HELPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP A FRIGGIN GAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

205nissan

HELPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP A FRIGGIN GAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby 205nissan » July 20th, 2010, 7:10 pm

Hey Folks,

i have a problem with my Gtouring, it has a stock 5AFE and two days ago the Rpm just started racing up and down while idling, then yesterday it stated to miss, even when starting up, it would just tumble then dip then tumble again ( not the starter noise though, checked and serviced that already anyway) then start.
Then today in the middle of Tragerete road just cut off. trying to restart. no starting, just tumbling.
I changed the distributor recently when I tried changing it today with 2 others and the car still won't start. I'm not getting current to the distributor and the fuel pump is working as well.

Lemme know if anyone has any ideas what's the problem

Thanks
Last edited by 205nissan on October 31st, 2010, 9:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

turbohead

Re: HELPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby turbohead » July 20th, 2010, 8:20 pm

give me a call 4952320.saleem

balkininja

Postby balkininja » July 27th, 2010, 7:50 pm

call me 475-0304

Postby buzz » July 27th, 2010, 8:26 pm

^ if you both have information to share with the rest of the toyota community please share them here, i hope your posts are not intended to solicit personal gain

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » July 27th, 2010, 9:11 pm

guess which one it is bai buzz

Postby Hook » July 28th, 2010, 11:06 am

I hate when they do that...fackin selfish mechanics on this forum :roll:

PM d man, and sort him out in private, and IF he decides to post the troubleshooting process, problem and solution, then cool...OR...offer suggestions and troubleshoot it on here...either way WE ALL LEARN SOMETHING.

But no, is a "fack dem, call mih [insert phone number]" *stewps*

205nissan, when you say you're "not getting current to the distributor", do you mean no current to the ignitor/coil or no spark?
What was the problem that caused you to have to replace the distributor recently?
Secondly, about the fuel pump. Did you check your fuses? In the fuse box in the engine bay there's a 15A fuse tagged as "EFI HTR" that feeds the fuel pump relay. Check that.

*goes back to catching up on back issues of the Sunday Punch*

turbohead

Postby turbohead » July 28th, 2010, 9:46 pm

the efi fuse would cause that no spark no fuel pump operation, also the idling bad could be the iacv need servicing. check the harness also to make sure no wire is shorting to ground causing problems. the reason why i said give me a call is i could take a look at the car and diagnos from there, i would lie an say it isnt for personal gain but sometimes a customers vague description might not be enough.

turboturtle

Postby turboturtle » August 4th, 2010, 3:05 pm

sounds like the ignitor (not starting)together with a cracked /broken vacuum line (idling high)

205nissan

Postby 205nissan » October 31st, 2010, 9:41 am

ALRIGHT I AM Just Friggin fed up now, about a week after I put up this post, I shut down in the middle of Tragarete Road, the cr just started idling up and down rapidly and boom, it just shut down and didn't start back so I had to wreck it to the mechanic, when i went gt there, he and his electrician went through the whole car, apparently the condensor melted ad it dripped onto one of the points and it blew the distributor, I went and bought a distributor and still nothing, they traced the problem back to the ECU and when they opened it, there was a big black burn in it, so i had to buy that too, then finally the throttle body was porous and it was leaking coolant, had to change that too, I got the exact ECU that i was supposed to, the serial numbers were exact, when I changed those things, the car started but the defogger light stays on and when I put on the AC the idle still drops to about 200 and the compressor cuts off, and the car vibrates like hell, when the car is cold, the idle only drops to 800 from 1100 when the ac is put on. but as soon as the car gets hot, that's when the idle drops, I went by another electrician and he removed a black box from below the dash and ran a direct for the ac and I just have to buy a thermostat and install it but the car started back dropping again an the compressor keeps cutting off. I am frustrated as hell, really considering selling and getting a a B14 where the parts are just so easy to just buy and drop in. Any advice as to what to change out in this frustrating car for it to work properly?????

Re: HELPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP A FRIGGIN GAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby Hook » October 31st, 2010, 2:58 pm

205nissan wrote:Hey Folks,

i have a problem with my Gtouring, it has a stock 5AFE and two days ago the Rpm just started racing up and down while idling, then yesterday it stated to miss, even when starting up, it would just tumble then dip then tumble again ( not the starter noise though, checked and serviced that already anyway) then start.
Then today in the middle of Tragerete road just cut off. trying to restart. no starting, just tumbling.
I changed the distributor recently when I tried changing it today with 2 others and the car still won't start. I'm not getting current to the distributor and the fuel pump is working as well.

Lemme know if anyone has any ideas what's the problem

Thanks

205nissan wrote:ALRIGHT I AM Just Friggin fed up now, about a week after I put up this post, I shut down in the middle of Tragarete Road, the cr just started idling up and down rapidly and boom, it just shut down and didn't start back so I had to wreck it to the mechanic, when i went gt there, he and his electrician went through the whole car, apparently the condensor melted ad it dripped onto one of the points and it blew the distributor, I went and bought a distributor and still nothing, they traced the problem back to the ECU and when they opened it, there was a big black burn in it, so i had to buy that too, then finally the throttle body was porous and it was leaking coolant, had to change that too, I got the exact ECU that i was supposed to, the serial numbers were exact, when I changed those things, the car started but the defogger light stays on and when I put on the AC the idle still drops to about 200 and the compressor cuts off, and the car vibrates like hell, when the car is cold, the idle only drops to 800 from 1100 when the ac is put on. but as soon as the car gets hot, that's when the idle drops, I went by another electrician and he removed a black box from below the dash and ran a direct for the ac and I just have to buy a thermostat and install it but the car started back dropping again an the compressor keeps cutting off. I am frustrated as hell, really considering selling and getting a a B14 where the parts are just so easy to just buy and drop in. Any advice as to what to change out in this frustrating car for it to work properly?????

WUT?????

From the very minute you heard that bull about "condensor melting and dripping on the points" you should've towed your car to another mechanic..."points" distributors went out of style with the Care Bears and thus the 5a-FE has no such thing...I can't begin to tell you what your original problem is anymore because now you have a whole bag of new ones. I take it u didn't do anything with the car between your last post and this latest development, right?

You APPEARED to be a DIY guy and again APPEARED to have isolated the problem to either the fuel pump or the distributor, hence nobody bothered to explain anything about diagnosis and error codes (which your mechanic should've done in the first place BEFORE he started to change parts like a crazy man)...now they gone and dig up in the A/C and u have a bird's nest under your dashboard.

Maybe your mechanic wants you to get frustrated and sell the car to him *shrugs*

Those two guys that posted below you with their numbers are mechanics. See if they can help.

Postby buzz » November 1st, 2010, 1:04 pm

Your mechanic sounds like he doesn't know his ass from his elbow :lol:

turbohead

Postby turbohead » November 1st, 2010, 8:19 pm

with teh 5afe engine you firstly check for voltage at teh dizzy after you realizd you not getting spark, after that you check the coil in the dizzy, if that is good you check the pick up coils resistance and if that not bad then is the ignitor, you could replace the coil and ignitor but if the pick up coils damaged you have to replace entire dizzy.

205nissan

Postby 205nissan » November 15th, 2010, 11:29 am

Hey Guys Workin long hours, now getting chance to update the post, I should try to clear things up, when the car cut off on tragarete road, that is when I towed it and changed all the things that I said above, I guess I'm not explaining properly and my mech showed me exactly what was going on, an electrician came and found the problem with the distributor and brain box (attached is the best way to explain what he showed me http://auto.howstuffworks.com/ignition-system4.htm
in the first diagram you see the apart that is spinning and making contact with the pints? the condensor in the second diagram, if you open up the distributor you'll see how the 5a's is (couldn't find an internal pic ) that usually melts with the heat, I've seen it happen on others as well since i learned of this, but it doesn't affect the condensor because it is something like a plastic casing on it, well anyway somehow, that melted and dripped on the contacts that when the car got cold, it got hard and the contacts would get coated in this hard plastic so it wasn't make proper contact,
well when I changed the brain box, that is when the car started (with the new distributor and throttle body of course the throttle body had nothing to do with it though I just wanted to get a newish IAC Valve and went in the bamboo, and bought a throttle body and it looked like it was servied so my mech mad me carry it back and exchange it cause it look like someone tampered with it so he had me carry it back and exchange it for one that looked untouched(with the gunk in it nuh)
when I originally bought the car, it had this same problem but it was just when I put on the ac the idle used to drop to about 400 and the steering would rattle like hell but the ordiary idle without the ac was great, it was only recently i started getting the idle problems with the ac off. I'm going to contact the 2 guys above this week and let you guys know what was the outcome, if all else fails, I guess I'm just going to change out everything from a side!!! complete engine and brainbox and all sensors and hoses.

let you guys know

Return to “TOYOTA”