The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

bOOsTmaN

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby bOOsTmaN » July 7th, 2010, 8:49 pm

hey ppl... i have a issue with my 3Gs iphone.. originally had 3.1.3 on it without any jailbreaking or attempting to unlock so it jus worked like an ipod.

i try to jailbreak it and some sheit hit the fan and its now in recovery mode. iTunes says "ipod is in recovery mode and it needs a restore to work with iTunes. Now i've tried restoring it back to original 3.1.3 even 3.1.2 to no avail. Error 3194 pops up and thas because apple stop signing old ipsw's.. so i have one question.. do i update to 4.0 and try to unlock with snowbreeze?? or can i go back to 3.1.3 is there anyway?

anybody update to 4.0 and unlock it and it workin with our networks?

Thanks for ur help

Postby M_2NR » July 7th, 2010, 11:25 pm

What I established already is that the user was not jailbroken on 3.1.3 so he has no shsh blobs. As of now apple stop signing 3.1.3 and he can't downgrade. Ios 4 seems his best bet. He is also new bootrom so he can't just use redsnow. I think his safest bet wrt to a jailbreak would be to wait. Or at most update to ios 4. As he has no blobs on earlier firmwares. What do you guys think?

------

in other news, DAMN GPS is real fast on iOS 4. I updated my motion x gps app and well was trying gps in maps too and it takes no more than 3 seconds on the 3G to find my location accurately! Good job apple. I got my 3G to crash today. But even though it was not made to multitask and it gets hot, it handles it pretty ok.
Did you guys notice the spellcheck too?
I'm looking for where we can add custom words to the dictionary of it, if I find it brfore u guys I'll update.

Edit: apparently it never made it passed beta. But if u want to easily add words just type them into the google search and it works lol. I kid u not it's that simple. U can also add it to the contacts app. All this is from a iphonehack blog from 2009. Just tested on my 2G 3.1.3 whited00r.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » July 7th, 2010, 11:37 pm

iphone noob again...

i installed installous..

now too many apps to choose from

recommend the best of the best ...

Postby M_2NR » July 8th, 2010, 1:42 am

word on the street, a PS gone start stocking we cards soon 8)

can't wait to hear the prices

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » July 8th, 2010, 8:35 am

now look at these iphone skins compared to the LAME bumpers by Apple...................

http://www.engadget.com/2010/07/07/elem ... o-deal-wi/
http://www.engadget.com/photos/element- ... e-4-cases/

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » July 8th, 2010, 8:39 am

anybody has street fighter 4 app???????

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 8th, 2010, 10:45 am

A new report alleges that Apple's next iPod touch, expected to arrive this September, will have a 5 megapixel camera, capture HD video, feature FaceTime connectivity, and include a gyroscope, like the iPhone 4.

U.K. retailer John Lewis said the information is based on "noises we're hearing from suppliers," according to electricpig.co.uk. Though no mention was specifically made of a forward-facing camera at the company's presentation in London, it did say that FaceTime calling over Wi-Fi would be possible "so you can communicate with friends at zero cost."

The purported details of Apple's new iPod touch were revealed at the John Lewis "Xmas in July" event. The retailer also claimed that the new iPod touch will include a camera flash for improved pictures in the dark, like the iPhone 4. It also said that users would be able to upload their HD videos directly to YouTube from the device, over Wi-Fi.

Finally, John Lewis also said the new iPod touch is expected to include both an accelerometer and a gyroscope. The hardware addition already found in the iPhone 4 allows a new, more precise control method for game titles on the App Store.

The company made no mention whether the iPod touch would receive some of the other additions of the iPhone 4, namely the 640-by-960 pixel Retina Display, or Apple's custom-built A4 processor.

Apple was originally rumored to add a camera to its iPod touch at last year's annual September iPod event, but the feature was allegedly pulled due to bad parts with the camera modules. But the Cupertino, Calif., company did add a video camera to last year's updated iPod nano.

------

By using near-field communications or a simple barcode scan, future iPhones could instantly obtain information about a range of products, whether it's an electronic device on sale at a local store, or food on a restaurant's menu.

A massive, wide-ranging patent application made public this week, entitled "System and Method for Providing Content Associated with a Product or Service," describes how a number of activities -- such as making a purchase at a store, or finding an instruction manual for a device -- could be made easier. The 83-page document covers a number of opportunities that businesses and manufacturers could capitalize on, allowing iPhone users the ability to access a wealth of information quickly and simply from their handset.

The document shows an iPhone application entitled "Products +" that could be used to accomplish all of these tasks, which range from information about a product to potential promotional opportunities. The technology could allow users to learn more about an AV receiver before buying it, or quickly access the product manual, or even view YouTube help videos.

Users could also shop for better prices at local stores, or find online vendors that might sell it for less. In one example, a customer is able to purchase through Apple's own iTunes store, or another online product vendor. The application could even allow customers to authorize a transaction while at the store.

Adding a product to the phone's database and authenticating it could allow users to potentially register it with the manufacturer, check warranty information, or be apprised of potential product recalls. Adding a product could be accomplished via near-field communications, such as RFID, or by scanning a barcode through the iPhone's camera.

Selecting a product from the database would allow users to "View Extras." In the example found in the application, Apple's iTunes service offers free downloads of digital manuals for products.

The technology could also be used to provide consumers information on the go, or give companies the ability to promote products. One example shows a barcode and NFC included in a restaurant's menu. Users could access dinner specials and nutrition information quickly through their iPhone.

Scanning the restaurant's menu could also show a list of upcoming events at that location. In one example, the Mi Luna restaurant has salsa dancing and a live band scheduled for July 12. The user can then instantly add that event to their phone's calendar.

Barcodes and near-field communication technology could also be used to replace game pieces often found on items like soft drinks at fast food restaurants. They could also offer free music downloads, or advertisements related to the product. In one depiction, scanning a cup of Starbucks coffee offers the user the ability to purchase a discount muffin.

Another example shows the ability to scan a textbook to access supplementary problems not included in the print edition, or to find answers to problems found in a book. Users could also download an instructional video, find further recommended reading, or purchase additional materials. For a novel or non-fiction book, readers could access an interview with the author, find press discussing the book, or purchase related titles.

The application was filed on Jan. 5, 2009. It is credited to Michael Rosenblatt, program manager with Apple, and Gloria Lin.

------

One of our very close AT&T sources just sent us in these images. Yes, it’s a fried iPhone 4. Apparently a customer brought the phone into the store to try and get help with it, although it’s pretty evident that the phone is unrepairable. It’s the first time our guy has seen this happen (us too), but the brand new iPhone 4 caught on fire while being hooked up to a computer using the Apple USB cable that accompanied the device. The customer wanted to exchange the iPhone — obviously — for a new, non-charred unit however the AT&T store in question was out of stock. An Apple Store did confirm to our AT&T connection that this did appear to be a defective USB port and not some sort of user error. Our source went onto say that the phone bezel was extremely hot (obviously), and it slightly burned the customers hand. The USB port in the phone was slightly melted and the cord was badly melted (as is apparent in the pictures). Hopefully this is the only time we see our beloved iPhones meet a fiery death.

------

We weren't exactly sure whether Apple was going to approve third-party video calling apps using the front camera on the iPhone 4, but good news: the answer is "yes." Fring just slid in a new version of its longstanding iPhone app today featuring support for video calling, which is pretty awesome in and of itself -- but the real news is that it works just fine over 3G, as you can see in our quick test above between Chicago and London. This opens the door for services that could have potentially broader implications than FaceTime itself, since Apple's service is limited to WiFi and currently only works between iPhone 4s.

Postby M_2NR » July 8th, 2010, 9:18 pm

YES!!! fring FTW. Expect Skype to make this a paid addon. lol.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » July 9th, 2010, 9:44 am

good! So i think i finally decide to get one

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » July 9th, 2010, 1:29 pm

M_2nr wrote:YES!!! fring FTW. Expect Skype to make this a paid addon. lol.

only thnig tho is that frings quality video an audio sucks.. guna try it wen i go home but heard it isnt quite good. cant wait for skype...
on a sexier note... this http://db.tt/3BEe57 is my public folder in Dropbox (i highly recomend this service https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTgyMDExMjc5 (use my link an we both get 250mb extra free))... ive uploading my first iMovie on it.. iLUV iMovie.. its really easy to use.. guna make a few more of these wen the time comes.. also in the folder u wud see sum pics and a pic of a pic printed on a lettersized paper with a laser jet printer.. (its very gud quality) cant imagine how it wud look printed properly...

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » July 9th, 2010, 1:46 pm

by any chance does anyone have a spare 1tb< harddrive i can borrow? my problem is that i have a 1tb harddrive that failed and im takin it to microtron or something so to see if they can recover the data on it (years, 1tb, worth of pirated media LOL) let me no asap.. thanks.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 9th, 2010, 2:46 pm

Take a look at this chart from When Will Apple comparing the amount of time it takes to charge an iPhone 4 by USB versus wall outlet.

Stating the obvious, the iPhone 4 takes longer to get a full charge on USB than an outlet. What you may not have realized is how big the difference was, an extra 30 minutes! That’s 23% longer to get a full charge on the USB. If you’ve ever had a completely drained iPhone, you know it takes a bit of time before it turns back on. Plugged into an outlet, it took 3 minutes 11 seconds to come back to life. On USB it took almost 2 minutes longer, taking 4 minutes 49 seconds.

------

Tw.apple.pro posts a few images of an Apple-branded touch screen that only measures 3x3 centimeters. The site has been a source of early parts for Apple products in the past, including white iPhone 4 parts and MacBook Pro enclosures. Based on the machine translation they aren't quite sure what the part is for. Though, they speculate about an iPod Touch nano, iPod Touch shuffle and even a touch-screen wrist-watch.

We're not sure what to make of it. The screen isn't the right proportion to be used in the current iPod nano, though Apple could change the design. We're also taking their word on it that it's even a touch screen.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 10th, 2010, 11:21 am

Late last month, news of root access and an early userland jailbreak of the iPhone 4 hit Twitter courtesy of @chpawn, @plantebeing, and @musclenerd. A mere few weeks later and we have word of another successful jailbreak, this time coming from well-known iPhone hacker Geohot. Neither party has released their jailbreak tools to the public and Geohot is pretty clear that he does not want folks pestering him for a release date. So all you iPhone 4 owners waiting to free your handset from Apple’s walled garden must learn to be patient and keep your mouth shut, capeche?

Sully

Postby Sully » July 11th, 2010, 3:07 pm

streetlifestyle wrote:anybody has street fighter 4 app???????

http://apptrackr.org/

DTAC

Postby DTAC » July 11th, 2010, 7:42 pm

d_l_p_87

Postby d_l_p_87 » July 11th, 2010, 8:54 pm

Anyone having issues with TSTT internet on their iPhone?
I have the reg. blackberry internet with the APN set at "internet" worked fine up till today

wondering if its a problem with my phone or tstt

Postby M_2NR » July 11th, 2010, 11:26 pm

This happening/ed with the guy who got my 3GS. Apparently it's intermittent, the problem. He PM'd me this week and said it works now. There is a thread on it as well.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 12th, 2010, 1:51 am

Jeremy Clarkson wrote:Some say that if you hold him in the wrong way he doesn't work properly...

------

A lawsuit against Apple and AT&T over their exclusivity contract has been granted class action status, meaning it now includes anyone who bought an iPhone between June 29, 2007, and present day and signed up for AT&T service.

The heart of the class action suit, which was originally filed in October 2007, is whether consumers who entered the two-year contract with AT&T did so knowing that they were actually entering a de-facto five-year contract because that's what the AT&T-Apple exclusivity agreement has been reported to be.
Apple has never publicly stated how long its exclusivity contract with AT&T is, though a five year time period--first reported by USA Today back in 2007--was recently confirmed through court documents related to this case.

------

MuscleNerd has announced that the iPhone Dev-Team only has one more step to complete before the iPhone 4 is unlocked.

Full i4 bars with custom "steve" background task spitting out "One more thing" http://is.gd/doJXt - all pieces in place:)

@davidamodt It means the "next step" demoed in http://is.gd/doLnz has been reached, so now there's just 1 final step :)

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » July 12th, 2010, 9:30 am

Sully wrote:
streetlifestyle wrote:anybody has street fighter 4 app???????

http://apptrackr.org/

thanks man! :mrgreen:

Postby M_2NR » July 12th, 2010, 11:00 pm

so i was reading GSMArena review n came across this

There is also limited dictionary functionality. It becomes available when you choose a specific secondary keyboard – we’ve so far confirmed only Chinese Simplified. Then under the keyboard settings you’ll get a new option for a custom dictionary – a place where you can enter custom words that are off the standard punctuation.

so i'm going to enable emoji and see how that goes.

Cydia is refreshing >_>

UPDATE: Emoji not enabling but romaji does and i saw the option appear. Deleted it and added arabic and it disappeared again :(

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 12th, 2010, 11:04 pm

Geohot has shut down the iPhone blog he used to announce and release jailbreaks over the past few years.

Visiting the site now says, "This blog is open to invited readers only".

This comes after his recent announcement of achieving a jailbreak for the iPhone 4 without plans for public release was met with a lot of negativity.

His last update to the blog read:

Sorry, this post was probably a bad idea. Next time I won’t say anything. I miss when this blog was actually about technical things(I’ve been reacting too much to the feedback, which led it to the place it’s in now). I didn’t fully realize most of the current scene don’t care unless they are getting something. Now I do. It’s late tonight, I’ll think about what to do about this in the morning.

The real reason behind no release isn’t technical. It’s just that it will never stop, after blackra1n, people demand unlock, after blacksn0w, people demand untethered. I miss the days when jailbreaking and unlocking were difficult, it attracted a much higher caliber crowd.

Also, to the haters, the picture is quite obviously fake :D

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 13th, 2010, 12:52 pm

@planetbeing

Looks like I now have an unlocked iPhone 4. :)

@planetbeing

My soft-unlocked iPhone 4 (in Canada). I'll have video in a couple of hours once I can top-up the SIM
http://twitpic.com/24ycdv

@planetbeing

Doh, Cydia was on the first page of apps! Here's another shot with it open.
http://twitpic.com/24yhf7

@iphone_dev

Congrats to @planetbeing for first ever soft-unlocked iPhone4 http://is.gd/dqwvv (now to streamline it!)

Postby M_2NR » July 13th, 2010, 1:56 pm

I guess he PM'd a tuner here for the unlock.

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » July 13th, 2010, 2:28 pm

^^^^ lol

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » July 13th, 2010, 3:22 pm

M_2nr wrote:I guess he PM'd a tuner here for the unlock.

probably made a donation...lol.. to himself..

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » July 13th, 2010, 3:28 pm

oh forgot to say... after the initial "I HAVE TO DO EVERYTHIN AND USE EVERY FEATURE OF THE IPHONE 4" phase. im reeeeelly startni to see the battery improvements.. yesterday started my day off at 6am.. played some farmville before i went to work.. played ALOT of angry birds at works.. watched a few videos aftr work.. made a few calls an texted a gud bit durin the day.. listen to sum audio.. check my mail.. take random photos here and there... played around a bit... some robot unicorn attack... and was supprised at 12 midnite when i was goin in my bed an pluggin in my iphone to charge i had 32% battrey... today same routine besides everything aftr work finish (because im still at work) (but dont tell my boss, shhhhhh) and im on 79%... do that with any other smart phone na... wats ur battery like aroud this time of the day??? how bout a poll?

Postby tr1ad » July 13th, 2010, 7:17 pm

Postby M_2NR » July 13th, 2010, 7:32 pm

z, after i read this... i was like :shock:
http://blog.gsmarena.com/iphone-4-battery-life-test-is-over-%E2%80%93-turns-out-undisputed-video-playback-champ/

If i did that on my 3GS that would die by the night.. I won't even bother on my 2G. I have NO games on it. :(

But... have a read at these:

PR Experts Say Apple Will Be Forced to Issue an iPhone 4 Recall
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=10569

Is Apple Silently Recalling the iPhone 4 Now?
http://gizmodo.com/5586256/is-apple-silently-recalling-the-iphone-4-now

I doubt about the 2nd one. But in the pic it does look a lil different.

a lil fatter? I dont know if that is just me

but look

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » July 13th, 2010, 8:15 pm

My batt jus reached 70% since my last post, this post im makin from the iphone itself.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 14th, 2010, 11:16 am

Planetbeing has posted a video demonstrating the iPhone 4 unlock and explaining what still needs to be done before release.

------

Apple's Senior Vice-President of iPhone Software, Scott Forstall, has joined Twitter.

The account has been verified by Twitter meaning its actually him. Forstall hasn't sent out a tweet yet; however, he has followed one other person, Conan O'Brien.

Currently he's up to 16,807 followers already.

------

new analysis has found that resolving the much publicized iPhone 4 antenna issues could cost Apple up to $900 million, and each additional week that Apple takes to resolve the issue could add another $200 million as sales increase.

Analyst Mike Abramsky with RBC Capital Markets said Wednesday that he is hopeful that Apple will address the concerns of users over the iPhone 4 reception by providing customers with free protective cases. But he also acknowledged that the Cupertino, Calif., company could also face a "broad repair scenario, or even a full recall."

Despite the issues, Abramsky said he views the situation as a potential buying opportunity for investors. He believes that Apple may inevitably fix the problem, and even though a fix will impact the company's bottom line, he said "Apple can easily afford it."

He presented three potential outcomes for the issue, all of which assume that the problem affects 100 percent of iPhone 4 owners. Abramsky believes providing cases to 3 million people would cost $45 million, while repairing 3 million handset would cost $300 million. A complete recall of the product, in the most extreme scenario, would cost $900 million.

Even if bad publicity regarding reception with the iPhone 4 does reduce sales in the near term, he doesn't expect it to last.

"We expect iPhone 4 demand may rebound quickly, still outpacing supply and -- along with global channel fill -- may mitigate possible near-term slowdown in sell-through," he wrote. "The issue, in our opinion, is likely to blow over with media and consumers refocusing on iPhone 4's appeal, market opportunity and strong demand."

The issue gained steam this week when nonprofit group Consumer Reports said it cannot recommend the iPhone 4 due to a reduction in signal that is experienced when covering the bottom left side of the device with one's hand. That was a 180-degree turn from the publication's previous stance, when it noted that there was "no reason" not to buy an iPhone 4, and said it was unable to recreate the signal issues.

Consumer Reports changed its mind after testing three separate iPhone 4 handsets inside of a controlled radio frequency isolation chamber. The test found that the iPhone 4, and not the iPhone 3GS or Palm Pre, experienced signal loss when held improperly.

Apple has argued that any mobile phone loses reception when held incorrectly. It has also said that using a case, like the company's own official "bumpers," prevents users from touching the metal band on the exterior of the phone, which doubles as the handset's antennas, and will resolve the issue. Consumer Reports offered its own solution, placing duct tape on the bottom left of the phone.

Apple has also planned a software fix to address the fact that the iPhone 4 reports signal bars incorrectly. However, that software error will not prevent the loss in signal experienced when holding the phone improperly.

The Consumer Reports update gained a great deal of mainstream media publicity. Most recently, the Associated Press filed a report noting that Apple has remained silent on the issue, not responding to requests for comment from the media. The report also spoke with analysts who, like Abramsky, do not believe that the issue will hurt sales in the long run.

Despite the signal issues, Consumer Reports found that Apple's iPhone 4 was the best smartphone available in all other categories, citing an "excellent" display, navigation, Web browsing, multimedia and battery life. The telephone and messaging capabilities were also ranked "very good," while voice quality was "good."