Mr Gear wrote:I think that after that fiasco of a meeting I have earned to right to bash forever and without relenting TTASA and any and everybody now or in the past have ever been associated with it and continue to want to run it.
Bunch ah scamps.
I will say this also. As long as TTASA is associated with Motorsports in T&T I will work against their existence even if it means that this Government turns its back on Motorsports in T&T. We will wait on another Government that will get rid of TTASA.
If TTASA wont go away peacefully there will be no Motorsports for them to govern.
kes_vtec wrote:Now i been very young in motor-sports, the one thing i don't understand, you there is so must "mis-trust", hate and plain disrespect for TTASA, why not join them, and simply vote them out. if at the end of the day, TTASA, is just a name that has "bad' ppl running it, if it is that they are just a set of "old guys" and need to be replaced by some "younger" heads, why don't the younger heads join and vote them out. If it is the the "body" TTASA does have "links" like FIA and all these other things, why reinvent the wheel, again, TAKE IT OVER, we did it to PNM i am sure we can do it to TTASA.
speed demon wrote:Mr. Amar while having made valid points and at time showed his savvy as a speaker/politician/manipulator........... had his points over shadowed by the forceful almost bullying manner of his approach to the crowd. While he belied him self to have been most engaging his methods and other statements where not especially the "put yuh money where yuh mouth is talk".
talking
"i have a $100,000 i can put forward how may of you here have that to put"
gt-foure wrote:and apparently feel is lil escort and cortina we still racing ...
speed demon wrote:
my small suggestion is that
Each group have their own established organisation.
Each group will nominate one or two members to sit on the board of ttasa.
Theses places on the board are guaranteed as it will mean satisfying representation from all and therefore input and consensus from all.
Specific rolls will be distributed at the board level, eliminating the votership politics at ttasa and sending it to the individual groups. When a group nominates said individuals they represent the interests of the entire group.
speed demon wrote:This board, for transparency will be chaired by someone that is not in motor sport.
speed demon wrote:ok forgive my igorance regarding MATT and its initiatives but it is borne of not being incuded.
I am a member of the drifting fraternity, but we havnt been included in these talks, we would like to be.
There has been communication but not on the serious level and again we would like this to change. We see ourselves as a representing body for this new genre and seek to have it considered and included in all plans regarding the future of motorsport in TnT.
speed demon wrote:Organisationally i appreciate the points you make regarding the affiliations which TTASA maintain and the progress that MATT has been able to achieve for the various groups and again we would like to be part of it. As far as appreciating the needs and the passion, thats the job of the other board members in informing the chairman accordingly. A board serves to create policy and set the tone and direction of an organisation. Many boards have a chairman not directly related to the specifc industry for more reasons than i have given. Therefore a chairman who is not associated with the other interests groups upon the board will not be biased or viewed as such, he is there to guide in as sterile a manner as posible the group discussions and various policy directions which emerge.
This then is the reasoning for a non - motor sport oriented chairman.
As far as the chairman position, the idea is to elimnate any feeling of a chairman that is associated with a particular group who has been given this position, making decisions that will favour his group.
speed demon wrote:ok i got there at about 6:45pm. and was wondering what is the real arrangement for this meeting as certain set ups u usually see that will allow for a forum including a minister was not in place. therefore suspicion arose. At Seven very small crowd present most people were late, no announcement made by the hosts regarding the situation. Nice dvd's held my attention mean while.
At around 8 a lady took to the stage, no introduction, minimal welcoming remarks and proceeded to lay a foundation for the speakers to come (specifically jameer and amar, basicallly telling what these guys have done in the past.
I attended the meeting expecting to get an update on the current feasibility of re-establishing wallerfield for long/short term uses by the motor sport enthusiasts of trinidad and tobago. Instead Mr. Jameer Ali does, at best an entry level presentation on a concept for developing a motor sport park and arena in this country wild numbers like parking for 10,000 and seating for 7,000. While ok it can be said that is where me may hope to be in say 25 - 50 yrs it should have been the last item for the night not the first. Mr. Ali after his shaky presentation then proceeds to give an even shakier speech regarding the current state of the industry and its problems, while reinforcing all that he has done and his close links with the minister. Pointing out that he was instrumental in getting his attention on the matter both before and after elections with a realization of some level of success as the minister made a visit to wallerfield a priority within his first week in office.
i viewed this speech as a political pitch, a bid to establish himself and credibility to the industry at large with the intention that he will have the support of said industry when he makes a bid for the leadership of ttasa.
I feel deceived as there was an announced agenda and what was presented is a covertly injected agenda where in my mind ali and amar sit down and say we go wow dem with this and show our forward thinking and initiative ................they shall be with us!!!!!!!!!
No fellas it doh work so.............as a speaker said d crowd have intelligent people in it and yuh hadda follow better process than that.
Mr. Amar while having made valid points and at time showed his savvy as a speaker/politician/manipulator........... had his points over shadowed by the forceful almost bullying manner of his approach to the crowd. While he belied him self to have been most engaging his methods and other statements where not especially the "put yuh money where yuh mouth is talk".
talking
"i have a $100,000 i can put forward how may of you here have that to put"
then Boodram stand up and talk and echo similar sentiments and missed a few anlogies put forward by the speaker at the time eeesh.........
So Amar continues and manages to incite the ire of members of the crowd, in there frustration they miss when he says that drag racing should be the first to be developed, and for very valid reasons too. The suggested time line also makes sense as stretching it out over the time the government is in power makes sense.
Beyond this the meeting started to de-generate and i left at about 9, cant say if anybody get bite afterward or any other violoence was produced.
So i feel everybody feel that they dont have adequate representation at the leadership table of ttasa, they do not trust ttasa and are of the feeling that the existing leadership should be ousted.
my small suggestion is that
Each group have their own established organisation.
Each group will nominate one or two members to sit on the board of ttasa.
Theses places on the board are guaranteed as it will mean satisfying representation from all and therefore input and consensus from all.
Specific rolls will be distributed at the board level, eliminating the votership politics at ttasa and sending it to the individual groups. When a group nominates said individuals they represent the interests of the entire group.
This board, for transparency will be chaired by someone that is not in motor sport.
das all for now work calls feel free to add and criticize anything fellas............out and bad!!!
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:speed demon wrote:ok forgive my igorance regarding MATT and its initiatives but it is borne of not being incuded.
I am a member of the drifting fraternity, but we havnt been included in these talks, we would like to be.
There has been communication but not on the serious level and again we would like this to change. We see ourselves as a representing body for this new genre and seek to have it considered and included in all plans regarding the future of motorsport in TnT.
but MATT and TTASA have been in contact with the drift clubs.
As far as I know there are two drift clubs in T&T: DWO and Slide Syndicate, both of whom I know have already had discussions with MATT to join. Any properly registered club can join.
Is there a 3rd drift club that you are part of?speed demon wrote:Organisationally i appreciate the points you make regarding the affiliations which TTASA maintain and the progress that MATT has been able to achieve for the various groups and again we would like to be part of it. As far as appreciating the needs and the passion, thats the job of the other board members in informing the chairman accordingly. A board serves to create policy and set the tone and direction of an organisation. Many boards have a chairman not directly related to the specifc industry for more reasons than i have given. Therefore a chairman who is not associated with the other interests groups upon the board will not be biased or viewed as such, he is there to guide in as sterile a manner as posible the group discussions and various policy directions which emerge.
This then is the reasoning for a non - motor sport oriented chairman.
As far as the chairman position, the idea is to elimnate any feeling of a chairman that is associated with a particular group who has been given this position, making decisions that will favour his group.
point noted. There has been no internal conflict with MATT as far as I know with their current structure and ALL members have motorsport interests. MATT started as TTUMRA in 2005, the name change actually came about because of a request from TTASA for TTUMRA to change their name. The structure however has always been the same and has proven to be a proper working one, except that they are not the NSO and they are not the FIA/NACAM representatives.
MATT's member clubs have successfully been running their own championship events since 2005 and even before and successfully gotten support and subvention from the Ministry for numerous events. MSYA was a major sponsor of TTRC Rally Trinidad 2010 and it was perhaps the biggest motorsport event in T&T for the decade! TTRC is a member of MATT and the TTRC president is the voted VP of MATT by MATT members. It works well.
speed demon wrote:
No no i am a member of DWO and i said before that there had been communication but not on a serious level as the contact person at the time failed to communicate effectively the intention of MATT. We were later not invited to any further discussions and this is what we would like to change.
Congrats on the working org structure but that is for now, as growth always needs change and in time such will be the case.
Return to “The "NEW Race Track" Issue”