yuh know is nice to hear the folks talk about the old days =] ..... did you know that the top of rushworth st facing scotiabank on that steep incline, was called tollgate ? ... cause you had to pay a toll to come into san fernando .
yeah, after the church on penitence street corner. not her house though, she used to do work for the owner and lived there, and when the owner passed away, she was allowed to stay until she pleases.
threads like these are bess, the generation which just left skool and those succeeding, will not appreciate it. in interest in things past what affects them only
there is a beautiful house opposite valini's on the corner of mucurapo street, this should have been restored. the yard is set up nicely and most of the original wood work still there. there are some buildings on carib street, where the gas station is, that i am sure may have some interesting history behind
yes, i've seen that house opposite valinis .... very well preserved and full of palm trees =] .... high street 1904 !! .... i wonder how much working girls would charge back then =]
its sad that we dont try to preserve what we have ..... development of a nation is not just about big buildings and new roads, its about people and our future .... its where we came from and who we are today, and the developing of one's self .... the only way for us to truly move forward is if we do it together , if not then we are just selfish ... the past may be gone but we are still primitive in our actions.
power station_1923.jpg (121.45 KiB) Viewed 3237 times
The Borough Power Station (1923) San Fernando
power station_2010.jpg (143.35 KiB) Viewed 3237 times
Today, the building still stands on Carib St. exhibiting its ‘new’ (1939) façade and serves as the transport yard for the San Fernando City Corporation
Sad that in such modern times of skyscrapers, airconditioned buildings in the rest of the world, the government spends $7M dollars to build that colonial piece of cr@p.
Go back and read the photo caption, the Hospital was opened in 1955 (the photo was taken in 1971) - why allyuh like to criticize so without knowing the facts.