The case of A. Popalie Re Victims SRP Dopson & WPC Timothy.

Re: Highway collapse

Postby equipped2ripp » October 17th, 2010, 10:33 pm

wagon r wrote:^...nah...ah IS200 eh have no money in it like long time. but i pass there yesterday and the southbound has cones long before the construction site as the work is being done in a "dip" so they put cones awhile before...plus there's the electric sign and so on....

@ 4 this morning that wasn't the case - no lights, electronic signage/arrows or anything... out of nowhere you met up cones placed diagonally across the left lane to close it off.
and to make matters worse, the lighting tower was blinding oncoming drivers.

Postby r3iXmann » October 17th, 2010, 10:35 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:
wagon r wrote:^...nah...ah IS200 eh have no money in it like long time. but i pass there yesterday and the southbound has cones long before the construction site as the work is being done in a "dip" so they put cones awhile before...plus there's the electric sign and so on....

@ 4 this morning that wasn't the case - no lights, electronic signage/arrows or anything... out of nowhere you met up cones placed diagonally across the left lane to close it off.

that's no excuse really...people KNOW that there is road work being undertaken in the area..the first and most obvious thing that you SHOULD DO is to slow down and proceed with caution..especially if you are unsure if/where it is being undertaken

Postby foss » October 17th, 2010, 10:39 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote:

that's no excuse really...people KNOW that there is road work being undertaken in the area..the first and most obvious thing that you SHOULD DO is to slow down and proceed with caution..especially if you are unsure if/where it is being undertaken

how would someone like me who hasnt gone up the highway maybe in over a month know road work is being done at all? Also, when some people meet road work (or cones) depending on the speed they are travelling they panic and thats when they lose control.

i'm just saying.

Postby Rooki3 » October 17th, 2010, 10:39 pm

really unfortunate!!!!

Postby r3iXmann » October 17th, 2010, 10:41 pm

foss wrote:how would someone like me who hasnt gone up the highway maybe in over a month know road work is being done at all? Also, when some people meet road work (or cones) depending on the speed they are travelling they panic and thats when they lose control.

i'm just saying.

it was all over the media :?

in any case:

equipped2ripp wrote: the lighting tower was blinding oncoming drivers.

is it normal to have lights in the middle of the highway?

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » October 17th, 2010, 10:42 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote:

x100000.
plus de lady crash into de policeman at LUNCHTIME...when de sun in de middle of de sky..how much more bright she wanted it to be.

no excuses simply cause she had to see th roadworks from away off...but yet continued at speed....facking jail she ass..send a real msgto irresponsibledriers dat u have to accept FULL RESPONSIBILTY FOR YOUR ACTIONS and stop making excuses...

Postby foss » October 17th, 2010, 10:44 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
foss wrote:how would someone like me who hasnt gone up the highway maybe in over a month know road work is being done at all? Also, when some people meet road work (or cones) depending on the speed they are travelling they panic and thats when they lose control.

i'm just saying.

does it run daily in the newspapers? or you talking about tv media?

Postby equipped2ripp » October 17th, 2010, 10:46 pm

^ yeah but the highway lights weren't working... I forgot to mention that!!

and plus, the contractor is supposed to illuminate the area where it is blocked off...

the blinding lighting tower was like 800m up...

Postby r3iXmann » October 17th, 2010, 10:51 pm

foss wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:

i'm just saying.

dunno if it was on tv but it was in the newspapers and it was circulated via email

Postby foss » October 17th, 2010, 10:54 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
foss wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:

i'm just saying.

dunno if it was on tv but it was in the newspapers and it was circulated via email

i didn't catch it in the papers or email *shrugs*
but hope justice is served!

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » October 18th, 2010, 2:43 am

foss wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:
foss wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:

i'm just saying.

i didn't catch it in the papers or email *shrugs*
but hope justice is served!

Its been on tuner for a while now also

Postby pugboy » October 18th, 2010, 6:10 am

correct, the electronic signs are westbound practically under the overpass by aranguez
and just around the bar on eastbound

SR wrote:all warning signs locally are usually ut 10ft before the actual work

Postby 16 cycles » October 18th, 2010, 8:37 am

Policeman knocked down and killed
By —Keino Swamber

Story Created: Oct 17, 2010 at 11:47 PM ECT

Story Updated: Oct 17, 2010 at 11:47 PM ECT

South Bureau

ONE police officer was killed and another seriously injured when a car driven by a woman slammed into them along the Solomon Hochoy Highway yesterday.

The accident involving PCs Ronald Dobson, 26, and Wendy Ann Timothy occurred shortly after midday near the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva.

The officers were on traffic duty while roadworks were being done on the southbound lane of the highway by workers from the Junior Sammy Group of Companies at the time of the incident.

Reports are that the woman, driving a Lexus motorcar, was heading south when she lost control of the vehicle, hit another car and ran into Dobson and Timothy. The impact resulted in Dobson being thrown into the air.

Dobson, a police officer for the past three years, was attached to the Couva Municipal Police of the Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo Regional Corporation, while Timothy has been in the service for the past seven years.

The officers were taken to the Couva District Hospital where Dobson was pronounced dead on arrival.

Timothy, who is attached to the Chaguanas Police Station, was transferred to the San Fernando General Hospital. Her condition was described as critical last evening.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Pol ... 52224.html

Postby tr1ad » October 18th, 2010, 8:39 am

she lost control in traffic or on the shoulder

Postby crazybalhead » October 18th, 2010, 8:41 am

She de jag racin orrrr??

Postby Greypatch » October 18th, 2010, 9:47 am

passed that WPC on sunday morning.

RIP to the other officer

Turkish

Traffic Cop killed by female driver

Postby Turkish » October 18th, 2010, 10:10 am

http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2010 ... ale-driver

A police constable assigned to the Couva Municipal Police, who was directing traffic along the Solomon Hochoy Highway, was killed when a female motorist ploughed into him just after midday yesterday. The 25-year-old San Juan woman, a student at the University of the West Indies, St Augustine campus, was up to late yesterday assisting investigators. A white Lexus which was driven by the woman has been impounded. Police said PC Reynold Dobson and WPC Wendy Lewis were on duty at the southbound lane of the highway when the driver rammed into the unsuspecting police officers who were standing at the back of a trailer.

Dobson from Edinburgh, Chaguanas, was flung several feet into the air. His mangled body was discovered sandwiched between the trailer and the car. Lewis, assigned to the Chaguanas Police Station, was catapulted to the top the trailer. She was taken to the Couva District Hospital, then transferred to San Fernando General Hospital where she was warded in a stable condition. Lewis, believed to be in her early 30s lives at Carlsen Field, Chaguanas. The Lexus then crashed head-on into a Nissan B15, resulting in that car smashing into another.

The drivers of the cars, including the female motorist, escaped with minor injuries. Relatives of the female driver said they were seeking the advice of a lawyer as they believed she was questioned while receiving treatment at hospital. The accident resulted in a major traffic congestion as repairs were being undertaken to underground drains in an area north of the Ato Boldon Stadium. Because the extensive work being conducted on the highway, traffic was restricted to one lane. Sgt Meharris of the Freeport Police is continuing inquiries.

Not sure what cause this, but the upside is that there were actually Traffic Officers on the road, the downside is that one got killed. RIP Mr. Policeman..

I wonder how all the other names in the papers except the driver of the Lexus...

Re: Traffic Cop killed by female driver

Postby tr1ad » October 18th, 2010, 10:12 am

sad R.I.P.

Re: Traffic Cop killed by female driver

Postby foss » October 18th, 2010, 10:12 am

Turkish wrote:I wonder how all the other names in the papers except the driver of the Lexus...

innocent until proven guilty.

Postby RASC » October 18th, 2010, 10:22 am

This is sad on so many levels.

May the fallen R.I.P.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 18th, 2010, 10:35 am

how far from the worksite were the warning signs?

Postby hydroep » October 18th, 2010, 10:52 am

R.I.P.

Turkish wrote:I wonder how all the other names in the papers except the driver of the Lexus...

Interesting. Remember the Mosquito Creek incident involving the Jusamco Truck? They called the driver's name from the first story:

Trinidad Guardian August 16, 2009: 6 killed in crashes.

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 18th, 2010, 10:58 am

^^which i also found strange. the driver was questioned and released one time.

she hadda be some bigshot....

luke skywalker

Postby luke skywalker » October 18th, 2010, 11:05 am

^^^^

Money talks, BS walks!!!

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 18th, 2010, 11:12 am

She must be done "gone away to study"

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 18th, 2010, 1:04 pm

Maybe as she driving a lexus, she exempt from mention.
Charge she skunt with vehicular manslaughter.

Postby A172 » October 18th, 2010, 1:25 pm

newsday printed the car was travelling at 160 miles per hour :lol:

really tragic doh, RIP to the guy

hope the b1tch suffers an equally fitting death

Postby foss » October 18th, 2010, 1:31 pm

A172 wrote:newsday printed the car was travelling at 160 miles per hour :lol:

tweenypongahbooose???

Postby A172 » October 18th, 2010, 1:36 pm

issa 3S altezza

reaching 100mph alone is a miracle :|

Postby Greypatch » October 18th, 2010, 1:38 pm

name should be published when charged and she appears in court.

will follow this one