pablo_tt

Talk about mobile operations!

Postby pablo_tt » July 25th, 2010, 1:59 pm

Got this from a ham radio operators' forum:

Hi,

I'm a television photographer in Finland. I work for the national networks and also foreign news agencies (APTN etc.) and channels (CNN, DW, BBC...)

I used to have a Chevy Tahoe but I finally had to sell it after having driven nearly 200 000 km with it. Since no car dealer in Finland import or sell Chevrolet SUV's anymore (thanks to EU), I had to look for another option.

I decided to buy a Toyota Land Cruiser and build everything I need into it. My SUV is equipped with live transmission capability for news broadcasts and a high speed internet access (2 Mbps while on the move, 12 Mbps when stationary) for sending files etc.

I also installed a Victron Energy 1600W 230V inverter to generate power for all my equipment. Additional batteries and a charging system have been installed as well.

Because of the nature of my work, I also have a lot of communication equipment in the truck. Three GSM phones (for IFB and regular calling) a sat phone (Inmarsat BGAN), HF / VHF / UHF-radio, scanner, and another UHF mobile radio + six portables for production use.

Re: Talk about mobile operations!

Postby 3stagevtec » July 25th, 2010, 6:11 pm

and I thought I was a geek with my 1 CB radio... :shock:

Postby goalpost » July 25th, 2010, 6:15 pm

holy crap!

Postby foss » July 25th, 2010, 6:45 pm

that is SUV !! 0X

Postby brams112 » July 25th, 2010, 8:35 pm

nice installation there pallie,guess toyota popular allover the world as always

Postby foss » July 25th, 2010, 8:39 pm

^ speaking of which.. i saw a hilux in TTL.. with snorkel and crash bars with hinge, and decked out for off road - it looked SWEEET !!!!

Postby cinco » July 26th, 2010, 10:03 am

whey d cooler goin?

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » July 26th, 2010, 10:27 am

WHEY DE SPEAKA-BOXES GO FIT EH BOI?..ALL DEM AMP AND NO BASS?

Postby RBphoto » July 26th, 2010, 10:46 am

If yuh lorse ah 25 cent inside the seat....short circuit IYMC.

Postby Greypatch » July 26th, 2010, 11:06 am

man gone clear there

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » July 26th, 2010, 11:09 am

and still not a place for a cooler.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » July 26th, 2010, 1:16 pm

No backseat bull ftl

partycrasher

Postby partycrasher » July 26th, 2010, 4:00 pm

For a second I thought that was the Prado manning send up Grenada.......