Postby RASC » February 15th, 2010, 1:13 pm

Did you guys see the preview for Windows 7 Mobile :shock: ??? :|

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 15th, 2010, 1:19 pm

yeah looks awesome. competition is definitely heating up. Microsoft, Google, Apple...the big 3

ur move now Apple

Postby honda hoe » February 15th, 2010, 1:33 pm

nokia is rats ass :?

Postby Stephon. » February 15th, 2010, 6:04 pm

1100 FTW

Postby M_2NR » February 15th, 2010, 6:07 pm

mitch wrote:Symbian^3

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/rdGyZYrix9g&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></embed>

i dunno, i think this is just a little to late :(

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » February 15th, 2010, 7:53 pm

This phone is a beast!

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/jLa8PWXu4_w&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Postby RASC » February 15th, 2010, 9:26 pm

N3M3SIS, stick to the theme please :|

That's the new Samsung OS -BADA Nothing to do with Nokia nor Symbian^3

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 26th, 2010, 1:33 pm

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » March 3rd, 2010, 10:57 pm

RASC wrote:N3M3SIS, stick to the theme please :|

That's the new Samsung OS -BADA Nothing to do with Nokia nor Symbian^3

There are a whole list of posts in this thread unrelated to nokia and you single me out?

U just mad because nokia has nothing to appreciate right now. :wink:

But for your sake I'll try to be clever like you:
Last edited by N3M3SIS on March 3rd, 2010, 11:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » March 3rd, 2010, 10:59 pm

RASC wrote:Did you guys see the preview for Windows 7 Mobile :shock: ??? :|

RASC stick to the theme please. :?

That's the new Windows 7 OS -Nothing to do with Nokia nor Symbian^3

Postby X_Factor » March 3rd, 2010, 11:31 pm

if ur fone can fall off 2nd floor of a building, hit the ground, battery fly out, screen crack plastic tingy crack

put back in the battery power it up and the fone works fine as ever!!

Nokia 1208 FTW!!

Postby M_2NR » March 4th, 2010, 1:38 am

men real touchy oui.

Before they post something useful... :roll:
anyway
Remember the new naming scheme... well..

http://www.engadget.com/2010/03/02/noki ... -be-a-sma/

Nokia C5 arrives with S60 3rd edition OS pretending to be a 'smartphone'

Cheap "smartphones" FTW now yes

Postby RASC » April 28th, 2010, 5:04 am

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/xrXHXin9Iio&hl=en_US&fs=1&rel=0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed>

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » April 28th, 2010, 8:28 am

Yuh see this?

http://www.engadget.com/2010/04/27/noki ... -reviewed/

It looks like Nokia isn't too happy that its big N8 / Symbian^3 reveal this morning was tarnished by Eldar Murtazin's harsh preview of the device and OS a few days ago: in a new Conversations blog post, the company says that Eldar's "salacious headlines" masked the fact that he was looking at a "very early, pre-production prototype with dated software that is not yet ready," and that it only ships products that are "refined, tested, re-tested, evaluated, [and] tested again."Now, Eldar says the devices he examined had the very latest hardware and software, so it's a bit of a he-said-she-said at this point, but there's no denying that Nokia's definitely shipped some not-quite-ready-for-prime-time devices lately -- the N900 and Maemo 5 shipped in pretty roughed-out form, and the company itself has said the N97 was a "tremendous disappointment." How that recent history reflects on Symbian^3 and the N8 remains to be seen, but it's clear that Nokia's feeling pretty defensive about things; Eldar's been scooping Espoo's gear for years now and the company's never made a peep about it. Either that, or someone at Nokia is just trying to cash in on all this iPhone 4 drama by saying things like "we want our prototype back" and "we are not the Secret Police, and we want to maintain our culture of openness," but come on -- that would be a pretty crass publicity stunt, right? We want to believe.

Swisha

Re: .::The Official Nokia Appreciation Thread::.

Postby Swisha » August 2nd, 2010, 5:38 pm

this looks promising!

Nokia's treatment of MeeGo smartphone UI revealed?

We've already gotten a glimpse at MeeGo's prerelease stock UI for handsets, but just like Symbian, there's no guarantee that the experience is going to be consistent across manufacturers -- and a new video apparently captured from an online survey makes it seem like Nokia might be looking to go in a slightly different direction. The one minute, twenty-nine seconds of footage walks us through five parts -- starting up, the "powerful multitasking UI," getting connected, the Ovi Store experience, and the music player -- and as you might imagine, it's the Ovi Store portion that has us feeling like this is a thoroughly Nokia-customized experience (not to mention the copyright in the lower left). It generally looks richer and more functional than what we've seen before, and parts -- like the webOS-esque multitasking -- remind us of Maemo 5's thumbnails, which makes perfect sense considering MeeGo's roots.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/08/02/noki ... -revealed/

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 2nd, 2010, 5:53 pm

^
sweet eh...

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 9th, 2010, 10:59 am

anybody have a nokia 5800 running firmware 50.x.xxx?

My slide to answer not workin anymore...

nor the slide to turn off or snooze the alarm...

this happening to anyone else?

rossi

Postby rossi » August 9th, 2010, 12:39 pm

anyone know when the N8 is going to be released?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 16th, 2010, 1:32 pm

Nokia release article

Itching to get some hands-on time with Symbian^3? Or maybe it's the promise of a 12 megapixel camera that's drawing you? Whatever the case may be, you might be interested to know that Nokia's US outpost is now ready to take your name down for an N8 with availability expected at the "end of September 2010." In the past, Nokia has often bundled goodies like Bluetooth headsets for anyone willing to pre-order well ahead of time, but not so much this time around -- $549 will net you the phone, and that's it. Heck, they're not even throwing in free shipping. Maybe waiting for the actual release isn't that bad of an idea, eh?

Postby RASC » August 16th, 2010, 3:34 pm

If the N8 flops...that's it. It's lights out for Nokia.

The N8 needs to come H A R D, if they are to survive this year.

Like it has be on nearly all major US/Chinese/Euro carriers with huge discounts on contract and a serious marketing campaign. It's do or die here.

Android 3.xxx Is fast approaching
iPhone 5 will be here next year
RIM's OS6 will start getting the hardware to back it.

Nokia :/

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 17th, 2010, 11:00 am

yea nokia is very much sticking...

but then they say they moving to meego on all their high end devices... there was a preview of it somewhere...

ill see if i can find it

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 17th, 2010, 12:42 pm

the MeeGo OS preview is right here on this page :|

seriously Nokia and Blackberry need to wake d fack up.
these mediocre devices and OS improvements cant even come close to iOS and Android.

if MeeGo flops too, Nokia's only hope is to embrace Android.

d only thing right now stopping Blackberry from certain death is its appeal to business sectors where employers can provide cheap devices with an efficient email system to their employees...

Postby RASC » August 17th, 2010, 2:58 pm

mitch wrote:
if MeeGo flops too, Nokia's only hope is to embrace Android.

d only thing right now stopping Blackberry from certain death is its appeal to business sectors where employers can provide cheap devices with an efficient email system to their employees...

The Torch 9800 fail so bad. Played with one last week...

Meh :? Confufflatedx100000

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 17th, 2010, 4:05 pm

cant see how Blackberry thought that would have been their 'saviour'

talk bout stupid design!
it's a touch sreen phone with a slide out keyboard potrait style instead of landscape :?

so imagine ah man want to browse d net or read he email landscape style and want to use d physical keyboard instead of d virtual? he have to rotate it back to portrait jus to use d physical keyboard?!

retarded desgin ftl! :lol:

and yet d blackberry fanboys on this forum rating it up as d best phone ever.
i swear them worse than d Apple fanboys yes! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby RASC » August 17th, 2010, 5:02 pm

mitch wrote:cant see how Blackberry thought that would have been their 'saviour'

talk bout stupid design!
it's a touch sreen phone with a slide out keyboard potrait style instead of landscape :?

so imagine ah man want to browse d net or read he email landscape style and want to use d physical keyboard instead of d virtual? he have to rotate it back to portrait jus to use d physical keyboard?!

retarded desgin ftl! :lol:

and yet d blackberry fanboys on this forum rating it up as d best phone ever.
i swear them worse than d Apple fanboys yes! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Men even give me grief because I said it was slow. Every reviewer in the world has said it's under powered...yet they deny this.

The Torch seems sluggish, underpowered, and dated from a hardware design standpoint, and BlackBerry 6, despite its new features and polish, still feels woefully behind the curve.

Just a sample via Engadget.

Anyway enough with that failure.
Nokia, the N8 seems extremely promising. 600+Mhz processor, coupled with a GPU...good call! Less pressure on the CPU!

Postby RASC » August 18th, 2010, 4:22 pm

Well Fellas...It was Nice!

R.I.P. NOKIA ???

N8 announced for pre-order in the USA: $550USD=WOW
To sum it up in the words of posters on HowardForums:

Wow... 550$ I was delaying on buying a new phone just to see what the N8 was going to bring but 550$ isn't a mid tier price. I know, Nokia USA's site is always high with their prices, but it'll take probably around 8 months for the N8 to hit sup 400 (where it should be).

There's no way I'm putting up that much money on an unproven (and not well supported) OS with stingy ram, slow cpu (I don't care what hardware gpu acceleration they tout, it didn't do much for the N95), and a low-ish res, older generation AMOLED screen.

While the following cameras-on-a-phone may not be as nice (the only pro for the N8 so far), I can instead pick up a: Nexus One, SE X10, Motorola Milestone, any Samsung Galaxy (vibrant, etc) for the same price or cheaper. All of those have higher res screen, better cpu, more ram

Totally agree with others in this thread that the price is too high. Nokia should keep it under $350 even then I wouldn't buy an outdated OS with slow CPU. Galaxy, N1, X10 & ip4 are better phones for the price!

once again at the price, only the fan boys who have yet to abandon Nokia will be interested. even at $200 and 2 year contract on TMO is not going to cut it for a half finished OS. Engadet and BGR are going to savage this thing.

Re: .::The Official Nokia Thread::.

Postby Sinister_Audio » August 18th, 2010, 4:35 pm

seconded....

as an official nokia fanboy, looking to upgrade from my 5800 and was heading towards the n8 but DEF. not for $550 or anywhere thereabout.... also bein a die hard ANTI berry and iphone person,
i've used the iphone 4 and i must admit, its responsiveness, its processor has opened by eyes a bit, and i would hate to think that the n8 would report lower specs and would expect higher consumer response. the matter of the iphone's FULL functionality in trinidad is beyond the point. i would just like to see that kind of technology brought in the next gen of nokias. for some reason im really still praying that the n8 jus magically does it all....sigh...

Postby RASC » August 18th, 2010, 4:47 pm

Sinister_Audio wrote:seconded....

as an official nokia fanboy, looking to upgrade from my 5800 and was heading towards the n8 but DEF. not for $550 or anywhere thereabout.... also bein a die hard ANTI berry and iphone person,
i've used the iphone 4 and i must admit, its responsiveness, its processor has opened by eyes a bit, and i would hate to think that the n8 would report lower specs and would expect higher consumer response. the matter of the iphone's FULL functionality in trinidad is beyond the point. i would just like to see that kind of technology brought in the next gen of nokias. for some reason im really still praying that the n8 jus magically does it all....sigh...

Android for it yes...trust me my friend, get your hands on a Galaxy S
It'll blow you away.

IMHO it's the only phone on the iPhone 4's level right now. They're literally neck and neck at the current moment. I would give the slight edge to the Galaxy just because of how open it is and not having to sync.

Postby RASC » August 18th, 2010, 4:49 pm

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 18th, 2010, 5:50 pm

my only gripe with the Samsung Captivate is the lack of flash. ah mean, really Samsung? ppl still make high end devices without a flash?! :?

having a led flash and being able to use it as a flashlight in emergency situations is very useful apart from its obvious main use.
dont think i'll ever buy another phone without a flash

i much prefer the look of the Captivate over the Vibrant, but no flash? no thanx