The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

anthonb

Re: The *Official* ANDROID/GOOGLE Thread

Postby anthonb » August 30th, 2010, 10:25 pm

So I have read. Is this the only way? Please post bmobiles data settings if you have them please. It would be greatly appreciated! Lastly this might be a stupid question but um..Can you also use Digicel's GPRS dataxonnection for the activation or is it only EDGE and up? Thanks all!!

Postby DFC » August 31st, 2010, 8:07 am

mitch i need help setting up mms in my mytouch slide.

as much as i try the vpn settings it not working.

oh gorm..lets have an Andriod meeting somewhere nah!
and everybody show they apps and help each other out?

somewhere with wifi.

Postby DFC » August 31st, 2010, 8:08 am

@ Anthonybee
you have a mytouch 3g or the my touch 3gslide?

where and how u buy it?

maybe i can help you

i only recently unlock my mytouch slide.

anthonb

Postby anthonb » August 31st, 2010, 11:13 am

How did you unlock it? Through TMobile or another rep? How did you bypass the google activation screen?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 31st, 2010, 11:50 pm

Motorola Milestone 2 makes official, albeit unintentional, debut (video)

Sometimes it takes a crafty, steel-nerved individual to leak an unreleased phone's details ahead of time. And then sometimes all it takes is a negligently uploaded video. An official promo for the Milestone 2 has popped up on YouTube before quickly being yanked by Moto. The Droid 2's international sibling unsurprisingly looks to be its carbon copy by another name: it features a 1GHz OMAP SOC, 512MB of RAM, a 5 megapixel imager, and Android 2.2 as the OS (complete with Flash Player and Froyo's native hotspot ability). We'll go out on a limb here and guess that this means the rest of the world will be getting its dose of Moto's latest and greatest QWERTY slider in very short order.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/08/31/moto ... nal-debut/

anthonb

Postby anthonb » September 1st, 2010, 12:14 am

Itch can I use digicel apn settings for GPRS to activte it? I saw a video of someone putting AT&T settings and it looked simple enough. And since edge/GPRS is available toe, well the GPRS, I figured I would use that. Although I know my money would be done. Since this is a drat connection, it should work right?

zcarz

Postby zcarz » September 1st, 2010, 12:19 am

hurry up and release desire hd.. i want you!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 1st, 2010, 12:25 am

anthonb wrote:Itch can I use digicel apn settings for GPRS to activte it? I saw a video of someone putting AT&T settings and it looked simple enough. And since edge/GPRS is available toe, well the GPRS, I figured I would use that. Although I know my money would be done. Since this is a drat connection, it should work right?

u should be able to do that. dunno the settings for digicel though.

i know for bmobile u just have to put the name as 'internet' and leave everything else as is.

u didnt get thru with touching the 4 corners?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 1st, 2010, 12:27 am

or y dont u just try to get access to a wifi network?

anthonb

Postby anthonb » September 1st, 2010, 9:46 am

Unlike the nexus one which came as an open phone, and therfore could wifi, the mytouch needs data from a network. I'll try it soon. I got the digicel settings. Only the apn has to be entered just like bmobile.

tr1n1r3dman

Postby tr1n1r3dman » September 2nd, 2010, 5:05 pm

To access Digicel's Edge network You need to go to Access point names in Mobile network settings (at least in android 2.1) . Create an access point and for the name you can put anything "Digicel" is fine and for APN put "web.digiceltt.com" leave everything else as is. You may then have to restart the phone. I thought it didn't work for me at first, when i did it the first time but i needed to restart the phone.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 2nd, 2010, 6:52 pm

Samsung Galaxy Tab preview

Hardware specs

* Android 2.2 running TouchWiz 3.0
* 7-inch TFT LCD with 1024 x 600 resolution (WSVGA)
* Weighs 380 grams
* 1GHz Cortex A8 processor
* 16GB or 32GB internal storage
* microSD expansion for up to 32GB additional storage
* Front-facing 1.3 megapixel camera and rear 3 megapixel camera with flash
* 4,000mAh battery
* 3G data / voice (there's a speakerphone and Bluetooth for phone calls, but no earpiece)
* 5GHz dual-band 802.11n WiFi
* Standard back color is white, carriers might offer different colors
* Full HD video playback
* There's a 30-pin dock connector on the bottom that allows for HDMI, USB, and docking accessories (a car dock at least is planned)

http://www.viddler.com/explore/engadget/videos/1772/

http://www.engadget.com/2010/09/02/sams ... b-preview/

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 2nd, 2010, 7:10 pm

Sony Takes Out Their Google-Powered Internet TV For a Spin

Sony's Internet TV is at IFA, demonstrating how Google TV might make your soccer—or football, rather—watching experience more interesting. No further details on the hardware side of things, but the UI looks polished, and more importantly, pretty useful.

Stats-heavy programming like sports makes a great test scenario for the Google TV platform, allowing you to do the kind of surfing-while-watching you might attempt with a smartphone or laptop while watching a normal TV anyway.

With Sony's set, the game can be stuck in a smaller window while you trawl the net for relevant Twitter feeds, geographical data by way of Google Maps, and related websites. Sony says the Internet TV will be arriving in the US in November, so stay tuned for concrete details on specs.

http://gizmodo.com/5628317/sony-takes-o ... for-a-spin

achillies

Postby achillies » September 3rd, 2010, 9:51 am

anthonb wrote:Itch can I use digicel apn settings for GPRS to activte it? I saw a video of someone putting AT&T settings and it looked simple enough. And since edge/GPRS is available toe, well the GPRS, I figured I would use that. Although I know my money would be done. Since this is a drat connection, it should work right?

Any network will work, the phone just needs a data connection to access google's servers.

anthonb

Postby anthonb » September 8th, 2010, 7:45 pm

Ye. Digicel's EDGE network worked. By the way, the corner unlock thing doesn't work on the MyTouch 3G.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 8th, 2010, 8:29 pm

just installed this app. very useful to me...

Android Notifier Sends Notifications from Your Phone to Growl

Android and Mac/Windows/Linux: If you don't want to deal with your phone while you're at your computer, free app Android Notifier will send all your phone's call, SMS, and battery notifications to your desktop.

Whether you wear noise-cancelling headphones at your desk, or you'd rather just use a full keyboard to reply to SMS messages instead of your phone, you can send those notifications to your computer to better fit into your workflow with Android Notifier. Setting it up is easy; just download and install both Android Notifier and the MacDroidNotifier app, which will send notifications to previously mentioned Growl (If you're using Windows or Linux, you'll need the Android-Notifier-Desktop app instead). It takes a bit of setup, but nothing too difficult—you can get instructions from the project's home page.

You can send notifications over Wi-Fi or Bluetooth, and pick whether you want notifications for incoming calls, SMS messages, battery messages, and voicemails. Bluetooth setup is pretty easy; Wi-Fi is a bit more involved. It's a pretty nice tool to have around, though, and would probably make a great Tasker task—for example, you could automatically set your phone to forward notifications to your computer whenever your phone is docked.

Android Notifier is a free download for Android phones and Macintosh computers. Windows and Linux users will need Android Notifier on their phone and Android-Notifier-Desktop on their computer.

http://gizmodo.com/5633158/android-noti ... e-to-growl

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 8th, 2010, 8:48 pm

Google Instant

Google Instant is a new search enhancement that shows results as you type. We are pushing the limits of our technology and infrastructure to help you get better search results, faster. Our key technical insight was that people type slowly, but read quickly, typically taking 300 milliseconds between keystrokes, but only 30 milliseconds (a tenth of the time!) to glance at another part of the page. This means that you can scan a results page while you type.

The most obvious change is that you get to the right content much faster than before because you don’t have to finish typing your full search term, or even press “search.” Another shift is that seeing results as you type helps you formulate a better search term by providing instant feedback. You can now adapt your search on the fly until the results match exactly what you want. In time, we may wonder how search ever worked in any other way.

Benefits

Faster Searches: By predicting your search and showing results before you finish typing, Google Instant can save 2-5 seconds per search.

Smarter Predictions: Even when you don’t know exactly what you’re looking for, predictions help guide your search. The top prediction is shown in grey text directly in the search box, so you can stop typing as soon as you see what you need.

Instant Results: Start typing and results appear right before your eyes. Until now, you had to type a full search term, hit return, and hope for the right results. Now results appear instantly as you type, helping you see where you’re headed, every step of the way.

http://www.google.com/instant/#utm_camp ... ce=instant

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 9th, 2010, 4:14 pm

HTC Desire HD rendered, looks pretty legit to us -- oh, except for that WinMo UI

The stars are really aligning for this shindig HTC has scheduled in London for next week, aren't they? All signs point to the launch of the Android-powered Desire Z and Desire HD -- international versions of the G2 and EVO, respectively -- and this render pulled off of German site BestBoyZ matches up perfectly with in-the-wild shots we've seen of the HD before. The only sticking point, really, is that there's a Windows Mobile 6.5 Sense UI shot inexplicably plastered on top, which makes about as much sense as... well, re-releasing the HD2 right now. Bottom line, we think the hardware part of this picture is real; software, not so much.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/09/09/htc- ... -except-f/

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 9th, 2010, 4:18 pm

Acer Liquid Metal wraps Android 2.2 in aluminum

Well, this one's come a bit out of left field (or Russia, actually), but it looks like Acer may be set to release yet another Android device. Apparently dubbed the Liquid Metal, this one is said to pack Android 2.2 beneath Acer's own skin, along with a 3.6-inch 800 x 480 capactive touchscreen, an 800MHz Qualcomm MSM7230-1 processor, Bluetooth 3.0, and a camera of unspecified megapixels with a flash -- all wrapped in what appears to be an aluminum casing. No word on pricing or availability just yet, but it looks like the phone exists in both black and silver versions at the moment.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/09/09/acer ... -aluminum/

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 14th, 2010, 7:05 pm

HTC is launching its next big thing tomorrow, and we'll be there live!

The drama, the excitement, the fanfare. No, those aren't new HTC model names, they're just what you can expect tomorrow. HTC is hosting a little shindig in London the day after today in order to announce the latest hardware it has "dreamt up" -- and since we're suckers for hot new smartphones, we'll be there to liveblog the hell out of it. The event kicks off at 12PM British Summer Time or 1PM Central European Time. In American parlance, that's 7AM for the East Coast and a frightful 4AM for West Coasters. Our intuition says to expect the Desire HD and Desire Z to make their debuts, but there's only one way to be certain: keep it locked to Engadget and we'll demystify everything as soon as superhumanly possible.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/09/14/htc- ... -be-there/

zcarz

Postby zcarz » September 14th, 2010, 7:59 pm

mitch wrote:HTC is launching its next big thing tomorrow, and we'll be there live!

The drama, the excitement, the fanfare. No, those aren't new HTC model names, they're just what you can expect tomorrow. HTC is hosting a little shindig in London the day after today in order to announce the latest hardware it has "dreamt up" -- and since we're suckers for hot new smartphones, we'll be there to liveblog the hell out of it. The event kicks off at 12PM British Summer Time or 1PM Central European Time. In American parlance, that's 7AM for the East Coast and a frightful 4AM for West Coasters. Our intuition says to expect the Desire HD and Desire Z to make their debuts, but there's only one way to be certain: keep it locked to Engadget and we'll demystify everything as soon as superhumanly possible.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/09/14/htc- ... -be-there/

HELLS YEA!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 14th, 2010, 8:31 pm

cant wait to see what HTC announces.
wanna upgrade but seeing that the Nexus 1 is always the first to get the Android updates and usually the only phone to utilize all the features, i just might hang on to it.

come on Google, we need a Nexus 2! show them how it's done...again!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 14th, 2010, 8:38 pm

btw, this game is awesome!

beta version free right now, cant wait for the full version.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/09/03/app- ... s-android/

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 15th, 2010, 8:47 am

sweet mother of :shock: ! this is one sexy beast!

FS: 1 Nexus One :|

HTC launches the Desire HD: an EVO for the rest of world

The Desire HD is official, folks, finally bringing a 4.3-inch LCD to European Android fans. The handset is made from a solid block of aluminum and comes packing a 1GHz 8255 Snapdragon processor, 8 megapixel camera with dual-LED flash and 720p video recording, Dolby Mobile, and HSPA+ data with 802.11n WiFi when it lands in Europe and Asia sometime in October. It's also one of the first HTC devices to feature the enhanced HTC Sense experience with HTCsense.com services.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/09/15/htc- ... -of-world/

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 15th, 2010, 9:04 am

loving the back of this one but prefer the Droid 2 over it...

HTC Desire Z is the QWERTY slider your Android's been waiting for

HTC has just announced the Desire Z, an Android-friendly QWERTY slider. Like the T-Mobile G2, the Desire Z features a "pop-out" (don't call it a slider) QWERTY keyboard with user assigned keys and system-wide shortcuts that let you quickly launch your favorite apps. Around back you've got a 5 megapixel camera with flash that's HD video capable while an 800MHz Qualcomm MSM7230 processor pumps away efficiently inside with HSPA+ and 802.11n radios providing the data. Unlike the US G2, however, the Deisre Z comes loaded with HTC's enhanced Sense UI and new HTCSense.com services.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/09/15/htc- ... aiting-fo/

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » September 15th, 2010, 10:06 am

mitch wrote:sweet mother of :shock: ! this is one sexy beast!

Indeed. Safe to say this and Galaxy s are top dogs.

Galaxy S over this:

-Better screen (Super AMOLED > Sony LCD)
-Better CPU + GPU ( Hummingbird > snapdragon)
-Thinner + lighter
-more internal memory (8GB vs. 1.5GB)
-Front facing camera
-Better battery ( 1500mAh > 1230mah)

Desire HD over Galaxy S

-Better build materials
-Higher resolution camera (8mpx > 5mpx)
-Slightly bigger screen (4.3" vs. 4")
-More RAM (768mb vs 512mb)
-Camera flash

These are my thoughts on the desire. The processor of the the Desire HD will be noticeably slower when it comes to graphic intensive programs. While it's not the best, we can live with it. My main concerns though are the screen quality and the protruding camera lens. Based on the screenshots and videos, no way is the Desire HD coming close to the Galaxy S super AMOLED. You do get a bigger screen with the Desire but remember the resolution is the same as the Galaxy, simply meaning the images will also be more pixelated. Also the camera lens protrudes quite a bit so if you rest down your phone, the lens will be prone to scratching, no doubt. So I dunno man. If it had the HDMI port, kickstand and FRONT CAMERA (No video chat?? :cry: ) of the EVO 4g I would actually place this phone above the Galaxy. As it stands though, I don't think so.

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » September 16th, 2010, 3:08 am

:o

Postby honda hoe » September 16th, 2010, 8:29 am

mitch wrote:sweet mother of :shock: ! this is one sexy beast!

The Desire HD is official, folks, finally bringing a 4.3-inch LCD to European Android fans. The handset is made from a solid block of aluminum and comes packing a 1GHz 8255 Snapdragon processor, 8 megapixel camera with dual-LED flash and 720p video recording, Dolby Mobile, and HSPA+ data with 802.11n WiFi when it lands in Europe and Asia sometime in October. It's also one of the first HTC devices to feature the enhanced HTC Sense experience with HTCsense.com services.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/09/15/htc- ... -of-world/

is it just me or this phone looks HUGE :|

too big imo

specs are fantastic tho

Postby Greypatch » September 16th, 2010, 10:34 am

still holding on to meh N1 damm it I got it in easter

Postby Chimera » September 16th, 2010, 11:35 am

lol what allyuh think about this

The Best of Both Worlds
For the first time ever you can take advantage of today’s two best operating systems in one powerful and compact cellphone. For business people on the go the Windroid features the latest Windows 6.5 professional OS. This allows you to easily sync this phone with Outlook Express email as well as edit your Excel, PowerPoint and Word files all while away from your desk. When work is over simply select the popular Android OS and let the fun begin!

Powerful Hardware
Tech junkies will be pleased to know that the WinDroid is no slouch; let’s take a look inside. At the heart of this device is the time-tested Marvell PXA310 CPU running at a swift 624 MHz. This is more than enough power to enjoy CPU demanding tasks such as watching your favorite high resolution movies, rendering complex webpages like YouTube or playing the latest video games. The WinDroid also features a powerful 802.11 b/g wireless card for lightning fast internet speeds as well as the Inner Sirf III GPS chip for use with your favorite GPS software. Powerful enough? We think so.

At a Glance...

* Responsive 3.2 inch touch screen
* Powerful Marvell 624 MHz CPU
* Features the Inner Sirf III GPS chipset
* Quadband worldwide GSM connectivity
* Dual Boot Android and Windows 6.5 PRO operating systems
* Fully Unlocked: Can use with any GSM service provider around the world
* Touch sensitive flush mount buttons- stylish and convenient
* True 2MP Camera: Takes beautiful 1200x1600 photos
* Micro SD Slot: Store media files up to 16GB (Bonus 2GB Included!)
* WI-FI 802.11b/g support: Blazing fast internet speeds
* Best valued smartphone on the market today: Ideal for resale market
* Syncs with Outlook Express, Gmail Contacts, Google Calendar and more
* Access hundred of free apps, games, ringtones and more with the Android Marketplace!