UWI Grades

KURMAman

Re: UWI Grades

Postby KURMAman » June 3rd, 2010, 10:43 pm

official transcripts are never available until 2 months after the semester is completed...just for u all to know. So the grades online are considered final unless your respective department lists u as failing a course.
As for ppl saying they eh paying lecturers more money...i agree, but the Unions that are in wage talks represent academic (lecturers, TS's) and technical staff (technicians, security, admin & support staff.)...and imagine cleaners getting $2000 a month..and uwi will sit and offer 0/0/1 % over the next 3 years....and still expect staff to operate at full capacity.
Dont just jump to a conclusion that ppl just greedy for money..cause its not only the lecturers...

Postby Cjruckus » June 3rd, 2010, 10:46 pm

No Gif?

originalbling

Postby originalbling » June 3rd, 2010, 10:49 pm

KURMAman, i understand your point, but dont you think a little patience is needed at this time from the staff/unions?

The country just went through an election and a change in gov't. Remember these negotiations are not up to the Principal, it is guided by remits from the CPO/Minister of STTE/Cabinet.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » June 3rd, 2010, 11:03 pm

when its middle of the semester, the govt (whoever they may be) dont have meetings with uwi staff...because as far as they are concerned, uwi running...ppl children in skool...everything dandy...so they wouldnt listen then. Since uwi become free, uwi depends solely on government funding...and now UTT getting all de money....it just jams uwi in a corner...and when govt released funds late last year, for example, staff nearly didn't get paid for christmas...and yet still UTT building several campus around the country...
Its very unfortunate that ppl have to beg for their hard earned money..so it becomes a tactic...start negotiations when u have something to bargain with...i agree its very unfortunate..but sometimes when the powers at be dont listen to reason, u hadda do something drastic to prove a simple point.

Postby Gem_in_i » June 4th, 2010, 6:44 am

DW wrote:
Gem_in_i wrote:Prof Sankat released a lil note on FB saying they working on getting the matter resolved soon.
Is this out in the media?

UWI / Sankat uses FB to push announcements now.. :shock:

Yes DW, UWI officially on FB :lol:

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » June 4th, 2010, 8:26 am

KURMAman wrote:official transcripts are never available until 2 months after the semester is completed...just for u all to know. So the grades online are considered final unless your respective department lists u as failing a course.
As for ppl saying they eh paying lecturers more money...i agree, but the Unions that are in wage talks represent academic (lecturers, TS's) and technical staff (technicians, security, admin & support staff.)...and imagine cleaners getting $2000 a month..and uwi will sit and offer 0/0/1 % over the next 3 years....and still expect staff to operate at full capacity.
Dont just jump to a conclusion that ppl just greedy for money..cause its not only the lecturers...

Well fire they they mc.
You dont hold students grades to ransom for a pay raise, that just shows how focked up they are.

Their argument is that "Jamaica and Barbados get X and X raise, we want the same".
Well UDFR and go live there.

UWI heading for some serious law suits.

Sequel

Postby Sequel » June 5th, 2010, 8:21 pm

What is the latest on this?

Postby Rooki3 » June 5th, 2010, 8:40 pm

Cjruckus wrote:No Gif?

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » June 6th, 2010, 12:34 am

Rooki3 wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:No Gif?

Postby Gem_in_i » June 6th, 2010, 7:14 am

So I see UWI students organising for a protest tmrw on Campus.

The Guild came out saying "The Guild will also seek from Examinations, remedies for expediting any queries etc so that students are not too adversely affected.

We also continue to implore the WIGUT to be sensitive to the students’ needs, and have also prepared a letter to the new Cabinet about having this issue addressed in the coming week.

Please feel free to contact us as we support and endorse any legitimate action from the student body that will help to expedite the process. "

So here I am wondering why the Guild didnt call for action instead of saying they wud support action student body decides to take.

Anyway, their solution for now is to contact your lecturer and they making it sound like we should consider ourselves lucky tht we even got the exams becos they were talking abt with holding exams too.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » June 6th, 2010, 9:24 am

Gem_in_i wrote:So I see UWI students organising for a protest tmrw on Campus.

The Guild came out saying "The Guild will also seek from Examinations, remedies for expediting any queries etc so that students are not too adversely affected.

We also continue to implore the WIGUT to be sensitive to the students’ needs, and have also prepared a letter to the new Cabinet about having this issue addressed in the coming week.

Please feel free to contact us as we support and endorse any legitimate action from the student body that will help to expedite the process. "

So here I am wondering why the Guild didnt call for action instead of saying they wud support action student body decides to take.

Anyway, their solution for now is to contact your lecturer and they making it sound like we should consider ourselves lucky tht we even got the exams becos they were talking abt with holding exams too.

It appears lecturers at some faculties had the option of posponing exams entirely, which they didn't do.

And the Guild is a panty sniffing org. Everyone was aware of this impending strike, and what was done?Nothing.
Just like a panty, it know sheit coming,but it doh do nothing on it's own.

In 2005 just a few days after the sudden fee increase, big strike ina d UWI.

Now, people just scratching their balls waiting on grades...it's only final year's feeling it, becasue they totie up in limbo.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 6th, 2010, 9:35 am

Time to get rid of that useless Guild, pay 175 for what????? Poor representation????

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » June 6th, 2010, 9:42 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Time to get rid of that useless Guild, pay 175 for what????? Poor representation????

Thou shall not bite the tit that it sucks..or in this case the penis.

Sequel

Postby Sequel » June 6th, 2010, 9:49 am

I thought guild was 225. lol

I don't know why they exist because they do anything other than throw parties and rent lockers afaik. Clubs is another story. And who they ''employ'' Ie friends etc is just amazing.

I dare you to go and ask how they spend the money. They will make up something to tell you. And they can't produce anything on paper to back it. See if they give you a copy of something with details. Not the form 5 accounts they post once a year.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » June 6th, 2010, 10:00 am

Sequel wrote:I thought guild was 225. lol

I don't know why they exist because they do anything other than throw parties and rent lockers afaik. Clubs is another story. And who they ''employ'' Ie friends etc is just amazing.

I dare you to go and ask how they spend the money. They will make up something to tell you. And they can't produce anything on paper to back it. See if they give you a copy of something with details. Not the form 5 accounts they post once a year.

Shud talk to former Guild man Glen.
He might be able to help you.

Sequel

Postby Sequel » June 6th, 2010, 10:05 am

It shouldn't be to help me. Everyone should want to know where their money goes to.

12000 undergrad + 4000 postgrad = 16000*225 = 3.6 Mil about?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 6th, 2010, 10:48 am

had no idea it increased, last payment slip i paid was 175

Sequel

Postby Sequel » June 7th, 2010, 12:53 am

I hear they trying to get support for a protest tom if anyone interested. 11am under humanities. This might just be the first of many.

Sequel

Postby Sequel » June 9th, 2010, 2:07 pm

Sequel

Postby Sequel » June 9th, 2010, 9:52 pm

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » June 9th, 2010, 10:12 pm

Sequel wrote:http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=1 ... 5&v=photos
pics of the protest for grades

They brave enuff to post pictures of that protest?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 10th, 2010, 6:08 am

sooo .00000001% care enough to do a protest and they wonder why nobody takes them seriously

Sequel

Postby Sequel » June 10th, 2010, 9:09 am

More students need to come out next time. As a result of the protest some grades were released though.

Postby Gem_in_i » June 12th, 2010, 6:44 am

Prof Sankat released a next letter but still said no idea when grades would be released, it on FB.

Sequel

Postby Sequel » June 12th, 2010, 10:25 am

Keep calling lecturers and departments. Those who have persisted starting to receive their grades...
Some lecturers have given grades via email as well.

axe

Postby axe » June 14th, 2010, 12:17 am

uwi is sheit
some years ago first class escape me by 0.02
then i see on my transcript that i fail a foundation course
that was actually replaced by another one (which i passed)
they tell me they cant do anything about that

jus another horror story

Sequel

Postby Sequel » June 14th, 2010, 3:16 am

Well I guess you could leave a message here

Office of the Principal ext. 2180, 2182
fax: (868) 662-0600

Telling them which dept not answering. They usually answer.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 14th, 2010, 7:07 am

this is facking madness....

is june month...
if they cant finalise grades i wont be able 2 get my transcript till september??

facking madness i say.....

(pardon my rant)

Sequel

Postby Sequel » June 14th, 2010, 11:26 am

Madness is this. Called to find out what's the latest. answer: "We need your name and Course number. "lol

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 14th, 2010, 7:13 pm

dem uwi staff real hoggish...especially d engineering administrative assistant...huh