Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Postby lighthammer » October 23rd, 2010, 10:35 pm

^^ AFAIK, McEarney Motors uses Amsoil in their trucks.

Tony from Prolube is one of their suppliers for Amsoil.
Better you buy a case from him and then bring it for them to use when you do the next oil-change, will prob turn out to be cheaper.

Tony
ProLube - 6336110

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 25th, 2010, 6:26 am

They don't use Amsoil anymore, they switched to Total earlier this year.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 25th, 2010, 6:32 am

everytime before i take the van into service, its the same thing going thro my head - do i really need this warranty? do i really need keep the warranty?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 25th, 2010, 6:57 am

^^ dude, just remember there's always a cheaper option.

With my frontier, an oil & filter change at N&M = approx $600-$700
Bought my own oil at Laughlin & Degannes, changed it there as well and they supplied the oil filter.
- Shell Rimula R4 15w40 @ $160 per gall x2 gallons
- Nissan oil filter, supplied by LDG @ $65
- Oil change by LDG @ $80

Total Cost = $465.00

Add on a balance & 4-wheel alignment = $200 approx

Subtotal = $665.00

I know there's places that can change the oil for cheaper or for free, but whenever I buy the oil at LDG, it's more convenient to just change the oil right there, plus I can't find the particular cartridge-type filter that the ZD30T engine uses.

Think about it, meng.

homeboy

Postby homeboy » October 25th, 2010, 8:49 am

Guys, friend of mine 08 Ranger was doing 40k mileage and transmition failed, be careful and keep your warranty.....he got it replaced no cost.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 25th, 2010, 7:44 pm

IMHO if it's a WLT .... no need to keep the warranty .... those mango tree mechanices can sort you out. Auto + TDCi should keep the warranty to be on the safe side.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 25th, 2010, 8:38 pm

my wlt+ tranny 06 running strong - no probs yet

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 26th, 2010, 12:20 am

^^^ CM, how would you compare your older WLT engine vs. a 2.5TDCI WLC and/or a 3.0TDCi WEC engine?

In terms of performance, power, fuel consumption, reliability, maintenance costs?

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » November 10th, 2010, 11:17 am

Guys, I find my Van accelerates much much faster since I have been filling at Unipet. Anyone got this experience, or is it my mind over matter?

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » November 10th, 2010, 11:24 am

Send someone else to fill it up at a station of their choice and see..

Thinks its very much mind over matter.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » November 10th, 2010, 3:53 pm

i don't really see much difference with the unipet as compared to my favorite NP station. Just use the amsoil regularly and it will be fine

Cooper

Postby Cooper » November 11th, 2010, 8:45 am

Amsoil Cetane Boost works great, just 2-3 ounces with every other fill-up and yuh diesel runing smooth.

Slack

Postby Slack » November 11th, 2010, 9:50 am

^^ where do you get that Cooper?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » November 11th, 2010, 1:15 pm

check these threads:

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?t=297845&highlight=amsoil+additive

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?t=248798&highlight=additive

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=41&t=300273&hilit=Amsoil

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=41&t=311051&hilit=Amsoil

also check the amsoil website for more details on the Cetane Boost and also the Diesel concentrate

The last time I purchased the Cetane Boost was a few months back at a parts place on Cipero Street in Sando (obliquely opposite Clico).... I can't remember the name of the place but the guy had the Cetane Boost for around $58 (Stupid me told the man that he was selling it dirt cheap and I bought 3 bottles) then I passed by his shop a couple weeks ago and the price is now close to $90 a bottle :shock:

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » November 11th, 2010, 3:00 pm

90 by Garvins in St James right by courts.

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » November 15th, 2010, 12:27 pm

Hey guys, so I'm hearing this loud rattling sound when accelerating, and I took the van into the dealership this morning. Took it out for a roadtest with the mechanic, and he advised that the EGR valve was bad and needed to be replaced. Thing is, the valve isn't in stock, and the firm says the price is 3100 + VAT. Anyone had this issue, or knows where I can source a cheaper alternative? Was also wondering about the possibility of servicing the valve rather than replacement.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 15th, 2010, 4:02 pm

Dev51 : WL or TDCi engine?

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » November 15th, 2010, 5:47 pm

Van not under warrantly??

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » November 15th, 2010, 5:48 pm

warranty*

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » November 16th, 2010, 2:04 pm

sweeks, TDCI engine. jeremy...............not under warranty.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » November 16th, 2010, 2:43 pm

Sorry bro, if it was the WL I could have referred you to someone to take a look at it or get a second opinion.

white_lion

Postby white_lion » November 17th, 2010, 11:03 am

some rangers for your viewing pleasure....

civic minded

Postby civic minded » November 17th, 2010, 5:37 pm

where did you get those pics - those rangers look like some serious offroaders.

Cooper

Re:

Postby Cooper » November 17th, 2010, 6:51 pm

I like the finish on these wheels

... and this is a nice clean lift

civic minded

Postby civic minded » November 17th, 2010, 7:37 pm

yeah boi , - the blue wildtrak - that arb bumper look realll sweet. I like the way the winch is installed on the black lifted ranger

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 17th, 2010, 8:13 pm

the ranger with the .50cal machine gun in the tray wins....
/end thread.

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 18th, 2010, 9:42 am

nick009 wrote:well its out of warranty by 10k km (reach 70k) this same thing happened to a guy who reached 65k
new head from firm =18g (non in stock)
Got a head from Ramai`s Auto Supplies in Marabella ($5000), Boodram and sons sold all their "headmaster" brand heads so had no choice.
This is a bare head so had to transfer everything from the old head to this one
had to remachine 10 valves for them to sit back properly for the 45degree angle
had to buy two new valves (the two intake in cylinder no.3 had to replace from damage from the water getting in)
new timing belt -changed it one time
new head gasket
new valve seals
new camshaft seal
plus labour

Total cost about $8400 -i think, will know today

Hi. i think i have the same problem you have - rough idle when engine cold, low coolant level etc... you have a contact number for boodram and sons? and do you know where they are located?

And where you got the rest of the parts?

I preparing for the worst :(

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » November 18th, 2010, 10:23 am

sweeks, thanks anyway man......will continue to look around. Will update the thread when I get this issue resolved.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 19th, 2010, 6:34 am

CM, these are from Australia, where Ford Rangers are at home in their natural habitat of the Outback and desert conditions :)

white_lion

Postby white_lion » November 19th, 2010, 1:00 pm

yup, mostly all from down under.
check out http://4wdaction.com.au/ loads of info and projects/build-ups on their forums.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”