WTK: 4G15GDI CONVERSION TO 4G15DOHC OR 4G92 MIVEC OR ????

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

evil_gdi

WTK: 4G15GDI CONVERSION TO 4G15DOHC OR 4G92 MIVEC OR ????

Postby evil_gdi » May 29th, 2010, 4:33 pm

Getting too much problem with a GDI and the only option that looking good to me is a conversion... I have tried to research the process on this site and I still have questions, so I'm looking for ur help 2nrs...

I have either seen or been told that the 2002 Lancer can be converted to a 4G15DOHC or a 4G92 MIVEC. If anyone could offer their advice on which of the two conversions would be the better option it would be much appreciated....

If you also have info on the cost of these engines that would also be a big help...

thanks for any help here....

any info is good info... really don't want to put in the 4G92 MIVEC and then find out that parts hard to get for that engine or it doesn't last long or something else...... :shock:

SCHOLARS

Re: WTK: 4G15GDI CONVERSION TO 4G15DOHC OR 4G92 MIVEC OR ???

Postby SCHOLARS » June 18th, 2010, 11:26 pm

mivec will perform really well, 4g15 will be great on gas compared to mivec 4g15 parts cheaper and easier to get

evil_gdi

Postby evil_gdi » July 9th, 2010, 1:01 pm

thx for the input..

end up going with the 4g15 dohc and so far so good

one thing if anybody can say with a surety is whether its OK to use the super unleaded or do I have to go with premium unleaded. So far I am only using the premium unleaded but was told I can use the super, however the guy did not sound very sure about his opinion.

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » July 9th, 2010, 9:53 pm

u can try both and compare mileage, fuel consumption and performance.

evil_gdi

Postby evil_gdi » July 10th, 2010, 1:38 pm

heh heh, I guess that means the super won't damage meh engine

I ended up seeing another thread that had the same question and the answer too, so I will try it out cause if the difference is not too big then I might stick with the super unleaded. I could really use the savings..

more questions tho, so if anybody could give an opinion then thanks for the input:

wouldn't the usage of super over time leave more deposits in ur engine and if so would something like the engine restorer I saw in another thread be the thing to clean that up? also I have heard ppl recommend octane booster and others not cause it supposedly also leaves residues in ur engine.. would an occasional use of octane booster be worth it to help if the performance of super is lower than premium?

evil_gdi

Postby evil_gdi » July 21st, 2010, 8:03 pm

so far mileage is reasonable, the GDI had better mileage but the margin is slim.

the lesser cost of the super more than makes up for this:

Fill tank with Premium - $145.00 approx
Fill tank with Super - $103.01 :lol: :lol: :lol:

Performance wise, I cannot detect the difference between premium and super so no comments there

Only complaint so far is that the 4G15 DOHC is a bit noisier than the GDI, but no biggie

roadkill

Postby roadkill » August 30th, 2010, 1:11 am

evil_gdi, when you did the conversion, did you install a high pressure pump or did you use back the low pressure pump in the tank it came with?
i want to know because i did the same install some time ago and i used the low pressure pump only that came intank with the GDI lancer.
i need to know if i'm loosing out on power potential of the engine. thanks

evil_gdi

Postby evil_gdi » August 30th, 2010, 7:49 pm

I used back the original pump that was in the tank..

I wondered about that, cause I sometimes get a lil hesitation and was thinking its either he fuel supply or the air intake.. the engine has an SRI and in my inexperienced opinion I was thinking that where it was positioned did not seem optimal for the air intake for a DOHC engine...

CS3A_GLX

Postby CS3A_GLX » August 31st, 2010, 7:35 am

i have a 4g18 GLX engine n tranny 4 sale if any1 interested. 3000 complete. reason for sale iz becus i'm dropping in a new engine!

roadkill

Postby roadkill » September 1st, 2010, 12:25 am

yep, i get the same problem also while accelerating.
i was gonna try using one from a b14 as these are about 150-$200 used, to see if it would make a difference. i'll let you know of the results when i try it.
also that SRI may actually cause you to burn more fuel and reduce performance. from what i'v heard is that by sucking that hot air to the engine would cause the ECU to inject more fuel to cool the engine causing your engine to run rich.

Try using back the original intake that came with the GDI engine. it might suprise you.

also CS3_GLX wrong forum. but excellent price try the parts section should sell fast.

evil_gdi

Postby evil_gdi » September 1st, 2010, 11:42 pm

CS3A_GLX

bro, why didn't you come with that engine earlier?? :cry:
but what engine are you putting now anyways?

roadkill,

thx for that tip! I wanna see what I can do, but the engine I got (4G15DOHC) came with that bloomin SRI... any info on what it would take to put back the original intake and where I can get the parts?

Cause for a DOHC engine that is 100CC bigger than my previous engine, it does lose power real bad when a/c goin or on a really steep incline! That not making sense!

also, ah cyah find back the intake I had before... :lol:

Return to “MITSUBISHI”