BOXEE - free cable TV? maybe...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 17th, 2010, 7:22 pm

1) go to http://www.boxee.tv
2) download the app and install it on your PC.
3) Watch cable channels and movies on your PC or connect your PC to your TV and watch from there.
4) Watch any episode of almost any TV series from Bewitched to House or Big Bang. The episode starts when you press play so you don't have to wait until it's showing; watch your favorite show when YOU have time.
5) Watch news, sports or choose from a ton of channels
6) it's FREE
7) you can be ultra cool and use your iPhone or iTouch to control Boxee on your laptop or PC via wifi.

but here's the catch...
Boxee is only available to US residents so you will have to use a proxy or VPN to change your IP address so that you will appear as though you are in the US.
You can try Hot Spot Shield http://hotspotshield.com/.
Once hotspot shield is running and connected you will be able to use boxee and other cool sites such as http://www.hulu.com

I know there was a thread about boxee not working in T&T before, but apparently it got pruned. Hotspot Shield works best with Boxee on a high speed connection of 10Mb/sec or more.

shaneelal

Re: BOXEE - free cable TV? maybe...

Postby shaneelal » September 17th, 2010, 7:32 pm

Currently using Hot Spot Shield with hulu, only a matter of time before they 'patch' this flaw. Will check out this boxee.tv

On another note, lookout for Google TV:

yes very soon, we'll also be driving google cars, just kidding, but you never know :P

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 17th, 2010, 7:42 pm

^ i use hulu too
Boxee collaborates all the content on crackle, hulu, apple, fox, cbs etc etc etc in one place AND lets you add in your own downloaded file in one easy place

the iPhone remote for boxee is the real icing on the cake

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » September 17th, 2010, 7:48 pm

appletv
boxee
drobo
killed cable 2yrs ago

:)

TK!

Postby TK! » September 17th, 2010, 8:09 pm

r u guys encouraging us to lie?

we live in trinidad. if yuh cyah afford cable, doh teif a US feed!

Postby pete » September 17th, 2010, 10:32 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 17th, 2010, 11:06 pm

TK! wrote:r u guys encouraging us to lie?
how is it lying? :roll:

nothing is being stolen, the service is free, they just don't offer streaming outside of the US.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » September 18th, 2010, 12:20 am

cool thanks Duane watching Nip/Tuck in the gulf getting wifi from some strong hot spot feel its cumming from hyatt ,flow promo

Postby DFC » September 18th, 2010, 7:47 am

i got 512 internet.
:(

Postby M_2NR » September 18th, 2010, 9:04 am

Duane i thought we were not going to say anything >:(

*acts quickly before they patches it*

BTW if anyone is getting issues... clear cookies... ;)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 18th, 2010, 9:31 am

M_2NR wrote:Duane i thought we were not going to say anything >:(

*acts quickly before they patches it*

BTW if anyone is getting issues... clear cookies... ;)

nah there are millions of ppl worldwide using proxies and VPNs to get access to hulu and boxee etc for years now

Postby M_2NR » September 18th, 2010, 9:39 am

Soundwave wrote:
M_2NR wrote:BTW if anyone is getting issues... clear cookies... ;)

I eated all my oreos from the kitchen but it's still not working...

chupes.. all d crix and chips ahoy too?

@D
sweet. *acquires boxee* :twisted:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 18th, 2010, 9:41 am

^ the iPhone remote is teh win

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 18th, 2010, 9:52 am

I use hulu for one day it worked after that was not getting through, after I looked at hotspot shield but same thing, and I have a 5Mb with flow. So Duane are you saying that hulu presently works for you?

Currently I use miro, it works great once you have rss feeds you can add it to miro, Miro pulls down the file to your pc. All my top gear, tekzilla, hd nation (high def) I get through this. It automatically deletes files after a few day. A good site for rss feeds (not sure if up to date) http://ezrss.it/

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » September 18th, 2010, 10:07 am

pete wrote:www.veetle.com

this

Postby sharkman121 » September 18th, 2010, 11:22 am

im een boxee...

Postby M_2NR » September 18th, 2010, 1:00 pm

Guys, on your boxee, does all the episodes of Family Guy show up? I only seeing some of season 8 and 4.

Hulu works great though. Only gripe is that i can't stretch the Family Guy shows to 16:9 so they are 4:3 :(

nareshseep wrote:I use hulu for one day it worked after that was not getting through, after I looked at hotspot shield but same thing, and I have a 5Mb with flow. So Duane are you saying that hulu presently works for you?

Currently I use miro, it works great once you have rss feeds you can add it to miro, Miro pulls down the file to your pc. All my top gear, tekzilla, hd nation (high def) I get through this. It automatically deletes files after a few day. A good site for rss feeds (not sure if up to date) http://ezrss.it/

You must clear cookies (thanks D) if you dont you will be found XD.

but i will check miro and veetle :)

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ the iPhone remote is teh win

ent! i was about to load up Air Mouse then i saw it.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 18th, 2010, 1:43 pm

i'm getting a connection problem when i try to turn HSS on. any help?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 18th, 2010, 1:49 pm

nevermind, restarted and got thru...

legoRB

Postby legoRB » September 18th, 2010, 1:52 pm

Hotspot Shield facking up my tuner dred........ :( .....them ad shite fackin up my whole IE.

Boxee cool eh buh I eh seein now soccer channels.... ???

Postby sharkman121 » September 18th, 2010, 1:55 pm

legoRB wrote:Hotspot Shield facking up my tuner dred........ :( .....them ad shite fackin up my whole IE.

Boxee cool eh buh I eh seein now soccer channels.... ???

^ i deleted that hotspot shield 5 mins after i installed it. I cant take all dem ads :?

legoRB

Postby legoRB » September 18th, 2010, 2:36 pm

I disable it (whole thing) wen I am not using the Boxee...that stops the ads.
I have to digg up some more to see if i can disable the ads alone instead of the whole thing.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » September 18th, 2010, 3:14 pm

it wokin....nice 2 bad...

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » September 18th, 2010, 7:51 pm

DFC wrote:i got 512 internet.
:(

why dat soundin like greendot??

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 19th, 2010, 12:46 pm

the idea is to run hot spot shield ONLY when using boxee or hulu etc.
You should not surf the net with hot spot shield because you get a ton of ads.

jusme

Postby jusme » September 19th, 2010, 2:03 pm

playerskrew wrote:it wokin....nice 2 bad...

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » September 19th, 2010, 5:55 pm

iz there a thread or sum on "How to use a proxy or VPN to change your IP address" ?? *tech nOOb

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » September 19th, 2010, 6:04 pm

doh bother :D ....

http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/how-to-mas ... p-address/

got a bunch a warnings wen trying to install Hotspot...... is this norrmal??