Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
sweeks

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby sweeks » August 23rd, 2010, 8:33 am

rottedv wrote:So my sales rep told me that if I go anywhere outside toyota to service that i'll void the warranty

That's right ... they now have a warranty manager .... Five years ago it wasn't like this, five years ago they built vehicles that didn't need any warranty!

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 27th, 2010, 8:57 am

sweeks wrote:
rottedv wrote:So my sales rep told me that if I go anywhere outside toyota to service that i'll void the warranty

That's right ... they now have a warranty manager .... Five years ago it wasn't like this, five years ago they built vehicles that didn't need any warranty!

That is when they had the bulletproof Hilux.. Those days are seemingly gone.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 27th, 2010, 12:12 pm

Still the best new 4x4 out there. All is needs is a sunroof/moonroof. Auto optional.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » August 29th, 2010, 7:06 am

So knowing that service at toyota may be a problem I found this link...Might be useful to the service men in all of us..

http://toyota.esealtd.com/toyota/hilux/index2.html

xtinguisher

Postby xtinguisher » September 1st, 2010, 2:10 pm

Hey guys recently bought a 2.5l 4x4 Hilux. Was wondering if its possible to install the Top mount intercooler on the 3.0 Hilux onto the 2.5l. Is this upgrade also a bolt on?

Postby Team Loco » September 12th, 2010, 12:02 am

first post here.

a little birdy told me tttl is fighting off a recall on the 3.0 new model hilux. many of the first batch sold here are having problems with the EGR valve. locally, they are simply blanking it off. can anyone confirm?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » September 16th, 2010, 8:06 pm

Ok guys. Just reached the 100K on a Vigo

What do I need to do beside the following:

Front Diff Oil, Transfer Case Fluid, Rear Diff Oil, Tranny Fluid, Brake Fluid, PS Fluid.

Ive picked up from a hilux search here on these forums that I should also be doing:

Timing Belt, Water pump, Drive Belt, Coolant.

I just did eng oil, oil and fuel filter 2kms ago.

Any Help will be greatly appreciated.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 16th, 2010, 9:56 pm

Nigel1977 did you do a major service at 80 000km? If not I would focus more on the fluids.

Timing belt is changed at 150 000km. OEM Coolant is good up to 160 000km. Inspect the belts and leave the water pump alone.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » September 17th, 2010, 4:56 pm

^^^ Thanks.

I got all the fluids from Lubetech/Total !!!

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 17th, 2010, 8:34 pm

If you need OEM oil filters and disc pads, let me know.

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » September 18th, 2010, 3:37 pm

how much for the filter

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 18th, 2010, 7:39 pm

topshotta20 wrote:how much for the filter

$80 .... Good for two oil changes.

dillonrps13

Postby dillonrps13 » October 7th, 2010, 5:10 pm

what was the total cost to do d fluid change

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 7th, 2010, 8:25 pm

Not sure but it's a DIY is you have time and tools.

catalan24

Postby catalan24 » October 11th, 2010, 11:23 pm

hey guys, would like to know if u all can help me out here

I recently bought an old model hilux, the TAY model and I am looking for a set of 15" rims (possibly original) that will work on the van without having spacers on it. The current set it have on is Ziglas pretty sure u all know about that and well each side on the front taking about 3 spacers and the back have bout 2 I think but I hate dat set up and would like something fitting correctly. I checked most rim places but they don't seem to have the correct set, so I'm asking u all if u can direct me to someone if they have a set or if u all have the correct wheel dimensions for the rim like the width so that I can search around for it...thanks

Postby Team Loco » October 12th, 2010, 8:36 am

check mileage mack

rottedv

Postby rottedv » October 15th, 2010, 1:48 am

rottedv wrote:Anyone went to the open house yesterday... I got a deal on the 4x2 2.5TD hilux double cab hi spec...Was going for 174k I think and I got it for 168k with the first two service free...What you guys think?

So since I posted this, I finally got my van last Friday....Yes folks thats nearly 2 months after the said downpayment above...I made alot of noise with Toyota, got some futher discounts, got some side steps free, a loaner vehicle to keep for a whole month and negotiated with the bank (Scotia) and got a better rate. Apparently, Toyota sent a bounced check to clear the van and their was some lack of communication between departments, then they claimed that license office was giving trouble with no casher, their was a major difference in opinion with the easy street promotion they offered with regard to the bank you were taking the loan from (Major Differences between Toyota and Scotia) And finally after all that I got the van.

So I was reading through the owners manual and it was showing the ranges to shift when driving and I am trying to follow that but I cannot get to the final speed that they are speaking of in the manual in fourth...i.e. the range for fourth is 86km to 131km but whe trying to reach to shift from 131 to go to fifth the van must go into redline to get there. Is this normal or is it that the van is this slow and that the owners manual is wrong?

What mods should I look into and who helping meh? :wink:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 15th, 2010, 6:02 am

^^ you're not the first person to complain about long waiting periods to get a hilux from TTL. They often will overpromise and underdeliver when it comes to waiting times. Couple other tuners on this forum went through similar stories - one guy even cancelled his order while the truck was shipping and got a refund of the deposit paid. At least you were able to renegotiate with scotia bank and get a better rate - kudos for that man.

I cannot get to the final speed that they are speaking of in the manual in fourth...i.e. the range for fourth is 86km to 131km but whe trying to reach to shift from 131 to go to fifth the van must go into redline to get there. Is this normal or is it that the van is this slow and that the owners manual is wrong?

Perhaps there's a small "break-in" period like when you used to buy a new car long ago, then that means your truck still hasn't been properly broken in. I know that folks say these new trucks don't have a break-in period, but it's something to consider.
Also, the 2.5L engine in the Hilux has been said to be a bit underpowered, so don't be surprised if you don't get the same performance as you'd get out of the 3.0 D4D.

Here's some specs on your model hilux engine:
Most Vigo 2500 cc models come with a 2KD-FTV engine. It is a 16 valve Common Rail, Direct Injection Turbo DOHC Diesel Engine. Its specifications are:-

Type: 2.5 liter 4 cylinder D4-D diesel
Displacement: 2494
Bore x Stroke: 92 x 93.8mm
Compression ratio: 18.5 to 1

Horse Power: 75Kw @ 3600 rpm
Torque Output: 260 Nm @ 1600

and here's some specs for the 3.0 D-4D 1KD-FTV engine:
This versatile engine was introduced in 2003 in the new Prado and is now a part of 3.0 Toyota Hilux Vigo, Toyota Hiace and Soni Motors best selling SUV Toyota Fortuner. Its specifications are:

Bore x Stroke: 97.0 x 103.0 mm
Displacement: 2982 cc
Intercooled Turbo
Power: 120 kW , 163 HP DIN @ 3,400 rpm;
Torque 343 Nm @ 1,600 rpm

All 3000 cc (actually 2982) Vigos come with this excellent engine. F in FT stands for "economical" twin cam (narrow angle, around 22 degrees) and T for turbocharged.

Source site here

Maybe someone else more knowledgeable about the 2.5 2KD-FTV engine might be able to elaborate more.

Try not to redline the RPM's man, save your engine! You just got the thing :)

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 15th, 2010, 2:13 pm

The 2.5 2kd-ftv is slow compared to the 3.0 1kd-ftv.

Did you test drive them before? They aren't built for speed esp if it's a 4x4.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » October 16th, 2010, 12:28 pm

Nope I did not test drive it cause it was not available to test drive at the time and its the 4x2...Well when I go in for my first 1K km service i'll ask them to look at it....but anyway.....what mods should I look into, it's pretty basic right now......stock to the bone....so what to do to improve the vans' everything...?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » October 17th, 2010, 8:59 am

rottedv wrote:
So I was reading through the owners manual and it was showing the ranges to shift when driving and I am trying to follow that but I cannot get to the final speed that they are speaking of in the manual in fourth...i.e. the range for fourth is 86km to 131km but whe trying to reach to shift from 131 to go to fifth the van must go into redline to get there. Is this normal or is it that the van is this slow and that the owners manual is wrong?

What mods should I look into and who helping meh? :wink:

Have you ever owned a vehicle before? Are you a noob?

rottedv

Postby rottedv » October 17th, 2010, 5:04 pm

ahhhh.....arse came out .......please if you have nothing to contribute stay out of the talk.....Can you read????

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 17th, 2010, 5:14 pm

Postby Team Loco » October 20th, 2010, 9:43 am

rottedv wrote:ahhhh.....arse came out .......please if you have nothing to contribute stay out of the talk.....Can you read????

yuh arse came out?? we didnt need to know this :D

Bluemachine34

Postby Bluemachine34 » October 20th, 2010, 1:10 pm

rottedv wrote:ahhhh.....arse came out .......please if you have nothing to contribute stay out of the talk.....Can you read????

It seems that this forum has been compromised.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » October 20th, 2010, 3:00 pm

Okay...I will assume you never had a vehicle before..

So you took a brand new vehicle to redline? assuming repeatedly...
All vehicles have a break in period... They dont describe it as direct as that, but they give certain conditions... Regardless...

OBVIOUSLY you didnt read that part of the manual...

Good job and congrats. You have probably damaged your engine...

Second, why would you push your diesel to 4-5K rpm anyway? You are not making any power or torque at those rpms... Efficency drops off drastically...

Anyways, normal driving ranges, which most ppl probably adhere too are
1st gear: 1 - 25kmph
2nd: 20-50
3rd: 35-70
4th: 55-100
5th: 75 and greater

These values will vary based on your gear ratios, including final drive.

You range quoted of 80-130kmph is obviously flawed. If you had any idea about vehicles you would know that even for a gasoline engine those values are extreme... And would not do that to "try to get the speed listed out of the engine".

Maybe you should go back to Toyota and complain that you didnt get the speed that they quoted in the manual?

If I appear aggressive, its because I am...

Good job on showing your true colours though...

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » October 20th, 2010, 3:15 pm

lighthammer wrote:^^ you're not the first person to complain about long waiting periods to get a hilux from TTL. They often will overpromise and underdeliver when it comes to waiting times. Couple other tuners on this forum went through similar stories - one guy even cancelled his order while the truck was shipping and got a refund of the deposit paid. At least you were able to renegotiate with scotia bank and get a better rate - kudos for that man.

I cannot get to the final speed that they are speaking of in the manual in fourth...i.e. the range for fourth is 86km to 131km but whe trying to reach to shift from 131 to go to fifth the van must go into redline to get there. Is this normal or is it that the van is this slow and that the owners manual is wrong?

Perhaps there's a small "break-in" period like when you used to buy a new car long ago, then that means your truck still hasn't been properly broken in. I know that folks say these new trucks don't have a break-in period, but it's something to consider.
Also, the 2.5L engine in the Hilux has been said to be a bit underpowered, so don't be surprised if you don't get the same performance as you'd get out of the 3.0 D4D.

Here's some specs on your model hilux engine:
Most Vigo 2500 cc models come with a 2KD-FTV engine. It is a 16 valve Common Rail, Direct Injection Turbo DOHC Diesel Engine. Its specifications are:-

Type: 2.5 liter 4 cylinder D4-D diesel
Displacement: 2494
Bore x Stroke: 92 x 93.8mm
Compression ratio: 18.5 to 1

Horse Power: 75Kw @ 3600 rpm
Torque Output: 260 Nm @ 1600

and here's some specs for the 3.0 D-4D 1KD-FTV engine:
This versatile engine was introduced in 2003 in the new Prado and is now a part of 3.0 Toyota Hilux Vigo, Toyota Hiace and Soni Motors best selling SUV Toyota Fortuner. Its specifications are:

Bore x Stroke: 97.0 x 103.0 mm
Displacement: 2982 cc
Intercooled Turbo
Power: 120 kW , 163 HP DIN @ 3,400 rpm;
Torque 343 Nm @ 1,600 rpm

All 3000 cc (actually 2982) Vigos come with this excellent engine. F in FT stands for "economical" twin cam (narrow angle, around 22 degrees) and T for turbocharged.

Source site here

Maybe someone else more knowledgeable about the 2.5 2KD-FTV engine might be able to elaborate more.

Try not to redline the RPM's man, save your engine! You just got the thing :)

Advice was quoted above... Try not to redline the engine... There is an obvious reason for that

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 20th, 2010, 11:40 pm

^^ agreed.

Diesel engines simply weren't designed to work efficiently at high rpms like gasoline engines - there's no VTEC to kick in at 5000RPMs man.

Most of a diesel engine's power is made between 2000-3500 rpm, after that speed the diesel is just too heavy to ignite any faster - at least not at the default compression ratios used by most light-truck engines.

In light of this, diesel engines are designed primarily with power, torque and durability in mind. These are workhorses, not racehorses.

If you really want the speed in a pickup, might as well buy an older model 4x2 low-rider pickup and drop an SR20 DET in it. At least you'll still have a tray to do work.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » October 21st, 2010, 5:12 am

Thanks fellas...apparently the engine was governed down.....and they had to re adjust it....I never carried the van into redline, when I saw it was going, I shifted.....I have driven cars that shifted into fith at speeds in excess of 125km so.....Just wanted to know if my first diesel vehicle was doing what it was supposed to be doing....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 21st, 2010, 6:28 am

Ooorrrrr hoorrrrr...
Is ur first diesel....
hmm ok.
So what RPM's are you shifting with now?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”