Engine Dilemma

dandadda007

Engine Dilemma

Postby dandadda007 » October 6th, 2010, 7:44 pm

Fellas, I have a b11 with the original engine that jus cross 400,000km and well the engine has seen better days ( the pulley wobbling and makin ah set ah ole noise). Ah couple ah mechanics advise me so far and now I thinking of my options. Leme hear what you all think is best....feel free to add ur impressions.....
#1 REBUILD ( i got an extra block lying down that would need parts)
#2 Change engine completely
with #2 i hear ah b12 engine would go with my present transmission that good to save money is this true?
Fellas i eh have no set ah money recently got the car 2mths now so is reliability ah looking for, not speed and performance!
Help meh out with your suggestions thanks!!!!!

bigchief3679

Re: Engine Dilemma

Postby bigchief3679 » October 6th, 2010, 7:55 pm

you may have posted in the wrong section. does the engine smoke, leak or knock?

dandadda007

Postby dandadda007 » October 6th, 2010, 7:59 pm

nope does none of the above.......... and never did starts on one bounce everytime never shut off or on me or anything....( PS. which is the better forum)

rx80

Postby rx80 » October 6th, 2010, 8:09 pm

Hoss if yuh go in the nissan forum everyone goin tell yuh to put in a SR.
Man if the engine workin and serving your purpose do a proper rebuild on it that way you sure you have something for ah nex 400,000kms...
You could even put in a set of side drafts to get a lil more performance from the engine.

dandadda007

Postby dandadda007 » October 6th, 2010, 8:28 pm

^^LOL man for real eh...doh want to hear that SR talk nah lol....so one vote for rebuild...anybody know bout the b12 engine and b11 transmission whether they are easily compatible??

Postby MG Man » October 6th, 2010, 8:41 pm

strip the engine and check tolerances..................but considering it's not smoking or knocking, you should be save
I'd rebuild the engine and continue with it

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » October 6th, 2010, 10:17 pm

^^^^+1. if its not smoking, leaking or knocking you're good. just get an engine kit with all gaskets, valve seals etc and do a rebuild. don't forget to inspect the oil pump and get a new timing belt. these engines are still quite simple to maintain and rebuild so i say go for it

rx80

Postby rx80 » October 6th, 2010, 10:39 pm

why bother go with an engine that already old (just a few newer than yours) and you dont know the past about it. Find a good mechanic list the issues then start from there....

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » October 6th, 2010, 11:24 pm

if you got a spare block lying around, I would build that one while the car is still running.
That way you're not in a rush to check tolerances (like mgman said) and have time to source the right parts (crank and oil pump if worn out of spec). Get new rod and main bearings and piston rings.

If you can source a spare head to put on the block I would go that route. Otherwise just rebuild the head you got in the car already and put it on the new block then drop it in and you're golden. If its not smoking or burning coolant or anything chances are you wont need much (if any machine shop work).

...thats what I would do anyways 0X

Ruff

Postby Ruff » October 8th, 2010, 9:11 am

dandadda007 wrote:the pulley wobbling and makin ah set ah ole noise

Fix the pulley.
BTW, are you considering selling?
Thank you,
Ruff

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 11th, 2010, 8:28 am

boy rebuild the engine

it might even be cheaper than putting in a new engine as when you rebuild you should not have any problems for a while again.

that better than buying a ole used engine and getting into problems with that later.

besides, b11 engines (e15) are good engines. easy to maintain, and you can still get stuff for it like piston rings, valve seals, gaskets, belts etc.

if you can't fix everything in one shot start with the most pressing things first - like the pulley.

dandadda007

Postby dandadda007 » October 11th, 2010, 8:49 pm

k yall, got the pulley tightened back running well seems as though it got back a bit slack though in about 3days (i mean it doesn't seem to spin as straight as i would like (maybe i am paranoid) very slight knock noise while idling as well and it can't be heard at all when driving what you all think there???...... also got a slight oil leak....like ah 2 drops ah hour i got down under the car and it seems as though it is coming out from a seal near the pulley area...any thoughts bout that one....decided to rebuild the block i have on the side and run this till i save enough to do the switch. thoughts on the above???

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » October 11th, 2010, 10:01 pm

dandadda007 wrote:...... also got a slight oil leak....like ah 2 drops ah hour i got down under the car and it seems as though it is coming out from a seal near the pulley area...any thoughts bout that one....

if the pulley was wobbling it could have damaged the crank seal causing the leak.

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 14th, 2010, 2:29 pm

^^ what he said

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » October 25th, 2010, 7:19 pm

b14 ftw no worries install and drive parts like rain

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » October 25th, 2010, 11:51 pm

jnqaz wrote:
dandadda007 wrote:...... also got a slight oil leak....like ah 2 drops ah hour i got down under the car and it seems as though it is coming out from a seal near the pulley area...any thoughts bout that one....

if the pulley was wobbling it could have damaged the crank seal causing the leak.

i say rebuild!

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » October 27th, 2010, 10:04 am

b14 engine...no worries....put gas, change oil an filter an u orn for ah nex 400,000 km

moti

Postby moti » October 27th, 2010, 11:02 am

the B14 engine and tranny will put a little more strain on the car/suspension than the original.

i say rebuild as you are doing i.e. the old engine you have.
then when you finished just swap with the one in the car.
that way you can take your time in rebuilding and not rush to get the car back on the road.
you will have enough time to do a little searching for original parts and what not.

slight knock noise while idling?
can it be the tappets?

the oil leak around the pulley will be the crank seal

Postby wagonrunner » October 27th, 2010, 11:05 am

moti wrote:the B14 engine and tranny will put a little more strain on the car/suspension than the original.

how?

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » October 27th, 2010, 11:56 am

moti wrote:the B14 engine and tranny will put a little more strain on the car/suspension than the original.

how?

added weight?

Postby wagonrunner » October 27th, 2010, 12:13 pm

fuzz_174 wrote:added weight?

thought of that, but so much added weight between a cast iron E15, and an aluminium-head GA15?

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » October 28th, 2010, 7:37 am

soo...wuh bout dem b12 with sr20 an ting in dem?

Postby rollingstock » October 29th, 2010, 4:21 pm

jnqaz wrote:if you got a spare block lying around, I would build that one while the car is still running.
That way you're not in a rush to check tolerances (like mgman said) and have time to source the right parts (crank and oil pump if worn out of spec). Get new rod and main bearings and piston rings.

If you can source a spare head to put on the block I would go that route. Otherwise just rebuild the head you got in the car already and put it on the new block then drop it in and you're golden. If its not smoking or burning coolant or anything chances are you wont need much (if any machine shop work).

...thats what I would do anyways 0X

Best idea here, and just in case you decide on the swap your transmission will bolt up with the b12 ga engine.

Postby wagonrunner » October 29th, 2010, 5:11 pm

NXTREME wrote:soo...wuh bout dem b12 with sr20 an ting in dem?

same thing, but an SR is heaver, and has more HP output than the original engine.

KrAzYBoY

Postby KrAzYBoY » November 20th, 2010, 1:27 am

Leave tha SR talk alone, oh this gonna be another 5 page thread! Rebuild is the best and cheapest option.