Depressed, I need help, held up at gunpoint.

Mr. Go Slow

Re: Depressed, I need help, held up at gunpoint.

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 30th, 2010, 6:06 pm

shogun wrote:^^Everyone's not built the same way. coping skills differ from person to person, especially when dealing with a traumatic life threatening situation .. each person is going to react differently.

Understood, but society is way to coddling ... The "pussification" of the modern male is very alarming and needs to be curtailed.

Just a few hundred years ago, the option to sit down and feel sorry for yourself, meant you and your dependents went hungry, and possibly even died ... Most everyone had to suck it up during hard times (winter / drought / sickness).

Really in the scheme of things how "traumatic" is a robbery? You have all your limbs, you were not ass-raped, nor forced to bear witness to a loved one receiving the same. Consider yourself very fortunate. Get stronger, faster, better or give up.

The latter choice is an option for those who choose natural selection for themselves.

Postby shogun » August 30th, 2010, 6:26 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:

Really in the scheme of things how "traumatic" is a robbery?

Say that again?

Ok, so the person pulls through the ordeal with life and limb intact and indeed should be thankful. but the actual damage takes place during the ordeal when the person isn't sure of the outcome, whether he/she will live or die (i assume you pay attention to the news).
Look! i agree, i wish you could just shake the victim and say "just get over it" but it really isn't that easy.

Postby Rooki3 » August 30th, 2010, 6:28 pm

wait!! who delete my post??

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 30th, 2010, 6:29 pm

All I can say to the OP is yuh might get rob again in the future, be it from business people, friends etc,,,, doh study it, I got rob once, reported it to the police, identified the perpetrator in CID, got a new phone give the police my NEW number, only to be contacted one evening, by an anonymous number saying "You better watch yourself, I know where you are" . So I left it at that.

Postby Rooki3 » August 30th, 2010, 6:30 pm

nareshseep wrote:All I can say to the OP is yuh might get rob again in the future, be it from business people, friends etc,,,, doh study it, I got rob once, reported it to the police, identified the perpetrator in CID, got a new phone give the police my NEW number, only to be contacted one evening, by an anonymous number saying "You better watch yourself, I know where you are" . So I left it at that.

:wtf:

Chemical

Postby Chemical » August 30th, 2010, 6:31 pm

See if you can contact or get a number for Debbie Ali. I was also held up @ gunpoint to my head. I ducked & the bandit pulled the trigger ending up shooting my then GF in the leg (1997). I understand what u r going through. No doubt bout that but time heals.

Postby Rooki3 » August 30th, 2010, 6:32 pm

i was assaulted once by a soldier over some gyal scene, man slap me, then saw it fit to break my mammie car glass

Postby Rooki3 » August 30th, 2010, 6:35 pm

Chemical wrote:See if you can contact or get a number for Debbie Ali. I was also held up @ gunpoint to my head. I ducked & the bandit pulled the trigger ending up shooting my then GF in the leg (1997). I understand what u r going through. No doubt bout that but time heals.

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

shadowbird

Postby shadowbird » August 30th, 2010, 7:49 pm

Star we all does go tru some kinda pressures in life , rite after I sold my car while leavn work a little boy on a bike pull up on me with a gun & told me give him everyting but then looked at me again & say * go ahead star I aint go do AHh Brethren that * & ride off , it was funny & scary at the same time ( funny :- all I had is $ 20 my work jeans was shreading by the knee, I aint kno him !!! & he was standing at the edge of the ravine. Scary :- my son wouldn't have a father ) my word of advice 2 any 1 frm a poor person :- dress simple, dnt bling & .......ALWAYS hav a sharp precision screw driver on u ( or mase LOL ) we hav to go Marshal Law on these beyotches until we all can live in piece again. But star have faith & pray & if u want some 1 2 talk 2 jus pm me that should make u feel better :D

Postby Chimera » August 30th, 2010, 7:54 pm

kinda sad that so much people here can also say "I also got held up by gunpoint"

shadowbird

Postby shadowbird » August 30th, 2010, 8:02 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:kinda sad that so much people here can also say "I also got held up by gunpoint"

so tru but sad

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 30th, 2010, 8:07 pm

Hey man its gonna be on your mind for a few days...but cheer up !!! ----Youre still alive!!!!!

ppl get killed for their car , cellphone, a $20 even but man you are alive!!!

Crime has hit everyone in Trinidad........I was also robbed of $14000 in valuables....man even sit down in my car ----shit -----

It ate me up since he knows my car etc but I had to get over it to move on ---i suggest you do too....

mini_mart

Postby mini_mart » August 30th, 2010, 8:22 pm

keep strong pal.
sorry to hear about your situation. don't worry everything would be alright.

forsaken1

Postby forsaken1 » August 30th, 2010, 8:25 pm

wayyyy,so much ppl gone thru this on tuner!wat does be hard is don't matter how big yur is when it happen isn't much u could do but you're alive so u did sumthing right,gotta spend time with yur family,try and put yourself with ppl who always happy "DON'T STAY BY YOURSELF" that does make it worst :| :| :|

forsaken1

Postby forsaken1 » August 30th, 2010, 8:32 pm

it ain't like your situation but check it out its jus a motivation,u still got your life
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SjbX6mDnMwM

Postby Damien » August 30th, 2010, 10:26 pm

man you lucky count your blessings and continue to live

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 31st, 2010, 1:14 am

you'll feel jumpy and afraid for a while man......natural, normal reaction I would think.....

I myself was a victim 3 times.....had my car broken into in 2000 and lost my deck and signal processor....parked in a very high traffic car park in princes town---never again after that I have parked nor shopped in princes town, then in 2002 after a 2nr lime at movie town, was hungry-went kfc gulf with some other south 2nrs and was robbed as we exited the building @ about 2a.m. ---was at the time a bit inebriated to feel the panic and shock, and then had house & car broken into in 2007.....I dealt with that latter one by clearing down all the fkn boundries and bush around my home....couldn't sleep for a while but then I say screw it....

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » August 31st, 2010, 1:26 am

bro, it going to bother you for a few months, but as the sayin goes, time heals every wound.
if you are not improving after about 2 months, i'd suggest you talk to a professional, and doh study what people go say about u seein a shrink, cause u have a valid reason.
i've heard about Dr. N. Baboolal in Mik Arl building on the EMR at the corner of St. John Road.
she is supposed to be good.

if this was a first time thing, u would feel the scared and powerless feeling a lot more than someone who went through it a few times.

be strong, good luck

switchblademaster

Postby switchblademaster » August 31st, 2010, 8:54 am

Sorry to hear this man. These things can be rough and usually go away with time but to be on the safe side go c someone. Depression is not something to take likely as it can get serious (not to scare u) but I know some ppl who have it n based on their experience it is always good to be safe. This person is certified with deal with ppl who struggles with stress issues. Call the number if you want and make an appointment 623-4371
the doc's name is Vashti.
Good Luck Man

Postby Sky » August 31st, 2010, 9:51 am

I got jumped too. Not with a gun though. Guy jumped me from behind with his bare hands and I wasn't havin that. When he realise that he call for backup. Another one run up, push me down and ress a choplass on my leg. I had my $1400 phone and $5 on me. I just give up and they take the phone.
Yes it replay in my head and i vowed to never let it happen again. I bought a car so I wouldn't travel again, because I was terrified. After that stage I stop replaying the incident in my head and started playing scenarios for next time and decided to not let it happen again. I got a utility knife for swift bleeding. Then after that stage I realised that they no longer use blades, they use guns. So the only scenario I have now is me raising my hands and letting them go in my pocket. Because even if they start with a blade I dunno what they have in their pocket. And guns come cheap now.

I went through these stages without telling anyone or seeking help. Good thing? No. Because if someone with a gun met up with me while i was in the vengeful stage. I may not have been here.
I found solace in calling my phone. Yes, the idiots sold the phone with the sim. A Co worker called me, forgetting what happened and a girl answered. He and I promptly called and harassed her for a few weeks (Not for the phone, but general sexual chets). She just thought we were stalkers lol.

Anyway, go talk to someone about it. It's ok if you're scared. Nothing wrong with that. I'm sure you can even talk here, because with the response I see so far, trolls will be dealt with. Not everything is fun and games here.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 31st, 2010, 9:56 am

Man up and get over it. Be glad you are alive and you weren't shot.
Busy yourself making sure the police act on the tip off since you seem to know who held you up.

I was held up at gun point, car stolen and scrapped and kidnapped for about 5 hours, tied up in my own trunk. Yes you feel shaken for next couple of days and weeks but you have your life and for the sake of everyone around you and your family you need to be strong and keep moving on.

Be proactive and stop feeling sorry for yourself. You are only making an already bad situation worst.

I am being harsh because I was in a mess after my ordeal and some good friends and family helped me through it by seeing that getting depressed and worrying is not going to fix anything.

Pick yourself up, dust yourself off and move on. Be happy you are alive.

Postby tr1ad » August 31st, 2010, 10:47 am

time to move on buddy..
within the past month the sh!t i've been through people have been surprised i havent't gone mad as yet

Dragular

Postby Dragular » August 31st, 2010, 11:15 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:
shogun wrote:^^Everyone's not built the same way. coping skills differ from person to person, especially when dealing with a traumatic life threatening situation .. each person is going to react differently.

Understood, but society is way to coddling ... The "pussification" of the modern male is very alarming and needs to be curtailed.

Just a few hundred years ago, the option to sit down and feel sorry for yourself, meant you and your dependents went hungry, and possibly even died ... Most everyone had to suck it up during hard times (winter / drought / sickness).

Really in the scheme of things how "traumatic" is a robbery? You have all your limbs, you were not ass-raped, nor forced to bear witness to a loved one receiving the same. Consider yourself very fortunate. Get stronger, faster, better or give up.

The latter choice is an option for those who choose natural selection for themselves.

good advice

sharkmouth

Postby sharkmouth » August 31st, 2010, 1:56 pm

Way boy after hearing about all this i feeling lucky,never been robbed....but if you want to feel better sleep with a blade next to you....must be a nice long sharpened one...if you own a licsensed gun even better :)...if that dont help seek psychiatric help immediately...the doc will probaly give you some happy pills

Postby Chimera » August 31st, 2010, 2:51 pm

Someone needs to quote Duane's response and put in the "THIS IS TUNER! (300 themed pic)" after.

I can't find the pic or else i wudda do it.

but...some people react differently to violence I guess, I have never been physically held up or robbed, although a few times I thought it was going to happen from the way people were acting and I just realize what was gonna happen, and got out of the situation.

I tell myself that I gonna jump anyone who try to rob me, but if that ever happens, maybe ill freeze, maybe ill go batshit crazy and attack the attacker, maybe ill just give him my phone and tell him laters, then when he turn around to run , ill tase him .

Hopefully I never have to find out.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » August 31st, 2010, 3:02 pm

Duane wrote:Man up and get over it. Be glad you are alive and you weren't shot.
Busy yourself making sure the police act on the tip off since you seem to know who held you up.

I was held up at gun point, car stolen and scrapped and kidnapped for about 5 hours, tied up in my own trunk. Yes you feel shaken for next couple of days and weeks but you have your life and for the sake of everyone around you and your family you need to be strong and keep moving on.

Damn good points there sir.

Duane wrote:Be proactive and stop feeling sorry for yourself. You are only making an already bad situation worst.

Bai......spelling police in action here :lol:

It's "worse".

Postby bluefete » August 31st, 2010, 3:54 pm

This is a sad and amazing thread with so many tuners being the victims of crime.

I have looked down the barrel of a gun outside a maxi on the passenger side and facing the driver who had a bandit on his side sticking a gun to his head.

Everyone responds differently but Duane's advice is good. However, you have another decision to make if having done that (identified the perp), one day you get a call saying they know where you live etc. Do you go through with the case or let it drop?

You still have your life, you were not shot and your family is okay.

Learn to appreciate the fact the God gave you a second chance at life. Therefore, cherish each day and strive to fulfill your purpose in life. Let the people whose lives you touch be inspired by your words and actions.

This all could have turned out so differently.

You are still here for a purpose.

Find it.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » August 31st, 2010, 4:10 pm

sorry to hear man, but you should never feel that you let your family down...that is surely a slippery slope...

but, if u ever find de man...go chinee sparta on he tail...

urabus

Postby urabus » August 31st, 2010, 4:29 pm

been through something of that nature approximately 8 years ago, a guy broke into our home and I had all the dealings with him.....had me very traumitised for almost a year after (in terms of not wanting to be home alone, checking the whole house to see if any stranger person was hiding under the beds, behind the doors, inside the closets, inside the bathtub etc)....definitely seek professional help, do lots of prayers and keep God by your side so you can pull thru this as soon as possible. really sorry for what you had to go through, because such incidence makes many flea tnt!

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » August 31st, 2010, 4:47 pm

Check out Group, Individual and Family Therapists (G.I.F.T.S.) otherwise known as Waveney Richards and Associates. They are in Woodbrook. The main psychologists there are Waveney Riachards and Netsanet Amare. Waveney Richards is the more expensive of the two. Number: 628-9345