Container Apartments - UWI

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 5th, 2010, 1:33 pm

http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2010 ... lead-story
Container homes for UWI students
...Karim tells UWI to investigate
Shaliza Hassanali
Published: 4 Jul 2010

A line of shipping containers which is under investigation by the University of the West Indies, St Augustine campus. Photo: Dilip Singh
Shaliza Hassanali

The chronic shortage for student accommodation in and around the University of the West Indies (UWI), St Augustine campus has led to one landlord converting freight containers into apartments to house students. This is now the subject of an investigation by UWI’s principal Prof Clement Sankat. The construction of the containers was raised at a public consultation for landlords at UWI on June 26, which was attended by Minister of Science, Technology and Tertiary Education Fazal Karim, St Augustine MP and Legal Affairs Minister Prakash Ramadhar, director of UWI’s Student Advisory Services (SAS) Deirdre Charles, president of UWI’s Student Guild Hillan Morean and Sankat. Karim and Ramadhar immediately acted on the information by visiting the site of the 21 one-bedroom apartments at Bidassie Street following the consultation. However, they were greeted by a locked galvanised gate at the back entrance of the property. From the roadway, the ministers saw the containers stacked on three levels.

$3,000 for an apartment
Last Wednesday, a Sunday Guardian investigation led us to Evans Street, the front entrance of the property, where this reporter was allowed to view the incomplete apartments by a workman. Explaining that the containers were purchased from the port, the worker said the apartments are expected to be completed by years’ end and will cost $3,000 each, electricity included. Each apartment will be tiled, equipped with air-condition, a kitchenette, and offers hot and cold water. Its exterior will be lined with styrotex and plastered with cement to insulate the heat from the steel boxes. For cable tv and Internet, the tenant will have to pay more. There is, however, only one entrance in each container apartment. This reporter was invited to view one of the apartments which was almost complete after she told a workman at the site that she was in search of accommodation for her daughter who would be attending UWI at the start of the new term.

He was a bit skeptical and asked if the reporter was an official from UWI. At the consultation, a man who said he was from the area, brought the matter of the containers which were being prepared for the students to the university’s attention, saying it was a safety risk and hazard. The workman, however, insisted they would be catering for working class people, but if students are interested they can rent. Upon leaving, the workman identified the landlord (a name given), who had just pulled up into the driveway. The man insisted he wanted working people for the apartments. Residents believe the men are making an about turn as the matter has been brought into the open and is now the subject of an investigation.

Karim: It’s worrying, we will act
Karim, speaking at his St James office on Friday, admitted he had instructed SAS, through Sankat, to conduct an investigation on the facility and report to him within one to two weeks. “I am sure the university will investigate and advise us accordingly. As soon as we get the report we will act on it. I can assure you that.” A past student of UWI, Karim stated that a facility like that would not escape the public glare. “People will raise issues seeing a facility like that. When we receive the report from UWI we will make sure that the authorities are advised in this regard.” Karim said SAS would alert new and returning students about the containers. Karim said this was the first time he had seen containers converted into apartments in all the years he had attended UWI.

He confessed the matter was a worrying concern. “This is a new phenomenon which we are going to be looking very closely at.” Karim said he had asked UWI to take leadership in constituting a committee which will have oversight for students’ accommodation. The committee, Karim said, will make up stakeholders from all the relevant authorities, including the students’ guild.

No approval from TPRC
Chairman of the Tunapuna Piarco Regional Corporation (TPRC) Patricia Mejias yesterday said as far as she was aware no approval was granted by the corporation for the construction of these apartments. Mejias promised to have building inspectors visit the site tomorrow to find out if the landlord was granted approval by Town and Country Planning (TCP). She admitted that the landlord could have obtained approval from TCP without their knowledge. If for some reason the landlord did not obtain approval from TCP, the corporation would have to step in and serve him a show cause notice, allowing him an opportunity to present his building plan. Failure to do so, Mejias said, the landlord will be forced to demolish the structure. “If he fails to do that we will have to step in and take action.” Mejias admitted that legislation with regards to building structures needed to be changed.

Contractors Association: Inspection necessary
President of the contractors Association of T&T Mikey Joseph said containers have been used before in construction sites and residences. “Once they are properly assembled, fastened, welded and bolted they should safely house people for a short term.” If the containers are used for long term, Joseph said, it must be inspected, renovated and reinforced. However, Joseph noted that using containers for dwelling will require approval.

Professionals engineers: One entrance will be risky
Richard Saunders, president of the Association of Professional Engineers, said if the container has one entrance this could pose as a problem for the occupants should a fire break out. Saunders said if the containers were cut and were not properly reinforced, this could compromise its structural integrity. “It can cause damage in an earthquake. But it all depend on how it was done.”

Re: Container Apartments - UWI

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 5th, 2010, 1:34 pm

comments?

I am at a loss for words. The man is either a total genius or a total jackass, depending on where you're standing :lol

zcarz

Postby zcarz » July 5th, 2010, 1:52 pm

it comes with children?

Postby RASC » July 5th, 2010, 1:56 pm

We Will Rise!

rmlmv

Postby rmlmv » July 5th, 2010, 1:56 pm

Well... we don't know the final product. As long as he makes it sturdy, safe and comfortable... which would mean a lot of work... why not?

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » July 5th, 2010, 1:57 pm

I see nothing wrong with this, Asia and Europe have bee doing this for years. Once done right it shouldn't be a problem

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 5th, 2010, 2:01 pm

RASC wrote:We Will Rise!

Work started pre-may 24th 2010. 8-)

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » July 5th, 2010, 2:03 pm

^^^^ its called foresight!! :lol:

drop ho

Postby drop ho » July 5th, 2010, 2:06 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

LOL!!!! :pwned:

Postby cinco » July 5th, 2010, 2:07 pm

hmm imagine how loud a uwi beat out go sound echoin in there

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » July 5th, 2010, 2:16 pm

TriniVdub wrote:I see nothing wrong with this, Asia and Europe have bee doing this for years. Once done right it shouldn't be a problem

Therein lies the problem.
Is Trinidadians we talking bout here!

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » July 5th, 2010, 2:19 pm

cinco wrote:hmm imagine how loud a uwi beat out go sound echoin in there

BWAHAHAHAHA!!!
**cough cough**wheeze**

Postby foss » July 5th, 2010, 2:19 pm

all that talk about furnishing and not one mention about toilet facilities?
madness if they plan to build bathrooms for the renting occupant to share!

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 5th, 2010, 2:30 pm

drop ho wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

LOL!!!! :pwned:

wow :|

Postby Greypatch » July 5th, 2010, 2:30 pm

we need more pics...

send the rott to investigate

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 5th, 2010, 2:32 pm

*Idea*

Invite a few hot Beti's to "container party" then lock dey kant in container and truck dem down to port.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » July 5th, 2010, 2:34 pm

^^And then what?

triniangie

Postby triniangie » July 5th, 2010, 2:35 pm

SBCS been using these as classrooms for a while now -_-

Postby noshownogo » July 5th, 2010, 2:36 pm

pioneer wrote:who cares...fling de sh1t in de neighbour yard

^^ :rofl: the above comment making it sound like Emperor Valley Zoo's newest cages for apes...

Postby Sky » July 5th, 2010, 2:36 pm

UGH! UGH! UGH! UGH! UGH!

YES! YES! YES! YES! YES!

GIMMEH! GIMMEH! GIMMEH! GIMMEH! GIMMEH!

Something like that I suppose. Not too pleasant for the other tenants.

Postby noshownogo » July 5th, 2010, 2:38 pm

btw ah hear certain tuners on a call back list waiting for gubberment funding to live in those, ain't calling no names.

drop ho

Postby drop ho » July 5th, 2010, 2:42 pm

Sky wrote:

UGH! UGH! UGH! UGH! UGH!

YES! YES! YES! YES! YES!

GIMMEH! GIMMEH! GIMMEH! GIMMEH! GIMMEH!

Something like that I suppose. Not too pleasant for the other tenants.

Postby buzz » July 5th, 2010, 2:48 pm

whey

i gettin meh keys just now :?

haters :fist:

Postby buzz » July 5th, 2010, 2:49 pm

btw ent dey wanted to make prisons out of containers ah while back ?

whose idea was that ?

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 5th, 2010, 2:50 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:^^And then what?

wah yuh mean "then what"? Ship dey arse out to south america so they could start "wokin" to pay back the freight money :roll:

Postby Country_Bookie » July 5th, 2010, 3:08 pm

Wait nah…..is $3,000 he want to rent there? He can’t be serious, that’s way overpriced.

Postby Razkal » July 5th, 2010, 3:20 pm

^take a pass through and see the madness yourself nah lol....it even more abnormal looking that you'd first think....i swore they were making some sort of storage warehouse or something....never thought it would be living quarters...

i wonder if i rent one there might still be JDM wheels inside...or a strut bar self..

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 5th, 2010, 3:22 pm

hmmm once these things are outfitted properly, they can be very comfortable....our site office at petrotrin is made up of a few of these containers and outfitted with everything u need....

Postby Chimera » July 5th, 2010, 3:30 pm

genius.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » July 5th, 2010, 3:38 pm

BRILLIANT JUS FLIPPING BRILLIANT