The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - THEY'RE HERE!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: The 2012 Ford Ranger - Spyshots, news, tech details, etc

Postby wagon r » October 2nd, 2010, 10:24 pm

...notice the lower air pressure as they are runnin on the sand.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 3rd, 2010, 12:04 am

gotta deflate them A/t's fer max trax, yo...

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 11th, 2010, 12:15 pm

a little more info...

http://news.pickuptrucks.com/2010/09/ford-previews-all-new-global-ranger-but-its-not-coming-to-north-america.html

The redesigned Ranger, which has only been seen hidden in camouflage, will debut Oct. 15 at the Australian International Motor Show in Sydney.

white_lion

Postby white_lion » October 14th, 2010, 9:51 am

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=3 ... 8548937941
Some new pics uploaded 12.10.10

"Bold, powerful and confident, the all-new Ford Ranger will make its world debut at the Australian International Motor Show in Sydney on October 15. Extensively tested on five continents, the compact pickup will eventually be sold in 180 markets around the world. The all-new Ranger delivers more power, as well as exceptional towing and payload capacity."

looks like we'll get to see how it looks at some point tomorrow...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 14th, 2010, 10:30 am

********** LEAKED!!! ***********

The 2011 Ford Ranger has been leaked onto the internet, just a few hours before it was set to debut in the Australian Auto Show. (FIY, it's currently 10:24AM 14th Oct 2010, trinidad time - it's now approx 10:00PM 15th october, Australian Time).

Here's some pics of the new 2011 Ford Ranger that we've all been waiting for.....

Images of the all-new 2011 Ford Ranger have been leaked onto the webosphere, ahead of its official debut at this year’s Australian Motor Show, due to kick-start in just a couple of hours.

I am glad to report that the new Ranger looks pretty good, more like the American pick-ups from Ford. The front nose looks larger and it carries a more aggressive demeanor. There are also side air vents that are placed on the front fenders. These vents should be there for aesthetic reasons only.

The new Ranger which will also be available in a single cab form, with both 4×2 and 4×4 configurations is 7.5 inches longer, 1.7 inches wider and 2.5 inches taller than the outgoing model (for double cab). Wheelbase is also longer, by 8.6 inches.

There rear end is treated to two vertical taillights while the interior sports a double-binnacle instrument cluster, a display screen that is believed to be the trip computer on the centre dash and a four-spoke steering wheel.

There is also new lever-style parking brake. The double cab model has up to 20 different storage areas, along with a cooler that can fit 6 cans. Furthermore the glove box is also big enough to house a normally-sized lap top.

The all-new Ranger is offered with a number of engine options, both from the diesel and petrol families. The former is made up by a 2.2 liter Duratorq 4-cylinder with 374Nm of torque as well as a 3.2-liter 5-potter with 470Nm of torque. The sole petrol option is the 2.5 liter Duratec which is also flex fuel capable. Transmissions wise, there is a 6-speed automatic, a 6-speed manual and a 5-speed manual gearbox.

Ford said that the Ranger can now support up to 3,306 pounds of payload, on selected models and said that its towing capabilities have been improved as well. The new Ranger is said to be less harsh, unlike conventional pick-ups.

It has new rubber ‘hydro’ mounts placed on the frame, between the rail and the cabin. There mounts with hydraulic fluid help reduce violent vertical and horizontal motions more effectively. The brakes have also been improved, now larger with ventilated discs up front and drum brakes in the rear.

The new Ranger also comes with ESP with Traction Control , ABS, an optional Trailer Sway Control, Adaptive Load Control as well as Roll-over Mitigation. There is also a rearview camera system and Rear Park Assist feature.

The all-new Ranger was developed by Ford’s Australian arm and it will be manufactured in three regions including Asia, South Africa and South America. Asia will lead the way with Ford’s Thailand plant starting from next summer. The Ranger which is Ford’s global pick-up truck, dubbed the T6, will be sold in various markets, except US and Canada.

Another press release here: http://www.autoblog.com/2010/10/14/all-new-ford-ranger-debuts-for-the-rest-of-the-globe/

I don't know about you, but I'm still a bit reserved on the styling. It's a bit... curvier and rounder than I initially expected. I thought it would have looked like a very close brother to the Ford F-150 Raptor, with more angular lines & body corners.

Regardless, that new engine has some very interesting power figures - 5-cylinder 3.2 Turbo with 470NM torque. My guess is that it'll still be available in 2.5 TDCI and 3.0TDCI engine variants here in trinidad (since we get the crappier versions straight from Thailand - damned 3rd-world country standards!!!!) - I just hope that the powers that be in McEarney Motors decide to order the manual 4x4 versions too.

What do you guys think of the new Ranger?
I'm waiting to see the new BT-50 now.....
Last edited by lighthammer on October 14th, 2010, 10:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

lighthammer

Re: The 2012 Ford Ranger & Mazda BT-50 - **LEAKED IMAGES!!!

Postby lighthammer » October 14th, 2010, 10:40 am

Right... a quick google search later (after posting the above leaks with the new ranger) brings up the new BT-50.

It's a bit.... unorthodox....

2011 Mazda BT-50 pick-up truck – first images!
October 14, 2010 at 10:18 pm By Paul Tan Filed Under Cars, International News, Mazda

As always, a new Ranger will be accompanied by a new Mazda BT-50 (sometimes referred to as the Fighter). The two trucks are nearly identical beneath the different sheetmetal, tub and interior, which by the way Mazda’s designers have decided to take a completely different approach compared to Ford’s straight and macho lines.

The new Mazda BT-50 was apparently inspired by a picture of a lion, which gave the truck’s chief designer Ryo Yanagisawa the impression of a “magnificent predator, with his muscles all bunching up as though he was about to pounce on his prey”. I think the front looks OK but the rear is kind of off.

The interior looks quite car-like and I wouldn’t be surprised if you showed me the interior shot above and told me it came from a regular Mazda passenger sedan.

Mazda hasn’t given out much details on what’s going into the engine bay but I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s pretty much the same 2.2 diesel, 3.2 diesel and 2.5 petrol engines that are going into the new 2011 Ranger.

Now I can confidently say that I dont' really fancy the new styling of the 2011 BT-50. Seems that Mazda's trying to revamp their entire line of cars to the newer, more youthful "zoom-zoom" look. I think it works well with their passenger sedans, I do like the new Mazda 6 sports sedan. But the swept lines and angular look doesn't really translate well to their pickup truck, IMO. It's deviating pretty far from the traditional lines of a workhorse vehicle, and it's still a bit unorthodox even for a "lifestyle" pickup. Looks like Mazda's designers were trying to capture the same success that Mitsubishi had when Mitsubishi changed the L200's design from boxy to the current swooping lines & curved body.

At least it doesn't look like a clone of the Ranger anymore....

What are your thoughts?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 14th, 2010, 10:43 am

[quote]The new Mazda BT-50 was apparently inspired by a picture of a lion, which gave the truck’s chief designer Ryo Yanagisawa the impression of a “magnificent predator, with his muscles all bunching up as though he was about to pounce on his prey”. I think the front looks OK but the rear is kind of off.

Is this guy a pickup-truck designer, or a floozy little runway high-fashion designer????

Damn you, you freaky japanese fakkers.
Ruining everything for the rest of the world.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 14th, 2010, 12:23 pm

BT-50 = Blech :!: .... the artists impressions posted earlier looked better.

Ranger - I was expecting a little more aggressive looking front (maybe more vertical/sharper lines in the lower front bumper area) but the overall design "looks tough." Will wait for the Road Test reviews...

So fellas when the Ranger does land here in T&T, how much will you pay for a fully loaded model?

I'm thinking they may START at $220K

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 14th, 2010, 12:29 pm

I'm thinking they may START at $220K

^^ Agreed.
McEarney motors will prob sell the base XLT, 4x4 manual (or more likely the automatic ) with 2.5 turbo, no sidesteps, no bedliner, no roll bar for approx $215 - $225K.

Upgrade packages = $15K-18K extra.

Not really happy with the new design - looks like a Hilux & Navara had a baby, with a D-max hornerman too.

(Navara-like face, Hilux body, and Dmax taillights).

BT-50 = Blech :!: .... the artists impressions posted earlier looked better.

Agreed x2.
That designer must be some skinny, pantyman weirdo Japanese dude, cuz the front fascia of the new BT-50 is really off-putting. I thought the new L200 was weird when it first came out (though it grew on me eventually) but this new BT-50 looks repulsive, esp. those back lights.

Damned weirdo-japanese.

do you want karate!!??

originalbling

Postby originalbling » October 14th, 2010, 1:24 pm

It has new rubber ‘hydro’ mounts placed on the frame, between the rail and the cabin. There mounts with hydraulic fluid help reduce violent vertical and horizontal motions more effectively...

The new Ranger also comes with ESP with Traction Control , ABS, an optional Trailer Sway Control, Adaptive Load Control as well as Roll-over Mitigation. There is also a rearview camera system and Rear Park Assist feature.

interesting range of features... let see what the reviewers say when the test drives are done

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 14th, 2010, 4:11 pm

I will take mine in white, with the 5 cylinder, 6-speed and a black nudge bar ...

Looks a million times better not blue:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 14th, 2010, 4:17 pm

yup, looks much better in black than in blue.
No croams plz.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 14th, 2010, 4:45 pm

actually i really like this new ranger - ok 2010 - THUNDER up for sale ,who want it?

badart

Postby badart » October 14th, 2010, 5:54 pm

kinda reminds me of the hilux..but overall the new ranger looks really good..its more practical now with more room for passengers in the back

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » October 14th, 2010, 8:42 pm

that really is a nice truck:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 14th, 2010, 9:47 pm

ehh... not exactly what I expected (damn the hype for making me think it was gonna look like the F-150)... but i think it'll start to grow on me.

Waiting patiently for the reviews now.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 14th, 2010, 9:59 pm

that can handle some big arse tires,(not rims eh)...

Postby wagon r » October 15th, 2010, 12:01 am

i takin one....from one blue van to another....!

3.2 6 speed....! imagine the pull on that....fadda lawd.. :faint:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 15th, 2010, 12:20 am

The 3.2 engine is rated as more powerful than the current Navara 2.5 engine (470NM vs. 403Nm).
That translates into more towing capacity and better overtaking performance on the highways.

The new ranger's front coil-springs should give a smoother ride too.
I'm gonna test drive this beetch as soon as it lands in the 868!!!

Looks even better in the flesh than in concept art:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 15th, 2010, 12:45 am

Some more pics:

View the full Flickr Photoset here...

If you look closely, you can see certain fundamental design elements that have been kept throughout the evolution of the Ranger. The swoooping lights from the 2006-2009 PK ranger, the foglight & 3-bar grill from the 2002-2006 PJ ranger, and the lower bumper's two lateral air-inlets & the two "nostrils" on each side of the upper grill (both 1998-2002 Ranger & the 2006-2009 Ranger.)

At least Ford design hasn't strayed too far from its roots, unlike the new & somewhat off-putting Mazda BT-50.

I think I like this new Ranger.
Now where can I get $220K to pay for it?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 15th, 2010, 6:50 am

I wonder what the wildtrak will look like

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 15th, 2010, 7:17 am

Anyone got pics of the back seat area :?:

...ah want to see if there is enough space for.....umm

....ah cyah use the tray for everything yuh know :lol:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 15th, 2010, 7:23 am

i donno but i really like this version, its like they addressed all the issues with the current model , major one being - too small.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 15th, 2010, 7:37 am

time for vids...

this one a bit boring...

Postby wagon r » October 15th, 2010, 8:11 am

i surprised no one eh mention it......there's no transfer lever...!

...4wd is now a turn dail by the shifter....as you could see in the pics.....that used to be a feature only on the autos but i guess they have inclu. in both variants to save space....certainly makes the center console looks much much more attractive....

...and the handbrake is now like most other models.....that could only spell trouble....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 15th, 2010, 8:50 am

^^ yeah it's now electronically controlled.

IMO that just means another weak link in the chain, as electronics are more prone to failure than mechanical shifters - but that's just my op.

Also, I think i preferred the older t-style handbrake. Sure it's not as ideal for hill-starts or off-roading, but it allowed more room on the center console.

Oh well, such is the progress of life.

Looks good though, wouldn't mind putting some BFG's on that thing and see how it goes through the trails.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 15th, 2010, 9:02 am

lighthammer wrote:Also, I think i preferred the older t-style handbrake. Sure it's not as ideal for hill-starts or off-roading...

I disagree, for me it does not matter where the handbrake is when doing a hill start.... as long as it is in reach. You just have to know how to handle your vehicle controls.

Postby wagon r » October 15th, 2010, 10:28 am

i glad they moved it.....

handbrake turns are now easier to do... :)

Cooper

Postby Cooper » October 15th, 2010, 10:46 am

^^^ you is ah crazy man.... but then again, that fact was extablished a loooong time ago :lol:

Ah just notice a headrest in the middle of the back seat... interesting. The vehicle must be a lot wider inside. Still looking for pics of that backseat.

Considering the kind of market we have in T&T and knowing how the stealerships do business, I'm not quite confident that we'll get the new 3.2-litre Ford Duratorq TDCi I5 on the models that would make it here.

Might be one of those "special order" deals again.... it was the same issue when I was ready to buy. Couldn't get the 3.0 DuraTorq with a manual unless it was a special order and even then it was too expensive.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 15th, 2010, 11:49 am

nice van, could get one for the missus
still prefer the nav

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”