Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
civic minded

Re: Tech Thread - Ford Ranger

Postby civic minded » September 9th, 2010, 6:36 am

^^ 22" spinners YO!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 9th, 2010, 8:28 am

BF-goodrich All-terrains
50% on-road, 50% off-road.

265/70R16

Available at QuickServ - $1550 per tire.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 9th, 2010, 4:29 pm

lighthammer wrote:BF-goodrich All-terrains
50% on-road, 50% off-road.

265/70R16

Available at QuickServ - $1550 per tire.

Nice! quickserv? location?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 9th, 2010, 7:53 pm

There's one in south at the Marabella roundabout...

One on wrightson road, next to Crown Plaza hotel (go down richmond street and turn right onto London Street, it's down at the end)

And one in Maraval, I believe.

These are the ones I'm talking about:
Image Image Image

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » September 9th, 2010, 8:44 pm

Whats the best tyre for my use? Never going to be offroad, want best ride expecially when taking the family out on weekends. Tyres to take me out should I stick side the road, go down a drain, park offroad. I heard Kumho was the best?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 9th, 2010, 8:55 pm

no - get firestone

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 9th, 2010, 9:10 pm

Guys ... looking for the Ranger Fender front flare (for the bumper)

Any help would be appreciated.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 9th, 2010, 9:20 pm

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 10th, 2010, 5:59 am

Civicminded ... thanks much.

He has the left side, I need the right side.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 10th, 2010, 6:14 am

Call this number 672-4691

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » September 10th, 2010, 6:37 am

265/70R16 is the size my dad installed in his high rider hurricane and the wheel touches the mud guard area when locking
I have the 4x4 XLT 2010 but I get the wheel area in front should be the same like in the hurricane. That probably means that I cannot upgrade to the size lighthammer specified.
Someone please advise....

JD......

Postby JD...... » September 10th, 2010, 10:13 am

here in brazil almost every truck is running BF Goodrich A/T's TA, i went from stock tires to Maxxis bighorns, and so far im very impressed, even in wet asphalte i have to try to break traction.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 10th, 2010, 10:24 am

vharripersad wrote:Whats the best tyre for my use? Never going to be offroad, want best ride expecially when taking the family out on weekends. Tyres to take me out should I stick side the road, go down a drain, park offroad. I heard Kumho was the best?

Kumho roadventure A/T's are very good. I have them on the frontier and got very good performance with them. Have to work hard to push the van and break them loose on tarmac.

If you want an excellent road-biased all-terrain tyre, go to mileage mack and look at the Pirelli Scorpion ATR's. They scored the highest in an Australian off-roading magazine's tests.

265/70R16's at mileage mack would run u $1135 per tyre.

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » September 10th, 2010, 5:45 pm

My dad has the 265/70/16 in his hurricane 2010 hirider and it touches in the front. U sure this size will work in the 4x4 XLT 2010

A bit of humour- my 4x4 came in handy today, use the leaver to hang my child bottle warmer!!!!

madcoolieboy
Location: arkham asylum for the criminally insane..Under the alias: 'SYKO'

Postby madcoolieboy » September 10th, 2010, 6:30 pm

anything above 255 70 16 will touch with stock rims

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » September 10th, 2010, 10:17 pm

ok when changing i will max 255 70 16 because i would really like to keep the stock rims since they look pretty good. Any other disadvantages with the stocked rims?

nick009

Postby nick009 » September 11th, 2010, 7:50 am

vharripersad wrote:265/70R16 is the size my dad installed in his high rider hurricane and the wheel touches the mud guard area when locking
I have the 4x4 XLT 2010 but I get the wheel area in front should be the same like in the hurricane. That probably means that I cannot upgrade to the size lighthammer specified.
Someone please advise....

yes i tried 265 and mine touched also, Touched on the inside when locking thou. I think 255 should work. I use bfgoodrich macadam but if you could get the longtrail tour tyres those have excellent threadwear rating. I think is 20% offroad 80% road

madcoolieboy
Location: arkham asylum for the criminally insane..Under the alias: 'SYKO'

Postby madcoolieboy » September 11th, 2010, 11:09 am

i running some 245 75 16s rite now and they working nicely.....no touching at allll.. i think iy has to do with the rim width cus dem stock rims kinda skinny.. cuz men throwing on 20's an 22's with some nice negative offsets and is no problems fuh dem... bumper untouched and no interfering with the torsion bars either...

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » September 11th, 2010, 1:45 pm

is 255 70 R16 broader than the stocker tyre? I want a to upgrade to something broader but defnitely not shorter. I heard the broader tyre gives more stability. If 255 70 R16 is broader and wont' touch then i going for that size. What advise do u guys have in terms of tyre sizing from a safety point of view whilst preventing touching and not replacing the stock rims?

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » September 11th, 2010, 1:47 pm

Also, how often should a spare tyre be replaced? Cause would it not get inferior after taking all those weather under there and not being used for years?

nick009

Postby nick009 » September 11th, 2010, 2:59 pm

hrm cant answer other questions but 255 is slightly broader taller than the 245 70
i still have my original spare tyre

taktix

Postby taktix » September 11th, 2010, 10:19 pm

vharripersad,

Please take a look at the following tool. You can get an idea of the difference in height and width of the stock tire and the one you are thinking of changing to.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » September 13th, 2010, 8:29 am

The BFG's are the best all-round tires you can get for your truck. Check the tire thread for more details, I posted a graphic a while back showing the ratings on its performance.

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » September 13th, 2010, 3:09 pm

Guys, Guys, Guys, Oh my God, Oh my God, Oh my God.................. Guest what I just discovered in my 2010 4x4 XLT?
U know, I am the type who lives on the cell phone all day so I recently install a nokia handsfree system on my pickup. I disconnected it from the Nokia Handsfree this morning because I had some other friends with me and did not want them to hear my conversation.
So while driving up the road, I jack my nokia 5130 into the factory installed AUX IPOD jack that is mounted in the dash pocket below the radio section. My sister call same time. Wanna know what happened? My sister voice or the phone call was playing on the radio speaker loud and clear. Wanna know whats even better? I place the phone while connected on my hood and sent the glass up or almost all the way up not to squeeze the wire too much. Then I ask my sister if she was still hearing me and she said yes loud and clear. Fellas, that means the 2010 rangers came with phone capability and has an inbuilt microphone somewhere inside, thats why i heard my sister on the radio speaker and she heard me clearly even whilst the phone was outside the vehicle.
Now I have no need for my nokia handsfree again. I find this is really a cool best feature for the rangers.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 13th, 2010, 5:04 pm

serious - i need to try that with my iphone, when is the law coming into effect

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » September 13th, 2010, 7:57 pm

Yes, ur iphone should work. What I need to determine is where the inbuilt microphone is located because like I said, while the phone was outside the vehicle my sis was still hearing me loud and clear. This microphone location is of lesser concern though, i feel like i am driving a benz because my pickup come facilitate a phone, this is so cool.

About the law, whether it comes or not, who would pay attention to it anyway? I mean we all drive over 80 on the highway anyway so i dont think a cell restriction while driving would affect anyone. lol

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 13th, 2010, 8:16 pm

ummm - dude - there isnt any microphone - your sister was listenin to you via your phone - the aux jack act as an output for your phone, thats why you were hearing her via the speakers.

vharripersad

Postby vharripersad » September 13th, 2010, 10:24 pm

No, there is a microphone somewhere. While the phone was connected, i place it on the hood outside my van and then sent the glass all the way up but not to pinch the wire. My sis was still hearing me loud and clear. So if the phone was outside the van, but she was still hearing me as normal, I somehow feel that there is a microphone built in somewhere inside the van. What do u think about this? Because no way she could hear me loud and clear if the phone was on top the hood outside and the glass all the way up.

originalbling

Postby originalbling » September 13th, 2010, 11:12 pm

I know those bluetooth capable decks come with a built in mic. maybe you could start with the deck or somewhere around the centre console.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 13th, 2010, 11:23 pm

i will scrutinize the deck in the morning and see what i get

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”