How can I make 20HP?

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

JDM_GUY

How can I make 20HP?

Postby JDM_GUY » August 11th, 2010, 11:09 am

I have a full 2.5" exhaust, a 2.5" CAI with K&N filter. Full limited slip diff.
What other mods within a cost factor of 10 gran, can I produce an additional 20HP or some what close to it? Staying NA that is.

How much would a EM give me?

hatch is best

Re: How can I make 20HP?

Postby hatch is best » August 11th, 2010, 12:06 pm

Nitrous Assisted

High_Speed_Imports

Postby High_Speed_Imports » August 11th, 2010, 12:10 pm

cams,ecu,headers,port intake you have alot of options thats off the top of my head, Check ignition timing

Clerique

Postby Clerique » August 11th, 2010, 12:51 pm

Sell the swap, put the difference and get a B18C swap.
Don't say I didn't tell ya!

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 11th, 2010, 1:12 pm

You running 2.5" without any header or any head or internal engine work?
I would consider that quite counterproductive, and you probably lacking badly on the low end...

Start with a header from a reputable company (basically buy something NOT sold here) and then cam and tune...

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » August 11th, 2010, 3:39 pm

Cleriq wrote:Sell the swap, put the difference and get a B18C swap.

to add Get an ITR swap

actually JDM 2.5 is tooo big for a Stock b16a

20whp on a $10k budget

as Hatch suggest NOS 50 shot

HSI to get 20whp is ecu to tune,proper header, some cams and intake

but from my messin with my b16 and b20

best coin spent is on a 98 + ITR swap

-and Yes a B18c ITR is the answer to all NA B-series needs

Postby r3iXmann » August 11th, 2010, 5:20 pm

red_dragon wrote:
Cleriq wrote:Sell the swap, put the difference and get a B18C swap.

to add Get an ITR swap

actually JDM 2.5 is tooo big for a Stock b16a

20whp on a $10k budget

as Hatch suggest NOS 50 shot

HSI to get 20whp is ecu to tune,proper header, some cams and intake

but from my messin with my b16 and b20

best coin spent is on a 98 + ITR swap

-and Yes a B18c ITR is the answer to all NA B-series needs

[/thread]

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » August 11th, 2010, 6:37 pm

JDM_GUY wrote:I have a full 2.5" exhaust, a 2.5" CAI with K&N filter. Full limited slip diff.
What other mods within a cost factor of 10 gran, can I produce an additional 20HP or some what close to it? Staying NA that is.

How much would a EM give me?

u must be insane to spend 10 000 to get 20hp :|

*option 1 :staying n/a
u can get cams , port the head , shave the head , get a hondata .

*option 2: NOS = easy cheap power , a properly tuned b16a on nos will beat any stock /slightly modded k series on the 1/4 mile any day.

budget builds are becoming a thing of the past it seems , most ppl buy a set of
unnecessary stuff for their cars ask people who have fast cars and make power on the dyno for advise not men who go street drags and beat up a set of dead cars and think they are fast.

ask your self what goals u want, do you want to beat sr20det s, or sr20de s

if u want to be beating sr20det s constantly , u know boost or heavy nos is the option

Postby A172 » August 11th, 2010, 6:45 pm

^i think you should be a bit more specific as your statements could still be a bit misleading

beating a sr20det is a walk in the park....any deadhorse cud pwn one of those

aim to wash sr's running high boost/ big tobos and management 8-)

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » August 11th, 2010, 6:55 pm

well a172 most of the n/a guys think a K series is fast but i've Personally tuned a 1.3L 4efte engine on 8psi td04 turbo that will beat any stock / slightly moded K series .

it goes to show that n/a costing $$$$$$ does not make sense compared to boost which is nice on the pocket. which is my point just opening the doors of power and not making any false statements here too . keeping this in mind jdm guy can make his own decision

Postby Rooki3 » August 11th, 2010, 10:16 pm

10k for 20HP

WTF??

bai take that 10k to the bank & get a loan for B18C-r

Clerique

Postby Clerique » August 11th, 2010, 11:07 pm

Who the hell talking bout drag racin' and beatin' SR20s?

Steups!

No Fear at all!!!

Postby No Fear at all!!! » August 12th, 2010, 10:36 am

NNNOOOOSSSSS!!!!! go NNOOSSSS!!!! Cheap and easy to use..
According to what you want to do..CLERIQ gave a good suggestion in going B18c-R and let cleriq give you some advice on proper gearing...
However, if you want to stay in the B16A area the spirits of NOS are speaking!!!! :evilbat:

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » August 12th, 2010, 10:47 am

stage 2 cams,adj cam gears with full valvetrain mods,mild porting, type r pistons & reduce your exhaust to 2-2.25 inch tubing,get on the dyno & tune 8-) .

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » August 12th, 2010, 12:38 pm

I am not building a drag machine, If I was the NOS would be the option. I am building a car to drive and enjoy especially on the winding roads. My suspension and brakes are alright for now, just was interested in a little more power.
I guess I will take a B18C route.

Postby wagonrunner » August 12th, 2010, 1:53 pm

Cleriq wrote:Who the hell talking bout drag racin' and beatin' SR20s?

Steups!

tunnel vision still affects many brother. :lol: That's their barrier.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 12th, 2010, 2:26 pm

If you begin to add more power you will soon realise that your suspension and brakes wont be "alright" for long....

Who advised you on putting a 2.5" exhaust? we can all unanimously agree that you did a piece of arseness there...
On my F20B2 with a built up head I am running 2.25" and that is still slightly too big until I do further head work....

mugen power

Postby mugen power » August 12th, 2010, 8:49 pm

JDM_GUY wrote:I have a full 2.5" exhaust

Like you don't know what you have.

This vehicle has a 2.38" manderel bent Fugistsubo catback.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 12th, 2010, 9:00 pm

Very good design of exhaust but still far too big for your application...

I guess that leaves you no choice but to build up to meet it...

Take a look at the N/A for noobs sticky.. great start

Postby Rooki3 » August 12th, 2010, 9:05 pm

wasting time keepin it N/A, boost on a budget & you'll gain 100hp easy

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 12th, 2010, 9:21 pm

I agree that boosting is the ideal option, but if he said he wants 20, i telling him how to make 20 haha

Postby bluesteel29 » August 13th, 2010, 1:21 am

link ah case ah nos octane boost,slap on ah blox or skunk2 intake manifold n call it a day until ya could link d 18...

speedemonz

Postby speedemonz » August 13th, 2010, 8:05 pm

BOOST DA SH!T !!!!!!!!!!!! 8psi tuned on that engine sweet..............

High_Speed_Imports

Postby High_Speed_Imports » August 14th, 2010, 7:04 pm

20hp not whp. Which with cams and a hondata he will surely pass his goal

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 16th, 2010, 12:05 pm

Cleriq wrote:Who the hell talking bout drag racin' and beatin' SR20s?

Steups!

Cuz you know a couple of sr20's would fetch prime one week before race wars.

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » August 17th, 2010, 3:17 pm

Hirotoshi wrote:stage 2 cams,adj cam gears with full valvetrain mods,mild porting, type r pistons & reduce your exhaust to 2-2.25 inch tubing,get on the dyno & tune 8-) .

pfffft two of these in the trunk an you on:

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » August 19th, 2010, 1:40 pm

haydn28 wrote:well a172 most of the n/a guys think a K series is fast but i've Personally tuned a 1.3L 4efte engine on 8psi td04 turbo that will beat any stock / slightly moded K series .
it goes to show that n/a costing $$$$$$ does not make sense compared to boost which is nice on the pocket. which is my point just opening the doors of power and not making any false statements here too .keeping this in mind jdm guy can make his own decision

^^^^^^^^^^^^hahahaahahhhaha

Postby A172 » August 19th, 2010, 1:42 pm

5onDfloor wrote:
haydn28 wrote:well a172 most of the n/a guys think a K series is fast but i've Personally tuned a 1.3L 4efte engine on 8psi td04 turbo that will beat any stock / slightly moded K series .
it goes to show that n/a costing $$$$$$ does not make sense compared to boost which is nice on the pocket. which is my point just opening the doors of power and not making any false statements here too .keeping this in mind jdm guy can make his own decision

come chu anytime 0X

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 19th, 2010, 3:13 pm

5onDfloor wrote:

power to weight, meng.
starlets were not called pocket rockets for nothin.

Return to “HONDA”