Wyclef Jean to run for President of Haiti

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 4th, 2010, 1:37 pm

http://www.caribbean360.com/index.php/news/34582.html

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, Wednesday August 4, 2010 – Haitian-born hip hop artiste Wyclef Jean is about to officially confirm his decision to run in the November 28th presidential race to lead the country of his birth.

International media reports indicate that the 37-year-old Jean, who released a song two years ago called ‘If I was President’ – in which he sang about what he would do if he was a leader – is expected to unveil his plan tomorrow night to make that dream a reality.

CNN is reporting today that after weeks of speculation, Jean will make the official announcement on Larry King Live.

"If not for the earthquake, I probably would have waited another 10 years before doing this," Jean told TIME magazine. "The quake drove home to me that Haiti can't wait another 10 years for us to bring it into the 21st century…If I can't take five years out to serve my country as President."

The Associated Press has further reported that Jean, who left his homeland at the age of nine and went on to make it big in the United States, first as a member of the Fugees and then as a solo artist, will run as part of the Ansanm Nou Fo (Together We are Strong) coalition.

That party was formed by former head of the country's Chamber of Deputies, Pierre Eric Jean-Jacques, and other politicians form the Fanmi Lavalas party of ousted President Jean-Bertrand Aristide.

“We have an agreement (with Jean). But he's the one who has to announce it first," Jean-Jacques told AP.

Jean has until Saturday to register his candidacy.

The singer was named an official Haitian ambassador-at-large by President Rene Preval in 2007.

Re: Wyclef Jean to run for President of Haiti

Postby tr1ad » August 4th, 2010, 1:44 pm

If I was president,
I'd get elected on Friday, assassinated on Saturday,
and buried on Sunday.
If I was president...

Postby crazybalhead » August 4th, 2010, 1:45 pm

Well paint my jockey shorts red and call me a fire hydrant...

Edge

Postby Edge » August 4th, 2010, 1:49 pm

Alpine would be pleased...

Postby shogun » August 4th, 2010, 1:53 pm

Good fit.Yuh can't say he doesn't care about Haiti...hope he still makes music,if he's elected though (wishful thinking).
Last edited by shogun on August 4th, 2010, 1:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby noshownogo » August 4th, 2010, 1:55 pm

Good luck to Wyclef, he gonna need it.

His celebrity status gained Haiti some attention and funding but he has always had concerns that these funds were being misused and unaccounted for.

Postby DFC » August 4th, 2010, 1:57 pm

he will bring shakira to dance away all the poverty.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 4th, 2010, 2:06 pm

Postby SR » August 4th, 2010, 2:10 pm

ONE TIME...................................

TOO TIME.............................

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » August 4th, 2010, 2:16 pm

Musical Artists who cannot even manage their own personal financial matters would like to try and manage a country?

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAR

good luck!

Postby Razkal » August 4th, 2010, 2:31 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Well paint my jockey shorts red and call me a fire hydrant...

i kinda not surprised yes...it was either this or sell the Zonda and Diablo and buy the damn island..

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » August 4th, 2010, 2:35 pm

Dictator in the makin :roll:

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 4th, 2010, 6:30 pm

tr1ad wrote:If I was president,
I'd get elected on Friday, assassinated on Saturday,
and buried on Sunday.
If I was president...

Postby Rooki3 » August 4th, 2010, 6:44 pm

he winning that election easy!!!

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 4th, 2010, 6:58 pm

Code: Select all

[list][list=][*][img][url][imgwh][youtube][size=50][color=#0000FF] THIS DOH WORK [/color][/size][/youtube][/imgwh][/url][/img][/list][/list]

LOL wtmc

Postby Damien » August 4th, 2010, 7:05 pm

wyclef cant bring back his career but go bring back a country, god help them

Postby Stephon. » August 4th, 2010, 7:10 pm

He look more corrupt than Manning himself, de man live in America all this time and do some *questionable* charities for Haiti now he wanna be President. SMDH come on man, better dan dat

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 4th, 2010, 7:22 pm

he should lose, he doesn't have the education to run a country, and he should leave the politics to politicians and stick to entertainment

Postby Greypatch » August 4th, 2010, 7:29 pm

man his name will be mud if he is elected.

*marks thread*

Postby buzz » August 4th, 2010, 7:42 pm

wow :|

Postby eliteauto » August 4th, 2010, 7:51 pm

I lol'd at the comments in this thread

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » August 4th, 2010, 7:54 pm

Damien wrote:wyclef cant bring back his career but go bring back a country, god help them

Where exactly did his career go?

Postby Damien » August 4th, 2010, 8:00 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:
Damien wrote:wyclef cant bring back his career but go bring back a country, god help them

how long ago was his last big hit ?

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » August 4th, 2010, 8:09 pm

Damien wrote:
AGENT RORO wrote:

how long ago was his last big hit ?

So you base an artists success or relevance on when was their last "hit"?

Postby Damien » August 4th, 2010, 8:14 pm

well not relevance per say but more of a continuing success that he doesnt have, i cant remember the last time i heard a song from him on he radio

Postby buzz » August 4th, 2010, 8:17 pm

I don't think he has released any material for some time

Many other artists take breaks as well

but i'm not a fan of his stuff to be honest

Postby Rooki3 » August 4th, 2010, 8:17 pm

Damien wrote:well not relevance per say but more of a continuing success that he doesnt have, i cant remember the last time i heard a song from him on he radio

lol :?

Postby Damien » August 4th, 2010, 8:19 pm

well what was his last hit ?

after gone till november apparently he was gone :|

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » August 4th, 2010, 8:19 pm

Damien wrote:well not relevance per say but more of a continuing success that he doesnt have, i cant remember the last time i heard a song from him on he radio

ok......

Postby A172 » August 4th, 2010, 8:20 pm