The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

SRASC

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby SRASC » November 14th, 2010, 9:56 am

Hey guys. Got my old 2g here. Did a reset on it but stuck on the Apple screen since. Obvious first thing to try was DFU mode but it's still unresponsive for the most part.

Any ideas?

Postby M_2NR » November 14th, 2010, 6:02 pm

SRASC wrote:Hey guys. Got my old 2g here. Did a reset on it but stuck on the Apple screen since. Obvious first thing to try was DFU mode but it's still unresponsive for the most part.

Any ideas?

Did you pee on it? (j/k)

leave it alone for a while (say 10 mins) then go back and try everything. Firstly, did you get a f/w on it? any errors? if you did see if any programs detecting it. Try the sh!t kurpal did with the mute button, (up down x 3). I thinking of giving up on my 2G though, apparently these things lasting longer than their intended lifespan :|

Also, if you getting apple screen but the loop kicks in with the spinning wheel, hard reset (hold power and home etc.)

By chance did you reset all AND erase? as in the option in settings? did that once, sh!t bricks after. It randomly appeared after i tried everything :(

For others reading this, NEVER do the reset all and erase if you are jailbroken

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 14th, 2010, 6:10 pm

Unfortunately yes I did. Tried DFU forever & nothing. Kinda got close today, was detected by iTunes & was in the process of putting a custom 3.1.3 on it when it just knocked out & hasn't been responsive since.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 14th, 2010, 7:34 pm

Error 1600 also

Postby M_2NR » November 14th, 2010, 10:24 pm

for now stick to 3.1.3 virgin or else most likely u will get 1600/21. I just hope apple doesnt have to sign that f/w.

Also try another pc with an older version of itunes? u getting me so scared btw. i wanted to do over mines :shock:

Just leave it alone for some time then. I remember i did it once and well she working now but i cant seem to remember my exact process. BTW hows the iPhone 4 going?
i have a question, did the package from my blog work on your iphone 4? the callerid and format fix..

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 14th, 2010, 10:29 pm

Hot off the press...Err 1604,1601, 1600 fix

http://www.redmondpie.com/how-to-fix-16 ... -ireb-4.1/

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 14th, 2010, 11:21 pm

Thanks idlemind, ironically I used a slightly different article but from the same source to solve the problem. All I can say is Thank God!

M_2NR, if I remember correctly at the time me & zcrugby found it elsewhere on the net. It is a pain that it all of a sudden disappeared from the iSpazio repo though.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 14th, 2010, 11:25 pm

Speaking of whom, once word gets to him of this success of mine, he's gonna hound me down to put Android on this thing... lol :|

Postby M_2NR » November 15th, 2010, 12:07 am

So it works on i4 then great! if u have the one that works upload it na? so i can post it there so we all can benefit.

IM so glad u got thru! glad to hear iReb actually works! the only thing i use from him is f0recast.

BTW BOOTLACE THAT B!TCH NOW! :|

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » November 15th, 2010, 12:50 pm

Hey guys can my Ipod touch 32gb 3G be jail broken?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 15th, 2010, 1:33 pm

Apple.com

------

Lucian-2nr, check here & see if it helps.

------

Big news for all Need For Speed fans out there! After the success of NFS: Shift for the iPhone, iPod touch and the iPad, EA has just released the new Need for Speed™ Hot Pursuit [NZ App Store link] for all iOS based devices ahead of its console release.

NFS: Hot Pursuit for iPhone features awesome cops-chasing-you action. You have tons of weapons to repent them (cops of course), with 15 new vehicles and 24 career events at your disposal that takes the excitement to a whole new level.

Hot Pursuit fully supports the iPhone 4’s Retina Display, therefore kick ass graphics are yours for the taking! Multiplayer gaming over WiFi and Bluetooth adds more spice to the gaming experience. The game is available for a price of $6.49 on the iTunes App Store.

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » November 15th, 2010, 1:48 pm

^^ Thanks!

Good Stuff! :D

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 16th, 2010, 11:05 am

Postby M_2NR » November 16th, 2010, 5:52 pm

I still /cannot/ believe THAT was the announcement :|

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 16th, 2010, 6:08 pm

Its nice to see The Beatles on iTunes, but it wasn't that big a deal, in my opinion. Kinda had a feeling that was coming though, since iTunes 10.1 was released just the other day.
A bigger deal may have been Google Voice's return to the App Store.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » November 16th, 2010, 9:14 pm

^^^ YES

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 17th, 2010, 1:44 pm

hot blue

Postby hot blue » November 17th, 2010, 7:42 pm

does anyone know the price of an iPhone 4 factory unlocked in trini????

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 17th, 2010, 8:45 pm

^^^ check the Miscellaneous forum.

------

Rovio CEO Peter Vesterbacka revealed some exciting news for the Angry Birds franchise at the Virtual Goods Summit in London, reports Pocket-Lint.

First, Vesterbacka confirmed that the game will make its way to all major consoles: PS3, Xbox 360, and Wii.

He also talked about a sequel. "We are not going to do a sequel. We want to surprise people. No one has told the story from the pigs point of view" [via @dav3d]

In addition, Vesterbacka revealed plans for a multiplayer version of the game: "Multiplayer Angry Birds will be like old school Worms games", he said. "Multiplayer is a priority, but we have not determined the best way for our players to experience it yet".

Finally, there are big plans for a Facebook version of the game. "Most of Rovio's investment is going towards a Facebook game", he said [via @snowcrashed]. "Not Angry Birds, but in the same world. Also film/TV show coming".

------

A photo claiming to be a white Verizon iPhone 4 with a redesigned antenna and no SIM card slot has been posted online by CoveringWeb.

While this photo is likely a fake, a good mod, or a knockoff, CultofMac noticed an interesting tweet from the VerizonCareers Twitter account in reference to the Verizon iPhone rumor.

The operator of Verizon Careers' Twitter account pimped their recent addition of the iPad to their mobile line-up, and was then asked by Twitter user slink317 for an "iPhone hint?"

Verizon Career's response accompanied a retweet of slinky123′s question: "yes that is the latest scoop."

The tweet has since been pulled.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 18th, 2010, 5:28 pm

In an interview with De Telegraaf, Steve Wozniaks reveals that Apple had collaborated with a Japanese electronics company to build a phone in 2004, three years before the iPhone was unveiled.

"Apple was satisfied with the quality of the smartphone but wanted something it could amaze the world with. When Apple releases products, they need to be groundbreaking. Companies should hold off on entering markets until they have a seriously compelling product to offer. Products like that need to be be developed in isolation from the rest of the company, and it requires developers to steer clear from paths already traveled."

When asked about Android, Woz said he expects the platform to become the dominate one over time; however, he said it "isn't for everyone" and there's work that needs to be done in terms of quality and user satisfaction.

"The iPhone has very few weak points. There are no serious complaints or issues. When it comes to quality, the iPhone leads the way. Apple has shown the world what direction we're going. Android phones do come with more options, though."

How could he?
He didn't?

Woz says that a recent article in De Telegraaf misquoted his thoughts on Android. The article reported Woz as saying, "Android phones have more features". Woz told Engadget that was not the case.

Woz says he gave the De Telegraaf reporter a lengthy demonstration of voice commands on iOS and Android, pointed out that Android offered the ability to say "Navigate to Joe's Diner," and suggested that Apple would catch up through its purchases of Siri and Poly9. According to Steve, that's about it -- he says he'd "never" say that Android was better than iOS, and that "Almost every app I have is better on the iPhone." Woz did say he lightly prognosticated that Android would become more popular "based on what I've read," but that he expects Android "to be a lot like Windows... I'm not trying to put Android down, but I'm not suggesting it's better than iOS by any stretch of the imagination. But it can get greater marketshare and still be crappy."

------

It's been over two weeks since Apple made the iOS 4.2 Gold Master available to developers and now we're seeing that the iOS 4.2.1 Gold Master has popped up. But where's a public release of 4.2?

------

This update contains improvements to usability, compatibility, stability, accessibility and security, including the following:
    More accurate Top Hit results in the Address Field
    More accurate results in Top Sites
    Fixes an issue that could cause content delivered with the Flash 10.1 plug-in to overlap webpage content
    More reliable pop-up blocking
    Improved stability when typing into search and text input fields onwww.netflix.com and www.facebook.com
    Improved stability when using JavaScript-intensive extensions
    Improved stability when using VoiceOver with Safari
For detailed information on the security content of this update, please visit this site:http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1222

Postby Redman » November 18th, 2010, 6:10 pm

Ok
I bought the iphone 4 for the wife and Im reading this thread and I have a few questions

Whats the recommended download,upgrade does and donts-
Im thinking about switching from the BB - I use it mainly for email and the BBM which I understand there is an app for-any current advice.
Digicels plan seems to suck-am I right?

I got a cutter if any one is interested

Later

Postby M_2NR » November 18th, 2010, 8:05 pm

Redman wrote:Ok
I bought the iphone 4 for the wife and Im reading this thread and I have a few questions

Whats the recommended download,upgrade does and donts-
Im thinking about switching from the BB - I use it mainly for email and the BBM which I understand there is an app for-any current advice.
Digicels plan seems to suck-am I right?

I got a cutter if any one is interested

Later

first of all.. wahm to yuhself? i hope u have an iphone :P

DO NOT UPDATE unless absolutely sure about what u doing k? you can check the settings>general>about page for info like version etc. If you want u can read a post i made a while ago. Most of it still applies.

if u want the full experience from BB to iPhone, just stick in your SIM and go right ahead, data supposed to work fine (ignore what digicel says).
WRT to emails you can get boxcar app to get your notifications. I am on the freeternity (UWI) plan from them and its working. Its a CUG(sp) based plan so if your company has one... you can jump on it as its supposedly unlimited data (didnt get my bill yet so i cant confirm for myself).All you do is setup the APN settings and you are on. Its really simple TBH just, reset settings (network and the button at the bottom of the page in net. settings) add the apn: web.digiceltt.com, restart and yuh orn.
data works fine for me now. Thanks to Aaron 2NR he helped a lot wrt to getting it to work/encouragement (dont PM him, he doesnt work digicel).

Everything works. WRT to push notifications, on my blog there is a post on it. i think that same post has details on Push Doctor.

The "BBM app" for iphone... well there are a lot to chose buti think we all use whatsapp. There is also PingChat and Kik and pmessenger. Recently ive been hearing about people saying it doesnt work good on iphone (Circuit Zone ppl) once you have legit push certs (getting push doctor solves this) you WILL get ALL your push notifications instantaneously. Make sure push doctor completes if it errors out.. try again after a day or two.

Make sure to backup a lot. iTunes 10 made backups A lot faster so dont forget to esp. if u gonna play with cydia pkgs.

Enjoy!

Postby Redman » November 19th, 2010, 7:46 am

Yes,
I got 2 but after reading the threads here it sounding rehhhheeel complicated
-So you saying just cut the sim and install it?

Im reading the info on the other links

Thanks

Later

Postby M_2NR » November 19th, 2010, 2:36 pm

Yip.

It was bought already jailbroken and unlocked right? im assuming this.

Postby Redman » November 19th, 2010, 5:06 pm

Just unlocked AFAIK
I cut and installed my SIM-the BB SIM-it worked as a phone but without the data-so I reverted to my BB,
I installed the Parrot hands free in the car ,re installed the SIM into the iphone,but when I tried using the iphone with the Parrot- the phone wouldnt get a signal- NO Service in the upper left hand corner.

I think the phone is just unlocked, no jail break.

So this thing is factory installed 4.0.2
therefore from what Im reading there isnt a jailbreak for it.

So whats the best course of action?

Later
Last edited by Redman on November 19th, 2010, 8:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » November 19th, 2010, 5:47 pm

Ppl...Angry Birds is a really great game, I highly recommend it!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 20th, 2010, 6:30 pm

Apple’s iPhone 4 topped the charts in customer satisfaction again with 8 out of 10 users being very satisfied with their smartphone device.

ChangeWave wrote:As we’ve consistently seen in our consumer smart phone demand surveys, the Apple iPhone continues to outperform the industry in terms of customer satisfaction.

If you compare Apple’s customer satisfaction ratings to specific competing smartphones such as RIM’s Blackberry Torch (64%) or the Motorola Droid X (71%), you can clearly see that the iPhone 4 is winning the race by continuing Apple’s goal in delivering only the highest quality devices to its users. In addition to RIM and Motorola, Samsung’s new Galaxy S Android smartphone failed to reach Apple’s level and only saw 55% of its users to be satisfied with the device.

Something else we found interesting was that a full 1/3 of smartphone owners would have chosen the iPhone if it were available on their carrier. With the Verizon iPhone just around the corner, could this spell trouble for other high-end smartphone makers trying to compete with the iPhone?

------

A few days ago some sources let us know that portions of Apple’s MobileMe service would be going free and today MacRumors has substantial evidence for this, posting code snippets from within the iOS SDK. As you can see in the screenshot above, the code mentions free MobileMe accounts for iOS devices. The code also says “This Apple ID cannot be used for MobileMe Mail, but you can use it for other MobileMe services,” meaning that MobileMe mail will not be available in the free MobileMe package.

We speculate that Apple will release a free version of MobileMe for iOS users that will allow for the Find my iPhone feature, online photo galleries, and over the air data syncing. There were also some references to this in the actual beta builds of iOS 4.2 in the Apple ID section of the settings application.

Postby M_2NR » November 20th, 2010, 10:53 pm

Redman wrote:Just unlocked AFAIK
I cut and installed my SIM-the BB SIM-it worked as a phone but without the data-so I reverted to my BB,
I installed the Parrot hands free in the car ,re installed the SIM into the iphone,but when I tried using the iphone with the Parrot- the phone wouldnt get a signal- NO Service in the upper left hand corner.

Later

where u got the phone from? US? CAN? France? UK?

U made calls i assume? It worked?

Is there cydia?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » November 21st, 2010, 2:20 pm

Woz explains why Apple is called Apple

Postby Redman » November 21st, 2010, 4:40 pm

M_2NR wrote:
Redman wrote:Just unlocked AFAIK

Later

where u got the phone from? US? CAN? France? UK?

U made calls i assume? It worked?

Is there cydia?

The phones came from the US supposedly unlocked.
My geek nephew spent exactly 30 seconds to figure every thing out.
He installed cydia on both.
It took me longer to get it out the fackin box

BUT the 32g was working yesterday- but the cell signal was spotty and overnight it lost all charge and this AM I cant get service.despite the 16 having full signal
I switched SIMS and the 32G still cant make calls-but the WiFi is working.

so its something with that specific unit.

Any advice is appreciated

Later