Re: TSTT WiMax - review

Postby Nighttroll » September 27th, 2010, 7:25 am

The area is Freeport

jadas

Re: TSTT MMS & GPRS (How to...)

Postby jadas » September 29th, 2010, 2:09 am

hi TK!,..thanks for the nice and useful information shared in this post,...

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » October 14th, 2010, 9:03 pm

^ I'm interested in finding this out as well!!

theblitz

Postby theblitz » October 14th, 2010, 11:09 pm

Nighttroll, if you can, PM me the details of how you went about gettin a demo modem please. The motherfackers told me the same borrow a friends modem crap and thats the only way to test it.

douglaking

Postby douglaking » October 14th, 2010, 11:38 pm

They told my cousin who lives behind me that it wasn't available in my area. I managed to get one due to work and well..I'm on it now...and it pulling nice!

SnapCracklePop

Postby SnapCracklePop » October 15th, 2010, 10:04 am

i work at a company that uses 3g/4g devices to power a lot of our equipment.
i have over 40, 3G USB devices.
and recently got 4-5 4G/WiMax USB devices.

worked great for the first 3-4 weeks, and after that. the Wimax connection refused to stay connected, it would connect and immediately disconnect.

this is after my rep from tstt told me that they don't work. and they keep disconnecting.

let me put it this way, if there was any other company that could offer me the services i need to run my business i would cancel all my TSTT subscriptions and never look back......

worst customer services, worst technical service, worst anything, sadly, i have experience with Lisa communications, and digicell, and they are both just as bad....

i like the guys from greendot though. never had any issues, although, i have not dealt with them that much.

my recommendation, stay away from the USB Wimax Devices....waste of time...

theblitz

Postby theblitz » October 15th, 2010, 10:32 am

lol I'm only looking into it because of no other available services in the area

agreed about bad cust. service though

Nighttroll

Postby Nighttroll » November 30th, 2010, 8:17 am

Update: I got my wimax yesterday.
When i got the demo device about 3 months ago there was the green signal light in only certain positions in my house. With the device i got yesterday all most anywhere in my house is green light. You get the orange and red only if you put the device lying down or in the middle of a room , so I thought that TSTT did a bit of upgrade with the signal strength.
Lo and behold it works anywhere in my house....but that catch is, the speed test fluctuates about 0.3-0.6 mbs and i paid for 2mbs. Eventually into the night by trying out different places in and out of the house. The best location seems to be upstairs by a 8'x7' window sling up close to the middle of it. This is on the Eastern side. Started to get about above 1mbs at around 11pm and started to get above 1.5mbs around 1.00am. It kept this speed untill around 7.00am this morning. I'm not sure if it will hold this speed during the day.
Moral of the story: If you get a demo device or borrow a friend device to check for signal strenths , always do a speed test. If it says green light then it will work but not guarante the speed. Only way is to do the speed test. Also, on the signal strength map from TSTT, I live in the bordering area between the green and yellow region.
Can someone tell me if the speed is affected by the amount of users on it at the time?

Nighttroll

Postby Nighttroll » November 30th, 2010, 9:24 am

I forgot to mention that i did call for support and spent nearly and hour and eventually they said I should return it and get another device to try out. I believe that being in the yellow and green region there are issues with the speed.
Time to cut my .

Nighttroll

Postby Nighttroll » December 22nd, 2010, 9:29 am

Update: I moved the device from my window back to my comp. desk. I'm getting the 2mb from the speed test.
It seems as though the first 2weeks of having it , there were problems with the system where the speed test was reporting 0.3- 1.75mb and was fluctuating real bad. tstt was screwing around with the system
Its been about 5-6 weeks of having it and the signal is stable now at 2mb/s and i'm happy with the service.
. is now gone !!

Postby cinco » December 22nd, 2010, 2:12 pm

yesterday blink was doing some upgrade
i have the blink entertainment with the internet package
for the past few weeks my tv would need the box to be reset because the remote would stop working lo and behold yesterday the tv cut off and rebooted on its own and no more problems thus far...

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 6th, 2011, 10:42 pm

anyone tried connecting a wireless router to thier Wimax modem??? i did and its not working @ all! :S

Nighttroll

Postby Nighttroll » April 7th, 2011, 7:34 am

speedaholic wrote:anyone tried connecting a wireless router to thier Wimax modem??? i did and its not working @ all! :S

what problem are you getting?
It is a simple install.
Try resetting you router to default , then connect to the router , then change security settings on the router. You can remove the usb dongle on the wimax.

15devils

Postby 15devils » April 7th, 2011, 8:13 am

the service good man,it all depends where you live to
i admit the process to get the service is shitty,they should offer the service to everyone who interested,but then it have some people who live in no coverage areas,and claims their friends etc have it close to them,and when they getting no signal,dey vex.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 7th, 2011, 8:54 am

Nighttroll wrote:
speedaholic wrote:anyone tried connecting a wireless router to thier Wimax modem??? i did and its not working @ all! :S

what problem are you getting?
It is a simple install.
Try resetting you router to default , then connect to the router , then change security settings on the router. You can remove the usb dongle on the wimax.

okay well i have a linksys WRT54G2 wireless router.. i did remove the usb Dongle.. and connected the lan cable from the wimax modem to the router.. and then another lan cable from the router to my pc... My main reason for doin this is because my dad's pc in his room is not connecting to the wifi signal the Wimax modem is givin so i wanted to try the linksys to see if it wud work... any help??

Nighttroll

Postby Nighttroll » April 7th, 2011, 9:20 am

With default setting on the router you should see the linksys ssid from the laptop...Connect to it and see if it works..
If you not seeing it just reset the router with the switch at the back - hold for 10sec with router on and it will reset.

996vtwin
In Memory of George Aboud Jr.

Postby 996vtwin » April 7th, 2011, 3:58 pm

:D

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 7th, 2011, 8:37 pm

doesnt work.. tried that..

Chiney

TSTT (bmobile) 4G hotspot experience.........

Postby Chiney » April 29th, 2011, 2:45 pm

The question was asked here alrdy. But no serious answer was giving. Can someone share their view if he/she has or had it? Highly considering it. Hoping to get feed back on coverage and speed as well. Want to go tomorrow and get it once it checks out.

Anyone?

Re: TSTT (bmobile) 4G hotspot experience.........

Postby Bizzare » April 29th, 2011, 8:04 pm

Why lock the thread. Just today I went into bmobile to check out their wireless plans and I was gonna make a ched about this. What a coinkydinky. I'm considering getting this by early next month but speed and uptime are my main concerns. Cuz its only available on 1 and 2 year terms. So I wanna be sure.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » April 29th, 2011, 8:15 pm

As it's the same WiMAX Network expect it work either rel good (when you next to a site), or not get any signal at all (especially inside buildings).

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 29th, 2011, 8:47 pm

too expensive....

Postby skylinechild » April 29th, 2011, 9:12 pm

bizzare..if you understand network technology, it''s 4G how can we have 4G when we dont even have 3G

to prove my point.....some tuners have real real bess phones 3G compatible....how come when u take your sim and u put a Data plan on it- for data obviously- why is it that the phone says EDGE and not 3G....? -

next question is when the HTC evo gets here - or if it not here already it is 4G but not GSM...how you making calls on it...?

devourment...wiimax is 2Mb up and down...as expected with anything TSTT has....give it time and as the demand increases- the QOS will decrease...

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 29th, 2011, 9:41 pm

thats wat i thinking
i know all the 4g terms and wat sh!t

its just that ppl dont seem to run behind it... cuz hardly

if anyone i ask or talk to anyone that i know into this kinda tech.. is like...

"yuhhhhh..havent heard sh!t bout sh!t"

Postby black start » April 29th, 2011, 9:44 pm

^padna i have the blink on the go turbo package...this the one wid the 3g and 4g setup...i get signal for both and the fastest i ever connected is 2Mb or maybe just a lil more on the 4g with 2 out of 4 brs of service......and for 300 hundred dollars ah month..daz ah waste ah foqing time for the service i getting.....try the wimax......padna ah mines has it and it realitiveli cheap as compared to mines and it faster too.....

i repeat...do not take the blink on the go turbo package....
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1274639979.png

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 29th, 2011, 9:52 pm

when u say try the wimax

u speaking of the 4g hotspot right? aka MiFi? that i am orginally asking of?

Postby Stephon. » April 29th, 2011, 10:04 pm

Black Start wrote:i repeat...do not take the blink on the go turbo package....
http://www.speedtest.net/result/1274639979.png

Damn is like they have no shame!

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 29th, 2011, 10:06 pm

Chiney
Its fast. Works great for streaming youtube, pages load quick but the server connection time is like most mobile internet...not as good as the wired stuff.

Its not a world of difference from EVDO, but a definate improvement
I didnt bench it, becoz Im lazy :lol: and because I wasnt really looking for low pings or anything more than 2-3mbit

The modem is really my old man's so I havent used it much, but i get a 4g connection about 50% of the times ive used it

Postby Bizzare » April 29th, 2011, 10:22 pm

I had TSTT EVDO, but its my dad's and I'm looking to set up things on my own here. Is EVDO still only issued to businesses only? What wasn't mentioned about the 4G hotspot is that it can have up to 5 devices connected at once and in my field this can come in very useful. I'm not too knowledgeable when it comes to this area of networking as I really never cared much about 4g/3g blah blah blah, as long as I'm connected, so I don't have much of an idea.

Postby Bizzare » April 29th, 2011, 10:25 pm

I just wan't to know of the fastest and most reliable wireless plan that EXISTS in Trinidad, available to the average man without getting technical about it :lol:
Office is/would be Port-of-Spain so signal is not an issue.