Jury duty

Jury duty

Postby redmanjp » October 11th, 2010, 12:18 pm

got a summons to appear at Hall of Justice on Nov. 1st but they accepting exemptions on Oct. 27th

I work only part time (which in my case is 3 days a week) but I'm also a SBCS student doing a Bsc degree. My classes have already started but are Saturdays/evenings. However , by December I would have to start coursework which goes towards the final grade for each course, and depending on how long the case is (i have no idea how long it would be) it would interfere with the time i need for this which includes the 2 days off during the week, so could I be granted an exemption on the basis that i'm a student although its not full time classes i have?
and do I HAVE to wear a tie with my shirt when i go Hall of Justice? havent worn any in at least 3 yrs only a shirt
Last edited by redmanjp on May 31st, 2011, 3:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Exemptions from Jury duty?

Postby rollingstock » October 11th, 2010, 12:26 pm

Seriously when you go there and they ask you if you know about the case say yes and that they should hang him. :wink:

p.s wear a tie

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » October 11th, 2010, 12:30 pm

redmanjp wrote:got a summons to appear at Hall of Justice on Nov. 1st but they accepting exemptions on Oct. 27th

I work only part time (which in my case is 3 days a week) but I'm also a SBCS student doing a Bsc degree. My classes have already started but are Saturdays/evenings. However , by December I would have to start coursework which goes towards the final grade for each course, and depending on how long the case is (i have no idea how long it would be) it would interfere with the time i need for this which includes the 2 days off during the week, so could I be granted an exemption on the basis that i'm a student although its not full time classes i have?
and do I HAVE to wear a tie with my shirt when i go Hall of Justice? havent worn any in at least 3 yrs only a shirt

i got a summons for the same date :?

Postby UML » October 11th, 2010, 12:36 pm

mitsu4life wrote:
redmanjp wrote:got a summons to appear at Hall of Justice on Nov. 1st but they accepting exemptions on Oct. 27th

tuner lime? :|

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 11th, 2010, 12:40 pm

1) Because you got summoned for jury duty does not necessarily mean you will be picked for a case.
2) You have to have a REALLY good and credible excuse for being exempted from jury duty. If you don't, the judge will embarrass you in front of the whole court. Your stated reason doesn't meet the criteria of "really good and credible".
3) If you get picked for a jury, when you are being sworn in just pretend you have difficulty reading and, in all likelihood, one of the lawyers will object to you being on the jury. Just remember to not let anyone see you reading a newspaper or other document without any problems before the court proceedings start.
4) You get compensated for your time, albeit, a few years later.
5) You get fed lunch when you are selected on a jury.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 11th, 2010, 12:40 pm

UML wrote:
mitsu4life wrote:

tuner lime? :|

Ill bring drinks

Postby foss » October 11th, 2010, 12:41 pm

tell them yuh pregnant :|

AlliDr

Postby AlliDr » October 11th, 2010, 12:50 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:5) You get fed lunch when you are selected on a jury.

not really eh, I was on jury duty about ten years ago, and we were not given any lunch, but were told we could claim it as part of the compensation once you could provide receipts.

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » October 11th, 2010, 12:52 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:2) You have to have a REALLY good and credible excuse for being exempted from jury duty. If you don't, the judge will embarrass you in front of the whole court.

I am the ONLY I.T personnel for company who happens to also be the only person doing receivables and November is dead smack in the middle of our peak season, so the system is bound to get a few stuck transactions and there will be heaps of crap to process on the accounts side of my job

is that good enough?

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 11th, 2010, 12:53 pm

how are persons selected?

searchingone

Postby searchingone » October 11th, 2010, 12:54 pm

mitsu4life wrote:

me too :?

AlliDr

Postby AlliDr » October 11th, 2010, 12:59 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:how are persons selected?

Once you have an ID card, you are selected randomly using names from the voters list, once you are chosen and serve, you are taken out of the list for the next ten years or so.

Postby rollingstock » October 11th, 2010, 1:07 pm

mitsu4life wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:2) You have to have a REALLY good and credible excuse for being exempted from jury duty. If you don't, the judge will embarrass you in front of the whole court.

I am the ONLY I.T personnel for company who happens to also be the only person doing receivables and November is dead smack in the middle of our peak season, so the system is bound to get a few stuck transactions and there will be heaps of crap to process on the accounts side of my job

is that good enough?

Not really, and the excuse that you can't read won't work either.

Take some advice, when you go for selection just state that you were previously the victim of a crime and as a result you do not believe that you can be fair or unbiased.

or

rollingstock wrote:Seriously when you go there and they ask you if you know about the case say yes and that they should hang him. :wink:

p.s wear a tie

Postby 16 cycles » October 11th, 2010, 1:12 pm

don't end up like peter parker....

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » October 11th, 2010, 1:18 pm

i going an eat eggs and beans and all kinda stink fart creating foods the night before and deal with that court room, searchingone and redmanjp you have been warned!

Postby ronsin1 » October 11th, 2010, 4:29 pm

I have never been summoned :mrgreen:

Postby pugboy » October 11th, 2010, 4:39 pm

its hard to be exempted from the initial selection
however when the case starts the lawyers can object to a certain number of people
they will likely object to white people if the accused is black etc

so you can talk like you are biased or let people know that you grow up on the same street as the victim etc

ibanez

Postby ibanez » October 11th, 2010, 4:55 pm

got summoned twice in 5 years, was selected for a case which lasted 5 months, didn't get pick the second time

names are not taken out of the list for the next ten years as stated by AlliDr

lunch is provided for the jury and you are paid a travel allowance once you attend court

you must be properly attired, ties are not necessary, no blue jeans, don't be wearing yuh 20 piercings and earrings in the court, don't ever be late, if you are, wait outside the court, you cannot enter while the judge is present

you will be embarrassed by either the court marshal or even the judge

exemptions are not always granted, mitsu4life you can have your employer provide a letter stating that you cannot be released from duty at this time

a doctor's medical certificate is also valid for exemption

from my experience, most people see jury duty as a waste of time, too much hassle and a distraction to getting their work done, a lot of people are scared of it too

it's a good experience to see justice at work, you learn a great deal, it's entertaining to see the judges fcukin up the incompetent, stupid police officers, it gives you an insight on how dangerous and corrupted police officers are

you get to really see the power that judges have

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » October 11th, 2010, 4:58 pm

Postby foss » October 11th, 2010, 5:09 pm

ibanez, good stuff meng. I go fraid if you on the bench if I end up there. :|

Postby redmanjp » October 11th, 2010, 5:22 pm

so being a student dont qualify then?

perhaps i could change my classes to full time :D

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 11th, 2010, 5:23 pm

Does jury duty get you laid?

Postby rollingstock » October 11th, 2010, 5:29 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Does jury duty get you laid?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 11th, 2010, 5:35 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Does jury duty get you laid?

Yes, but only if you are the Foreman of the jury.

If you get assigned to the sex with a minor cases, the victim is usually no longer a minor when the case actually goes to trial. So if you can convince the rest of the jury that the accused is indeed guilty, when you deliver the verdict of "GUILTY" the victim is usually very thankful to you. How you let the victim express gratitude is all up to you.
Last edited by Rory Phoulorie on October 11th, 2010, 7:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bushwakka » October 11th, 2010, 6:38 pm

dat judge judy pic movin or is jes me?

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 11th, 2010, 7:53 pm

bushwakka wrote:dat judge judy pic movin or is jes me?

You smoke the plum branch too??

jah youth yuh bad!

Postby redmanjp » October 11th, 2010, 8:55 pm

but seriously i can understand if its a small case that last a few weeks but if is like 5 months or more that is going to cut into my time for coursework projects which have to be done each month and perhaps studying for exams if it last until April

rollingstock, i was robbed about 4 or 5 yrs ago- got thrown down on the ground and they take meh cell phone & wallet-never get anyting back. so if is a robbery case i could say i still affected?
Last edited by redmanjp on October 11th, 2010, 9:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bushwakka » October 11th, 2010, 8:59 pm

it moovin...doh foook me oop