W.T.K Type of tranny oil to use in NZE 141 Fielder

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

optimus11

2007 fielder question

Postby optimus11 » September 15th, 2009, 6:26 am

i recently bought a 2007 corolla fielder and i cant find the tranny dipstick. a friend told me that this model (NZE 141) dont come with a dipstick and there is no need to change the tranny oil

can anyone confirm this?

cant find the power steering fluid also :oops:

praise

Postby praise » September 15th, 2009, 7:30 am

Your friend is right that there is no dipstick. However, this is a CVT transmission and unfortunately you do have to change the oil every 2 years or 40,000 km. The power steering is electric, that is why it uses no fluid. CVT transmission operateres at much higher tempereture than conventional transmission, so chances are the oil will break down faster than normal oil. A special oil is also needed for this transmission as well. You will have to get it machine change which will replace the exact amount of oil that is taken out. A note for all automatic transmission car owners, if you want to extend the life of your transmission and ATF fluid as well, install an additional oil cooler. Heat is what destroys the tramsmission more than any other factor. By installing the additional cooler you can reduce the ATF temp as much as 20 degrees. This can be difference between your transmission lasting 2 or 3 times longer as well as your fluid.

optimus11

Postby optimus11 » September 15th, 2009, 10:03 pm

hey thanks alot man

azlan

Postby azlan » November 4th, 2009, 4:50 pm

I have a 2004 toyota fielder. Is it the same? I think I have a ATF dip stick. Its a kinda red dip stick with a clap on the top of it???? I carried it today to change the Transmission fluid.

optimus11

Postby optimus11 » November 4th, 2009, 5:17 pm

nope. yours is different

u have the NZE121 mine is the 141

Emil

Postby Emil » November 11th, 2009, 4:28 pm

Hey, does anyone know where I can get or download a copy of the 2007 fielder's owner's manual?

azlan

re

Postby azlan » November 11th, 2009, 9:23 pm

I tried googling it and alot of stuff came up but when I tried to downlaod it I was not successful.

Emil

Postby Emil » November 13th, 2009, 11:26 am

well no scene, just hadda do the investigative work piece by piece.

Hammy Bolo

2006 toyota nze 141 corolla fielder with CVT transmission

Postby Hammy Bolo » August 1st, 2010, 7:23 am

how do you check the fluid level?
what is the recommended fluid to be used in this transmission?
n e recommended reading info on this transmission?

Hammy Bolo

Re:

Postby Hammy Bolo » August 1st, 2010, 8:12 am

where can I get the transmission (CVT) fluid changed, and anyone knows the recommended fluid to be used (CVT)

good info

praise wrote:Your friend is right that there is no dipstick. However, this is a CVT transmission and unfortunately you do have to change the oil every 2 years or 40,000 km. The power steering is electric, that is why it uses no fluid. CVT transmission operateres at much higher tempereture than conventional transmission, so chances are the oil will break down faster than normal oil. A special oil is also needed for this transmission as well. You will have to get it machine change which will replace the exact amount of oil that is taken out. A note for all automatic transmission car owners, if you want to extend the life of your transmission and ATF fluid as well, install an additional oil cooler. Heat is what destroys the tramsmission more than any other factor. By installing the additional cooler you can reduce the ATF temp as much as 20 degrees. This can be difference between your transmission lasting 2 or 3 times longer as well as your fluid.

Hammy Bolo

Re: 2006 toyota nze 141 corolla fielder with CVT transmissio

Postby Hammy Bolo » August 1st, 2010, 8:12 am

thanks

Postby toyolink » August 4th, 2010, 10:57 pm

I just bought a 2007 fielder myself and am facing same challenge.The link does
provide some key infor. but the questions which still needs to be answered are
-What tranny fluid to use.The answer to this is toyota power cvt fluid which i
think is called either ct or tc the problem is ,its only available out of asia.The
other alternative appears to be enos cvt fluid (reasonably certain) or nissan ns-2
cvt fluid.
-How to change the fluid?-Well this may require some more reseach,since its possible
the machine change referred to is not just the normal vaccum done with the local
units.
My plan is to put the vehicle on the lift and see if i can do a measured gravity drain
and replace what is taken out.Further the fluid i introduce enos vs ns-2 must be same
colour code.
I am confident many others will be facing this issue soon.I am using a 30k bench-mark
simply because of the possibility of odo roll back.

Hammy Bolo

Postby Hammy Bolo » August 5th, 2010, 8:37 pm

not even Toyota Trinidad can say

Postby toyolink » August 5th, 2010, 8:46 pm

Local toyota dealer will honestly not have a clue at this time.
Like other situations of this nature i have faced over the last
8 years with imported vehicles a little ahead of our local market
i will have to solve this one within the next 4 weeks. Unfortunately
i am a little distracted with other operational demands this week.

maxima_dan

W.T.K Type of tranny oil to use in NZE 141 Fielder

Postby maxima_dan » October 21st, 2010, 6:03 pm

Good day tuners could anyone tell me what type of cvt transmission oil to buy for my NZE141 fielder. Also is it advisable to drain the transmission oil before replacing the exact amount or should i have it machine removed? Is there any way of knowing the transmission oil level in this car? What if you have an undetected leak?

Any help will be appreciated.

Re: W.T.K Type of tranny oil to use in NZE 141 Fielder

Postby eliteauto » October 22nd, 2010, 8:20 am

Firstly why are you draining the tranny? The fluid to use is stated on the tranny dipstick and the fluid is Toyota T-IV ATF, a dipstick would indicate non CVT btw

If you read your owner's manual or even the dipstick it states that the fluid NEVER needs replacing under normal use and conditions, you ca read the level via the dipstick, if your tranny has no dipstick then it's prob sealed and is best left alone, most forums state if you insist on changing the fluid do it @60,000K intervals...some fluid sellers locally try to scare you to change more regularly saying they have service notifications from the manufacturer but that's BS if you rough up the tranny whilst driving i.e. towing, very dusty conditions, low gear (1/L) driving and jackass neutral to drive "launches" I'd suggest installing a separate tranny cooler and adding an extra half to one quart of fluid depending on cooler size

If however you do have the CVT 141 model, the fluid is most likely Toyota Genuine CVT Fluid TC

praise wrote:Your friend is right that there is no dipstick. However, this is a CVT transmission and unfortunately you do have to change the oil every 2 years or 40,000 km. The power steering is electric, that is why it uses no fluid. CVT transmission operateres at much higher tempereture than conventional transmission, so chances are the oil will break down faster than normal oil. A special oil is also needed for this transmission as well. You will have to get it machine change which will replace the exact amount of oil that is taken out. A note for all automatic transmission car owners, if you want to extend the life of your transmission and ATF fluid as well, install an additional oil cooler. Heat is what destroys the tramsmission more than any other factor. By installing the additional cooler you can reduce the ATF temp as much as 20 degrees. This can be difference between your transmission lasting 2 or 3 times longer as well as your fluid.

taken from viewtopic.php?f=32&t=269018&hilit=fielder

maxima_dan

Postby maxima_dan » October 22nd, 2010, 11:14 am

Thanks eliteauto mine is the CVT transmission. Unfortunately for me the mechanic already drained some of the tranny fluid. Therefore i will have to replace the oil with the Toyota Genuine CVT Fluid TC. I dont have the vechicle manual doh. Could anyone state where i can get this??

Postby toyolink » October 23rd, 2010, 8:05 pm

I assume no one has as yet confronted this exercise.Today i opened the plug located at the top of the transmission (this is at the point where the std. nze dip-stick is) and used an improvised measuring stick to determine the start fluid level.I then opened the drain plug located at the bottom of tranny and let drain.The total fluid drained was almost exactly equal to 1 qt. which i replaced at measuring point.I ran vehicle and repeated procedure.Now,it seems to me that i will have to do this purge and refill at least two more times before i am comfortable.This is a low tech. but absolutely conservative approach and is quite similar to what has to be done with the new generation toyota/lexus units with no "dip-stick" in the absence of the complex equipment being offered to me.The equipment recommended for these vehicles is extremely expensive ,fully computerised and carry a massive resevoir not the simple vacuum type units around.In fact it is being suggested that the cheaper vacuum units can actually cause harm to these new type trannies.Hope my up-date is useful.I used the nissan ns2 tranny fluid and will have to tolerate the colour pigment change.

maxima_dan

Postby maxima_dan » October 24th, 2010, 6:47 pm

Thanks a lot pal. I guess it's the same procedure my mechanic will be taking to replace mine as well. Just in my case i will be using the Toyota ATF I-IV Fluid.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » October 24th, 2010, 7:07 pm

maxima_dan wrote:Thanks a lot pal. I guess it's the same procedure my mechanic will be taking to replace mine as well. Just in my case i will be using the Toyota ATF I-IV Fluid.

Look for a new CVT tranny if/after you put the Toyota Type IV oil in your CVT tranny.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » October 24th, 2010, 7:15 pm

Redline Non-Slip CVT
Last price I had on this was $100 a quart, available in a case of 12.
If anyone wants to try it, let me know.

Postby eliteauto » October 24th, 2010, 8:56 pm

maxima_dan wrote:Thanks a lot pal. I guess it's the same procedure my mechanic will be taking to replace mine as well. Just in my case i will be using the Toyota ATF I-IV Fluid.

NOOOOO!!!! that's for non-CVT trannys bad move

Postby toyolink » October 25th, 2010, 9:05 am

Absolutely no to t-iv.The compatables i have come up with so far are enos cvt fluid and nissan ns2,there may be others but i just happened to have some ns2 in-stock and therefore used same.The redline cvt fluid may also be fine but i am not as familar with that product as maybe i should be.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » October 25th, 2010, 9:26 am

Just contacted the owner of "State of the Art Automotive", a soon to be opened shop on Caroni Savannah Road, close to Medford Gas Station.
He has a transmission flush machine which will replace the exact amount of fluid that you wish.
To simplify:
Put 3 quarts in the machine, and it removes only 3 quarts from the car.
Put 5 quarts in the machine, and it removes only 5 quarts from the car.
And so on...

You need to know the capacity of the transmission to get a full flush.
Given that most new transmissions use 8 to 9 quarts, that should be a good guide to how much fluid you need.

You can contact him @ 314-6539. The garage isnt open yet, but he does work in Freeport.

Postby eliteauto » October 25th, 2010, 9:46 am

nice assist Big Z, not just for the OP but for others as well,

nice advice toyolink good to have poweresellers who not only sell but advise and use the products as well

maxima_dan

Postby maxima_dan » October 25th, 2010, 3:59 pm

Thanks much ppl. Just saved me from making a big mistake. I called Toyota and they recommended a WS CVT oil. However they dont have in stock but i made some calls and managed to find an auto store which have them. $85 per quart.

Postby toyolink » October 25th, 2010, 4:10 pm

Please be careful again.In north america the ws is used in what they call cvt trannies however based on my discussions with toyota interl. service manager and sharing schematic of fielder cvt he confirmed that the usa vehicles they call cvt and using the ws fluid it is not the same as ours.Ensure the vendor is selling you the TOYOTA TC.Actually i have the ws in stock and will not use in my fielder or any cvt tranny.

maxima_dan

Postby maxima_dan » October 26th, 2010, 6:28 am

Toyolink Pm me your number.

Postby toyolink » October 26th, 2010, 8:44 am

pm sent.

aR&D

Postby aR&D » December 1st, 2010, 1:14 pm

Bumping this very topical thread.
Unanswered questions: What type of oil to use for CVT Tran, How much oil is required or in use by NZE141G, where does the machine CVT oil change.

Return to “TOYOTA”