Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » November 21st, 2010, 6:47 pm

Redman wrote:
M_2NR wrote:
Redman wrote:Just unlocked AFAIK
I cut and installed my SIM-the BB SIM-it worked as a phone but without the data-so I reverted to my BB,
I installed the Parrot hands free in the car ,re installed the SIM into the iphone,but when I tried using the iphone with the Parrot- the phone wouldnt get a signal- NO Service in the upper left hand corner.

I think the phone is just unlocked, no jail break.

So this thing is factory installed 4.0.2
therefore from what Im reading there isnt a jailbreak for it.

So whats the best course of action?

Later

where u got the phone from? US? CAN? France? UK?

U made calls i assume? It worked?

Is there cydia?

The phones came from the US supposedly unlocked.
My geek nephew spent exactly 30 seconds to figure every thing out.
He installed cydia on both.
It took me longer to get it out the fackin box

BUT the 32g was working yesterday- but the cell signal was spotty and overnight it lost all charge and this AM I cant get service.despite the 16 having full signal
I switched SIMS and the 32G still cant make calls-but the WiFi is working.

so its something with that specific unit.

Any advice is appreciated

Later

do a restore using tinyumbrella as soon as u can. If he is a "nerd"/"geek" he should be able to do this for u without fcking up the BB. aka updating you to iOS 4.1 without updating your baseband using tinyumbrella and SHSH's and restoring in itunes with TSS Server running. then see if it works and then jailbreak using greenpoison.

NOTE: DO NOT use virgin 4.1 straight away in iTunes. there are guides at the top of the last page i think for this.

IF it doesnt work restore cleanly again (using the same method outlined above) removing cydia etc and take it back to apple RIGHT AWAY.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 22nd, 2010, 11:59 am

Its official now! Apple has just issued a press release, confirming that the much awaited iOS 4.2.x software update will be be publicly available today for download via iTunes 10.1. Full press release is as follows:

Apple’s iOS 4.2 Available Today for iPad, iPhone & iPod touch

Major Software Update Brings Multitasking, Folders, Unified Inbox, Game Center, AirPlay & AirPrint to iPad

CUPERTINO, California—November 22, 2010—Apple® today announced that iOS 4.2, the latest version of the world’s most advanced mobile operating system, is available today for download for iPad™, iPhone® and iPod touch®. iOS 4.2 brings over 100 new features from iOS 4.0, 4.1 and 4.2 to iPad including Multitasking, Folders, Unified Inbox, Game Center, AirPlay® and AirPrint.

“iOS 4.2 makes the iPad a completely new product, just in time for the holiday season,” said Steve Jobs, Apple’s CEO. “Once again, the iPad with iOS 4.2 will define the target that other tablets will aspire to, but very few, if any, will ever be able to hit.”

iPad users can now run their favorite apps and switch between them instantly, while preserving iPad’s legendary battery life. Users can organize their apps with drag-and-drop simplicity using Folders, and Mail now features a Unified Inbox, fast inbox switching and a threaded message view.

Game Center allows iPad, iPhone and iPod touch users to challenge and play friends or be matched automatically with new opponents, showcase their scores and achievements, and discover new games their friends are playing.

AirPlay is a new feature for streaming music, video and photos wirelessly from iPad, iPhone and iPod touch to Apple TV®, transforming Apple TV into a great accessory for iPad, iPhone and iPod touch. iOS users also will be able to use AirPort Express® and AirPlay to stream wirelessly to any stereo or powered speakers, or directly to AirPlay-enabled speakers coming to market in the months ahead.

AirPrint is a next-generation Wi-Fi print architecture that dramatically simplifies printing by completely eliminating printer drivers. A selection of AirPrint enabled printers including the HP Photosmart, HP LaserJet Pro and HP Officejet will be the first to support printing direct from iOS devices. iPad, iPhone and iPod touch users can simply tap to print their documents or photos wirelessly to any printer that supports AirPrint.

The Find My iPhone (or iPad or iPod touch) feature is now free to use without a MobileMe℠ subscription and helps you locate your missing device.* The Find My iPhone app is a free download on the App Store℠ and lets users easily locate a missing device on a map and have it display a message or play a sound. Users can even remotely lock or wipe data from a lost device to protect privacy.

Other new features that iOS 4.2 brings to the iPad include: the ability to rent TV episodes directly to iPad using the iTunes® App with a 30 day viewing window and a 48 hour session window once playback is started; the ability to easily find and highlight specific words and phrases on web pages in Safari®; enhanced enterprise support so businesses can take advantage of stronger security features, new device management capabilities and improved enterprise integration; industry-leading accessibility enhancements; and support for 25 additional languages, including Korean, Portuguese and Traditional Chinese.

The revolutionary iPad allows users to connect with their apps and content in a more intimate, intuitive and fun way than ever before. You can browse the web, read and send email, enjoy and share photos, watch HD videos, listen to music, play games, read ebooks and much more, using the innovative Multi-Touch™ user interface. iPad weighs just 1.5 pounds, making it easy to carry and use anywhere.

Today, customers have downloaded more than seven billion apps from the groundbreaking App Store and more than 300,000 apps are available to consumers in 90 countries, with more than 40,000 native iPad apps. Over 125 million iOS users around the world can choose from an incredible range of apps in 20 categories, including games, business, news, sports, health, reference and travel.

Availability
    The iOS 4.2 update is available today to download to iPad, iPhone and iPod touch by syncing the device with iTunes 10.1. iOS 4.2 is compatible with iPad, iPhone 3G, iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4, second and third generation iPod touch (late 2009 models with 32GB or 64GB) and new iPod touch. Some features may not be available on all products. For example, Multitasking requires iPhone 3GS, iPhone 4, third generation iPod touch (late 2009 models with 32GB or 64GB) or later.

*The free Find My iPhone feature is available for iPhone 4, iPad or new iPod touch (4th generation).

Apple designs Macs, the best personal computers in the world, along with OS X, iLife, iWork, and professional software. Apple leads the digital music revolution with its iPods and iTunes online store. Apple is reinventing the mobile phone with its revolutionary iPhone and App Store, and has recently introduced its magical iPad which is defining the future of mobile media and computing devices.

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 22nd, 2010, 12:24 pm

very nice!! awaits ultrasn0w

Postby M_2NR » November 22nd, 2010, 12:43 pm

SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH SAVE SHSH

WE LIKE IT!!!

Lol... same here Aaron. I'm so pissed only new devices getting Find My iPhone for free >_> i always wanted that.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 22nd, 2010, 12:57 pm

allyuh think it too late to save SHSH?

i didnt walk with my cable today...gonna have to do it later tonight

Postby M_2NR » November 22nd, 2010, 1:00 pm

all this time we telling ulyuh... look eh... :|

GO NAOW!

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 22nd, 2010, 1:09 pm

:( :( :( no cable...and yuh know i doh ever forget my cable home cept tuhday

oh well unless theres another way, il have to wait for the tethered jailbreak.

hopefully il get through later

Postby M_2NR » November 22nd, 2010, 1:24 pm

it should be ok by the time u home hopefully, but its odd you didnt save yours already.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 22nd, 2010, 1:34 pm

I kno...i di stick bad bad...even my bro was telling me to do it, granted he became and overnight iphone junky in April when i got him his first 3G...now he doing unlocks and jailbreaking on tuner for a small charge....man have phones lining up waiting for today...he said the unlock should be out by the 26th

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » November 22nd, 2010, 2:10 pm

how he know that?? he on d eenside awa??

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 22nd, 2010, 2:20 pm

i doh ask na....everything i tell him, i read from here, he does be finishing the sentence o_O

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 22nd, 2010, 5:06 pm

iOS 4.2.1 Download Links

iPhone 3G
iPhone 3GS
iPhone 4

iPad

iPod touch 2G
iPod touch 3G
iPod touch 4G

------

With iOS 4.2.1 being released to the masses today, here’s a couple tips for jailbreakers. If you’re on iOS 4.1 and jailbroken, by this point you should know how to save your SHSH blobs via TinyUmbrella or Cydia.
As of right now, most jailbreak methods that work on iOS 4.2.1 are pretty hairy. I highly suggest waiting to upgrade for the official tools.

------

When Apple announced Find my iPhone was going free this morning they seemed to restrict it to 2010 hardware: iPhone 4, iPod touch 4, and iPad, but now it looks like there may be a way to get it working on iPhone 3GS and other unsupported devices.

Apple.com wrote:Create a free Find My iPhone account on any iPhone 4, iPad, or iPod touch (4th generation) running iOS 4.2. Once you create an account on a qualifying device, use your Apple ID and password to enable Find My iPhone on your other devices running iOS 4.2. Find My iPhone is not available in all countries.

------

A couple weeks ago we reported that Apple would not be including AirPlay support on the iPhone 3G and today with the release of iOS 4.2, Apple confirmed this. The confirmation comes from a footnote on Apple’s official iOS website:

AirPlay and Game Center are available on iPad, iPhone 4, iPhone 3GS, and iPod touch (2nd generation and later).

------

In addition to offering Find My iPhone free, it looks like Apple may also offer the MobileMe Gallery at no charge to non-subscribers.

The new mobile signin page for MobileMe shows 'Find My iPhone' and 'MobileMe Gallery' separated about the paid iDisk and Mail, Contacts, and Calendar syncing services.

Apple today updated the 'Find My iPhone' app to bring free access to customers. The MobileMe Gallery app has not been updated yet.

No word yet on how much storage would be included if the MobileMe Gallery does indeed go free.

------

iPhone Dev Team wrote:FW 4.2.1 is public..don't accidentally accept upgrade offer from iTunes! Be sure to have 4.1 SHSHs before window closes!

Postby M_2NR » November 22nd, 2010, 6:21 pm

streetlifestyle wrote:how he know that?? he on d eenside awa??

he's just guestimating... remember the devs said it would be a day or two? id say 26th is a safe estimate.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 22nd, 2010, 6:35 pm

SRASC wrote:
iPhone Dev Team wrote:FW 4.2.1 is public..don't accidentally accept upgrade offer from iTunes! Be sure to have 4.1 SHSHs before window closes!

Yikesss....the Window closing and I aint home yet :shocked!:

Postby M_2NR » November 22nd, 2010, 6:58 pm

hopefully it wont when u home. I still find it very odd you didnt.
I gonna try syncing to google contacts.
SRASC, check this:
http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/G ... 298f&hl=en

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 22nd, 2010, 7:40 pm

Ran thru the house, grabbed cable, wakeup lappy, connect iphone......Wife watchin meh like WTF....

SHSH blobs saved!!!

Good now ah could go switch off the car, close the gate, get back the dog from running out the road and lock the dooor..........suhweeeet!

Postby M_2NR » November 22nd, 2010, 7:53 pm

:rofl: i removed my "cloud" sync. same issue i think SRASC desc. they STILL cannot sync custom labels on phones... sigh...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 22nd, 2010, 8:09 pm

^^^ lol. Good to hear blobs were saved though.

M_2NR, never had an issue like that. Well the way it was described though. My current issue with using Google Contacts... (I'll quote the message I posted to Google's Help Forums this morning).

SRASC wrote:I use my Gmail account to sync my contacts to my iPhone. For the most part it works fine, except for a problem I have been having for a little while now.
For some reason some of my contacts are moved from under the My Contacts group to the Other Contacts group. This happens without warning so only when I am looking for one of those contacts that are usually affected is when I realize what happened & then I have to take those contacts, move them back to My Contacts, merge some of them as necessary, combine others, & then re-sync.
This is really irritating. Anyone know any cause or solutions to this problem?

I would switch back to Outlook, but whenever I download the .csv & import to Outlook, the birthdays are usually way off & don't feel like going through that headache again. Beyond this, I am fine using this method.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 22nd, 2010, 9:05 pm

iPhone Dev Team wrote:With Turkey Day a few days off, today Apple publicly released FW version 4.2.1. As always, ultrasn0w unlockers please stay far far away from this official firmware (and all official firmware). Wait for the ability to create custom 4.2.1. IPSWs that don’t update your baseband! If you’re not an unlocker, read on!

The best news of all is for owners of iPhone3G, older iPhone3GS, and non-MC iPod touch 2G. Due to a combination of our original pwnage2 exploit, the arm7_go exploit, 24kpwn, and limera1n, your device is “just as jailbreakable as ever.” You reap the full benefit of an untethered 4.2.1 jailbreak.

Next are the owners of all the more recent devices. The good news there is that due to geohot’s limera1n exploit, all recent devices can be jailbroken (this will be true until Apple released new hardware that fixes geohot’s limerain exploit in the bootrom). The bad news is that right now, the 4.2.1 jailbreak is *tethered* on all of these recent devices. A tethered jailbreak means that each time your device loses battery power or needs to be rebooted, you must attach it to a PC or Mac to boot into the jailbroken state. @comex is working hard on a method that may untether the 4.2.1 jailbreak, but it will require you to have your 4.1 SHSH blobs in order to use it. No word on how much more effort it will take though (please don’t bug @comex about it!). (We also have an alternative method that may work, but @comex’s method is much more elegant.)

So when does all this 4.2.1 jailbreak action happen? Well if you’re a JB developer or tinkerer, you’ve already probably used the redsn0w mentioned in our last post to jailbreak 4.2.1 and at least get SSH working. But beyond that, there are still some last minute issues with MobileSubstrate and comex’s kernel patches that are being fixed. We’ll tweet and post a blog update when it’s all available (we hate to give ETAs, but barring any unforeseen problems, probably later today).

In the meantime, please make sure you have your 4.1 SHSH blobs for all your devices. These will be important even for firmware beyond 4.1 (using both comex’s method and our alternative, depending on how each of them turn out.)

ultrasn0w unlock: After redsn0w is officially released with the new Cydia and kernel patches, we’ll be able to assess the unlock situation. It’s already looking very promising though, so expect the unlock for the 3G and 3GS to be coming this week. The i4 unlock is taking more effort though, and no further concrete info is available about that yet.

Feel free to ask questions in our comments section below, where we’ve got some awesome new additional moderators — sherif_hashim, dhlizard, and Frank55!

------

The well known iPhone developer and hacker Joshua Hill of the Chronic Dev Team has provided an ETA for the arrival of updated GreenPois0n jailbreak tool for the newly released iOS 4.2.1 firmware. For those of you who don’t know, GreenPois0n is based on Geohot’s Limera1n bootrom exploit which has already pwned all current iOS devices for life. The only problem is that it is a tethered jailbreak, which means you will have to boot it into a “jailbroken state” using a tool like Redsn0w on every reboot.

GreenPois0n should be updated to support 4.2.1 (tethered or semitethered) within a few days.

This so called tethered or semi-tethered jailbreak however only applies to the new devices like: iPhone 3GS (new bootrom), iPhone 4, iPad, iPod touch 2G (MC Model), iPod touch 3G and the iPod touch 4G. Old devices like iPhone 3GS (old bootrom), iPhone 3G and iPod touch 2G (Non-MC Model) can be jailbroken-untethered right now using tools such as Redsn0w.

So until and unless Comex of Spirit and JailbreakMe fame comes up with another untethered hack for iOS 4.2.1, the jailbreak we get for the newer devices will be tethered (or semi-tethered).

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 22nd, 2010, 10:01 pm

▲▲▲
Did a refresh of Me.com & got that. Looks like only Find My iPhone is the only free MobileMe feature we're gonna get.
iClarified.com's version from earlier.
▼▼▼

Postby M_2NR » November 22nd, 2010, 10:08 pm

SRASC wrote:^^^ lol. Good to hear blobs were saved though.

M_2NR, never had an issue like that. Well the way it was described though. My current issue with using Google Contacts... (I'll quote the message I posted to Google's Help Forums this morning).

SRASC wrote:I use my Gmail account to sync my contacts to my iPhone. For the most part it works fine, except for a problem I have been having for a little while now.
For some reason some of my contacts are moved from under the My Contacts group to the Other Contacts group. This happens without warning so only when I am looking for one of those contacts that are usually affected is when I realize what happened & then I have to take those contacts, move them back to My Contacts, merge some of them as necessary, combine others, & then re-sync.
This is really irritating. Anyone know any cause or solutions to this problem?

I would switch back to Outlook, but whenever I download the .csv & import to Outlook, the birthdays are usually way off & don't feel like going through that headache again. Beyond this, I am fine using this method.

damn! im back to syncing with itunes but still using my google contacts. This way it preserves my contacts custom labels. see here

I kinda screwed it up a lil though :( gonna fix it now.. it backsynced my google contacts so i have some contacts like amazon as contacts.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 23rd, 2010, 10:11 am

iOS 4.2.1 (marketed as 4.2)

For iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad
    Bug fixes
      Fixes intermittent Wi-Fi issues from the unreleased iOS 4.2 update
      Fixes VoIP issues
      Fixes Car Stereo "music skip" issues
      Fixes bug where the Birthdays Calendar does not display Birthdays starting more than 77 Years ago
    AirPlay
    2 new fonts for Notes in Settings (Helvetica and Chalkboard)
    Safari 6533.18.5, WebKit 533.17.9
    Added support for Chinese URL over Safari
    Added an indicator in the App Store which shows if an App supports Game Center
    Support for CoreMIDI
    YouTube voting
    Minor improvements in UI graphics
    New Parental Controls for deleting Apps, changing mail accounts and location services
    New wallpapers
    Wallpapers for the second generation iPod Touch (someone could verify this?)
    Find My iPhone location feature is free for (iPhone 4, iPad & 4th Gen iPod Touch) running on iOS 4.2.1P4 T4 S1 S2
    The fontsize of text in Calendar can now be changed in the Accessibility settings
    Security fixes

iPad exclusive features
    4.x Support for the iPad
    iOS 4 features for iPad (Multitasking, Folders, etc.)
    Updated Carrier Signal Strength Display (3G iPad only)
      Increase in the length of the smaller signal bars
      The method in which signal strength is calculated has been enhanced
    Additions to the multitasking tray
      Brightness
      Volume control
      AirPlay Controls
    iPad screen rotation lock switch is converted into a sound/silent switch in iOS 4.2 (Just like on the iPhones)
    More than 30 new keyboards and dictionaries, including Arabic, Greek, and Hebrew
    New Multitasking animation
    New bookmarks design

iPhone and iPod Touch exclusive features
    Bug Fixes
      Fixes glitch that can let a user get into the phone app while the phone is locked via "Emergency Call" by dialing a random number and quickly pressing the lock button after dialing that call
      Fixes the alarm bug caused by daylight saving time changing, affected on a part of iPhone and iPod Touch owners located in Australia, New Zealand, and some European countries
      Improved iPhone 3G performance
    Additions to multitasking tray
      Volume controls
      AirPlay controls
    New Voice Memos icon
    Ability to initiate FaceTime calls from Voice Control
    FaceTime shortcut from Messages app (iPhone 4 only)
    New Text Tone Alerts (New & Original tone lists) (iPhone 4 only)
    Ringer & Alerts on/off switch (Settings > Sounds) for volume buttons (iPhone only)
    Assign different text tone alerts to each contact (iPhone only)
    Restores full Field Test Mode

------

The iPhone Dev-Team has released a new version of RedSn0w to jailbreak iOS 4.2.1

The jailbreak is currently tethered for most devices except for the iPhone3G, older iPhone3GS, and non-MC iPod touch 2G.

Comex is working on a way to untether the jailbreak for newer devices but it will require you to have your 4.1 SHSH blobs in order to use it.

Both Cydia (within redsn0w 0.9.6b4) and MobileSubstrate (install via Cydia) are now 4.2.1 compatible.

You can download Redsn0w .9.6b4 from here:
● Mac (mirror)
● Windows (mirror)

------

If your music has disappeared after updating to iOS 4.2.1, there is an easy fix.

Users in the Apple Discussion forums have found that if you plug your iPhone into the computer, open iTunes and play a song from on your device, then sync, the music will magically reappear.

Postby M_2NR » November 23rd, 2010, 1:13 pm

This is easily the most depressing news today...
Don't update to 4.2.1. TU cannot kick you out of the ensuing recovery mode. Apple was cute and put a BB ver requirement on the firmware.

The new BB requirement for firmware is a startling revelation. This has implications reaching beyond just folks that need to unlock... =/

via @notcom
http://twitter.com/notcom/status/7070964349149185
http://twitter.com/notcom/status/7067265174347777

Let's hope it is easily patched cuz that would mean we can't /just/ use a newer f/w and not update our BB. :(

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 23rd, 2010, 1:49 pm

Ahhhhh :D :D :D

Did the DevTeam think that the Apple wouldnt put in a nice little surprise in there
I think we all underestimate them...Kudos to Apple.

It just gonna make the JB and Unlock even more interesting.

hot blue

Postby hot blue » November 23rd, 2010, 8:00 pm

question guys... concerning updating a 3GS to 4.0/4.1 and using jailbreakme/ultras0w

how do you get past the initial lock screen? Do you just use the AT&T sim with itunes?

Postby M_2NR » November 23rd, 2010, 11:27 pm

with jailbreakme.com

yes.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 24th, 2010, 9:04 am

A survey of Macworld editors reveals their most-hoped-for features that still aren’t in iOS 4.2.

The List:
● Better notifications
● Improved multitasking
● More Mail features
● Better application data sharing/syncing/access
● iCal to-do syncing
● Wireless syncing
● Dashboard-like functionality
● Streaming your media to iOS devices
● AirPrint
● A hardware orientation-lock switch on the iPad

What features are you still waiting for?

------

An explanation of what a tethered jailbreak is and what it means for those looking to jailbreak iOS 4.2.1, courtesy of the iPhone Dev-Team.

● If you’re on an iPhone3G, old-bootrom iPhone3GS, or non-MC ipt2g, life is easy. redsn0w installed an untethered jailbreak and so nothing below applies.

● "Tethered" does not mean you cannot boot at all without PC/Mac assistance. If you have not installed any tweaks that hook into important programs like SpringBoard or CommCenter, your device will actually boot. However, jailbreak programs like Cydia won’t work (and Cydia may still have a white icon). Also, certain built-in apps that had to be moved by Cydia will fail (Safari being the most noticeable example).

● If you’ve installed MobileSubstrate tweaks that hook into SpringBoard or other important programs, your boot will actually fail (you’ll get stuck at the Apple logo). You need to use redsn0w to "Just boot tethered right now".

------

MacStories is claiming a “reliable source” has told them Apple was targeting a December release for their next update, iOS 4.3 for iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad:

when Apple didn’t know about the WiFi issues in the GM seed of iOS 4.2, the OS was scheduled to be released weeks before Nov. 22nd. Apple found out about the WiFi issues, released a second GM build and iOS 4.2 came out yesterday. It came out in November, but it should have been out in the first half of November. Anyway, before the WiFi issues were discovered, Apple was already planning to release a new build of iOS 4.x in mid-December. Most specifically, they were planning for an iOS 4.3 release on December 13th, which is a Monday.

Our source tells us it is unclear whether the “extra time” that was required to ship iOS 4.2 (actually, it’s iOS 4.2.1) will cause a delay for the rumored release of iOS 4.3 on December 13th or not. iOS 4.3 should, however, include bug fixes and maintenance of the code. It’s likely that 4.3 will also address the initial issues found in AirPlay, but we can’t confirm this just yet.

This is all supposed to tie in to the rumored App Store subscriptions Apple may be about to launch alongside Newscorps’ The Daily iPad newspaper app, and the also rumored December Apple special event with Steve Jobs and Rupert Murdoch.

Unlike hardware refreshes where Apple has stuck to reliable yearly schedule so far, software updates have been all over the place. iOS 4 came out in June. iOS 4.1 came out in September. iOS 4.2 came out just yesterday (November). iOS 3 only ever went to iOS 3.1.3 in February 2010. iOS 2 went to version 2.2.1 in January 2009. iOS 1 went to 1.1.4 in February 2008 (not including an iPod touch-only 1.1.5 security fix).

------

In a pattern that has become very familiar to watchers of the computer market in the last few years, sales of Macs have grown at three times the rate of computers powered by other operating systems. According to a report issued by IDC, Apple computer sales jumped 28.5 percent in the July-September 2010 quarter compared to the same period in 2009. Sales of other personal computers only grew by 9.7% in the same period.

The single biggest jump in sales has come from the business market, which is up by 66.3%. Among large and very large businesses, sales spiked 146% and 202% respectively, which is an excellent sign for Apple. Those large businesses tend to be controlled by large IT departments, which are typically very conservative when it comes to computer system upgrades and replacements. The popularity of iOS devices among executives and the more tech savvy is probably playing a big part in convincing these companies to take another look at Apple on the desktop.

According to IDC's estimates of average selling prices, Apple is also now the dollar market share leader in the U.S. home market with 29.4% of all the dollars spent on computers in the period. However, this figure is open to debate based on IDC estimating a higher average transaction price than Apple's own results. Regardless of which revenue estimate is correct, it's clear that Apple is gaining a lot traction in every market except education where PCs outpaced Macs by 11.4% to 5.1%. Apple still has plenty of room to grow however, with only 4.36% of the global computer market.

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 25th, 2010, 8:56 am

tried the Dev's team jailbreak for 4.2....there seems to be a glitch somehow....ure seeing the screen jumping etc.....

ddint get chance to reload the ios and try again...im getting my 3gs today which ios should i load on it???

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 25th, 2010, 9:19 am

^^^ I think 4.1 should be a safe bet for at least right now.

------

Turns out there might be a hard — and permanent — per device limit to setting up those free Find my iPhone accounts Apple announced alongside iOS 4.2.1, the ones you needed an iPhone 4, iPod touch (2010), or iPad to initiate but could then use on iPhone 3GS and other, older hardware.

TiPb Forum member milani started setting up a few accounts and after the 3rd he was greeted with a popup that said:
Cannot Sign In
The maximum number of free accounts have been activated on this iPhone.

There’s a learn more button but apparently whatever landing page is supposed to be there to explain further isn’t there yet.
A second popup read:
Account Limit Reached
This device is no longer eligible for creating a free MobileMe account.

Now granted, most users won’t need more than one account. They’ll create it, set it up on their iOS devices and be done. However some family members may only have one 2010 device to create the accounts on but want one or more accounts for different devices, for privacy’s sake. If there is indeed a hard limit of 3 accounts per device it would be neighborly of Apple to “fine print” it somewhere. We looked but couldn’t find anything, even in the Knowledge Base FAQ. There doesn’t seem to be a way to remove accounts either, so once you’ve created 3 on a device, that’s it, that’s all. Forever.
So if you were planning on setting up multiple accounts, be forewarned.

------

Apple may be planning to launch an all new MacBook Pro in April alongside an update to Final Cut Pro, according to Three Guys and a Podcast.

The new design is thought to follow in the footsteps of the 2010 MacBook Air.

The new MacBook Pros will move to solid state storage, up to 512GB, remove the optical drive, and we believe light-peak is being pushed to make it's first-ever entrance into the market, another Apple exclusive.

In the same manner that the MacBook Air did not replace the traditional 13" MacBook Pro, Apple is likely to leave one legacy 15" design in the lineup for those not yet comfortable with Apple's new direction. The traditional model is likely to slot into the $1,799 position with upgrade options available, while the new MacBook Pros will start at $1,999 and scale up according to configuration.

The site also believes Apple will unveil the iPad 2 in January.

I still think if Apple priced their laptops like Windows they'll sell like mad.

------

A survey done by Changewave shows that after the release of the new MacBook Airs, consumer buying forecasts for MacBook/Air/Pros exploded to 36%, the highest they’ve ever seen.
More than one-in-four respondents (26%) said they plan to spend more on consumer electronics over the next 90 days, and 10% said they plan to buy a laptop in the next 90 days — the highest level recorded in a ChangeWave survey in three years. “The manufacturer most responsible for the surge in laptop demand is Apple,” writes research director Paul Carton, “with 36% of planned laptops buyers saying they’ll purchase a Mac – a huge 11-pt jump since our previous survey of a month ago (Oct ’10). “Simply put,” he writes, “it’s the highest level of planned laptop buying ever for Apple in a ChangeWave survey.”

Looks like there are going to be a lot of Apples under the tree this year.

------

The San Jose Mercury News reports today that Apple has purchased HP’s huge Cupertino Campus for around the asking price of $300 million. Apple has been looking for space and has finally aquiered the aging HP campus which is adjacent to additional land in Cupertino that Apple bought in 2006.

One can only image what Apple is going to do with the new space.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 25th, 2010, 10:28 am