mememe

hy

Postby mememe » March 22nd, 2010, 9:46 pm

A.O. Smith tank, 3yrs, no probs.

Postby pugboy » March 22nd, 2010, 10:14 pm

dunno how you people get tank heaters to last so long, your neighbourhood must have better water
we just replaced our 50gal after about 5 yrs, the anode rod is leaking thru the threads, this is about average for us.

If anybody wants it they are welcome to come take it, the electricals are still good and the anode rod area could be welded shut and will last a few more years before that rusts out.

I have a welding plant but haven't had the time to cut away the sheeting to get to the tank and weld it.

CBharath

tankless water heaters

Postby CBharath » November 7th, 2010, 6:14 pm

anybody have any experience with them ? can you give a review on the one used ?

Re: tankless water heaters

Postby pugboy » November 7th, 2010, 6:43 pm

they work fine but struggle when multiple showers are on.

they work best when close to the shower etc
also they may need a little higher circuit breaker than a regular water heater.

nick009

Postby nick009 » November 7th, 2010, 8:59 pm

i have a stiebeltron . The units vary in size so that shouldnt be a problem, just be sure to pick the correct sized unit for your needs. Pick at least a 2 bathroom unit with adjustable temperature.

My unit works good however sometimes i find the temperature varies. (i.e one shower it might be really hot, next warm)

What pugboy said is correct so be sure to check this before buying.

I replaced a tank system (30gallon) and the electric bill has dropped about 120dollars . My old water heater was pretty old(about 15 yrs) so i dunno if this is a good representation of savings.

CBharath

Postby CBharath » November 7th, 2010, 11:07 pm

who does sell the stiebeltron ?

Postby sharkman121 » November 7th, 2010, 11:23 pm

Mih $100 Fame does wuk good :|

Postby eliteauto » November 7th, 2010, 11:26 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Mih $100 Fame does wuk good :|

bess inna de world :|

Postby ..77. » November 7th, 2010, 11:36 pm

If they have rinnai ( sp ) brand there dont touch it . One up here 5 yrs the heat exchnager started to leak , copper , . By 7 yrs an multiple fixes is scrap and being replaced
I think you want to get one with a stainless heat exchanger and check to see if they want a water softner put in , in case of hard water ..77.

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » November 8th, 2010, 12:15 am

They work well but function effeciently only at a particularly high water pressure. If the pressure falls however, you'd find yourself being scalded or vice versa. It's a good buy though, never lets you down.

Postby pugboy » November 8th, 2010, 7:11 am

rotoplastics, water source

CBharath wrote:who does sell the stiebeltron ?

Postby ronsin1 » November 8th, 2010, 8:24 am

Michael Knight... wrote:They work well but function efficiently only at a particularly high water pressure.

that is it in a nutshell

they have a operational range for the water pressure a couple of PSI more or less and the water will not heat properly.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » November 8th, 2010, 8:49 am

Stiebel Eltron , retail prices from Water Source: model - DHC 8-2 to be used for 1outlet - $1656.00. Model DHC 10-E for 2 outlets - $2674.90 model TEMPRA 12 for 3-4 outlets - $4318.25

Postby AllTrac » November 8th, 2010, 10:06 am

fack dat! i tired burn up meh ass with dem thing, i going back to tank

CBharath

Postby CBharath » November 8th, 2010, 10:28 am

eliteauto wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:Mih $100 Fame does wuk good :|

bess inna de world :|

i have one but does work how it want . too much pressure - water too cool . water pressure low - water either too hot or it wont get hot

fellas thank for the info

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 8th, 2010, 8:24 pm

a bit off topic but anyone has any experience with these ? its a new water heater that uses warm exterior air and exchanges it with cooler air .. much like a fridge in reverse
http://hybrid.rheemecosense.com/index.html

Postby pugboy » November 8th, 2010, 9:42 pm

the tankless would best work in conjunction with a water pump for consistent water pressure

Re: WTK Tank or Tankless Water Heater

Postby X_Factor » January 22nd, 2012, 9:49 pm

so, my home is 2 level, 2 bathrooms and a kitchen upstairs and downstairs
for those with the experience, should i go with 2 tankless or one tank?

Postby redmanjp » January 22nd, 2012, 10:05 pm

im guessing a 20 gal. tank would use less power over time than a 30 gal. or higher? (less water to remain heated up)

and also setting the temp lower than the factory default (and turn the hot water tap more & the cold water tap less to compensate) should save power also- so u should get the benefit of the tank-less

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » January 22nd, 2012, 11:03 pm

In the long run, tankless will cost you more in terms of electricity cost.
Go with the tank water heater.

Also tankless heaters have different ratings for power supply and no. of fixtures it can supply. so if you buy the cheapest, it probably rated for 1 or 2 hot water fixtures max and probably the low voltage one, which will use more power.

Invisible

Re:

Postby Invisible » January 23rd, 2012, 5:24 am

wheelbarrow wrote:the tank type heater will give you a higher temperature @ higher flows
(if you turn your hot water tap all the way open wit a tankless the temp will drop because the water is passin over the element @ such a speed that the heat is not transferred fast enough)
the initial cost of installation is a lot lower with a tank type
(most houses have a 220v/30amp supply already installed which is enough for a tank type, and as said before a normal tankless needs a 220v/50amp supply)
the down side of the tanktype is that ur capacity of hot water is dependant on how big ur heater is.
also the tanktype will use more electricity compared to the tankless,(the tanktype will remain on to heat back up the water used from it, which in some cases can be hours, and if ur tanktype's insulation is poor the heater will probably cycle on and off even though ur not using any hot water.

the tankless will only use power when you are using hot water and in some models will only use the amount of power needed to do heat the water being used, in some cases as little as 16amps.
the size of the tankless is also a plus they can fit in kitchen/bathroom cupboards and you don't have to worry about a leakin temp&pressure valve which has to be installed in a tank type.

the downside of tankless will be performance if you are used to the hot water flow from a tanktype a tankless will not do the same as the tank.
also intial cost is a bit high($2500 for a tankless to handle up to three outlets @ the same time, plus the cost of the electricals to power this heater)
the newer models tankless have alot of electronic circuit boards which help with the efficiency of the heater but with the power fluctuations in trini you will have to invest in a electrical protective device for the tankless if your area is prone to electrical problems

IMHO the tanktype is better because of the performance of the heater

the brand i use is 30 gallons and only uses 10amps when its on and is the only heater i've seen that i can remove the element and clean out the inside of the heater and i can replace the anode.

Mind sharing the brand of heater you use?

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » January 23rd, 2012, 7:10 am

Invisible its a Stiebel Eltron Model- PSH 150.

Postby pugboy » January 23rd, 2012, 7:23 am

I think a lot of people also think of tankless being the Fame type

Postby pugboy » January 28th, 2012, 2:00 pm

put in a stiebel eltron dhc-8 this morning
bought it at L's Hware arouca, about $200 cheaper than elsewhere

working good so far, didn't upsize the breaker(30 to 40) hopefully it wont require that

geodude

Postby geodude » January 29th, 2012, 4:47 am

fame ftw :)

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » January 29th, 2012, 7:08 am

pugboy mind sharing how come u got 2 ? is it to suppliment the tank?

Postby pugboy » January 29th, 2012, 11:38 am

getting rid of the tank type

Postby Trini Hookah » January 29th, 2012, 12:23 pm

Amazon's got 30% off Water heaters atm: http://www.amazon.com/s/?ie=UTF8&rh=n%3 ... 0_22538520

Invisible

Postby Invisible » January 29th, 2012, 9:26 pm

Just asking if anyone knows which size stiebel eltron is best suited for a 2 story home with 8 hot water outlets...and yes I know I should ask the Dealer but it's Sunday. Still undecided. Leaning towards the tank-less as I would have much more space available.

Any ideas?