digi vs bmobile

Postby foss » June 19th, 2010, 4:49 pm

between digi and bmobile.. who have the better plans for BB unlimited internet and who is better in terms of service and reliability? (in terms of BlackBerry Service)

Note: already with bmobile but getting a digi for work.
Note: if I am going BB I intend to go unlimited.

Now, here is the catch (no hottgyul.. not that type)

I was thinking about getting the curve from digi (from work) and just paying the $300 unlimited a month.
However, I don't particularly want to have the work phone on me at all times (then the BB service won't make much sense) Heard digi BB service works better than bmobile :S
not sure if that is possible.

I was also thinking if I can get a phone from bmobile and just throw my sim in and activate the BB service (which online shows is $200 monthly)

So its a difference of $100 between the two.

All in all, I am just looking for best value for dollar.

What do yall suggest?
Thanks for reading 8-)

Re: digi vs bmobile

Postby Cjruckus » June 19th, 2010, 4:49 pm

seriously... again?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 19th, 2010, 5:06 pm

Digicel FTW

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » June 19th, 2010, 6:44 pm

BB FTL

why would anyone willingly want a BB? :|

:arrow:

Postby Trini Hookah » June 19th, 2010, 6:46 pm

original_lollybob wrote:BB FTL

why would anyone willingly want a BB? :|

:arrow:

yuh ain't big till yuh gotz a BB yo

apparently i ain't big :(

Postby mitsu_chick941 » June 19th, 2010, 6:59 pm

foss wrote:

Now, here is the catch (no hottgyul.. not that type

yunno i get excited when you talk about your catch :|

btw i tell you already, dont call me...i'll call you

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 19th, 2010, 7:31 pm

Have the Digi and Bmobile and on a side by side comparison the digi service D/L more than twice as fast as the Bmobile for the same app on 8520's

When connected to a pc, there were significantly more timeouts on the Bmobile. Digi never timed out but topped out at 140kbps.

Postby foss » June 19th, 2010, 8:20 pm

^ thanks!

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » June 19th, 2010, 8:47 pm

this topic again? go with a plan that is more cost effective and reliable, digicel plans not to bad...

Postby foss » June 19th, 2010, 9:30 pm

^:S

who is better in terms of service and reliability wrt to BB Service

Postby Damien » June 19th, 2010, 9:45 pm

have both corporate $290 per mth digicel $190 for the unlimited internet package and $100 calls package, got a free bold 9000 too

b mobile my bill is average $150/ mth mostly used peak hours

i will be making the b mobile prepaid very soon, digicel ftw

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » June 19th, 2010, 9:46 pm

digicel!

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » June 19th, 2010, 10:15 pm

BB sux!

Kish

Postby Kish » June 19th, 2010, 10:57 pm

if you can get an unlimited data plan then i suggest you go android. bb has too many points of failures and pple always complaining. i use android on my htc g1 and exchange email works perfect. and i doh really care about bbim so, android ftmfw.

TechLing

Postby TechLing » June 20th, 2010, 12:20 am

bmobile's unlimited package is just for show.. atm, they can't keep track of your net usage. if you were to call and query about your balance, they'll explain that. so you can take the $99 option. i'm not sure how long again until they do implement it though..

Postby bushwakka » June 20th, 2010, 12:49 pm

bmobile service is terrible....dropped calls, periods of silence....

Skyline_babe

Postby Skyline_babe » June 20th, 2010, 12:57 pm

i think digi because their ad's have hotter girls

Postby Sinister_Audio » June 20th, 2010, 1:12 pm

Skyline_babe wrote:i think digi because their ad's have hotter girls

ass

btw i think im goin with the digi bb also

i've also heard that ever since the dam was broken with the $500 bb 'giveaway' having the opportunity for alll...and i mean ALLL the individuals of trinidad, to be on the bb service... it SIGNIFICANTLY congested the service causing DEADLY slow response rates.

and i've used the digi service and it is significantly more responsive and faster.

:oops: my noob cents.

Postby tr1ad » June 21st, 2010, 8:34 am

stayinthe_studio wrote:bmobile's unlimited package is just for show.. atm, they can't keep track of your net usage. if you were to call and query about your balance, they'll explain that. so you can take the $99 option. i'm not sure how long again until they do implement it though..

so you saying they can't keep track of data usage for phones, however can track the data usage on your blink to go...

right :roll:

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » June 21st, 2010, 8:42 am

digi wins

fatts

Postby fatts » June 21st, 2010, 1:35 pm

b mobile edge sucks

droppa

Postby droppa » June 21st, 2010, 2:15 pm

for real dawg, bb on b mobile is real tutts, slow and real time outs, u cant log on to trinituner, i cant get google maps, while my bro can with his digi curve....

i have the $200 plan plus the $99 internet plan, and with all my cals my avg mthly bill is bout $$350, u are billed for the my lime calls, that is not deducted from your mthly plan, so i having huge rollovers........

Smokey

Postby Smokey » June 21st, 2010, 6:24 pm

do not even think about using a BB with bmobile. It seems their BB service has emails and Blackberry Messenges on high priority, but internet traffic on low priority.

As such, surfing the net on EDGE is almost unusable....more 75% the connection would timeout after 2 minutes. When a page loads, it's the exception rather than the norm.

As for regular, EDGE service on a non BB phone, it's better, but not significantly better.

Digicel on the other hand has hands down the best BB and EDGE service I've used on 2G networks, far better than AT&T and other networks I've used in the caribbean and europe.

Response times and average download speeds are very good typically over 100kps, so it's very usable on BB or other EDGE phones.

Voice quality, dropped calls and network busy errors are far far more frequent on bmobile, sometimes I have dial like 10 times or more before getting through on Bmobile.

Digicel on the other hand is almost always flawless....

So in my analysis.

Bmobile
BB Services (push email & bb messenger): B+
Internet Experience: D-
Voice Quality & Dropped Calls: F
Network Busy Errors: C+

Digicel
BB Services (push email & bb messenger): A+
Internet Experience: B+
Voice Quality & Dropped Calls: B+
Network Busy Errors: A

*Nebula*

Postby *Nebula* » June 21st, 2010, 7:08 pm

It is so good to have another network, digicel plans are very good and as long as you maintain your bills and manage your account properly you should be good to go...

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » June 22nd, 2010, 7:55 am

very good analysis Smokey...

and very good avatar too....

Postby 16 cycles » June 22nd, 2010, 8:10 am

there was a time when tstt had the monopoly on mobiles. You had to pay for incoming calls and outgoing calls were 3TT / min.

back to the discussion...

Postby SUPAstarr » June 22nd, 2010, 8:30 am

tr1ad wrote:
stayinthe_studio wrote:bmobile's unlimited package is just for show.. atm, they can't keep track of your net usage. if you were to call and query about your balance, they'll explain that. so you can take the $99 option. i'm not sure how long again until they do implement it though..

so you saying they can't keep track of data usage for phones, however can track the data usage on your blink to go...

right :roll:

yunno, every month i call digicel for the average data usage of a couple random data sims that we have, they can tell us the individual usage and group average for sims on our APN. So if allyuh really feel they cant tell.....

brickman

Postby brickman » June 22nd, 2010, 9:50 am

It have anybody here who gets good bmobile EDGE service here or is just me?I had the service since it they started it with MZONE & passed through many phones & discovered that a windows mobile hacked to use the 850 band is the best.Getting 123 kbps.
Just my expreience.

apple109

Postby apple109 » June 22nd, 2010, 11:37 am

DIGICEL ALL D WAY, free phones if u on a cooperate plan, so dont let employers outsmart you.

Skyline_babe

Postby Skyline_babe » June 22nd, 2010, 1:13 pm

Smokey wrote:do not even think about using a BB with bmobile. It seems their BB service has emails and Blackberry Messenges on high priority, but internet traffic on low priority.

Bmobile
BB Services (push email & bb messenger): B+
Internet Experience: D-
Voice Quality & Dropped Calls: F
Network Busy Errors: C+

correct you are...bb and bmobile would be classed as NEGATIVE..im seriously considering switching to digi...the BB service is too painful to use...argh.