The Trinituner Entrepreneurship/Self Employed/ Side Hustle Thread

Re: Self Employed...The Thread

Postby brams112 » July 6th, 2010, 9:09 pm

partner does get bumped out eh pal,so watch how you sleeping,also men can cook books so good how can you tell what is shown being sold is really sold and not more?that is the game, how do you determin how much inventory is there from not being in your patner's pocket,parts is a very tricky business men steal a lot,,,just saying,,,

TURBOT

Postby TURBOT » July 6th, 2010, 9:56 pm

I now started reading the art of war on my phone :) .
I like this thread, currently i am employed but i am seriously thinking about becoming self employed. I am researching my idea and talking to ppl i know who are knowledgable in the field,trying to learn as much from them as i can while filtering the bs. Then i have to build a business plan to obtain financing. Nebert i would like to chat with you sometme soon .

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » July 6th, 2010, 10:28 pm

Cool. Send me a PM and we can arrange a sit down.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » July 7th, 2010, 8:58 pm

RapToR wrote:
AGENT RORO wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:
RapToR wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:I wonder how profitable rabbit farming is. :?

I have land I can dedicate to it.

forget rabbit

go with fish

Have a few ponds in the back of my house, LARGE ponds.

Caimans infest it now though.

Fish>Rabbit?

I agree with Raptop (prob. because I'm into fish farming as well and I know how profitable it could be). You can easily start rearing tilapia in dirt ponds and you could set up some above the ground ponds / tanks for breeding etc

how much did it cost you to setup

i'm now looking into it

How much it will cost you depends on alot of things, what are you planning to breed?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 7th, 2010, 9:01 pm

^^^^^^

i want to start with something simple so i can learn the process

after i will move on to shrimp, tuna etc.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » July 7th, 2010, 9:22 pm

RapToR wrote:^^^^^^

Ok. I do more ornamental / exotics (Bettas, Live-bearers, Angels, Crayfish, Goldfish etc) but doing fish for human consumption isn't that great a difference. From what I'm assuming this will be a totally new experience for you and if it is then you're heading in the right direction by starting with something basic. My advice to you is take your time and allow yourself to learn, breeding fish isn't a walk in the park and endless people hear of the money you could make, jump into it on a grand scale without experience and end up losing ten of thousands of dollars. I can definitely share more of my experiences and knowledge with you if you'd like, just ask away. I will PM you a link to a facebook album I have with the recent work we did on our small "farm" so that you'll see what scale I'm on.

Postby Chimera » July 8th, 2010, 2:09 am

^^^ Do you mind pming me the link also.
I`m interested in this also

Postby Chimera » July 8th, 2010, 2:10 am

Mr Gear wrote:Cool. Send me a PM and we can arrange a sit down.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » July 8th, 2010, 9:36 am

Ha Ha.. Its a term I picked up as a child from watching The God Father. LOL

Postby Stephon. » July 10th, 2010, 9:00 am

bump.

W2J

Postby W2J » July 11th, 2010, 9:23 pm

being self employed for the last fourteen years has taught me something that most business men don't adopt "eat little and live long rather than eating plenty and suffer from indigestion." When I started Teknet back in 1996 there were 25 IT based companies listed in the yellow pages, today out of those 25 companies only 5 have survived and over 30 more have pop up, one must learn to adapt, divest and find there niche in there respective field and most import be honest and provide the best possible customer support. Customers are the reason why we are in business without them you will have nothing!

Postby AllTrac » July 11th, 2010, 11:07 pm

wise words W2J, good to hear from someone in it that long

RapToR

Postby RapToR » July 12th, 2010, 1:39 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:
RapToR wrote:^^^^^^

Ok. I do more ornamental / exotics (Bettas, Live-bearers, Angels, Crayfish, Goldfish etc) but doing fish for human consumption isn't that great a difference. From what I'm assuming this will be a totally new experience for you and if it is then you're heading in the right direction by starting with something basic. My advice to you is take your time and allow yourself to learn, breeding fish isn't a walk in the park and endless people hear of the money you could make, jump into it on a grand scale without experience and end up losing ten of thousands of dollars. I can definitely share more of my experiences and knowledge with you if you'd like, just ask away. I will PM you a link to a facebook album I have with the recent work we did on our small "farm" so that you'll see what scale I'm on.

i like what i saw

when im ready to start i will msg you.

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » July 12th, 2010, 2:02 pm

[quote="W2J"]being self employed for the last fourteen years has taught me something that most business men don't adopt "eat little and live long rather than eating plenty and suffer from indigestion." When I started Teknet back in 1996 there were 25 IT based companies listed in the yellow pages, today out of those 25 companies only 5 have survived and over 30 more have pop up, one must learn to adapt, divest and find there niche in there respective field and most import be honest and provide the best possible customer support. Customers are the reason why we are in business without them you will have nothing![/quote]

Well Said.

I haven't forgotten you with the Camera & DVR setup yet man. I'll purchase it next month 8-)

RapToR

Postby RapToR » July 16th, 2010, 1:12 pm

so when is the self-employed / 2nr lime :?:

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » July 17th, 2010, 9:39 am

I would like to suggest Thursday 22nd. I am open to suggestions for a venue. NB The venue ought to be conducive to conversations.

RapToR

Postby RapToR » July 17th, 2010, 3:51 pm

as for a venue, i`m not sure on that part, i`m for Thursday 22nd or any other time

maybe you can create a poll for venue and date

mr. mindz

Postby mr. mindz » July 17th, 2010, 9:15 pm

hmmmmmm....... sweet thread.

im into the Advertising arena... have a small company called 'Modified Mindz Advertising', which was originally known as 'Modified Mindz Customizing'... there's also a subsidiary that developed over the past 5 years labelled 'Creativ Labs' design studio...

opened up shop at the age of 16, back 2001... in the Rio claro area... started off doing graphics, lowering vehicles, importing parts, and general customizing...
after a while the signs/graphics area was bringing in the income, and everything else was bringing in friends... over the years, we did alot of collaborations with other shops and garages to produce vehicles for shows.... names like 12volts, Chop Shop, Autotrax, Barely Legal, Sound Extreme.......

as time went by, and i grew older... i grew interest towards marketing strategies and using art to excite advertising, and attract consumers. From doing signs and banners, we got deeper into advertising itself and slowly transformed our specialties as a business. 9 yrs later, we do from billboards, to lighting signs, commercial rennovations and vehicle wraps....

but the love for vehicles never died.... there was always a demand for ideas and original concepts for vehicles, especially race cars.... as i was never into the show scene, i always loved speed and always drove something with a little pep... i started enjoying the racing culture and working on race cars... and here 'Creativ Labs' was formed, to still gain income from an ever changing auto fashion industry...

opening your own business is a great achievement for any individual, especially someone with a unique skill or trade... but maintaining a standard and making a name for yourself is something that should always be top priority.

Despite the fact that people demand affordability, and this determines your market... quality is imperitive in maintaining long lasting customer relationships and a good reputation...

advertising and public image is also very important, this is the medium in which you communicate to the consumers and get your message out... keeping style and standard is essential, and depending on the nature of your business, you image yourself to suit.

simple tips like a classy, yet legible business card can carry your business a long way....
An inviting sign, a pleasant voicemail, a good logo.... all these little things can give you that professional edge, however small your business may be....
the fate of your business depends solely on marketing and proper money management.

If it is you are a sole trader.... always ask your self before you purchase something;
"how can this benefit myself and my business... would this create any returns..?"
"..... or do i really need this..?" .... "....or is this within my budget?"

these are the little things that would make you grow into company level..........

jus my 2 cents ya'll...... :D

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » July 17th, 2010, 9:35 pm

Thanks for your input mr. mindz. Well said.

I will have to put some thought into a venue and nail down a time. Look out for my post.

W2J

Postby W2J » July 17th, 2010, 10:37 pm

^ nebert are you trying to create freemasonry

Postby Rooki3 » July 18th, 2010, 12:20 am

W2J wrote:^ nebert are you trying to create freemasonry

whut??

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 18th, 2010, 8:41 am

My only issue or turnoff with regards to being in buisness for myself especially in my line of work, which is Building design and all associated with it, is the fact that Trinidadians, for the most part, are a people that do not appreciated or understand the efforts that one has to put in.
i literally have to take a clients idea, put it on paper for them to see, tailor it to his/her needs/wants etc., and turn that into a reality.
It's no easy task by any means. It takes alot out of me WRT, time, $$, constant communication, research, humility, patience, etc.
Ive said it in many threads prior to this one , but what i've come to realise is that their are very few people or types of people , that can appreciate work done and are willing to pay for it, without the usual run around, and scheming.
With that said, i was in it full time and needed a break from the stresses as described above. I got a reasonably livable offer 3 yrs ago and took it. I am right now putting things back in motion to get back on my own and try different angles so as not to experience the same problems as before.

Someone mentioned earlier about the sacrifice WRT to family and time when running your own buisness.
Know this:

It is almost Impossible at the starting point of any buisness to have near perfect relationships, unless you have found that one in a million person to share, understand , support and stand firm, knowing that its for an eventually profitable cause in most aspects.

Ive personally seen in many instances, men leaving chances of success in buisness because of their g/f's/ wives, etc. who demands that they do not work the hours required that is necessary to take them all to another level of existence.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » July 18th, 2010, 2:01 pm

Free Masonry you say ? It may reveal some shallowness of my knowledge but honesty I don't know anything about Free Masonry. I've paid for all of the masonry I've ever had done. :lol:

Just so I don't spam this thread, I won't ask for an explanation here, I will go research it briefly. But the answer to that question is no I'm not trying to create Free Masonry, I really believe that there is little or no support network for young entrepreneurs, few mentors and because of this opportunities keep going to the big fish and the big fish keep eating the little fish and the cycle continues. I'm hoping for the little fish to become bigger fish and eventually move to the top of the food chain or have their own pond.

mr. mindz

Postby mr. mindz » July 18th, 2010, 2:50 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:My only issue or turnoff with regards to being in buisness for myself especially in my line of work, which is Building design and all associated with it, is the fact that Trinidadians, for the most part, are a people that do not appreciated or understand the efforts that one has to put in.
i literally have to take a clients idea, put it on paper for them to see, tailor it to his/her needs/wants etc., and turn that into a reality.
It's no easy task by any means. It takes alot out of me WRT, time, $$, constant communication, research, humility, patience, etc.
Ive said it in many threads prior to this one , but what i've come to realise is that their are very few people or types of people , that can appreciate work done and are willing to pay for it, without the usual run around, and scheming.
With that said, i was in it full time and needed a break from the stresses as described above. I got a reasonably livable offer 3 yrs ago and took it. I am right now putting things back in motion to get back on my own and try different angles so as not to experience the same problems as before.

Someone mentioned earlier about the sacrifice WRT to family and time when running your own buisness.
Know this:

It is almost Impossible at the starting point of any buisness to have near perfect relationships, unless you have found that one in a million person to share, understand , support and stand firm, knowing that its for an eventually profitable cause in most aspects.

Ive personally seen in many instances, men leaving chances of success in buisness because of their g/f's/ wives, etc. who demands that they do not work the hours required that is necessary to take them all to another level of existence.

couldn't have said it better............... ur trade and mine are very similar, in which we both are considered 'artists'.....

people have no appreciation for intellectual concepts and look at it as something that should be free with the package, when in fact - this is what you pay for - ideas!

eg; ppl will beat you down on every dollar, for material and time.......... but some of them don't even know you have to pay for artwork, but yet they want their stuff looking d besss........... if u want the best, you have to pay for the best.......

some of them act as if ur car does work on water, tstt and blink is ur father business, t&tec and u rel good, you dont have a life or a family - when they say jump - you ask 'how high?'......... and ur brain is like a machine programmed to jus spit out ideas................. and u cyah stick wit their work, but when it come to payment - is bounce cheque, is post dated cheque, is 'ah collecting money friday'..... 'yuh go pass back nah....'....... 'oh gosh man - daiz yuh best price?'

trinidadians sicken me at times................. sometimes u wish u were jus working somewhere and u didnt have to put up wit their crap..... :roll:

eyephone

Postby eyephone » July 18th, 2010, 2:59 pm

Wow guys. Excellent thread here.

I've decided to ease into my own business/ventures by next February. Alot of planning and preparation have to implemented so that's why it'll be quite next year altho time will fly I'm sure.

I have some really good plans and ideas that I'm going to go after. If they don't work, thats ok, I've always been a hard worker and I'll always be able to start over as long as I want to.

As someone about to give up a steady paycheck of 10K monthly I've gone thru several emotional battles with myself. I've sometimes even given up and I haven't even started yet but I will persevere.

Also going to get into Forex and bond trading. I've recently met a millionaire who trades bonds for a living and I'm trying to learn as much as I can about his way of thinking rather than what he does. Making the money is great but investing is definitely the way to go so that I can expand with my ideas as time passes.

Fear not. I'll definitely share his secrets with you guys over the coming weeks.

Attending the free MTI forex seminar either on the 22nd or 27th, this month but as MG_man stated, its better to learn on your own so google is my beyotch these days.

This thread is very encouraging. Thanks to Mr. Gear and all the other contributors for the wise words.

Definitely think we shud meet up at least to encourage eachother if nothing else.

Mr Gear

Re: Self Employed...The Thread Meeting Set pg6

Postby Mr Gear » July 21st, 2010, 11:03 am

TGIF Price Plaza for 6 PM tomorrow Thursday 22nd July.

RSVP here so that I will know how many coming.

NLVA200

Re: Self Employed...The Thread Meeting Set Pg 6

Postby NLVA200 » July 21st, 2010, 11:25 am

I'll be there 8-)

By the bar?

Postby AllTrac » July 21st, 2010, 11:37 am

will try my very best to be there as it is right across the road from me, could do with some motivation

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » July 21st, 2010, 12:22 pm

Not by the bar. Hopefully it wont be raining and we could take the outdoors eating area.

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » July 21st, 2010, 12:26 pm

^ ideal spot