-buzz

Re: Nikon D3000 Reviews anyone ?

Postby M_2NR » June 9th, 2010, 6:48 pm

viewtopic.php?p=4055514#p4055514

thanks to the phototakerouters ched and the search function with threads
8)

(and thanks Duane and bez for that epic addition)

Postby buzz » June 9th, 2010, 7:28 pm

lol thx i'm doing a lil reading there

but was hoping for a quicker/ simpler review

all that technical photo jibba jabba up in there makin me dizzy :?

Postby tr1ad » June 9th, 2010, 8:27 pm

its like a basic dslr... it even asks you if you want to shoot motion etc, as a beginner it may suit your purpose

http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d3000.htm

team loco has a basically brand new one for sale

Postby buzz » June 9th, 2010, 9:30 pm

i see

well the person is a beginner but would prefer to get something a lil better i suppose

so what y'all suggest D40 ?

budget - $500 USD

Postby tr1ad » June 9th, 2010, 10:10 pm

yea D40x is a good one

Postby M_2NR » June 9th, 2010, 10:16 pm

ohh not for u :P

scene. GL.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » June 9th, 2010, 10:18 pm

buy it

Postby pugboy » June 9th, 2010, 10:30 pm

waste of time, a friend of mine has one.
very watered down dslr and its rather slow to focus and do everything.
takes a couple seconds well after a shot before it comes up on the screen.

almost everything has to be done via the lcd screen which is also slow to navigate.
my 2005 D50 is way faster, pics come up instantly on the screen after a shot
and the important settings a just a button press on one side and dial turn on the other side.
high megapixels, 100 point focus and all them bells/whistles are for the marketing and measurbator folks.

d3000 is probably equivalent to the canon xti and other watered down slow versions.
d40 or d40x might be a better deal

kaptainkermit

Postby kaptainkermit » June 10th, 2010, 12:40 am

buzz wrote:lol thx i'm doing a lil reading there

but was hoping for a quicker/ simpler review

all that technical photo jibba jabba up in there makin me dizzy :?

The D3000 is a good camera for absolute beginners to the DSLR world - as was the D40 when it first came out in early 2006.

Both have easy to use controls, easy to navigate menu's and user-modes that will do most of the heavy lifting for you (macro/sports/night/etc) along with the usual PASM modes.

Which is why I got a D40 back in 2007 (along with other factors like price, ergonomics, etc) over a Canon XTi.

Having said that, I found that I outgrew my D40 within a year, or closer to 9-10 months after getting it. I had gotten a package deal on www.amazon.com - Nikon D40 Body, 18-55mm AF-S DX f/3.5-5.6 kit lens, lens filter kit (52mm Tokin UV filter/Warming Filter/Polarizing Filter) and a spare En-EL6 battery for approx $475 USD. I used to shoot with Canon P&S, previously used the SD-400 slim-style pocket camera.

After using the D40 for about 10,000 shots (I brought the thing EVERYWHERE I went), I found that my requirements outgrew what the camera had to offer. The kit lens and 6mp sensor gave me EXCELLENT images (trust me, that 18-55mm kit lens is the best kit lens ever, VERY SHARP, only surpassed by the 18-55 VR version), but I found that the controls were lacking. It took forever for me to dig through the menus to find my settings, and I wanted a larger, more rugged body (since I brought the camera fricking EVERYWHERE while on a long-stay in the UK).

Here's a pic taken at a Rituals, using the D40 and 18-55 kit lens:
the 18-55 kit lens is a sleeper, a surprisingly good lens

Another pic with the D40 and 18-55 kit lens
Strobist Info: Nikon D40 | 18-55mm lens | SB-400 on-camera, bounced off white ceiling

And this is what you can do with a Nikon D40 (and yes, a D3000 too) if you add in a bit of self-education, two speedlights, some cheap e-bay wireless flash-triggers, some perfume and some DIY-ingenuity:

and this is the setup shot:
(i put the puppy-dog instead of the bottles, cuz they didn't show up too well from far away - the white light burnt them out with highlights)

Now, this was my experience with the D40. Since then the D40X and D60 haven't deviated much from the formula. With the D3000, the apple didn't fall far from the tree. The ergonomics are pretty much the same, the controls are the same. All-in-all, you'll find yourself amazed and wowed at the pictures you'll get from it (a big jump in quality from a puny P&S) for the first few months. After that, you'll find... something is lacking. You'll end up wanting more from your camera, more performance, more buttons, etc. Or the other part of the dark side - more lenses!!!

Bottom line: the D3000 is a good first-time camera for absolute beginners, like I said. If you're anything of a techie person, you like gadgets, etc., you'll need something more sustainable. Save your hard-earned cash, and get a D90 or a used D300. There's a bit more of a learning curve involved, but you'll probably end up keeping that body for much longer. The D90 and D200 have more buttons with more features laid out all over the body, more than the D40/40x/60 and even D3000/D5000 - you'll learn to use them eventually. And if you buy a used body with less than 10,000 shutter clicks (the D90 lifetime is rated at 50,000 clicks and the D200/300 and up are rated at 150,000 clicks), you'll save a lot of money and spend it on what really matters - LENSES.

Oh btw, I gave the D40 to my younger bro, who got himself a 55-200mm f/3.5-5.6 VR lens, and went on to win "Best Portrait" and "Best In Show" in our university annual photo competition.
The D40 still alive and kicking.

I went and got myself a used Nikon D200 with the MBD200 battery grip.
(saved a LOT of money over buying a new body)

Trust me bro, save your money and invest in something you'll keep for longer. D90/D300... or if you really wanna jump into full-frame, D700 or D3/D3x.

Here's some good reading from one of my favourite photography sites for reviews:
- http://www.photozone.de/dslr_reviews/440_nikon_D5000
- http://www.photozone.de/dslr_reviews/409_nikon_d90

(this is a very good site for DSLR reviews - be sure to check out their youtube site for accompanying videos)
- http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Nikon_D3000/
- http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Nikon_D5000/
- http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Nikon_D90/

- http://digital-photography-school.com/n ... slr-review

Postby Sinister_Audio » June 10th, 2010, 1:35 am

^ BOOM de man say

Postby Monk BANzai » June 10th, 2010, 2:14 am

yu cud have teh best kit...its all up to the user man.....i had a D3000 earlier this yr.....nice point n shoot, great entry level machine....doh take on all the phototakeouters comments.....Kyaptain kermit makes some godo points though....cuz once yu get accustomed to the 3000..yu wil lwant more...i moved on to the Pentax K20 simply becuz i LOVE Pentax lenses...sharpest out there right now...

looking at a D70 though.....

shot taken with my D3000

Postby buzz » June 10th, 2010, 8:01 am

Thx a mill for the feedback guys

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 10th, 2010, 8:23 am

It is not the sword, but the wielder of it. You can make amazing images with a D3000 which is on the same level as a D40 IMO. Is the user a beginner and new to this stuff? What is their budget like and will they be buying more glass? What will be the main uses for this camera?
These are the questions you should be asking, not if the camera is any good. In a nutshell, 99% of cameras today are better than 99% of the people who use them.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 10th, 2010, 8:37 am

i would opt for the Nikon D 5000, it carrys the same sensor as the infamous D90, except it also has the swivel LCD.

the only thing is that it has no internal motor, so what ever lens you buy must have built in motors for auto focusing!

but more and more lens companies are making them with internal motors anyways!

Postby buzz » June 10th, 2010, 8:41 am

i see

Jimbo, the person is a beginner, budget - $500 USD

Postby RBphoto » June 10th, 2010, 3:38 pm

D3000 is shite. Everything I read about it and the way it handled the two times I had my hands on one, my D40 was better, and the D40 is a POS, but at least is is easy to use, fast operation and nice 1/500s flash synch speed (which lets you use fill flash in direct sunlight). The D40/ D40X is out of date now, no longer manufactured, so not an option.

I would forget any nikon of lesser cabibre than the D5000. The newer nikons (D5000 up) correct for fringing, distortion and dynamic range adjustment all in the camera software, instead of having to shoot in raw and fidle with the file in photoshop to get the same results. Evo, all the modern lenses have internal motors, and since the person buying this might only buy DX lenses, it is not a problem really.

The D90 body is really great, but the extra external buttons, controls and ports on it's body will only be missed by a seasoned user, not a beginner, so the D5000 is the better buy. I have shot with the D5000 and it is definitely worth the money.

Here is a link to a refurbished unit http://www.adorama.com/INKD5000RD.html

Might save you some money.

Other things that I bought with my D40 that you might consider that the person should cater for in their budget (Besides the camera body and the kit lens it came with):
1) One additional battery for camera. A must.
2) Circular polarizing filter. Read up on it..it is a must for making your skies blue and pop. The only creative filter you will need for your lens collection as most nikon lens uses 52mm filters.
3) UV filter, to remain on your lens 100% of the time except when using the polarizer (tiffen 52mm). Get one for each lens you have.
4) Field Guide for the D5000 (The manual is usually crap)
5) Flash. The on camera flash is a waste. I bought the cheapest SB400. It works great. If you want to get fancy or have money to burn, you can buy the SB-600 or 900. I always wish I had one as they are more versatile, but I have learned to work around the limitations of the dinky SB-400. Two AA batteries last forever in that thing, and the others take four that might have to be changed every time you shoot for extended periods. The omni bounce scatters lights for softer closeup portraits:

Sto-Fen STOBNSB400
OM-400 Omni-Bounce for Nikon SB-400

Nikon NISB400
SB-400 Speedlight i-TTL Shoe Mount Flash (Guide
No. 98'/30 m at 18mm) USA

6) A lens hood is essential to prevent flare form lights to the side of the camera. If the 18-55 does not come with one, get it.
Nikon NIHB45
HB-45 Bayonet Lens Hood for 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6

7) Tripod. Take your time with this one. A good tripod will last 10 years or more, so save up and buy a qulity carbon fibre one which will cost nearly as much (or more perhaps) than your camera. I using a crappy targus 200TT one from courts for now til I can afford a good one.

8) I bought a fancy US100.00 camera bag. I suggest you don't. The leading cause of lens and sensor fungus is keeping your gear in a nice dark moisture retaining bag (reminds you of growing mushrooms?). I keep my cameras/lens on a shelf, and sun them out once a month. Also, I don't cary around my camera in a bag. A camera cannot take pictures in a bag, and the time it take to offload gear, I have missed many photo opportunities. Mine stays in a padded styrofoam tray in my trunk, and once out of the car...around my neck. I keep additional gear in my cargo pants knee pocket for easy access. You only need a dedicated camera bag if you go hiking often, but those waterproof/ extra padded bags again cost more than your camera. I use my point and shoot waterproof/shockproof olympus when my SLR can come in harm's way. I will get a specialty bag when I get a lens that costs more than my monthly wage.

9) Camera strap. I hate the bright yellow nikon strap, and I wanted a longer one for how I cary my camera (across my chest instead of around my neck...) This is a nice to have which can wait as well.

Hoped this helps with your overall buying experience.

I only use my D40 for events now and shoot 35mm film on a canon EOS3 and have a EOS10D just to shoot my canon lenses on a digital body, again for events. If the person wants to go canon, there are plenty for sale on phototrini.com at any given time used for good prices.

Postby pugboy » June 10th, 2010, 4:14 pm

try the dxo software, they have corrections for all the popular cameras and associated lens
you'd be surprised at what it can do with your raw files

Postby buzz » June 10th, 2010, 4:23 pm

^^^ will look into it

crossdrilled, most appreciated man

thx

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » June 10th, 2010, 5:51 pm

i got tripods in stock when you ready

viewtopic.php?f=12&t=229036&p=3175442#p3175442

:arrow:

kaptainkermit

Postby kaptainkermit » June 10th, 2010, 5:56 pm

Trust me when I tell you this - you will most likely want to upgrade your kit within a year or two.
Either:
1. A new lens
2. A new body
3. New accessories

I seriously thought that my D40 back in the day was the shiet - I couldn't even imagine getting another DSLR. I thought I had hit jackpot.

Then, slowly, surely, unconsciously, the "upgrade-itis" bug bit me and the itch never stopped. After almost two years now, the itch is still there.

Trust me man, get a good body with an internal motor (D80/D90 and above) and spend the real money on the lenses. If you have an Ebay/Skybox setup, there's hundreds of old Nikon-mount lenses you could buy used and save money on new lenses.

A D3000/D5000, 18-55mm AF-S VR and maybe 55-200mm AF-S VR combination might be entertaining and novel for say, maybe 6-9 months.... and then as you or the intended shooter learns more and more (so much information available on the internet, flickr, etc.) and skills improve, the urge will hit you/them real bad one day :).... trust me. It had times i literally sank into a depressive state because some jack@$$ outbid me on a lens on Ebay.

Here's what I would recommend as a good, solid starter kit that would take anyone through for maybe 1-2 years:
- D90 body
- 18-105mm F/3.5-5.6 kit VR kit lens (the VR means "Vibration Reduction" - it steadies the lens/camera so that when you're shooting in lower shutter speeds, eg. in low light indoors or evenings, your picture stays sharper)
- 4gb or 8gb SD card, Class 4 or higher (seriously, a 4GB is like $19USD on Amazon.com)
- lens cleaning kit
- 67mm lens filters (I believe the 18-105mm kit lens with the D90 has a 67mm diameter thread on the outer lens) : UV Filter ($10USD on Amazon.com), a Circular Polarizing Filter ($45USD for a Tokin 67mm CPF) and a UV-Filter to protect your lens. Like crossdrilled said, the UV filter will protect your lens by keeping it on all the time except when using the Polarizer
- a camera case with pockets for your accessories. I used a simple messenger bag which I originally bought for my laptop, it has a padded compartment which I shove the camera into
- Extra battery (if you gonna be taking 1000+ pics on a long day, which is common) you'll need the extra power
- Copy of Adobe Photoshop Elements 8 and a guide on how to use it >>>> or even better, a couple internet sites that will help you learn FOR FREE
- A good tutorial website that will show you how to compose, use different focal lengths for different perspectives (18mm, 24mm, 35mm, 50mm, etc), how to do portraits/landscapes/candids/B&W's etc) and how to use lighting properly (I'd recommend www.digital-photography-school.com)
- Sign up for a Flickr account (it's free) or Photobucket/Picasa account. Link up with other photographers, learn from them, get criticisms on your pics, learn learn learn!!

There's so much more to say on starting photography, and carrying through as a hobby. Not everyone will take the same paths, or like the same styles, but there's no shortcuts really in learning how to take good pics and discovering a good style. The least of your problems should be choosing a good camera body. A higher priority should be learning how to use whatever body you get and taking full advantage of its features.

[/end lecture]

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » June 10th, 2010, 6:03 pm

I too am looking to buy an slr and for weeks now im looking at videos on utube and reading blogs. Everyone seems to say its personal choice. But i am undecided between these two beginner slr the canon rebel xs and the sony a330. Anyone here familiar with these two???
Also if i decide to ship it down here whats the customs and duty fees like. Cus these cameras are around 500us and would like to know how much money realistically i would have to spend to have it in hand.

Postby RBphoto » June 11th, 2010, 11:08 am

Sony is an excellent brand, but go for the canon. Do not underestimate the local canon community support/ being able to buy used local equipment.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 11th, 2010, 1:35 pm

buzz wrote:i see

Jimbo, the person is a beginner, budget - $500 USD

WIth that budget you don't have much choice in terms of DSLR's, what kind of photography will the user be doing? Requirements for sports vs portraiture vs landscapes are quite different.
Why does it need to be a DSLR? Do they plan on buying more glass? With a budget of $500 I'd say go with something like this

https://panasonic.ca/english/audiovideo ... MCFZ35.asp

All the manual controls needed for a beginner, massive focal range, HD movies etc.
Just thinking outside the box.

With regards to DSLR's, the best option is always to go with a cheaper body if it lets you get better glass. Bodies depreciate very quickly but glass holds its value forever and good glass and mediocre body will always give you better pictures than a good body and mediocre glass

Postby pugboy » June 11th, 2010, 4:21 pm

x2 on the Panasonic,

I had an older FZ-20 and it was a fantastic camera with Leica lens
could do F2.8 from wide to 12x zoom
any dslr lens combo doing that will cost a fortune.

The newer FZ's also have good ISO performance which was the only thing the FZ-20 was lacking.

kaptainkermit

Postby kaptainkermit » June 12th, 2010, 1:52 am

Alright, let me break it down, real nice and simple here:

DSLR cameras
Pros:
- high quality images
- variety of interchangeable lenses for different perspectives and different types of photography requirements. From super-wideangle, to wide-angle, to normal, to short-tele and then long-telephoto, it all depends on what lens you use.
- more rugged bodies than P&S's and Bridge Cameras, some are even weatherproof (my D200 can take pics in drizzle or sandy/dusty conditions, I've shot on the beach with sand all over it before. All I had to do was just blow/wipe off the sand. In the drizzling rain. With a wet beach towel.)
Look what Joe McNally did to a Nikon D2x, that Nikon Corp. LENT to him to shoot the Baja rally in 2005:
- Takes images in "RAW" format (different from jpeg, png, etc) - RAW has more digital info so when you edit in PS, you have much more leeway when editing and lose less data when converting to jpeg
- faster startup and shooting times than a P&S/Bridge (the D40 will startup and fire off a shot in 0.45secs, while a Canon S5is Bridge camera will do that in 1.6 seconds

Cons:
- Expensive to buy and repair if damaged (can reach into the thousands, if you really mess things up)
- Not all lenses are supported with basic level DSLR's (the D40/D60/D3000/D5000 can't take older lenses made before 2001, due to lack of built-in motor in the camera to focus the lenses. There is however, a positive paradox with the older legacy lenses and the D40/D3000/D5000 bodies, but this is a slightly technical tidbit)
- Accessories can be expensive (lens, bag, cleaning kit, filters, flashes, tripods, softboxes, lighting umbrellas, editing software.... and so on).
- Learning curve involved (mitigated by a HUGE data-pool on the internet - Flickr/photo.net/digitalphotographyschool and other websites)
- Bodies and lenses are bulky, may be difficult to travel or walk around with all day if you have a bulky setup

Bridge Cameras
Pros:
- Can take both pictures and video (most of them can)
- Lenses are built in, and most can do superzoom, up to 18x or even 20X zoom (good for spyshots or if you're in a football/cricket match)
- More compact than DSLR's, so more suitable for all-day walking around. I used to have my Canon S3is around my neck all day long with little discomfort. Not so with the D200 and battery grip, that thing weighs a ton.... or feels like it after 3-4hours of walking with it.
- Cheaper than DSLR's, and some even come with interchangeble lenses now (Olympus does this, I think)
- Shoots faster than a normal P&S camera, some even do 1.5 frames per second in burst-mode.

Cons:
- Still a bit more expensive than regular P&S's; a Bridge Camera typically starts at around $400 USD while a good quality P&S can start at around $175-$300 USD
- More bulky than P&S's, so won't readily fit into a shirt pocket; more like a purse or backpack
- Lens usually is not interchangeable (with a few exceptions like Olympus), and due to engineering limitations the glass isn't the sharpest at the more extreme zoom focal lenghts; and can be prone to optical artifacts (it's hard to engineer a perfect lens that can zoom ALL the way to 20X without compromising a few features).

Point & Shoot (P&S)
Pros:
- small and compact, perfect for shirt-pockets or carrying in a small case on the pants-belt or around the neck
- large variety to choose from, different companies
- cheaper than DSLR's and Bridge Cameras
- Often easier to use than DSLR's and BC's, hence the name "P&S". Just select "Auto" and press the shutter release - voila, instant snapshot

Cons:
- image quality usually can't touch a DSLR with even a basic kit lens
- smaller image sensor means not much depth of field, so you don't get the background-blurring-effect (called "bokeh" by DSLR fanatics) that makes a nice, pro-level photo
- smaller bodies means more delicate electronics. Drop a P&S and say bye-bye to it, time to buy a next one. Shoot with one on the beach and get sand on it, and it's bye-bye mister lens-motor, the damned thing will stick (happened to me)
- slow shooting speed. How many times have you tried to get a quick shot, only to hold down the shutter button, and then wait 1-2 seconds for the camera to focus, then beep, and then take the shot, and then another 1-2 seconds for the image to come up for review, and then 1-2 seconds to get ready again for a next shot? The Nikon D300s can be turned on and fire off 4-5 shots in burst mode in under 1.5 seconds.
- Difficult to get good shots in low-light conditions. This is because of a small sensor, and an even smaller lens. Forget what the marketers tell you about a P&S having "f/2.8, which means a very wide aperture". The size of the hole in these lenses is still very small (compared to a DSLR lens), so not much light can enter in dim conditions. Result = blurry or grainy shots. Using the on-camera flash doesn't help much, you end up with the crappy, overblown snapshots with red-eye or the "white-out nightclub look".
- Not as ergonomic as DSLR's or even Bridge Cameras. Those were designed to meld into the shape of your hand; not so with the rectangular-shaped P&S's. Thus harder to hold these effectively, without resorting to the "thumb&forefinger" grip, with the other 4 fingers of each hand splayed out as if making the "OK" sign while holding the camera.
This can get uncomfortable after a couple hours. Better to hold your P&S like this:
This gives you maximum stability and sharper pics, less blur from camera-shaking.

Hope this helps clear things up, and helps you make an educated decision on what to get.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » June 12th, 2010, 7:17 am

great info!

Postby buzz » August 3rd, 2010, 7:08 pm

So i went along with teh Nikon D3000

My fifth shot

i watermarked it cuz i'm proud of it :|

doh kill meh :oops:

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » August 3rd, 2010, 8:21 pm

Bought my nikonD5000 2weeks ago...not too impressed with it as yet. Still working to understand it fully. The lcd resolution is disappointing tho but its a nice camera overall. Thanx to Hammy Bolo for the link up