rough idle with a/c

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
qd32

rough idle with a/c

Postby qd32 » October 13th, 2010, 4:18 pm

Hi, the problem I am having is this... Whenever the A/C is on in my van it idles roughly. The engine is a QD32 non turbo. Usually one would look for a Dashport Valve and adjust accordingly (on gas engines) but I am lost on a diesel.

Any suggestions?

Re: rough idle with a/c

Postby 3stagevtec » October 14th, 2010, 4:57 am

i'm not sure myself, but since diesels typically don't have any throttle bodies, i figure the step up control comes from the ecu, or some electronic fuel control.. assuming all the electrics are ok, i figure the problem could be as simple the need for a 'tune up'..

try the regular stuff and see if that helps.. fuel filter / air filter / injector cleaner etc..

qd32

Postby qd32 » October 14th, 2010, 10:25 am

3stagevtec... thanks I already tried that yet same problem. thanks

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 14th, 2010, 11:45 am

might be the a/c clutch or fuel control problems.

Carry it back to the stealership and ask them to do a full review.
Make sure you get to demonstrate & recreate the problem to the technicians - last time I brought my frontier to the stealership about a steering-rack noise, they couldn't reproduce the problem although I specifically wrote it down on the submission card when booking in.

If all else fails, bring the truck to a qualified AC-repair company to have it checked. Most likely it has something to do with the AC drawing power from the engine, since your engine is fine when the a/c is off.

qd32

Postby qd32 » October 14th, 2010, 11:47 am

'Carry it back to the stealership and ask them to do a full review.'

oh yes yuh en easy...

my van was bought from the stealership in 2002...

they don't even what to smell me

termite01

Postby termite01 » October 14th, 2010, 2:39 pm

I had the same problem when i bought my frontier with QD32

This is all i did and it worked
1) Change air filter if needed
2) Drain fuel filter or change both if neccessary. I put 3/4 filter with Redline into one of the fuel filters before priming
3) Put 3 to 4 corks of Redline in tank at each full up

Since then i had no problems

If that don't work you may need to check diesel specialist to service your pump and injectors

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 14th, 2010, 3:47 pm

Taking a long shot here ... but are the engine mounts good?

qd32

Postby qd32 » October 14th, 2010, 4:32 pm

termite01 wrote:I had the same problem when i bought my frontier with QD32

This is all i did and it worked
1) Change air filter if needed
2) Drain fuel filter or change both if neccessary. I put 3/4 filter with Redline into one of the fuel filters before priming
3) Put 3 to 4 corks of Redline in tank at each full up

Since then i had no problems

If that don't work you may need to check diesel specialist to service your pump and injectors

I will try this.. what is the correct name for the Redline treatment

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » October 14th, 2010, 5:56 pm

you guys trying to frighten the man orr? it may be as simple as a loose vacuum hose on the AC step up soleniod, diaphragm needs adjusting or the solenoid itself. get someone to switch the AC on and off and look at the little arm on the diesel pump and see if it moves (unless its the electronic QD32)

qd32

Postby qd32 » October 15th, 2010, 3:57 pm

ok bigchief will try this tomorrow thanks

termite01

Postby termite01 » October 16th, 2010, 9:32 am

Redline Diesel Fuel Enchancer.
I usually pay $50 dollars a bottle

qd32

Re: rough idle with a/c----solved sort of......

Postby qd32 » November 1st, 2010, 7:30 am

ok guys, I did a complete service, pump, adjusted valves etc... runs smooth.

one problem... the hose that runs from the air filter box to the intake burst in half. I have flashband holding it together now. This morning I will call the firm to get a cost of a replacement. But any suggestions on aftermarket parts to use and where it might be available?

I do serious mileage so the flashband not going to hold it for long.

thanks

venum

Postby venum » November 1st, 2010, 11:49 am

when you were idling with A/C on and experiencing the rough idle

when u stepped on the throttle did the rough vibration stop

if so, then a manual step up on the injection pump may be needed

qd32

Postby qd32 » November 1st, 2010, 12:02 pm

venum wrote:when you were idling with A/C on and experiencing the rough idle

absolutely right.....my van although it came with a/c it did not come with the step up.

Know where i can get one?

venum

Postby venum » November 1st, 2010, 1:23 pm

any knowledgeable diesel mech would be abke to do that

prob need to raise the idle by 100 - 200 rpm

adjustment done to the rest/idle position of the throttle on the injection pump

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » November 3rd, 2010, 8:34 pm

qd32 wrote:ok guys, I did a complete service, pump, adjusted valves etc... runs smooth.

one problem... the hose that runs from the air filter box to the intake burst in half. I have flashband holding it together now. This morning I will call the firm to get a cost of a replacement. But any suggestions on aftermarket parts to use and where it might be available?

thanks

Trinidad Hose on Mucarapo Rd in POS.
They will actually sleeve it for you as well. Just take out the old one and carry it. However, if you have alot of bends in the line, it may get alil more complex but nothing they cant handle.
Clamps, everything they gots... When they done is just a swap in...

Cost me about 1/10th the price of buying the hose by Toyota

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » November 3rd, 2010, 8:36 pm

qd32 wrote:
venum wrote:when you were idling with A/C on and experiencing the rough idle

absolutely right.....my van although it came with a/c it did not come with the step up.

Know where i can get one?

Check ah A/C place...? But be warned its bloody expensive....

qd32

Postby qd32 » November 4th, 2010, 10:51 am

bleedingfreak wrote:
qd32 wrote:ok guys, I did a complete service, pump, adjusted valves etc... runs smooth.

thanks

Trinidad Hose on Mucarapo Rd in POS.
They will actually sleeve it for you as well. Just take out the old one and carry it. However, if you have alot of bends in the line, it may get alil more complex but nothing they cant handle.
Clamps, everything they gots... When they done is just a swap in...

Cost me about 1/10th the price of buying the hose by Toyota

will check them out thanks.... heh heh my sis in law works there 'that spells discount'..probably not... :(

dyna9275

Postby dyna9275 » November 7th, 2010, 3:44 pm

u need to check the step up on the pump and see a professional like myself

qd32

Postby qd32 » November 10th, 2010, 12:58 pm

dyna9275 wrote:u need to check the step up on the pump and see a professional like myself

that is the problem.. i have no step up... do you know where I can get one and for what price?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”