Hit & Run Accidents: What can you do???

NarendZORCE

Hit & Run Accidents: What can you do???

Postby NarendZORCE » November 11th, 2009, 1:11 pm

As many have experienced, hit and run accidents are apparently quite common. The basic story is that someone hits your car and drives off. The permutations include:

• The mystery hit and run: You are in a car park, you find your car damaged, no idea of who, what or when. Maybe you find a note on your windshield with and apology and contact info. Or not.

• The broad daylight hit and run: Your car gets hit, plenty people see, guilty party speeds off, all in broad daylight. You get the number and get a good look at their vehicle.

• The nighttime ninja: Your car gets hit, a couple people see, guilty party speeds of and turn off their lights to hide their plates. You are lucky if you managed to memorize the number or get a good look at the vehicle.

• The pedestrian hit and run: Someone knocks down a person. Maybe they stop and call an ambulance and the police. Maybe they don't and YOU have to. Note the vehicle details, number plates, date, place and time and make a report.

In all cases you should try your best to at least get the vehicle description and number plate. Take note of the date and time and make a report to the nearest police station or the station assigned to the area.

The offending driver is not legally obligated to give any information to you. But they are obligated to make a report and failure to do so within the required time frame can lead to charges. They may want to avoid reporting immediately if they have been drinking or if their is a problem with their driver's license or insurance, or if the vehicle they are driving is borrowed or stolen.

Ask to see their license and insurance and note the information if they are willing to give it. Either way make your report to the police. If there are any witnesses or other parties affected in the accident (property or other vehicle owners) they should also make a report at the same station.

If possible, TAKE PICTURES of ALL affected. Pay attention to the location, damages, plates and road markings etc.

Tracking down an elusive guilty party
1) Find out which insurance company the vehicle is registered with via an Insurance Investigator e.g. Cariclaims Investigators and Adjusters Ltd. and Insurance Investigations Services Ltd.

2) Lodge a claim with YOUR insurer, if you have an agreed excess amount on your policy you will have to pay this fee first. They will then seek to recover from the third/guilty party. If they have no information on him then there is nothing to recover unfortunately so you can lose your no claim discount and excess (not good).

3) Instruct your investigator to obtain a certified copy of ownership for Mr. Hit & Run, which is easy since you've got a registration number. From this, the police will head to that address and give Mr. Hit & Run a "warning of intended prosecution" note for his unreported accident whereby he is now required to lodge his statement or face legal prosecution under the law.

4) Carbon Copy your report to Mr. Hit & Run's insurance company so that your insurance can recover their funds from them. That way your No Claim Discount remains intact and you can seek to recover your deductible/excess from Mr. Hit & Run's insurer. If you choose not to deal with your insurance company then ask them for a coverage letter and you deal directly with Mr. Hit & Run's insurer.

You will need the following documents:
1) completed claim form
2) 2 forms of ID (could be 1 as well)
3) VAT 605 letter (obtain this at VAT Office, St. Vincent St., P.O.S. and be sure to walk with your BIR file # and ID to search your records)
4) estimate of repairs by reputable/recognized repairer/garage
5) certified copy of ownership
6) insurance certificate

The process can be wrapped up in 2-3 weeks depending on how co-operative the TTPS is in coding the accident You and/or Mr. Hit & Run reported and how fast the investigator can obtain the certified copy of Mr. Hit & Run from Licensing Office and lastly how fast the Adjuster can look at your damaged car and compile a report based on the damages done as a result of this particular accident.

(Special thanks to N. Jagdeo)
Last edited by NarendZORCE on November 17th, 2009, 12:04 am, edited 3 times in total.

Postby buzz » November 21st, 2009, 6:00 pm

good post meng

Postby redmanjp » November 21st, 2009, 7:08 pm

a good solution might be to get about 4 very small cctv cameras and install one at each corner of the car somehow hidden/discreet- connected to a dvr- so u would see what happened no matter which part they hit- may have to have a separate battery if they running 24/7 so u dont drain the car battery

perhaps something like this, though this is only one camera

http://www.in-car-stuff.com/shop/falcon-cctv-system-p-298.html
Last edited by redmanjp on November 21st, 2009, 7:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby buzz » November 21st, 2009, 7:22 pm

true but according to law we still cannot use video or audio recordings as evidence

but cigarette and tint more important :arrow:

Postby redmanjp » November 21st, 2009, 7:30 pm

well i guess you could still confront them with the video footage if it picks up their license plate and hope they cooperate (doh remind them that the law might not consider it admissible)- i assume police can find their address given the license plate (but is trinidad so that might be asking too much :lol: :lol: )

but i think the Evidence Act is being amended now so hopefully video/audio recordings might be accepted as evidence.

Postby buzz » November 21st, 2009, 7:42 pm

but i think the Evidence Act is being amended now so hopefully video/audio recordings might be accepted as evidence.

hope so too

it will be about time

angel_player

Postby angel_player » November 21st, 2009, 10:49 pm

good informative post, thanks for this

Mitsubishi Maniac

Postby Mitsubishi Maniac » November 23rd, 2009, 8:12 am

Thanks bro......very good stuff there.

Postby honda hoe » November 23rd, 2009, 11:49 am

good post

Postby redmanjp » December 22nd, 2009, 7:45 pm

hmmm.doh know if that counts as an accident-but see if u can make a report to the police- at least u have a plate no. so they might be able to do something

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » December 23rd, 2009, 8:46 am

Just to point out:

I had an accident recently. It was not a hit-n-run, but with reference to #2 in the opening post, you may not always have to lodge an outright claim with your insurance.

When i went to mine, I was simply given a referral letter from my insurance to take to the other party's insurance to make a claim. I suspect this was the case because the cost of repairs to my car is below my excess. In any case, I keep my no-claim discount. :)

rolandk

Postby rolandk » January 15th, 2010, 9:53 am

great info

man bounce me from behind on EMR in traffic...when I come out to inspect the damage, he cuss me and bounce my bumper again..........then threaten to run me over with his vehicle and kill me

lil drunken indian with a child in the vehicle threaten to cut my arse if i report it........good thing I behaving myself these days and keeping out of trouble.

lol.........when i report it to Tunapuna police they said they found it hard to believe someone would do something like that.

I waited several hours at the station befiore someone took my report.................one for the accident.........the other for the threat meant some more waiting.............i had to pick up my kid from school so I decided to leave.

wasn't worth the hassle following up with insurance at the time, in retrospect I should have!

eitech

Postby eitech » April 7th, 2010, 9:21 am

I was in a hit and run with a truck on the rivulet. I spun off the road, wheels flat..by d time i look up, d mofo done blaze outta site..what do you do then without plates, witnesses..nada to start with? I did report it to d popo...

speedtrini

Postby speedtrini » April 12th, 2010, 6:03 pm

I was involved in a hit and run in front of Nestle Trinidad, I got the vehicle license number and went to the St. Joseph Police Station I gave a report and called the Police officer once a week its been over a year now my car has never been repaired the driver got away scot free and I repaired my vehicle at my cost. No help from the Police at all the officer out on enquires,or on sick leave there is no justice in the world any more my wife and I could have been injured badly in that accident but no one cares.

marvin23

Postby marvin23 » April 28th, 2010, 9:11 pm

can anyone tell me..wat is the maximum amount of time u have to report an accident..whether u wrong or rite?? info needed urgently....

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 28th, 2010, 10:11 pm

marvin23 wrote:can anyone tell me..wat is the maximum amount of time u have to report an accident..whether u wrong or rite?? info needed urgently....

24hrs! any more and you have problems...

DJames

Re: Hit & Run Accidents: What can you do???

Postby DJames » May 26th, 2010, 11:46 pm

Drive after that so and so, beat the sheit out of him (or her) with the 2x4 in the trunk.

Some idiot fling open his or her door on the driver side of the my car in Carlton Centre have no idea who did it. It sucks! Never parking there again. Nothing much you can do when that happens but I was seriously looking for paint transfer to identify if it was the white AD van who did it. Think it was the a-hole matrix I meet there though, the car was parked really bend but it was to the other side very far from me so I took the chance so some blame on me. Now I'm taking up atleast two parks sh*t whoever thinks I can't drive or park.

chin999

Postby chin999 » June 2nd, 2010, 2:20 am

It is a sad thing..i lost a cousin by hit and runs.....ppl shud be more carful on the roads and at least take responsibility for their actions

UK Premium Imports

Postby UK Premium Imports » June 11th, 2010, 12:54 am

hit and run is getting more and more frequent......especially by drunkies

nigie

Postby nigie » June 15th, 2010, 8:56 pm

A police officer told my relative on saturday that u have 7 days to report an accident???