need to get a cover note to transfer a vehicle

dman

need to get a cover note to transfer a vehicle

Postby dman » October 31st, 2010, 6:49 am

i need to get a cover note to transfer a vehicle in south on Monday

i am looking for an insurance company who can do it at 8am Monday morning so i can just go to south licensing and transfer the vehicle

it dose not matter the company i just need to be sure i can get it done in south Monday morning

V2NR 3.0

Re: need to get a cover note to transfer a vehicle

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 31st, 2010, 8:00 am

The only place you will get this cover note is down at the lis office. There is reason to believe that Insurance companies have stopped issuing one day coverage since i feverishly searched all over for this same item. I went to transfer a car last month and the one day note was done on site. This was in POS though.

stephengobin

Postby stephengobin » October 31st, 2010, 11:37 am

bankers insurance in chaguanas, they does do the cover note insurance to tranfer you vehicle. just tell them you comming back to take out the full insurance by them once the car is tranfered.

geodude

Postby geodude » November 1st, 2010, 7:45 am

I have never transfered a vehicle, i usually write them off, but that's for another thread, i was justing thinking that logically if you are over 25 it should be possible to use the previous owners insurance at least for the day , it should cover the new owner/ driver, this depends on weather or not the previous owner has no objections?
can this be facilitated?

stephengobin

Postby stephengobin » November 1st, 2010, 7:50 am

geodude wrote:I have never transfered a vehicle, i usually write them off, but that's for another thread, i was justing thinking that logically if you are over 25 it should be possible to use the previous owners insurance at least for the day , it should cover the new owner/ driver, this depends on weather or not the previous owner has no objections?
can this be facilitated?

I tried that a few months ago but they said i need to have the insurance on my name to be able to tranfer the car.

geodude

Postby geodude » November 1st, 2010, 7:53 am

wow that sucks

Postby ronsin1 » November 1st, 2010, 7:54 am

^^^ in order to have the vehicle transfered the new owner needs to have insurance for the vehicle.

geodude

Postby geodude » November 1st, 2010, 7:59 am

i have a problem with the idea that we need to have insurance at all,
why does the government mandate that every vehicle owner must patronize the services of a private institution in order to make use of something we own

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » November 1st, 2010, 10:12 am

So how will it work then, let the current owner take the vehicle to your preferred insurance and let them see it and then issue insurance as they need to see the vehicle and then proceed with the transfer?

Postby ronsin1 » November 1st, 2010, 10:22 am

geodude wrote:i have a problem with the idea that we need to have insurance at all,
why does the government mandate that every vehicle owner must patronize the services of a private institution in order to make use of something we own

Point taken and I do agree with you and I have always stated that auto insurance is the biggest legal rip off in this country.

but at the end of the day if you get into an accident where you are right and the other person is wrong will you run down that person tom fix your car or deal with the insurance company

Postby SUPAstarr » November 1st, 2010, 10:31 am

it have a place in south lic office to get a cover note, yuh cud get it right there, i kno cuz i transferred my car in south 2 months ago

[/ched]

geodude

Postby geodude » November 1st, 2010, 11:19 am

ronsin1 wrote:
geodude wrote:i have a problem with the idea that we need to have insurance at all,

Point taken and I do agree with you and I have always stated that auto insurance is the biggest legal rip off in this country.

but at the end of the day if you get into an accident where you are right and the other person is wrong will you run down that person tom fix your car or deal with the insurance company

i see what you are saying and insurance does have its benefits but my thing is, if the state is going to spend the nations time,money and resources to ensure that we have insurance for the vehicle, they should at least be the entity from which we purchase the insurance, thus making the money off it, well with Trinidad its scary to think of cause it will take forever to process a claim,

just my view,

ivar

Postby ivar » March 2nd, 2011, 10:43 am

SUPAstarr wrote:it have a place in south lic office to get a cover note, yuh cud get it right there, i kno cuz i transferred my car in south 2 months ago

[/ched]

WHERE???????

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 2nd, 2011, 10:58 am

the last two vehicles i sold, i met the person at my insurance company, let them take out a policy or if they wanted to do so, go to the insurance of their choice and then see about transfer after...

Then canceled my insurance policy after transaction....

you honestly don't want to sell a vehicle and let that person use your policy until they sort theirs out...

Postby Dave » March 2nd, 2011, 12:15 pm

Trini GT and Aaron 2NR has it correct

Postby rollingstock » March 2nd, 2011, 2:26 pm

ivar wrote:
SUPAstarr wrote:it have a place in south lic office to get a cover note, yuh cud get it right there, i kno cuz i transferred my car in south 2 months ago

[/ched]

WHERE???????

yuh bump ah old thread dey padna :lol:

It's down teh hill form the lic off, just ask any if the touts they will direct you.

Postby X2 » March 2nd, 2011, 3:03 pm

Just transferred a car and it was jokey.

License office does NOT issue coverage so I dunno how someone did that one.

License office will tell you that they need insurance in your name to transfer, but the Insurance company may tell you they need proof of ownership to insure... lol

Best bet is to deal with a compotent person at your insurance company, get it insured or at least a cover note, then go to licensing and serve your time.

Lance

Postby Lance » October 31st, 2011, 12:24 pm

Bumping an old thread guys.

Does anyone have a number or name of the insurance company outside POS licensing office that does the cover notes?

I have some questions but I would rather ring them up before venturing down there

Postby Kenjo » October 31st, 2011, 2:11 pm

i dont have the name but the place is like 2 buildings down from licensing office.walk with your id and the certified copy and it was like $50 but it was totally hassle free in POS for the insurance.in between when you line up at the back to get the car inspected you can go get the insurance.i have to do it this week again so i will see if i get more details of the company

ttblax

Postby ttblax » October 31st, 2011, 3:18 pm

^^ dont know the name of the place exactly but they do one day cover notes obo bankers insurance. in the same compound with the chest and heart association right next to lic office in pos. Cost of a cover note is $53.

You can also forward date a cover note (eg go today and take out a cover note for a trans on friday) at no additional cost. Went there early afternoon and did this for my last 2 cars to avoid the morning rush

s.jaski

Postby s.jaski » November 29th, 2013, 9:13 pm

How much for a cover Note

Rayman82

Postby Rayman82 » November 30th, 2013, 12:58 am

Kenjo wrote:i dont have the name but the place is like 2 buildings down from licensing office.walk with your id and the certified copy and it was like $50 but it was totally hassle free in POS for the insurance.in between when you line up at the back to get the car inspected you can go get the insurance.i have to do it this week again so i will see if i get more details of the company

^^^There

As for south, check Ramdeens Insurance near licensing office, just by the bridge, pretty good service there.