The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

SRASC

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby SRASC » October 4th, 2010, 9:37 am

Apple has stealthy dropped AirPrint support from the second generation iPod touch, 9to5Mac has observantly noticed.

Apple announced AirPrint on September 15th saying,

"*AirPrint will work with iPad, iPhone 4, iPhone 3GS and iPod touch (second generation and later)."

It has now been changed to,

"*AirPrint will work with iPad, iPhone 4, iPhone 3GS and iPod touch (third generation and later)."

AirPrint automatically finds printers on local networks and can print text, photos and graphics to them wirelessly over Wi-Fi without the need to install drivers or download software.

trinirider

Postby trinirider » October 4th, 2010, 9:53 am

Need help started using iPhone 4 4.0.1 a couple days used the 2G and 3G for a couple years
how can I fix the caller id on the older phone I installed callerid in cydia
I cant caller id or format fix help anyone.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 4th, 2010, 3:34 pm

iMovicha (Mobile Video Chat) is a cross platform video-chat application available for iOS, Symbian, Windows Mobile, Android, Windows and OS X (it will come to BlackBerry soon as well). All platforms are covered!

Its greatest feature really is its ability to video chat from smartphone-to-desktop (think iPhone 4 to Windows / OS X).

Movicha.com wrote:Mobile Video Chat on WiFi and 3G network

Have a live video chat with your buddies on desktop and with any major smartphone with camera; voice call and Instant message with your buddies any time.

iMovicha supports multiple operating systems in mobile and laptop platforms. Video call can either be mobile-to-mobile or laptop-to-mobile or laptop-to-laptop.

iMovicha key features: Video Calling, Voice Calling, IM, Presence Group Management, Contact Management, Preference Management

Chat with your buddies who are using iMovicha in other mobile devices and laptops (MAC and windows).

Users on iPhone 4 will require a jailbroken device. Movicha is available under Big Boss Repository on Cydia.

Movicha requires you to create an account on their official website. After which you can sign in and download software for each platform.

------

iBye, an application to backup and store your iDevice data on a FTP server, has been updated to version 2.0.

iBye will backup your data and store that data on a FTP server of your choosing. iBye will restore this data from the backup on that FTP server as well.

If you do not want to use a FTP server, then iBye will do a local backup and local restore on the iDevice itself. iBye also has the functionality to remove all the data from the desired application of your choosing.

Features:
● Added a settings panel
● iPad and iTouch supported
● FTP user register
● FTP user deletion
● FTP user password change
● FTP user data usage
● Fixed the host section
● Fixed up the information section

iBye supports Messages, Notes, Mail, Calendar, Photos, Address Book, Safari, Syslog, and Call History.

You can purchase the application from the Cydia Store for $1.99

------

Remember that one random company who sued Apple back in March of 2008 for ripping off its display interface patents? Turns out it was filed in the Eastern District of Texas, a hotbed for patent trolls who know that they stand a better-than-average chance of winning simply because of where their issues are being taken up. Sure enough, Cupertino's stock of lawyers is today being forced to challenge a loss after a jury verdict led to Apple being ordered to pay "as much as $625.5 million to Mirror Worlds for infringing patents related to how documents are displayed digitally." Ouch. Naturally, Apple has asked U.S. District Judge Leonard Davis for an emergency stay, noting that there are issues on two of the three; furthermore, Apple has claimed that Mirror Worlds would be "triple dipping" if it were to collect $208.5 million on each patent. In related news, the Judge is also considering a separate Apple request (one filed prior to the verdict) to "rule the company doesn't infringe two of the patents" -- if granted, that would "strike the amount of damages attributed to those two patents." In other words, this whole ordeal is far from over. We can't say we're thrilled at the thought of following the play-by-play here, but this could definitely put a mild dent in Apple's monstrous $45.8 billion pile of cash and securities. Or as some would say, "a drop in the bucket."

Postby M_2NR » October 4th, 2010, 4:34 pm

trinirider wrote:Need help started using iPhone 4 4.0.1 a couple days used the 2G and 3G for a couple years
how can I fix the caller id on the older phone I installed callerid in cydia
I cant caller id or format fix help anyone.

u need to install the iSpazio Repo and then get it :)
Had this same issue on my friends i4.

trinirider

Postby trinirider » October 4th, 2010, 6:42 pm

thanks M_2NR I keep getting error refreshing data failed to fetch ispazio
any suggestions thanks
this is driving me crazy numbers and no name

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 4th, 2010, 6:47 pm

I know how it is. Aching for a jailbreak since I got this thing...

Postby M_2NR » October 4th, 2010, 8:29 pm

trinirider wrote:thanks M_2NR I keep getting error refreshing data failed to fetch ispazio
any suggestions thanks
this is driving me crazy numbers and no name

Check that post i made a while ago.
http://modblog101.wordpress.com/2010/05/23/problems-with-callerid-and-format-fix-from-cydia/

I WARNING YOU EH! i not sure if that version deb will work on your phone but try it and see. k?

SRASC, do you need to do callerID and Format Fix? seeing that yours is legit?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 4th, 2010, 8:59 pm

Yea. :( You would think since the iPhone is being sold unlocked that this wouldn't be an issue. Zcrugby had to as well but luckily for him he got his in the glory days of jailbreaking, aka www.jailbreakme.com

Postby M_2NR » October 4th, 2010, 9:04 pm

SRASC wrote:Yea. :( You would think since the iPhone is being sold unlocked that this wouldn't be an issue. Zcrugby had to as well but luckily for him he got his in the glory days of jailbreaking, aka www.jailbreakme.com

sigh :( i was meant to ask you this long time eh. i always forget. but that really sucks! dsi hopefully soon.

I dunno though, with my usage right now of 4.0.x and compared to 3.1.x that previous jailbreak i dunno was better for some reason. The apps felt better everything was much nicer. Don't know if its mind over matter. The way the iphone boots now is weird, the way it resprings too and my iphone SB crashes at least 2 times for the week which i think Smartscreen is a main cause of. When i install apps, sometimes my poof apps appear, other times the font on the SB are grayed. It's much more buggy this rounds but according to @comex, buggy releases FTW :|

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 5th, 2010, 3:33 pm

Apple has improved the iPhone 4's ship times in the USA to 5-7 business days. Ship times for other countries including Canada remain at 3 weeks.

Hopefully, Apple is able to ramp up production before the holiday season begins.

------

According to August data from The Nielsen Company, Android is now the most popular operating system among people who bought a smartphone in the past six months, while Blackberry RIM and Apple iOS are in a statistical dead heat for second place among recent acquirers.

The Nielsen data covers a period that includes a full-month of iPhone 4 availability.

Among all smartphone owners, Blackberry still holds the dominant share with 31 percent of the market, though its lead over Apple is declining. Twenty-eight percent of smartphone owners have Apple iPhones, compared to 19 percent who have Android devices.

but

Nielsen is once again trudging out a survey saying Android outsold iPhone and BlackBerry in the US. So once again we’ll trudge out this kindly, helpful reality check:

Android is platform, not a phone.
Android is free, you can’t buy it.

iPhone is not a platform, it’s a phone.
iPhone, you can buy.

So did Google’s own Nexus One outsell iPhone? No, of course not. Android is great OS running on spectacular hardware. However, its used by multiple manufacturers on multiple carriers in multiple models in the US. iPhone is made by Apple and runs on AT&T on the US. Now if Droid X outsold iPhone, that would be a proper comparison. Moto vs. Apple, Android vs. iOS, Verizon vs. AT&T. Hey, I’d pay to see that in the consumer Octagon any day.

Daring Fireball’s John Gruber makes an argument that if Apple ever got on Verizon, Sprint, and T-Mobile USA the comparison might be more meaningful, as it is now in countries like Canada where iPhone is on 3 major carriers and their subsidiaries. Apple still offers one phone (or one current phone and one holdover from the year before) while RIM offers a variety of 1st party BlackBerrys and Google licensees offer a variety of 3rd party Androids. If the US were like that at least we’d be able to see what if any differences those three business models bring to the market.

Android as a platform, given its license, is surely going to eclipse any solitary handset by anyone else, including Apple (unless and until Verizon forks it into its own, proprietary V-OS, but that’s another post)

------

Facebook users are being warned about a scam that claims they can get their hands on a free iPhone.

According to security firm Sophos, a number of social networkers have reported their status being updated automatically with phrases such as “Just testing Facebook for iPhone out :P Received my free iPhone today, so happy lol... If anyone else wants one go here” with a link to a Facebook app.

Sophos says the updates are being posted by rogue applications and any Facebook user that clicks on the link are asked if they want to “allow” the app access to their Facebook profile. They are then directed to a Web page which will earn commission for the spammers behind the scam. Subsequently, the rogue app then has access to a user’s profile and can post a similar status update on their Facebook page automatically

“If you’ve fallen for this trick, I wouldn’t hold your breath waiting for a new iPhone,” said Graham Cluley, senior technology consultant at Sophos.

“Facebook users need to learn to think before they ‘like’ and ‘share’ suspicious pages on Facebook. Just because something appears on a friend’s wall, it doesn’t mean that it is from a reliable source, and by giving unknown applications access to your Facebook page, you could unknowingly continue to help to spread scams and earn cash for the spammers.”

Cluely advised social networks that had been affected to delete the status updates remove the offending application from the Application Settings menu.

------

Mobile video calling is not an entirely new concept. However the launch of FaceTime on iPhone 4 has rejuvenated this emerging market and now we are getting to see a lot of activity in this space.

While Apple rivals like Google are rumored to be working on their own mobile video calling apps, third party developers too have been launching their own applications.

One such application that launched last week is Tango; a cross-platform software developed by a Palo Alto based startup by the same name. The application presently works on iOS as well as Android platforms. Unlike FaceTime, Tango can be used to communicate with friends who do not own an iPhone 4 or iPod Touch 4G.

Tango also comes with a number of other advantages over FaceTime. The application can work over Wi-Fi as well as 3G and also works over phones that do not come with a front-facing camera. This would effectively make it possible for users of iPhone 3GS and iPhone 3G to engage in a video chat as well though these users may not be able to relay video from their end. It is also worth noting that Tango lets users toggle the relay between the front-facing and rear-facing cameras and hence users may also point out to other objects using their rear camera while they are engaged in a mobile video conversation just like FaceTime.

According to Walt Mossberg from the Wall Street Journal, one of the most powerful aspects about the Tango app is its easy-to-use interface. The application does not require the user to fill out lengthy profile forms like Fring and only requires the users' phone number and email address for registration. Also, the application periodically scans the users' address book for information on other contacts who have installed the app on their mobile phone. These details are automatically added to the Tango address book for easy access. The company however notes that these contact details are entirely secure since they are stored locally and not on the company's servers.

While this is definitely a must-have app for those of you looking to video chat with your friends, do note that the app leaves a lot to be desired as of now. Mossberg points out that the video quality is pretty unreliable at times though it does appear to work well over Wi-Fi networks on most counts. Despite this, it may be noted that the application currently supports over 25 different handsets and is hence pretty useful.

------

The components for the new Apple TV likely cost less than $64, according to market researcher iSuppli. The device sells for $99.

iSuppli estimates that the most expensive part at $16.55, is the A4 processor made by Samsung. The second most expensive component is the 8GB flash memory chip from Toshiba, at $14.

It's estimated that the Broadcom Wi-Fi and Bluetooth module costs $7.65 and the Texas Instruments microcontroller chip costs $.93.

------

Google today has finally brought the popular Android app named Google Goggles to iPhone and iPod touch. Google Goggles was first introduced for Android platform in December last year.

For those of you who don’t know, Google Goggles lets you search the web using images without having to speak or write anything. You can simply take a picture with the camera on your phone, Goggles will then analyze and process your image, and then it will return a relevant search results page from Google. Currently, Goggles identifies landmarks, books, logos, business cards, places, wine bottles and works of art. Support for things like food, plants, and animals will be added in future releases.

Check out the video below to see how it works.

Google Goggles is available as of today for free as a feature of Google Mobile App for iPhone.

------

Billionaire Tom Siebel shares with Forbes a chilling elephant attack horror story that left him and his iPhone ripped to pieces.

Siebel, a former Oracle executive who later founded Siebel Systems, was on a walking safari when an elephant attacked. His guide missed a shot from four yards away resulting in the horrific mauling recounted below.

I can see the gray, the hair follicles the eyeball, the trunk, the tusk, the foot—the whole thing. And I was like, "Okay, what are we going to do now?" And the animal then proceeds to kick my teeth in, basically. It knocked me to the ground with its trunk, it rolled me, punched me, put a tusk through my left thigh, gored it, then ripped it out sideways. It stepped on my leg, kicked my leg, broke six ribs and ripped up my shoulder. I remember every instant of it, trying to protect my head with my arms. I remember the blows to my lower extremities, and it just hurt so bad I couldn’t believe it. Imagine what it’s like taking an elephant tusk through the thigh or hav[ing] a 6-ton animal step on your leg It just snaps. The pain was intolerable. I had one thought: "Please, God, make this stop."

So here we are a year later, 16 surgeries later. I still have something on my leg called an Ilizarov external fixator [to mend, lengthen and reshape] the tibia between your ankle bone and your knee. They’ve taken a chunk of bone out of my pelvis about the size of your fist and moved it down into my ankle to try to get it all fused together. The prognosis is that I’ll be able to walk and run and ride a bicycle and play golf [again].

I [still] have the iPhone that was in my left front pocket that basically exploded. It’s now in about 200 pieces, and I have been meaning to send it back to Steve Jobs for a refund.

You can read the entire story here

Postby M_2NR » October 5th, 2010, 6:45 pm

JL Audio tools in in the appstore...

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 5th, 2010, 7:34 pm

^^ SWEET!!!

Hey m_2nr, I just unlocked my iphone after 4months of troubles but now after reinstalling my sim card the service bars dont move and there isnt a carrier.

I cant make calls or acess the network, wat can I do?

Postby M_2NR » October 5th, 2010, 8:38 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:^^ SWEET!!!

Hey m_2nr, I just unlocked my iphone after 4months of troubles but now after reinstalling my sim card the service bars dont move and there isnt a carrier.

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Was it making calls Before? and what f/w you on? hoss i hadda hear how u get that phone to get pass that error you had before... start talking :lol:

lemme guess yuh jahreh (sp) it?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 5th, 2010, 9:58 pm

who hav iphone 4 for sale...lookin for a wile now and i cant seem to find...

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 6th, 2010, 12:21 am

M_2NR wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:^^ SWEET!!!

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Was it making calls Before? and what f/w you on? hoss i hadda hear how u get that phone to get pass that error you had before... start talking :lol:

lemme guess yuh jahreh (sp) it?

Well I bought a new laptop and thought Id try it (after 4 different laptops), i tried using the 4.0.0 and 4.0.1 firmwares and kept getting error 3194 which google said was apple not signing the certs or something so. And in the same article I read something about previous firmware not needing to be signed off or so, so I got myself 3.1.2 which was the last firmware the phone had on it and within 15mins I had an iPhone waiting to be jailbroken.

:| I know right.

So I used redsnow (blackrain was giving me some error) and jailbroke the beyotch and when I put in my b-mobile sim card(last active sim in the phone) it beeps saying I have a voicemail but shows "no service" at the top of the screen.

Im freaking glad to have the phone up and running but functioning would be nice.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 6th, 2010, 9:29 am

^^^ check ur baseband... what is it?

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 6th, 2010, 9:32 am

baseband updated....have to wait for the new ultrasn0w

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 6th, 2010, 9:35 am

Im skrewed?

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 6th, 2010, 9:51 am

M_2NR wrote:JL Audio tools in in the appstore...

as soon as i sell my iphone they bring this out!!?!?!?!??!?

DAMMIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 6th, 2010, 9:57 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:5.11.07

Im skrewed?

nah u aint!

uninstall ultrasn0w and restart ur phone
open cydia after it restarts and make sure shsh blobs are saved (if not hit "make my life easier")
go into manage
look for the ultrasn0w repo
open ultrasn0w and u will see that ur baseband is supported
download ultrasn0w and let the phone restart

Postby M_2NR » October 6th, 2010, 10:31 am

streetlifestyle wrote:

Im skrewed?

nah u aint!

open cydia after it restarts and make sure shsh blobs are saved (if not hit "make my life easier")
go into manage

it wont matter much about the blobs as he missed the window but yeh, do what he says...

also LEAVE IT lol after you do it (get ultrasn0w and stuff) just leave the phone it should pick up the network randomly... this happened to my padna phone when he came from away. and he was fretting and he left it for a few hours and randomly bmobile appeared.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 6th, 2010, 1:09 pm

streetlifestyle wrote:

Im skrewed?

nah u aint!

go into manage

One problem, no wifi or edge on my iphone :(

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 6th, 2010, 1:47 pm

^^^ i cud clout u rite now boom!!! serious!

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 6th, 2010, 1:55 pm

Idk, wat to do?

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 6th, 2010, 2:53 pm

Apple is currently working to expand the iPhone line, and may offer larger and smaller models as soon as early 2011, one Wall Street analyst has said.

Shaw Wu with Kaufman Bros. said Wednesday that checks with sources in Apple's overseas supply chain have indicated that the company is working on new iPhone models with both larger and smaller touchscreens. He said those products could launch in 2011, and on new carriers other than the currently exclusive AT&T.

"Our sources believe these likely represent new high-end and low-end iPhone models to complement its current iPhone 4," Wu wrote in a note to investors. "One possibility we are picking up is a "mini" or "nano" iPhone with a smaller candybar form factor leveraging technology in its new mini touchscreen iPod nano."

Though new handsets are typically released in the summer, the progress being made on these new models is far enough along that Apple could introduce new handsets as soon as the first half of 2011, and even as early as the first quarter of next year. Wu said he believes the new phones could become available on U.S. carriers other than AT&T, including Verizon, T-Mobile and/or Sprint.

"We believe Apple moving to a more complete iPhone product line makes strategic sense in that its iPhone 4 addresses only the high-end of the market," he said. "We think Apple should take a page out of its iPod playbook where it has had a lot (of) success with a 3-tier strategy addressing entry-level, mid-range and high-end, making it difficult for competitors."

It's the scalability of iOS, Wu said, that could allow Apple to make a "fuller iPhone product line," allowing it offer even greater competition against Google Android.

However, the analyst also incorrectly suggested that the new iPod nano runs iOS. While the software on the small touchscreen device looks and acts much like iOS, Apple has said the device runs its own, new operating system.

Rumors of a supposed iPhone nano were quite common years ago, but have mostly died down since. Apple currently offers three iPhone models priced at $299, $199 and $99 in the U.S. with a two-year AT&T contract.

http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/10 ... eport.html

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » October 6th, 2010, 3:28 pm

waiting for new i5

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 6th, 2010, 9:00 pm

GreenPois0n is gearing up to be one heck of a jailbreaking tool. The low-level SHAtter exploit based tool is expected to release soon (no exact ETA) and will be pwning all iOS devices ever released for life.

We have another little update for people anxiously waiting for the release. Chronic Dev Team hacker p0sixninja has confirmed that the ability to Hacktivate iPhone 4 i.e. to bypass iTunes’ activation screen after jailbreaking to use the phone without any SIM will come along with GreenPois0n.

@p0sixninja will gp hacktivate ip4.. please answer. i need to know

@caiolbarros yes

Though at the moment, those of you who are on the latest 05.14.02 baseband wont be able to unlock until a new version of Ultrasn0w is released.

------

We've been to this rodeo before (a few times, actually), but the smoke that leads to fire is getting far harder to ignore. Following a Bloomberg report in June that a Verizon iPhone was on track for a January 2011 release as well as independent confirmation from John Gruber, Yukari Iwatani Kane from The Wall Street Journal is now sounding mighty confident that the aforementioned plans are true. According to various people "briefed by Apple," Jobs and Company will begin "mass producing a new iPhone by the end of 2010 that would allow Verizon Wireless to sell the smartphone early next year." It'll rely on a key Qualcomm chip as well as a CDMA radio, but curiously enough, there's nary of a mention of LTE in this report. In closely related news, it's bruited that Apple is also developing a separate iPhone model, though it's unclear how soon VZW will be able to grab the fifth generation edition. 'Course, it's not exactly the shocker of the year to hear that Apple's toiling on a new iPhone without a dubious antenna design, but the real question is this: will the Verizon iPhone beat AT&T's elusive white iPhone 4 to market? Inquiring minds would love to know.

This has been making news all over, so there must be some truth to it... Right? right? mmmm

Postby M_2NR » October 6th, 2010, 9:03 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:One problem, no wifi or edge on my iphone :(

You're joking with us right? so how did you complete your install of cydia?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 6th, 2010, 9:18 pm

Poll from Gizmodo.com asking "If You Had To Get A Smartphone Today, Which Would You Buy?"

Motorola Droid 2 6.14% (866 votes)
Sprint Epic 4G 5.09% (717 votes)
Apple iPhone 4 42.22% (5,951 votes)
HTC Evo 14.29% (2,014 votes)
Blackberry Torch 2.1% (296 votes)
Blackberry Bold 1.07% (151 votes)
Samsung Vibrant 2.92% (412 votes)
Motorola Droid X 12.52% (1,765 votes)
T-Mobile G2 4.89% (689 votes)
Samsung Captivate 3.31% (467 votes)
Other 5.44% (767 votes)

Total Votes: 14,095

(as of 9:20pm Wednesday 6 October 2010)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » October 7th, 2010, 5:43 pm

Jailbreaking solution greenpois0n due out 10/10/10 at 10:10:10

If you have iOS 4.1, and are anxiously waiting to get your jailbreak on, Sunday may be the day. According to a tweet by p0sixninja, the jailbreaking solution many have been waiting for should be delivered this Sunday.