Mazda 3 Carbon Fiber Intake---

MAZDA People United - it continues here

FullStop

Mazda 3 Carbon Fiber Intake---

Postby FullStop » August 25th, 2010, 5:54 pm

this is still in development ppl, the filter end is 3" wide, the throttlebody side is 2.5", maf sensor mount and works(tested). Real Carbon fiber...

the shape is intentional, it puts the air filter right over the fenderwell...hopefully I can dyno test this thing on Saturday night...any and all feedback welcome, even if you think it shitty...

libra

Re: Mazda 3 Carbon Fiber Intake---

Postby libra » August 25th, 2010, 6:25 pm

it cool man ...... once it workin ! where yuh goin sat night ..check a bro nah lol
an doa leave out the BJ guys

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 25th, 2010, 7:32 pm

no no no...he has to make a cf monitor stand next :)

Good job man. And here i am still playing with fiberglass :|

libra

Postby libra » August 25th, 2010, 7:41 pm

lol ... he watchin honda in d screen dey ..like yuh gonna duck d mazda men

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 25th, 2010, 7:45 pm

this is the first layer i had put down, it came out pristine, the other layers came out okay, but not like the first, the pic making it look broken and discontinuous, but it really continuous...if yall goin dex sunday i'll bring it, libra, i was hoping to find a length of road to dyno on saturday and then pass in mazda lime if the mazda crew liming...

libra

Postby libra » August 25th, 2010, 7:50 pm

i was on kicks dude ... but if d crew limin tell meh ah go duck in if ah can ... i wanna do an intake bad ... u have too much ideas goin tru meh head now ..

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 25th, 2010, 8:01 pm

we will meet up an we'll see what kinda intake you want to get done, lol, i wanna get a bit better at CF before i do any for anyone, thanks Strugglerz, the mould is the hardest part of the process, makin a mould is hell

libra

Postby libra » August 25th, 2010, 8:03 pm

boi ah ent care for it to be super neat ..... jus workin properly !

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » August 25th, 2010, 8:06 pm

Looking good so far as the proto...Now get back to work on perfecting that thing for the 3 and the BJ Mafia! :P Nice work buddy..

libra

Postby libra » August 25th, 2010, 8:32 pm

he's a boss .. an watch yuh threatening ppl again .. lol

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » August 25th, 2010, 8:41 pm

No I'm not...the mafia doesn't threaten people..that's just..uhm..unethical...we simply put a little more in to the demands we make. :P (in mt Marlon Brando Godfather voice.)

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 25th, 2010, 9:03 pm

LOL, i not messin with no mafia na, i put on another coat of epoxy resin, once it dries properly i'll buff it an take it to get it clear coated for the deep 3d carbon fiber finish...i expect the next one i do will come out faster and better...learned alot doing this one...when i tested it on sunday morning it sounded damn good, quieter than the metal intake in the mz3 and deeper...

libra

Postby libra » August 25th, 2010, 9:20 pm

nice nice .... dude u cud make sum $$$ doin this .. especially for desperate ppl like like libra :lol:

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 25th, 2010, 9:22 pm

great man, intake looks great... so how much these going to cost? Good small business idea, as you will get a lot of support from the BJ mafia. Doh worry we go take out the competition.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 25th, 2010, 9:31 pm

lol, i want it to cost less than a metal pipe intake and perform better than a metal pipe intake, i know thas not saying much, but I just absolutely HATE local businesses that jack up prices out of the reach of the average tuner...i checkin into bringing in K&N air filters for any intake i make, i still checkin if i can bring it cheaper than local market price, i already getting the silicone couplers cheaper than local market price, so soon I'll be able to average a price...I also trying to get the best quality components...

libra

Postby libra » August 25th, 2010, 9:44 pm

cool ... k & n 's go fer $400 and up .. and if u bringin everythin ppl need then u on like corn .... one stop intake shop ! lol

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » August 26th, 2010, 5:53 am

Oh boy, yuh have libra rapping now just to get a intake. :P

But on the real man stick at it and get that business crack-a-lackin you on to something here and if it could be cheaper than metal and it's CF....EPIC PRICELESS! Dude.

ζђίΰД™

Postby ζђίΰД™ » August 26th, 2010, 2:14 pm

Did you get the Carbon Fiber cloth locally?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 26th, 2010, 2:28 pm

nope, imported it, i hafta buy more, the resin is the real killer though

libra

Postby libra » August 26th, 2010, 5:34 pm

yea boi ah get gladdy ....

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 26th, 2010, 8:07 pm

update...i got tired of looking at the intake so i threw it away...um, na, i din think it was looking like it should so i took a grinder to it, and i put on a third layer of CF, I'm getting it clear coated tomorrow so will post pix when its done...

FullStop

Postby FullStop » August 27th, 2010, 2:16 pm

dropped off the intake today to have it cleared, will collect it back tomorrow evening...pix soon come

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » August 27th, 2010, 2:32 pm

You better hurry before libra starts to rap. :P

libra

Postby libra » August 27th, 2010, 5:43 pm

ah workin on the lyrics ....

Postby Rainman » September 11th, 2010, 4:39 pm

Subscribed

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 11th, 2010, 5:38 pm

yup, v2 of this intake should be out by tuesday, i dropped it by the painter to have it cleared, i will hafta do the buffing tho.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » October 22nd, 2010, 5:15 pm

i did not like what the painters did witht the clear coat and since the intake is round, getting an even coat of clear resin is very difficult.

I did what any self respecting man would do, i sanded it and painted it high heat flat balck..yeah, good stuff.

When i first installed the intake it took about a minute for the car to adjust to it, it stuttered a couple times, i think this was a good sign as the car was adjusting based on the extra amount of air coming in.

First thing I noticed with this intake, recall, I was using a straight metal pipe before, is that even when the car is hot and running in the midday sun the improved throttle response never goes away, its always there. when i came home today i left the car on popped the hood, the tube was warm, i revved the engine, with two-three revs the pipe was cool.I'm really impressed with this especially since the car was parked, I expect it cools better with the car running...Will update this thread with any further thoughts on this intake, good or bad.

Rainman, I know the enginebay stink, doh fall down, i cleaning it tomorrow...

libra

Postby libra » October 22nd, 2010, 6:37 pm

yuh ready to do mine now ... lol

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » October 22nd, 2010, 7:21 pm

boop boop ploi!!!!!!!!!!! looking good ghost

villain

Postby villain » October 25th, 2010, 5:03 pm

ghost you check for the rear strut bar for me?

Return to “MAZDA”