HP awarded $83Million Contract by KAMLA

Re: HP awarded $83Million Contract by KAMLA

Postby RBphoto » August 26th, 2010, 8:18 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Parents should be made to sign contracts making them 100% responsible for the laptops.

Laptop lost-pay for it.

I think it would make more sense to let them pay a nominal insurance fee, so if it is lost, stolen or damaged, they would not have to bear the brunt of replacement. Remember, some not too well off families sending their children to school too eh. Group insurance sould be cheap.. but I am guessing the cost of administrating any form of parental restitution for damages might cost more to the state than just letting the authourized person repair/ replace it. It has tracking, so losing it would not be an issue.

Um... guys... let's talk about the technical merits/ downfalls of the plan instead of attacking RASC personally for EVERYTHING he posts. You guys are getting more annoying than RASC. He has an oppinion that we can respect, but dissagree with. Governments are made to be criticized, and in a democracy, if your voice is not heard, your rights will be trampled. There are many people who are against this plan, and if he wants to be their voice, at least we are hearing of a perspective that we would not have heard if we just all came together and said JAI Gopiesingh....that would make for a very informative thread ent?

Postby SmokeyGTi » August 26th, 2010, 8:19 am

but why didn't they buy some cheap arse netbooks?

all these children should be using it for is basic multimedia, research on internet, email, and use of microsoft office to do assignments..

why the arse they have to buy some high spec laptops?

Postby RASC » August 26th, 2010, 8:24 am

crossdrilled wrote:
Um... guys... let's talk about the technical merits/ downfalls of the plan instead of attacking RASC personally for EVERYTHING he posts. You guys are getting more annoying than RASC.

I don't even know who some of these people are :s

I try my best to not even mention them, just plain ignore..or whatever, try to stick on topic.
But it's a kind of cult of personality they are trying to build of me, when I'm not even remotely interested in becoming popular on here.

I really don't understand it. :? Attack the opinion, why attack the person?
Are they obsessed? I wonder what would happen if they were to see me in person...they most likely won't say a word. I dunno, it's whatever... see sig.

Postby sharkman121 » August 26th, 2010, 8:25 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:but why didn't they buy some cheap arse netbooks?

all these children should be using it for is basic multimedia, research on internet, email, and use of microsoft office to do assignments..

was wondering the same thing, why children need high spec laptops when netbooks would do jus fine :?

Postby Trini Hookah » August 26th, 2010, 8:27 am

"dey go strain dey eyes bai"

Postby RASC » August 26th, 2010, 8:30 am

Now will these kids also be provided with the proper carrying tools...padded holders? padded nap-sacks etc? 12 year olds with brand new laptops that they, nor their parents didn't have to pay for = Hmmmmm

I hope they don't become targets. And what of "theft" who are the reports made to, and how many times will you be allowed allocated for "theft" before you're cut off?

Basic questions...
Last edited by RASC on August 26th, 2010, 8:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby eliteauto » August 26th, 2010, 8:30 am

I support the initiative, implementation and management is where I see issues, we should not do things wily-nily just to fulfill political promises, there are some nice points in the thread too..... allyuh eat grown up breakfast today orr?

What they shoulda do was try to make a deal and get accidental damage instead of warranty.

Parents should be made to sign contracts making them 100% responsible for the laptops.

I think it would make more sense to let them pay a nominal insurance fee, so if it is lost, stolen or damaged, they would not have to bear the brunt of replacement.

RASC wrote:
nemisis wrote:They should have made Hp open a service center in Trinidad as part of the contract

...AND train and hire at minimum 75% locals. Brilliant actually...

Postby RBphoto » August 26th, 2010, 8:31 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:but why didn't they buy some cheap arse netbooks?

I have had two netbooks. Both died within a year of purchase. One replaced under warranty died soon after being replaced ) Being slow and unreliable, low speced, I don't think this can be a feasable solution for children writing SEA. These also run trimmed down operating systems. With the obsolesence rate of computers, it makes sense to buy the best specified machines at any given point in time, not junk netbooks.

Postby janfar » August 26th, 2010, 8:33 am

I think this has many advantages as well as disadvantages.

The biggest disadvantage being the irresponsibility of the younger generation. Not being able to care for the fragile items would deem costly in the long run. Unless their is a comprehensive warranty covering all aspects.

Our life now revolves around the internet and the ability to use it. Technology is improving and we are being left behind. Face it, we cannot survive without a PC and the internet. Even RASC cant survive a day without making a post on tuner. So why should less fortunate kids not have the ability to use this media and gain knowledge. I was not as fortunate to be able to have access to a computer till i joined my current company in 2001. Before that it was a luxury. Now i carry one around with me. Half of the functions i cant use... dont even know how to make a formula in excel.

Now we have the opportunity to groom the younger generation into the future that is a reality. Yeh some will break and some will be stolen. But their will be those that would cherish this as an opportunity to fit into the new age.

As agree that they should not have bought high spec lappys for these kids. The one from india for $34.00 would have sufficed. 500usd would get you a decent HP notebook. How are these going to be distributed? I dont think they should be given to carry home. You have a computer class each day and you are given the laptop to use, which will be assigned to you for your 5 yrs or so. Left on the compound each day. Everything will be done there at school. I could be wrong though!!!

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2010, 8:36 am

who got the contract ?
digidata or fujitsu ?

Postby RASC » August 26th, 2010, 8:40 am

janfar wrote: I dont think they should be given to carry home. You have a computer class each day and you are given the laptop to use, which will be assigned to you for your 5 yrs or so. Left on the compound each day. Everything will be done there at school. I could be wrong though!!!

Ok This.

Now that would include an ADDITIONAL cost on the ministry, as they would have to supplement the building of secure/temperate storage facilities for these schools...where a trained member of staff(or two) is given the responsibility of caring, allocating, distributing and maintenance on each campus around the nation.

That's at least an additional 200Million PER ANNUM you're looking at. Easily :?
And these storage facilities would then have to be large enough to accommodate ALL 5(or 7) "FORMS" laptops.

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » August 26th, 2010, 8:48 am

GREAT IS THE UNC
FOR PROVIDING FOR THE NATIONS CHILDREN
F-THE PNM

Postby RBphoto » August 26th, 2010, 8:49 am

I think that EVERY child entering primary school should be given this:

http://laptop.org/en/laptop/index.shtml

The OLPC initiative is helping children the world over. It gives a child computing power without the distraction of a full fledged machine, and more reliable and purpouse built than a netbook. Given the price of school books, I believe that parents should be made to pay for this, as it would lighten the bookbag of children, and government make current textbooks avalible in interactive electronic formats to run on this. No need for administrating grants for books. Just one copybook, a few basic texts, drawing pad crayons, pencil and pen is all the child would need *RIK will not be amused*. Nobody would steal these as there would be no market for adult use, and a child having two would be a waste cause everybody has one. I believe this would have helped more than the sophisticated machines being bought for SEA students only, and they would have learnt responsibility and how to use a machine proficiently for school work only by the time they reached SEA and we would not have to worry about IF they will be responsible with the machines..... but nobody asked me, so just bumping my gum.

Postby janfar » August 26th, 2010, 8:50 am

RASC wrote:
janfar wrote: I dont think they should be given to carry home. You have a computer class each day and you are given the laptop to use, which will be assigned to you for your 5 yrs or so. Left on the compound each day. Everything will be done there at school. I could be wrong though!!!

Ok This.

Now that would include an ADDITIONAL cost on the ministry, as they would have to supplement the building of secure/temperate storage facilities for these schools...where a trained member of staff(or two) is given the responsibility of caring, allocating, distributing and maintenance on each campus around the nation.

That's at least an additional 200Million PER ANNUM you're looking at. Easily :?
And these storage facilities would then have to be large enough to accommodate ALL 5(or 7) "FORMS" laptops.

Good point but on that note, not every home is going to have ideal climates for using and storing laptops. So storing it at a school where the proper conditions are available, would provide the control necessary to prevent the unnecessary costs that could be incurred in the long run.

Also, what happens when the kids finish school. DO they get to keep the lappys or return it. Who updated software and so they have a special network with something like websense to control what is viewed on the internet??? I dont think this was well thought out... the proper infrastructure was not put in place before the laptops were brought in. But I could be wrong...

Postby goalpost » August 26th, 2010, 8:51 am

I'm gonna have to agree with RASC on this particular issue. I do support the PP, but damn, this was a terrible terrible decision.

Postby RASC » August 26th, 2010, 8:51 am

What they should've done is this:

Allocate enough laptops to accommodate an entire "FORM" of each given school across the land.

i.e. 200 students coming in. 200 Laptops.

Now these laptops will then be secured, maintained, distributed, upgraded, replaced through the ministry and a qualified technician or two on the school compound. Not all students would need laptops within a certain year, at all the same time.

Teachers would then incorporate the use of laptops per class, per subject.
For example: Form2, Period5, Tuesday will have access to the laptops.
And with that system there will STILL be enough for other classes to use them, as there are only approx 40 students per class (even less once you pick your O'Level courses).

Makes alot more sense than giving teenages free reign over laptop use in whichever class they feel like using it in. Or whenever they feel like bringing it in.

"Oh sorry sir my laptop got stolen...couldn't bring it today*snicker*" <---How is a teacher going to curtail that kind of behavior?

This is just an extra burden on alot of these schools...God Forbid your child did not do too well and end up in a gunta school...then what? I wouldn't have brought my laptop to school either if I were those kids.

No serious planning was put into this. It will turn out to cost ALOT more than anticipated, in terms of man hours wasted & most importantly money.

Postby janfar » August 26th, 2010, 8:56 am

I agree with you RASC... now you sound more educated and less boirantboisourgrapesboitoteboi...

***Gives free laptop with rising sun to RASC***

Postby goalpost » August 26th, 2010, 8:56 am

^^ agree completely.

Postby SR » August 26th, 2010, 8:59 am

if any of you posting here has had a child sit exams this year then you would understand the benefit of a computer for a student

while i agree there is a level of responsability dont underestimate the intelligence level of an 11 or 12 year old now compared to when you sat common entrance years ago

some of yall need to stop bickerin at every little thing and let time tell if it was a good investment or not

during the previous governments spending spree many of you posting in disagreement here now had nothing to say and to what benefit had the spending spree done to the public

83 mil for 24000 laptops with authorised software to benefit students for the nations futue in 15 years
well worht it in my eyes

i would agree though hp would not have been my choice
Dell has the best after sales service in the industry on warranty

WD40

Postby WD40 » August 26th, 2010, 9:06 am

It might have made more sense to provide a thin client solution instead.

Postby RBphoto » August 26th, 2010, 9:11 am

RASC, the model of use you just described is the old "computer lab" model. The whole point of the laptop is to empower students, so that they can use it for homework, doing reports and research on their own time as well. With the thrust towards computerized teaching, I am surprised that tuta is not kicking fo rtraing for teachers to be able to use the computers as classroom tools. That training alone might make the cost of the hardware seem paltry. Without the training, they might just lokc up the room and have it as a white elephant in the school.

Postby SR » August 26th, 2010, 9:16 am

plenty teachers not computer literate

Postby RASC » August 26th, 2010, 9:19 am

BTW: Computers&Controls (Gillette) is the HP local supplier who has won the contract.

forsaken1

Postby forsaken1 » August 26th, 2010, 9:21 am

whole idea jus seems wrong,they are sure goin and be targets don't matter how much security they put for it 2 be trace,maybe if it was desktops might be better,by givin them desktops it will be cheaper to repair,safe no travelin involve,won't get damage as easy because they are children accidents will happen or even maybe instead of free giv the parents a card 2 get a discount or pay installments,ppl don't applicate things they get "free" and most of the time in school they goin and send songs to phone and jus waste time not to mention xxxvideos they will hack it. i could be wrong in my views

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 26th, 2010, 9:22 am

Wifi/GSP tracking in laptop = no theft/loss

i cant believe you bashing this, this is the future, and the only way to give the youths a chance (besides other drastic improvements to the education system) - if they dont know how to use a computer they are redundant.

UDFR with your negative shiet

Postby teems1 » August 26th, 2010, 9:23 am

newsday has the number of units at 20,400 while the express has it at 24,000

if the newsday's figure is correct, the price per laptop is $4,069.63

W2J

Postby W2J » August 26th, 2010, 9:25 am

RASC wrote:BTW: Computers&Controls (Gillette) is the HP local supplier who has won the contract.

You are most incorrect sir CCL has not won anything, Digidata was handed the contract same as BLINK for there recent contest.

Postby RASC » August 26th, 2010, 9:27 am

W2J wrote:
RASC wrote:BTW: Computers&Controls (Gillette) is the HP local supplier who has won the contract.

You are most incorrect sir CCL has not won anything, Digidata was handed the contract same as BLINK for there recent contest.

I was JUST gonna edit my post and change it to "two companies who I think may have won the contract"

Thanks for the inclusion.

Rx

Postby Rx » August 26th, 2010, 9:29 am

I thought it would have been better if they awarded laptops to the Top 100 SEA pupils ... maybe even the top 300.........

imagine a pupil scoring 30% or less and is placed in a Secondary school ... and given a laptop ....hmmm......

An election promise fulfilled though ......

Postby RASC » August 26th, 2010, 9:31 am

Bezman wrote:Wifi/GSP tracking in laptop = no theft/loss

i cant believe you bashing this, this is the future, and the only way to give the youths a chance (besides other drastic improvements to the education system) - if they dont know how to use a computer they are redundant.

UDFR with your negative shiet

I don't think anyone is opposed to more computer education.
I think there's more grievance to the METHOD in which it is implimented.

The gov't should've been more steadfast and NOT bent to pressure from external or opposition forces...just cause they promised it, doesn't mean they needed to RUSH the initiative. This was NOT well thought out, and should've have been phased in, with puppet schools.

They have the majority, stop bending to external pressure just cause you trying to look good. Do the job properly!