new FLOW BROADBAND package..JULY 30th (100mbit)

Re: new FLOW BROADBAND package..JULY 13th (100mbit)

Postby wagonrunner » June 15th, 2010, 12:06 am

foss wrote:if i go through a day without having to reset my router i do good.
some days, 5/7 times a day i have to reset router. constant fret!

and the TV not that better either, keep have parts of shows without sound, scratchy looking picture, etc.

HATE it

what are you referring to by "router"?

Chiney

Re: new FLOW BROADBAND package..JULY 15th (100mbit)

Postby Chiney » June 15th, 2010, 12:13 am

^^ ditto

Postby teems1 » June 15th, 2010, 9:28 am

the connection to FLOW is fairly decent, could count the number of times it stopped working.

my biggest grouse is what i am paying for, i do not get.

the speedtest to the local server in POS shows the 10mb down and 1mb up, but a test to any server outside trinidad is horrible.

during peak times it drops to 1-3mb down and 0.5mb up.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » June 15th, 2010, 9:42 am

I've had the flow internet for a lil over a year now, only had one drop connection within that time :?

When testing on speedtest etc i test to outside TnT, doh make sense testing within because it's just like doing a speed test on a WAN IMO, one big loop. :\

Postby foss » June 15th, 2010, 10:04 am

foss wrote:if i go through a day without having to reset my router i do good.
some days, 5/7 times a day i have to reset router. constant fret!

and the TV not that better either, keep have parts of shows without sound, scratchy looking picture, etc.

HATE it

what are you referring to by "router"?

mean't the modem they supply you. what I do is unplug the router and reset the modem (this is done quite a few times on occasion)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 15th, 2010, 10:41 am

^^ i do that every other day for refresh and device reboot sake

but u have it bad

streaming porn must be a beyotch for u yes.. hard lux

Postby foss » June 15th, 2010, 10:59 am

Chiney wrote:^^ i do that every other day for refresh and device reboot sake

but u have it bad

it tends to work better at night :|

Postby Rainman » June 15th, 2010, 11:17 am

foss wrote:
Chiney wrote:^^ i do that every other day for refresh and device reboot sake

but u have it bad

it tends to work better at night :|

denser air, more oxygen, modem breathes better. When last you feed it?

Postby M_2NR » June 15th, 2010, 4:54 pm

strange though, these mornings i am getting up early and i HAVE to reset my modem. if i dont, no access. It says i have an IP, etc. but no connection. And i'm not changing IP's anymore. I think i'll bust a flush at some point.

No wonder my links would time out when i check them later in the day.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » June 15th, 2010, 5:00 pm

still waiting to see the increase...

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » June 15th, 2010, 5:03 pm

rainman wrote:
Soundwave wrote:more wedding money gone...

hahahahahahaha wait.....what?

1shotgunwedding

Postby wagonrunner » June 15th, 2010, 5:21 pm

foss wrote:mean't the modem they supply you. what I do is unplug the router and reset the modem (this is done quite a few times on occasion)

if you reset the router alone? same problem?
1) take out the battery from the modem. makes resetting it simpler. ( in the extremely rare instances i've had to.)
2) is your router a WRT54G v5-6?
if it is. DD-WRT is your friend.
Most routers benefit from the over-clocking (allows it to cope with the modem, as long as it's kept cool). And the configuration is an improvement.
Another great one is Tomato. but is not as supported.

the last time either of mine reset was during a power outage.
Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp1 (07/27/08) micro
Time: 18:20:02 up 11 days, 21:34,

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » June 15th, 2010, 6:14 pm

same info but with more graphics :|

Postby M_2NR » June 15th, 2010, 7:53 pm

foss wrote:mean't the modem they supply you. what I do is unplug the router and reset the modem (this is done quite a few times on occasion)

1) take out the battery from the modem. makes resetting it simpler. ( in the extremely rare instances i've had to.)
Most routers benefit from the over-clocking (allows it to cope with the modem, as long as it's kept cool). And the configuration is an improvement.

DDWRT is facking win. got that on my two. Thing is i had to reset often too. :(

Postby redmanjp » June 16th, 2010, 3:22 am

tstt wont be able to compete with this at all!!
ADSL2+ maxes out at 24mb/s

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asymmetric ... riber_Line

and thats assuming u living next to the exchange!

http://www.internode.on.net/residential ... rformance/

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » June 16th, 2010, 5:54 pm

redmanjp wrote:tstt wont be able to compete with this at all!!
ADSL2+ maxes out at 24mb/s

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asymmetric ... riber_Line

and thats assuming u living next to the exchange!

http://www.internode.on.net/residential ... rformance/

They're only option is FTTH or FTTC, but this may take awhile to cover the country, lets see which areas get GPON first.

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » June 16th, 2010, 10:07 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:100Mbps
you can download the WHOLE internet all at once lol

"Sigbritt Löthberg's home has been supplied with a blistering 40 Gigabits per second connection, many thousands of times faster than the average residential link and the first time ever that a home user has experienced such a high speed.

But Sigbritt, who had never had a computer until now, is no ordinary 75 year old. She is the mother of Swedish internet legend Peter Löthberg who, along with Karlstad Stadsnät, the local council's network arm, has arranged the connection.

Sigbritt will now be able to enjoy 1,500 high definition HDTV channels simultaneously. Or, if there is nothing worth watching there, she will be able to download a full high definition DVD in just two seconds.

Postby redmanjp » June 16th, 2010, 10:21 pm

N3M3SIS wrote:

"Sigbritt Löthberg's home has been supplied with a blistering 40 Gigabits per second connection, many thousands of times faster than the average residential link and the first time ever that a home user has experienced such a high speed.

But Sigbritt, who had never had a computer until now, is no ordinary 75 year old. She is the mother of Swedish internet legend Peter Löthberg who, along with Karlstad Stadsnät, the local council's network arm, has arranged the connection.

Sigbritt will now be able to enjoy 1,500 high definition HDTV channels simultaneously. Or, if there is nothing worth watching there, she will be able to download a full high definition DVD in just two seconds.

her computer network connection would itself have to be upgraded to say 100GB/s to allow for that

anyway i guess trinidad finally reach wit dat 100mb/s- d ting is right now my 2mb/s performing like 256k/s !! :D
so leh we see if they could handle that 100mb

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 16th, 2010, 10:35 pm

^^ the connection to her house also brings in the HD channels.. ALOT too !!

so the bandwidth to her PC wont really be all dat eh

Postby Stephon. » June 28th, 2010, 7:38 pm

1motorola modem

Postby Stephon. » June 28th, 2010, 7:40 pm

N3M3SIS wrote:

That's not possible. Hardware haven't reached that far yet. (the downloading blurays in 2sec thing) 1hdd crash

Postby redmanjp » June 29th, 2010, 3:28 pm

HEY FLOW CHANGE THEY MIND ON THOSE NEW SPEEDS OR WHAT??

not seeing any of the new promos about the new packages :(

http://www.flowtrinidad.com/productsser ... fault.aspx

achillies

Postby achillies » June 29th, 2010, 8:48 pm

To reset a flow modem all u have to do is hold the reset button down for at least 10 seconds, removing the battery is not necessary to reset the modem

Postby M_2NR » July 3rd, 2010, 10:30 pm

i think they testing out sumn.. watch the upload speed... :shock:

:)

Postby redmanjp » July 4th, 2010, 12:43 am

might be a fluke- few days ago i got 3mb/s down but repeated and got my normal 2 mb/s

try it again

Postby M_2NR » July 4th, 2010, 1:25 am

lol @ fluke

and i just uploaded a IPSW on MU, see the speed:
viewtopic.php?p=4626821#p4626821

I noticed it when i was FTP'n to a site and i saw up to 99kB/s.

I should have not said anything ent. I bet tmrw this will go back to 256kbit :(

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » July 6th, 2010, 6:55 pm

on the 15th would the effect be immediate?

Postby M_2NR » July 6th, 2010, 8:08 pm

fawkers trottle it down

:x

Postby redmanjp » July 6th, 2010, 9:29 pm

^^ so it was a one night fluke then :lol:

I just hope they still doin d upgrade and that their upstream bandwidth (coming from overseas) as well as their nodes can handle peak time usage come July 15th

Postby M_2NR » July 6th, 2010, 9:53 pm

i say those who paying for 100Mbit will NEVER see anywhere near it in peak hours, until they fix it. Unless they will fix it after the 15th then. People on 10mbit still getting 1mbit net during the day :(

I wish we get upstream upgrade yes