or her personal conduct is a matter for him or her and that is governed by the parliamentary Standing Orders."
Asked whether the PNM would seek to defend Manning who is likely to face a motion of Privilege, Rowley said: "Members of Parliament are required to defend themselves for individual conduct and the party will support what is defensible and will not support what is indefensible". He said if the matter went to the Privilege Committee, it would be a matter for the Parliament.
Asked whether he saw similarities between Manning's allegations against Persad-Bissessar and Manning's allegations against him on an alleged missing $10 million in the Cleaver Heights Development Project, Rowley said he saw more similarities in the Landate allegations (that material from the Scarborough Hospital project was used in a private development called Landate owned by Rowley and his wife) and this one against Persad-Bissessar.
Both involved the construction of private homes and involved the spouses. He said he hoped that the Prime Minister now understands how he felt when she took the position she did when Ganga Singh came to the Parliament and accused him and his family of "just what Persad-Bissessar was being accused of now".
"I hope she understands now what it is like to be accused unjustly," he said.
Saying that Singh brought his wife's personal project into the Parliament and laid it at his (Rowley's) feet, alleging an act of wrongdoing on his part, Rowley said Persad-Bissessar was one of those who took Singh's statement as "gospel" and had a lot to say about him (Rowley) and treated him like a criminal.
Rowley said he remembered going to the Senate and Wade Mark (now Speaker) led a walkout of the Senators because they could not bring themselves to stay in the Parliament and listen to "this minister" (him) deliver a contribution.
"Today, I am not saying it is right to accuse anybody without being able to substantiate it. I am simply saying that the boot is now on another foot and I hope she now understands what it feels like to be so accused," said Rowley.
RASC wrote:So who gonna win the contract to build the Helipad?
Did they get town and country planning to build that bunker?
Bezman wrote:RASC wrote:So who gonna win the contract to build the Helipad?
Ya Uncle Rowley building it with the materials he thief from the Scarbrough Hospital construction site that was left over from building ya family house in Tobago that ya'll use to store cocaine in with the tunnels to Trinidad used for the Dole Chadee drug trafficking and transporting money to UNC political campaigns
RASC wrote:Bezman wrote:RASC wrote:So who gonna win the contract to build the Helipad?
Ya Uncle Rowley building it with the materials he thief from the Scarbrough Hospital construction site that was left over from building ya family house in Tobago that ya'll use to store cocaine in with the tunnels to Trinidad used for the Dole Chadee drug trafficking and transporting money to UNC political campaigns
Well now it all making sense
evo-STI-k wrote:So all of you realise that RASC has Accused the Current PM of being a Drug Baroness!
as quoited from a previous POST in this same thread!
RASC wrote:
Kamala building complex the size of a typical Drug Kingpin.
No class, no taste, just opulence for opulence sake. I wouldn't be surprised if she decides electrify the fence, and inserts a helipad when new shipments coming in.
She's gonna build a Helipad, and a sorting house for new product. Distribution, sorting, branding and packaging will be done on site. Don't be alarmed
RASC wrote:So who gonna win the contract to build the Helipad?
sMASH wrote:RASC wrote:So who gonna win the contract to build the Helipad?
do some investigative research and bring some facts to support ur rants, go an take pics like manning. if she building it, i am sure the regulatory bodies will do their utmost best to ensure all works would be legal.
Bezman wrote:ahh boy Rene ya fast there, ya smart to remove that quote ya had there
pioneer wrote:Cali Cartel?...RASC??!!!...this is TUNER yunno...men here dunno wha that issss man
oh gosh