The Trinituner Entrepreneurship/Self Employed/ Side Hustle Thread

NLVA200

Re: Self Employed...The Thread Meeting Set Pg 6

Postby NLVA200 » July 22nd, 2010, 10:00 pm

^ ditto. twas nice putting a face to the user and gained some good information from the guys there.

Hoping that the group continues to grow in number. The valuable contributions from individual experiences are certainly beneficial to all.

Postby Stephon. » July 22nd, 2010, 10:23 pm

Willing to share some details with those that couldn't make it?

Postby Rooki3 » July 22nd, 2010, 10:26 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:

my anthem

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 22nd, 2010, 11:08 pm

Stephon. wrote:Willing to share some details with those that couldn't make it?

the strippers were awesome :!:

^Pretty^

Postby ^Pretty^ » July 23rd, 2010, 12:23 am

eyephone

Re: Self Employed...The Thread

Postby eyephone » July 23rd, 2010, 3:25 am

Thanks pretty. I lookin to go legit when i start. Definitely gonna check this out!

Cooper

Postby Cooper » July 23rd, 2010, 10:29 am

Wish I could have made it to the meeting..... was busy working overtime for 'the man'

.... but I hope that will change soon ;-)

Hope you guys keep this thread going. A lot of encouraging stuff in here :!:

Postby AllTrac » July 23rd, 2010, 10:41 am

had to stay back late in work yesterday, i dont know these things until something is wrong, thats the nature of my job, so sorry i couldnt make it.
Hopefully we could meet again in the future over the weekend.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » July 23rd, 2010, 11:27 am

Sorry I missed it guys I had to work late. Can some one PM me what took place. Thanks

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 23rd, 2010, 11:30 am

^Why PM. ?
Cmon.....share the info...how was it?

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » July 23rd, 2010, 11:53 am

The initial meeting went well. It was good to put faces and real names to Tuner Handles.

I learnt a lot from the Tuners that attended and I will never discount the importance of a Global Post to actual sales ever again.

It is the kind of thing where you have to actually be there to fully appreciate the nuggets of high quality info being shared. The flow is more important than just trying to pull out highlights because one point is important to another and so on.

This certainly will not be the last meeting.

Better notice from me next time and perhaps a weekend date as suggested by All Trac will be better for everyone especially those Tuners still working for the man and on the threshold of going Pro.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » July 23rd, 2010, 11:56 am

One of the topics raised but remained undetermined concerned photos. With each for sale thread people often demand pics of the products. What is the situation when selling services ? How does that seller overcome the intangible nature of his/her service in an environment where the customers demand pics ?

Discuss. I will share the corporate world's response to this dilemma after giving the opportunity for discussion here. Please contribute.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 23rd, 2010, 12:35 pm

Photos of completed projects can be submitted for discussion, advice, etc.........no?

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 23rd, 2010, 12:48 pm

ppl identify with brands , labels etc , they feel comfortable purchasing a prodoct with a label on it .. I've recognised that , hence my fustration with printers because they not working fast enough for me :| anyhow .. i'll launch my brand just now :D just a few tweaks .. also some of these ppl expensive :|

but I cyar afford duane so I can't put a pic here for u all to see it .. :( sowwy

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 23rd, 2010, 1:18 pm

WRT to printers not working fast enough for you, why not then ensure a suitably quantity of prints prior to launch?

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 23rd, 2010, 1:56 pm

i'm doing tht :) but nuh the guy sent my work overj ust now so i'm all happy now :D

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 23rd, 2010, 2:20 pm

There ya go!

Guess your sins werent that bad.

Postby Redman » July 23rd, 2010, 8:24 pm

Hey Guys

I was in class any how but Im interested in the next meet- weekend is better - but will try to make the next one.

Later

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » July 23rd, 2010, 10:35 pm

being self employed sounds and feels nice =] , but you really have to love what you do cause it takes alot of effort, discipline and patience ..... it means finding something you can do willingly and for free ... and most of all , being good at it =] ...... working for yourself isnt a 5 day - 40 hr week , its a 24\7 : 365 grind cause the world doesn't decide to buy something between 9am and 5pm ..... your job must always be a part of your daily life and you must believe that what you do is unique and your purpose =] ..... it should be a hobby that you cannot get bored of .

where does one get the motivation, hope and drive to do something with the risk of getting nothing ..... it comes from going to a job that you hate day after day and no matter how hard you work , you never feel fulfilled , like i have wasted my life today and i have not learn't anything new or challenged myself .... why are there so many things in this short life and i feel like i have nothing ..... what drives me is the fear of being unhappy and knowing that if i lost everything today , i can start all over again tomorrow !! ... an insatiable enthusiasm to wake up and do what you love !!

people may laugh and tell you that you cant do it, thats beacuse they cant do it !! ..... being self employed isnt just being self supportive ..... is about feeling great and excited in what you do and passing on that feeling to others =] ..... you want to keep them coming back.

my job is my hobby .... no one gave it to me ..... it was always in my mind =]

W2J

Postby W2J » July 23rd, 2010, 11:50 pm

Mr Gear wrote:One of the topics raised but remained undetermined concerned photos. With each for sale thread people often demand pics of the products. What is the situation when selling services ? How does that seller overcome the intangible nature of his/her service in an environment where the customers demand pics ?

Discuss. I will share the corporate world's response to this dilemma after giving the opportunity for discussion here. Please contribute.

what are you doing for your thesis?

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » July 24th, 2010, 12:21 am

W2J wrote:
Mr Gear wrote:One of the topics raised but remained undetermined concerned photos. With each for sale thread people often demand pics of the products. What is the situation when selling services ? How does that seller overcome the intangible nature of his/her service in an environment where the customers demand pics ?

what are you doing for your thesis?

Nothing to do with this thread. Check your PM. It is proprietary information so I can't share it here for at least another year and a half.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 24th, 2010, 12:57 pm

marcus8860 wrote:being self employed sounds and feels nice =] , but you really have to love what you do cause it takes alot of effort, discipline and patience ..... it means finding something you can do willingly and for free ... and most of all , being good at it =] ...... working for yourself isnt a 5 day - 40 hr week , its a 24\7 : 365 grind cause the world doesn't decide to buy something between 9am and 5pm ..... your job must always be a part of your daily life and you must believe that what you do is unique and your purpose =] ..... it should be a hobby that you cannot get bored of .

where does one get the motivation, hope and drive to do something with the risk of getting nothing ..... it comes from going to a job that you hate day after day and no matter how hard you work , you never feel fulfilled , like i have wasted my life today and i have not learn't anything new or challenged myself .... why are there so many things in this short life and i feel like i have nothing ..... what drives me is the fear of being unhappy and knowing that if i lost everything today , i can start all over again tomorrow !! ... an insatiable enthusiasm to wake up and do what you love !!

people may laugh and tell you that you cant do it, thats beacuse they cant do it !! ..... being self employed isnt just being self supportive ..... is about feeling great and excited in what you do and passing on that feeling to others =] ..... you want to keep them coming back.

my job is my hobby .... no one gave it to me ..... it was always in my mind =]

Well said.
besides using lots of =]'s what exactly is it that you do?
Cheers =]

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » July 24th, 2010, 1:15 pm

woi sleepers long time no see pal =] ..... i thought you knew .. www.hotiso.com

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » July 24th, 2010, 1:34 pm

Yes, this was an interesting topic that was raised.

I think that because of the very nature of forums, it's mostly text-based. Perhaps it's a psychological thing where people get tired of reading mostly on-screen text. They may like to see a little colour and pictures just to 'spice up' the thread a little make it seem more fun to read. This is probably why tuners usually respond with the famous 'this thread is useless without pics'. :D Also, it's much easier to gain the information on the product being sold by quickly scrolling through pictures rather than reading 10 lines of text. People tend to become a little irritable after reading more than a few lines and might go to some other part of the site.

In my experience, it's usually easier to read and understand books that have illustrations which support the text being read. This could explain why I wasn't too interested English literature or Maths in school :roll: I had to force myself to read the books. I much preferred Physics or Geography because of the vast amount of visual aids to help understand the topic.

Consequently, tuners that are selling services may have a harder time in acquiring favorable sales because of this. As Mr. Red Sleeper said, some professions maybe allow you the luxury of posting pictures of completed projects but regarding services such a a Barber or a Dentist, that luxury is reduced considerably. The most you can do is a before and after photo but even then it's hard because each person's case is different.

However, as I'm beginning to realise on the 3ne 2nr forums, once you are active enough, regular users and mods will become accustomed to products and services that sellers provide, perhaps from their threads and/or signatures. This works for the seller because when other users are looking for a particular product or service, the mod or regular user will likely refer them to you.

An example that i've seen on tuner of a Power Seller service that is intangible is that of ABA Trading unlocking cell phones. I don't think photos apply to this service, but most regular tuners know who to contact if they want this done!

Postby Rooki3 » July 24th, 2010, 1:37 pm

marcus8860 wrote:woi sleepers long time no see pal =] ..... i thought you knew .. www.hotiso.com

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » July 24th, 2010, 1:39 pm

marcus8860 wrote:woi sleepers long time no see pal =] ..... i thought you knew .. www.hotiso.com

Marcus doesn't compromise quality, I assure you. 8-)

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 26th, 2010, 9:08 am

Oh yes..yes....with pics as discussed too!

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » July 26th, 2010, 5:33 pm

=] , thanks black-ts ...... dont forget to check out the new products k ppl =]

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » July 26th, 2010, 6:51 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:^^^ Do you mind pming me the link also.
I`m interested in this also

No problem. I took so long to reply because we did alot more work and I want to update the album before I forward you the link. I'll send it to you by Thursday for the latest.

Postby Chimera » July 29th, 2010, 5:06 pm

sorry i couldnt make the meeting guys, i was feeling sick since thursday morning, but still went about daily business and by thursday evening i was completely run down

sunday night i got admitted into mt hope for dengue, got discharged around 3 this evening, so home to rest now.

so much things to do tho, once my hand stop hurting so much from the IV access, I plan to be back to normal stuff (hopefully by tmr)