WTK..removal of cigarette scent from car.

Chemical

WTK..removal of cigarette scent from car.

Postby Chemical » September 27th, 2010, 1:05 pm

What works out there. Cleaned the interior but when parked in sun this thing stinks. Air freshner help a bit but that scent lingers.

Thanx.

Captainzaak

Re: WTK..removal of cigarette scent from car.

Postby Captainzaak » September 27th, 2010, 1:07 pm

Try some Febreze, as well, stop smoking in d frigging car.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » September 27th, 2010, 1:19 pm

Any febreze or the one for Auto?...where do I get this to buy?

Thanks.

Postby crazybalhead » September 27th, 2010, 1:21 pm

Chemical wrote:Any febreze or the one for Auto?...where do I get this to buy?

Thanks.

Saw the Auto febreze in xtra foods the other day.

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » September 27th, 2010, 1:21 pm

Use some Chemical :S

silver

Postby silver » September 27th, 2010, 1:24 pm

Air freshner only masks the scent...get the upholstry steam cleaned, including the roof...alot of the scent is kinda trapped up there...which is why the sun beats down on it and sort of releases it.

Also Air con filters usually have that scent in there...clean or replace..and spray some febreeze or similar agent into the a/c intake (usually by the windscreen wipers)..

devrat

Postby devrat » September 27th, 2010, 1:27 pm

silver wrote:Air freshner only masks the scent...get the upholstry steam cleaned, including the roof...alot of the scent is kinda trapped up there...which is why the sun beats down on it and sort of releases it.

Also Air con filters usually have that scent in there...clean or replace..and spray some febreeze or similar agent into the a/c intake (usually by the windscreen wipers)..

X2......unless you own a Tida...then the smell will never come out :|

TRENDSETA

Postby TRENDSETA » September 27th, 2010, 1:31 pm

febreeze auto and regular febreeze is the same thing imo.
Might try a home remedy
pour out some baking soda in a container and leave it in the car
baking soda absorbs odours, many people keep an open box or container in the fridge to absorb any food odors .
just keep changing the box/ container till the scent is completely gone

meanwhile.... stop smoking in the car

Chemical

Postby Chemical » September 27th, 2010, 1:38 pm

Thank you Captainzaak , CBH & silver. Called Xtra in G/Bazzar & its $47.00

Postby SMc » September 27th, 2010, 1:38 pm

The only thing thats works in my car is Glycolized Alcohol/air freshener, something like 'Ozium' works better than anything else. Fabreeze etc dont work as they are just odour-conteractants and only subdue the scent for a little while (or ontil you vaccume them up).

It is a bit pricey and hard to find...but it works.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » September 27th, 2010, 1:41 pm

pioneer wrote:don't smoke in your car...how hard is that :?

TRENDSETA wrote:
meanwhile.... stop smoking in the car

Captainzaak wrote:stop smoking in d frigging car.

Hope you get the idea on how to prevent yourself from wasting $47.00 in the future :lol:

Chemical

Postby Chemical » September 27th, 2010, 1:52 pm

damn it....I don't smoke, the Japs did - its a RORO !!! :? :? :?

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » September 27th, 2010, 1:55 pm

Lol@ chemical. That's trinis for you, always with the assumptions.

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » September 27th, 2010, 1:58 pm

Saw this in Achievors for new arrivals fresh from the port.

After detailing they place coffee grounds in the car to get out odors.

Postby foss » September 27th, 2010, 2:04 pm

sell the car to some unlucky bastard :|

Postby buzz » September 27th, 2010, 2:08 pm

devrat wrote:
silver wrote:Air freshner only masks the scent...get the upholstry steam cleaned, including the roof...alot of the scent is kinda trapped up there...which is why the sun beats down on it and sort of releases it.

X2......unless you bull in a Tida...then the smell will never come out :|

in truth :|

Postby pugboy » September 27th, 2010, 2:25 pm

those japs are serious serial smokers
we had a car with same problem.
next time check the car before you hand over your money
air freshener and febreeze only mask the scent or mix with it and you end up with a combo scent.

best thing is to scrub it with soap, mix breeze with water, spray then rub with a good sponge
wet the sponge and rub again, then use a wet vac right away, repeat
you might be very surprised at the water which comes out

tuff stuff works ok also but is not a good scent remover like a real soap

Computerman

Postby Computerman » September 27th, 2010, 2:37 pm

Chemical wrote:What works out there. Cleaned the interior but when parked in sun this thing stinks. Air freshner help a bit but that scent lingers.

Thanx.

How much you want it gone? For $500 and two days = no more smell. :wink:

Secret ingredient = HongWing! :D

Postby bushwakka » September 27th, 2010, 5:49 pm

an perhaps put back in the new car scent one time?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 27th, 2010, 5:58 pm

TRENDSETA wrote:...
Might try a home remedy
pour out some baking soda in a container and leave it in the car
baking soda absorbs odours, many people keep an open box or container in the fridge to absorb any food odors .
just keep changing the box/ container till the scent is completely gone...

From my experience, this works best. Park the car out in the sun (whatever little we get these days) with the baking soda in an open container and the windows closed.

Postby bushwakka » September 27th, 2010, 7:39 pm

i used the baking soda already for a sawine spill in my car and it does work if u apply it to the affected area....i used it after killing the bacteria with savlon

but im not sure if it will work well in this application, cigarette odour being a gaseous contaminant wud have affected every nook and cranny of the car, and as a result, direct application of the soda to ALL affected areas may be required......which is kinda hard

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » September 28th, 2010, 5:17 am

steam clean the upholstery, then use a liberal amount of Febreeze.

Postby Hook » September 28th, 2010, 6:06 am

The steam cleaning is about all you need if you want a scentless car...febreeze will have the car smelling like...well...febreeze...

What happens is that the cig smoke reacts with moisture in the air, which penetrates your fabric upholstery and crystallizes...so long as the crystals are there, the scent remains and is activated by heat or moisture (known to some as third-hand cigarette smoke and is believed to be just as carcinogenic as the other types)

Steam cleaning destroys the smoke crystals leaving no scent in the car...after that, scent it with whatever you like.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » September 28th, 2010, 6:14 am

^^ok thanks alot, who does steam cleaning out there thats really good ?

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » September 28th, 2010, 6:15 am

also wa i do is run d a/c and spray chlorox or any air freshner with odor eliminator a few times......removes d scent instantly and smells gooood

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » September 28th, 2010, 7:41 am

Hook wrote:The steam cleaning is about all you need if you want a scentless car...febreeze will have the car smelling like...well...febreeze...

What happens is that the cig smoke reacts with moisture in the air, which penetrates your fabric upholstery and crystallizes...so long as the crystals are there, the scent remains and is activated by heat or moisture (known to some as third-hand cigarette smoke and is believed to be just as carcinogenic as the other types)

Steam cleaning destroys the smoke crystals leaving no scent in the car...after that, scent it with whatever you like.

the Febreeze is for the new car smell Hook 8-)

olewhip

Postby olewhip » September 28th, 2010, 7:48 am

change cabin air filter and put some hong wing coffee in the car u on like corn inna few days

Postby Hook » September 28th, 2010, 8:55 am

First time I hearing about this coffee thing besides for smuggling cocaine and marijuana...will the Hong Wing make the car smell like coffee?

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » September 28th, 2010, 11:14 am

When our company imported F'used cars, there was only one way to remove the smell.

First you have to remove the ash tray and disinfect it.

Next you have to get a vacuum nozzle in the areas underneath the ashtray and vacuum there. If that ash is not removed, the smell wont go away ever.

The next step is to spray Fabreez Auto in the area below the ashtray.

With the car and A/C off, spray generous amount of Fabreeze into the air vents. Note, when you turn on the A/C afterwards, moisture will spit out of the vents so cover the seats before you do this.

After completing the steps above you will have to shampoo the seats and the hood upholstery. Don't use the A/C until you do this or you will have to start the entire process again.

You can use the upholstery cleaners sold in Hi Lo. Use a soft clean white cloth to do this in order to avoid staining the seats with coloured cloths. Don't use any sort of brush on the hood liner as the material will get pulled and permanently damaged. You can however use a medium textured brush on the seats. Use a clean bucket of water and dip the cloth into it, squeeze dry and wipe the cleaner off the seats. Repeat as necessary always keeping the cloth clean until all of the cleaner has been removed.

With the seats still damp, spread generous amounts of a scented carpet cleaner onto the floor of the car, the melon scented one is best. Let it sit for 10 mins and then thoroughly vacuum it out. Don't forget under the front seats.

Shoot a small amount of fabreez into the upholstery that the seat belt retracts into for both front seats- When a person smokes the outside air pushes ash down into that space but fabreez will do the trick.

Finally, use the heater of the A/C unit, turn up the glass and run the car until the heat dries the seats. If you have fabric seats, the pile will feel a bit stiff for sometime until the seats get more use but that is not a problem..

And that my friend is how you remove cigarette smell from any foreign used car.

Postby Hook » September 28th, 2010, 11:22 am

nice...very detailed!

In my (much)older car, the real problem is that musty smell when moisture gets on the floor carpet...not the mats, the mats are new...but when say you're making a quick dash into the car in the rain and your shoes drip, there's a faint musty smell and then you hafta wait 'til the next day of hot sun to air out the car properly (old local cars don't have a heater option).

Was told I could use the Lysol spray on the floor carpet as I really want to avoid having to scrap out the interior and remove the carpet to scrub it. What do u suggest?