Wedding Cost

ras_elmo

Re: Wedding Cost

Postby ras_elmo » October 11th, 2010, 11:02 pm

Dude...mine cost us about $90K for 180 or so (plus stormers) including all inclusive honeymoon. Although I loved every minute of it....twas a hard lash to take against our savings.
My advice is have a small sensible ceremony with family & close friends..cut out the "fru fru" and hold back some $$ for yuh house & furnishings.

Postby Rooki3 » October 11th, 2010, 11:02 pm

no stamina???

Postby AllTrac » October 11th, 2010, 11:53 pm

Damien wrote:I still paying for my wedding that was three yrs ago, hopefully it would finish soon

yuh getting ah divorce? 8-)

Postby Trini Hookah » October 12th, 2010, 3:40 am

AllTrac wrote:
Damien wrote:I still paying for my wedding that was three yrs ago, hopefully it would finish soon

yuh getting ah divorce? 8-)

you feel is like long time? :|

Postby goalpost » October 12th, 2010, 6:19 am

One of my friend's sister spent $5000 on a wedding dress that she wearing for 1 day and probably just half of d day. The bridesmaid dresses were $1200 apiece. Groom's suit, I think was $1900 and groomsmen suits were $1000 each.
Everything was the highest price you could find. Two government clerks catering for $150 a plate for 250 guests. and then the facking decorations, music, dj etc. everything they find was the highest possible cost, because they wanted to "look good" for their guests...

well most guests don't care once their belly full.

Guess where they had their honeymoon?

Nowhere.

They had no more $$.

Dumb idiots.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » October 12th, 2010, 8:43 am

I think 120 guests max is a good size wedding i.e. 60/ side. The more help one can get WRT family cooking food, decorating etc it saves alot of money. Thats how people did it some yrs ago & the memories last a life time.

I've noticed hardly no more bamboo tents now & more renting of auditoriums.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » October 12th, 2010, 9:04 am

Once you Hav the $$ to Spare and u sure its the RIGHT ONE,... it all depends on the quantity of the guests.. try to keep it Immediate Friends and Family...

Dont go Spending too mch cuz you dont know what will happen a year after as a common tiing these days :|

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » October 12th, 2010, 9:12 am

Rooki3 wrote:religion affects cost????

Yes i believe Religion varies the cost...

Hindu's Normally hav Fri night(Maticoor), Sat night(Cooking), and then Sunday(wedding)..

So tahts 3 days u hav to Cater for Guests + Tent + Chairs + DJ + Food.. then depends on the Band thas 15/20K right ther.. + Tassa + Rum

and this is done by BOTH BRIDE & GROOM(Dhulahin and Dhulaha) Houses
so Multiply all that by 2 :shock:

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 12th, 2010, 9:14 am

dam....check those figures

food and venue is most expensive.

having a huge extended family could be beneficial.
Last edited by searchingone on April 15th, 2011, 11:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RBphoto » October 12th, 2010, 9:21 am

Our cost....more than what any of allyuh quote here as yet. We took a whole year to plan it. My only regret is trying to save money on the photography. Spend the dollars and get a good photographer and videographer, and pay for the biggest print package, or else all that planning and hard work will not be recorded. A wedding ceromony is not about financial prudence, but creating a memory to last a lifetime. I have no records of the great decor, food, guests enjoying themselves, some of the entertainment. I thought $5,000.00 was a steep price for photography.... but you need to pay to get what you want. Only other advice is to spend a few days in Trinidad before rushing off to the honeymoon. Take a day or two to recuperate after that hectic day. I am glad we booked a room at a nice hotel for two days to relax and recuperate before flying out the next week. Gave us time to pack, settle bills for unexpected costs, make a rounds of all the family, (and collect wedding presents :) ) and get our photo album so we could have it with us on the honeymoon, because the whole day as a blurr to both of us. One other piece of advice to the bride and groom, do not drink any alcohol on the day. I have photographed weddings where you can tell that the bride and the groom were drunk, makes you slouch and make unflattering facial expressions. Alcohol makes you sweat. Also, after waking up at 4:00AM (don't think that you will be comfortable for one moment of your wedding day), parading around for the whole day, dancing till the evening, I have many friends who tell me they just flops down and sleep in their wedding clothes after the event because they were to drunk, sleepy and tired. If you want to make the night special, stay off the booze, and try to hit the Jym beforehand like you preparing for carnival.

Have a special one.

jcrew

Postby jcrew » October 12th, 2010, 9:47 am

Fack all dat! I taking that money and paying down on ah piece of land. Who want reception in the family, let them pass money.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 12th, 2010, 9:50 am

5k for photography! :shock: wda!....... for my cousin's wedding a while ago I did some videotaping for him, with guests eating and socializing etc, for free....I know I'll get the same favour in return when my time reach..

my priorities are to have the house ready, and the best possible honeymoon.
if these are in order and and you could afford to have a more luxurious wedding WITHOUT being in debt, then by all means fix up :)

forget about impressing the guests.....is YOUR wedding and YOUR future. Do what YOU can afford and be happy with.....the last thing you want is financial stress as soon as you wed.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » October 12th, 2010, 9:55 am

i just got married a few weeks ago .

it all depends on your size of guests and theme.

weddings are expensive pm me for details..........

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » October 12th, 2010, 10:03 am

the avg price for photography in 10k....

major costs will be

Photography
food
drinks (including of toasting wine or champagne)
hall
rings
suit\s
wedding dress
table & chairs
table cloths
chair backs
stuff for the head table(varying options)
wedding car

and the small stuff
corsages/flower for the bridal party
invitations
favors
barmen
ice
cuttlery
glasses

the smaller your guest list the lest its gonnah cost.

air wick

Postby air wick » October 12th, 2010, 10:43 am

run down on my costs-

rings - $20K
honeymoon - $16K
wedding dress & ACC. - $7K
Tux, SHOES ETC. - $3K
Decorating material - $5K
CAKE - $4K
Serving Staff - $1K
Bartenders - $0.8K
Drinks - $10K
Caterer - $2K (labor to cook)
Food Stuff (raw materials)- $8K
Rentals (table,chair, tent, vip toilets, stage, food warmers... etc) - 5K
Disposable wares (plates, cups) - $1K
Hall - $4K
Photo + Video - $4K
Invitations - $1K
Cake boxes - 1K
Church Rental - $1.2K

this is approx 94K and i haven't mentioned DJ, floral arrangements and the other misc. stuff

i was planning since last Dec. and accumulated most stuff before hand

Postby RBphoto » October 12th, 2010, 10:47 am

Doing a cruise for a honeymoon is very economical. Travis, which hall you get for 4K? All I see are upward of 10!!!

air wick

Postby air wick » October 12th, 2010, 10:48 am

crossdrilled wrote:Doing a cruise for a honeymoon is very economical. Travis, which hall you get for 4K? All I see are upward of 10!!!

I went with SANSECC in San Francique Penal, because it's close to my home the downside is it's not air conditioned but has 4 large cooling fans on each corner of the hall

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » October 12th, 2010, 10:53 am

Wedding is just a big waste of money.
Go sign paper and save yuh money for the honeymoon or down payment on a house.

Postby crazybalhead » October 12th, 2010, 10:54 am

Wedding on a budget...

Firstly, if she long eye, forget it.

Secondly, limit the guests to 100 and under.

Allyuh might say I cheap but here goes:

Decorations and center pieces, done by us.
Invitations, done by my wife.
Flowers, flowerline, about 5k (ORchids, head table, bouquet, etc)
Hall 5k (I think) Angostura
Food $60 a head I think???
DJ $3000.00 DJ Ryan, on Tuner
Suit, wore one I already had, shoes too.
Dress, about 700US
Car..used my brother's car.
Drinks about 8k.
Honey moon about 10k
Rings, cheap. It's the symbol that counts. The wedding ring should be an unbroken simple metal band in my opinion, about 2k.

Friends and family boogeying down the place celabrating with you? Priceless!

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » October 12th, 2010, 10:58 am

What about hindu wedding?

ive seen them blow past 100K normal normal , and thats one ONE side....by that i mean the girl side is 100K and then the boy side might be a further 50K

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 12th, 2010, 11:01 am

Travis wrote:Hall - $4K

you mind sharing with us which hall? ac?

Postby AllTrac » October 12th, 2010, 11:01 am

fork everybody who want to come eat and drink for free then u doh see dem bastards for de rest of yuh life, plus after they full dey gutz on your money dey still have summing bad to say. Ill save my money for the most epic honeymoon ever! spend it all on myself and new wife.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » October 12th, 2010, 11:02 am

100K? Pshhhhh, I've seen 500K +
It's really sad.

Postby SR » October 12th, 2010, 11:03 am

get marrid under muslim rights

sit down at the table no alco no dj
could happen on a sunday afternoon from 1pm to 3pm
serve light snacks and finger food

if yuh want a reception tell everyone is dutch and go to a club

den take the money yuh save and enjoy yuh honeymoon

but as ballhead if d woman long eyed..............yunno is bling she go want

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 12th, 2010, 11:04 am

Red House FTW

Postby crazybalhead » October 12th, 2010, 11:05 am

BlueIce wrote:What about hindu wedding?

ive seen them blow past 100K normal normal , and thats one ONE side....by that i mean the girl side is 100K and then the boy side might be a further 50K

I had two ceremonies. Hindu and catholic. I have no idea how much was spent on the Hindu side, but I don't think it was more than 30k. Just a lil small puja and food after for the family and a few friends. The wifey made her own Sari top and slip. Her friends did here hair and make-up. My clothes were small money.

The wedding is not as important as the marriage.

And Trac, I wish I doh see them MC's who eat meh food, SR and Zort and them kants.

Postby crazybalhead » October 12th, 2010, 11:06 am

Porn Star wrote:100K? Pshhhhh, I've seen 500K +
It's really sad.

Eh heh??? *looks out for invitation*. :drinking: :drinking: :drinking: :drinking: :drinking:

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » October 12th, 2010, 11:09 am

crazybalhead wrote:
Porn Star wrote:100K? Pshhhhh, I've seen 500K +
It's really sad.

Eh heh??? *looks out for invitation*. :drinking: :drinking: :drinking: :drinking: :drinking:

Right now I feeling like Superman. :? and in 18 days is Doomsday !!!!!!!!! :?

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » October 12th, 2010, 11:09 am

crazybalhead wrote:
BlueIce wrote:What about hindu wedding?

I had two ceremonies. Hindu and catholic. I have no idea how much was spent on the Hindu side, but I don't think it was more than 30k. Just a lil small puja and food after for the family and a few friends. The wifey made her own Sari top and slip. Her friends did here hair and make-up. My clothes were small money.

The wedding is not as important as the marriage.

And Trac, I wish I doh see them MC's who eat meh food, SR and Zort and them kants.

no wonder u have a frickin evo and i still driving a corolla plus sell meh s13 ...lulz

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » October 12th, 2010, 11:09 am

most of u guys are just guessing

Angostura hall starts from 10K up and YOU CANNOT BRING DRINKS YOU HAVE TO USE THEIR BAR SERVICES if u want to bring drinks they offer a corkage fee.

a hall for 250 - 450 ppl is anywhere from 13k - 15k with A/C (if u can get one for free lucky you)

Unless u doing ur own catering food bill can be from 20K up.

then there is invitations dress etec etc etc.

while i agree its a waste of money noone wants a crappy wedding hence why its so costly.

My best advice is for both families come togther and cut cost
Groom and family (Drinks)
Bride and family (food)
everything else the bride and groom shud take care of.

the old rhetoric from people who are not married"that money cud buy land or pay for house" well life just dont work out that way. so dont fool yuhself. See how much of them dont have land or house or nowhere close to being married.