The family of PNM local government campaign manager John Rahael received project contracts from the previous PNM administration which amassed more than $1 billion in cost overruns, Attorney General Anand Ramlogan claimed yesterday. In his maiden address to the Senate regarding a motion on the economy, Ramlogan listed a litany of PNM projects with cost overruns and cited other alleged irregularities and “deals” of that administration.
The AG particularly levelled accusations at projects in which he said Rahael family companies—Trinity Housing and Broadway Properties—were involved. However yesterday, Alwin Chow, chief executive officer of Trinity and Broadway, said Ramlogan’s claims were: “Totally and absolutely false and irrevocably wrong.” Chow, a former Independent senator, added: “I know the Honourable Attorney General will correct this at the first opportunity. It is so wrong—it is complete misunderstanding of the facts.
There is not even a scintilla of correctness in this.” Chow said a lot of what Ramlogan read out concerning Broadway as cost overruns was actually the original contract values. Chow said Trinity was the construction arm of the companies.
Ramlogan said the PP Government had inherited an economy burdened with many “deals and price tags.”
He said: “The economy is not in as good a shape as it could or should be—that’s the reality we face. “The main reason for the present state of the economy—good, bad or ugly—is mismanagement, waste and corruption of the previous administration... it is deals, deals and more deals,” he claimed. “Everywhere you turn there was a deal...every ministry, every file on government operations.” Ramlogan claimed that Trinity Housing owned by the Rahael group constructed 138 units at Orchard Gardens, incurring cost overruns of $50 million. He claimed another development at Corinth Hills was done by the same company, incurring cost overruns of $128 million. Ramlogan also noted Trinity Housing projects with cost overruns including East Grove in Curepe ($64 million), Bon Air (an original $13 million contract with $19 million in cost overruns) and Greenvale Park ($156 million in cost overruns.)
He also cited Broadway Properties—whose managing director is listed as Joseph Rahael—which was contracted to build schools.
Ramlogan listed delays and cost overruns on several of those projects—
Couva Junior Secondary ($172 million),
Barataria Junior Secondary ($149 million),
Pleasantville Junior Secondary ($150 million).
He said Osha laws virtually closed down the contract for the Pleasantville project due to safety concerns. Ramlogan said the information was often “secreted” and concealed and getting it from the public service was often a challenge. He said, however, the situation revealed that one group loyal to the former ruling party—whose local government campaign is being managed by Rahael—received the projects. Outlining cost overruns in other areas, Ramlogan said that in ten national projects (out of 70) done by Udecott, there were also more than $4 billion in cost overruns with the equivalent of more than 20 years’ delay.
Overruns
• Chaguanas Corporation administrative complex—over budget by $10 million—24-month delay.
• Chancery Lane complex—$300 million over budget—24-month delay.
• Government campus and Legal Affairs tower—$300 million over budget—18-month delay.
• Waterfront project—$1.3 billion over budget—six-month delay.
• Education Ministry tower—$300 million over budget—20-month delay.
• Performing Arts Centre—$234 million over budget—one-year delay.
• South PRC—$238 million over budget—13 months overdue.
• Beverly Hills Housing—$106 million cost overrun—65-month delay.
• Lara Stadium—several million cost overrun—41-months delay.
• Diplomatic Centre—$700 million cost overrun—five-month delay.
BlueIce wrote:No one expects such small minds to understand real leadership so you are forgiven my son
Jason45 wrote:And according to your Health Minister "we heard you so shut up now".
Jason45 wrote:BlueIce wrote:No one expects such small minds to understand real leadership so you are forgiven my son
This is real leadership?U read d post properly?The PP gave the impression that they were perfect and well organised.So if u saying that theyre stong leaders,that mean yuh blind or cokey.
And according to your Health Minister "we heard you so shut up now".
mitsuboi wrote:An how u expect dem to lead afta alyuh spend out all d money an leave a backlog of sheit to deal wid???
We have $50 billion in our national treasury.
Jason45 wrote:First of all Anand "Stupidman" Ramlogan everyday constantly coming with allegations of mass corruption in d PNM and not presenting nothing to the DPP.Only bumpin he gum and talkin sheit about what he see and hear.Dis man is ah real little boy.
A nut case as the Health Minister who is disrespectful and obsessed with her dog
Mad man Trevor Sayers runnin for COP,ah aint know how this happen but it happen.
Ah hearin more from Subhas Panday dan d Minister of national Security
D weirdest of all Jack Warner who welcomed Roger Joseph in d Party and saying he still investigating him on d $50m boat.How can u welcome a man in ur party and then investigate him.dy d most stupidest thing i ever see so far.
I realize this party bent in tarnishing the PNM government so bad that it can never get back in power.So what dey trying to say PNM never ever do nothing good.
PP supporters if u seeing all this and yuh dont have ah problem,youre hatred for PNM blinding allyuh real bad.
Cjruckus wrote:Another converted.
Chemical wrote:I'm dissappointed the direction of this Gov't. I live in Santa Magarita & I have not seen my MP since the election.....
Jason45 wrote:BlueIce wrote:No one expects such small minds to understand real leadership so you are forgiven my son
This is real leadership?U read d post properly?The PP gave the impression that they were perfect and well organised.So if u saying that theyre stong leaders,that mean yuh blind or cokey.
mitsuboi wrote:Jason45 wrote:BlueIce wrote:No one expects such small minds to understand real leadership so you are forgiven my son
Why YOU an d PNMites on d forum doh pack up alyuh sheit an head to d Gaza!!!
Gaza mih say!!!!
Rallyfignis wrote:Chemical wrote:I'm dissappointed the direction of this Gov't. I live in Santa Magarita & I have not seen my MP since the election.....
I lived in a PNM stronghold for 20 years and NEVER saw my MP even once
commonsense01 wrote:For all the PP's supporters. There have been more murders under their regime than at any other time in the history in Trinidad and Tobago. They have been in office for about 60 days and there are about 90 murders since they took office and they said they would handle to crime situation. Once again they fooled the people. How come nobody not saying the Govt has crime so these days.
And the road carnage seem to have doubled in recent days.