I.T. Techies....Job Treatment

Chiney

Re: I.T. Techies....Job Treatment

Postby Chiney » October 29th, 2010, 11:54 am

govt IT jobs is wat everyone running behind..
i rather one in a company where i can be permanent and know i have no 3yr contract to worry about dread....

and thats where i am...thankfully...

Postby wagonrunner » October 29th, 2010, 11:57 am

pablo_tt wrote:In my old job, on a daily basis, had people from big named energy industries coming to where I worked asking to do simple things, like a system reformat, installation of a hard drive etc.

it didn't have you calling some other small fry in other companies for advice / help now and then? :poke:

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » October 29th, 2010, 12:13 pm

redmanjp wrote:well time fuh strike then? i still get paid a 2006 salary :(

the person who i replace left a pay slip in the desk draw.....that was 2005 since then even with numerous hours of OT clocked when i did a major upgrade my salary still didn't reach as high as his own 5 yrs later, i am now more qualified than he was that time :?

Sky that network was my baby and where i got most of my experience lol but never the less it did cross my mind.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » October 29th, 2010, 1:53 pm

This is what I am talking about, I seriously do not want to have to change my path

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » October 29th, 2010, 11:46 pm

If you running down govt contracts work..... be warned.
Prepared to get $#@!ed with no vaseline by CPO when they change u salary after 1-2yrs into the job when they finally give you your contract.
You will be then owing the govt, as your salary is higher that what recommended in the contract. So they will either take it out your remaining salary or out of the gratuity if your finish your contracted period.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 30th, 2010, 1:42 am

i took a break from school due to my working hours, lookin to finish my final year in my degree next year and i think ill give IT a rest for now. thinkin of taking up the ACCA, still need to do research on the job market tho.

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » October 30th, 2010, 8:19 pm

Coppershot wrote:If you running down govt contracts work..... be warned.
Prepared to get $#@!ed with no vaseline by CPO when they change u salary after 1-2yrs into the job when they finally give you your contract.
You will be then owing the govt, as your salary is higher that what recommended in the contract. So they will either take it out your remaining salary or out of the gratuity if your finish your contracted period.

That is NOT cool, man.

I am nearly 2 years into my gov't contract job, along with most of 100+ techs who based in secondary schools. Still yet to receive my contract... and you telling me they can do this??