Official Rally Forum -
Please visit www.rallytrinidad.com for more info on Rally

Moderators: rcadiz, sio, 3ne2nr Mods

AutoSport

Rallying and Motor Sport in T&T

Postby AutoSport » June 1st, 2010, 1:45 pm

The opening statement on Rally Barbados website….http://www.rallybarbados.bb/
“Welcome to "the best rally in the world" - Sol Rally Barbados!

Now recognised as the biggest international motor sport event in the Caribbean,
Sol Rally Barbados is already among the most high-profile annual events in the
sports-tourism mix in Barbados; a consistent earner in foreign exchange, it brings to the island a broad spectrum of visitors, some who enjoy the night life of the South Coast, others who prefer the more peaceful surroundings of the West Coast and hotels such as Colony Club or Sandy Lane.

From small beginnings in 1990 as one-day rally for 30 or so local competitors, the event has evolved into a major international celebration of the sport, attracting as many as 90 crews, more than one-third of them from around the region and Europe. And quantity is matched by quality - the entry in 2009 included nine World Rally Cars and past or present champions from Britain, Jamaica and Trinidad to go head-to-head with the island's best in front of more than 20,000 enthusiastic fans.”

Fact: In 1997 and 1998 The Texaco Tecmarine Rally attracted more International competitors than the Barbados Rally in 1997 and 1998.

Fact: Certain operatives stepped in and demanded the then organizers to give up the management and organization of said event, and from 1999 the local Rally took a nose dive to having just 4 and 5 overseas competitors until a few years ago whenthe current TTRC management really made a serious and successful effort to get T&T Rallying going again.

Fact: Today we again see certain operatves jostling to be in front as the new Mins. Sport eagerly pushes to get Motor Sport back to its rightful place.

Let’s hope that we do not see the same errors being repeated.

HondaHo de 1st

Re: Rallying and Motor Sport in T&T

Postby HondaHo de 1st » June 1st, 2010, 3:27 pm

Anil Roberts............ don't blow smoke out our pipes

"Drags on the 29th!!!"
"We getting Back Wallerfield!!!"

Deal straight or doh deal ah tall, new Gov't new ting........ leave de ole habits with the ole Gov't

partycrasher

Postby partycrasher » June 1st, 2010, 3:28 pm

"Let's hope that we do not see the same errors being repeated."
Very well said and I think for Motor sport to move forward now the Young Enthusiastic Ones should be given the chance to Manage .We must not see Old Faces and Hear Long Time Popular names in the Front line,take a backseat,offer some advice no problem but give the youth a chance to try and also learn from whatever errors they may make.We don't want where the voice of only the "Big Guns" is heard and the not so fortunate ones have no say.

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » June 1st, 2010, 3:32 pm

It was great to listen to the Barbados min of sport speak yesterday at the Sol Rally Barbados prize giving. He had so much good to say and he gave the Barbados rally club the governments full support. Through rally Barbados, the chairman of the BRC spoke about how they have brought about 2 million dollars revenue for the country, through sports tourism. It's sad to think that we have been forced to sit down and do nothing for two and half years under the pretense that something was going to happen when in fact, we are further back now. This doesn't mean to say that what we had before was right and I hope that the new min of sport can see this and use what was created over the past two and half years for the betterment of the sport. Let's move forwards from now on, not backwards.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » June 1st, 2010, 6:41 pm

Excellent points Autosport.

I remember the Texaco Rally days when Trinidad's event was significantly better than what Barbados had to offer at that time.

What made the difference is that Barbados had an effective, efficient and united Motor Sports Governing Body and it got the support of their Government and business people. The Government, Businesses and the Racers invested in the sport and now the entire country is benefitting.

Trinidad & Tobago has the potential and the talent to create a successful Motor Sport industry that can encompass driving schools, technical schools, engineering science and workshops, technology innovation, research and development, fabrication, experimentation and much more.... Oh yeah lets not forget sports tourism. I mentioned it last to highlight that whereas it is a big thing (Barbados makes $2 Million bajan currency each year off one event) Sports Tourism is still a small element in an entire industry. We have not begun to scratch the surface of what is possible.

The infighting will destroy any hope that this industry has to survive. The new Minister is interested in moving forward and moving forward efficiently and quickly. Any infighting and he will move on to other sports.

The time is right to make a change.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » June 1st, 2010, 10:28 pm

Mr. Partycrasher, you see this… “I think for Motor sport to move forward now the Young Enthusiastic Ones should be given the chance to Manage .We must not see Old Faces and Hear Long Time Popular names in the Front line,take a backseat,offer some advice no problem but give the youth a chance to try and also learn from whatever errors they may make.”

I will start of by saying that one of the major problems that we have in T&T is the menace of those who talk and do not walk. By taking a broad brush and trying to paint the “ Old Faces” out of the picture is absolutely dumb.

Go find out who are the major players in the extremely successful Rally Barbados.

Also take a look around and see in most of the successful local management teams of the various disciplines of Motor Sport, isn’t there a mix of young and then more experienced persons working their butts off?

If you toting feelings against certain individuals go clean up your head and then get on board.

partycrasher

Postby partycrasher » June 1st, 2010, 11:11 pm

The same way Patrick Manning is to be blamed for the fall of his party,the same way those who were in control and in charge of Drag Racing and Circuit Racing are responsible for it being where it is today.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » June 2nd, 2010, 1:44 am

Parthcrasher, do you know that the very successful new PM Kamla was a part of the failed UNC regime. Wouldn't you say that she is part of the old UNC. By your logic are you saying to throw out the baby with the bath water ? The People's Partnership took the good from the old and mixed them with the good of the new.

Even when you eat the best meat, whether young or old, there may be bones to spit out. Don't throw out the whole cow because it has bones in it. Carefully select the good and you can have your steak on a platter.

I think what you meant to say is remove the old cancers not all the old faces as many of them still have a great deal to contribute positively to the motorsport community.

Postby wagon r » June 2nd, 2010, 7:43 am

...i feeling sorry for my wife who is now REALLY going to complain that i never stay home on a sunday because there is always something cover...

.....BRING BACK SUNDAY SCHOOL....!!

partycrasher

Postby partycrasher » June 2nd, 2010, 4:18 pm

I hear you Mr Gear but I will just have a hard time trusting these old faces again.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » June 3rd, 2010, 7:58 am

Don't worry about it too much. The educated young people that they will face now will either force the bad apples out or the resulting fights will cause the Ministry to move on to other sports leaving racing even worse off than it was before. Either way, the bad apple old faces have an expiry date stamped on their foreheads. The old faces with positive contributions are always welcomed.

logic246

Postby logic246 » June 6th, 2010, 10:39 pm

AutoSport wrote:The opening statement on Rally Barbados website….http://www.rallybarbados.bb/
“Welcome to "the best rally in the world" - Sol Rally Barbados!

Now recognised as the biggest international motor sport event in the Caribbean,
Sol Rally Barbados is already among the most high-profile annual events in the
sports-tourism mix in Barbados; a consistent earner in foreign exchange, it brings to the island a broad spectrum of visitors, some who enjoy the night life of the South Coast, others who prefer the more peaceful surroundings of the West Coast and hotels such as Colony Club or Sandy Lane.

From small beginnings in 1990 as one-day rally for 30 or so local competitors, the event has evolved into a major international celebration of the sport, attracting as many as 90 crews, more than one-third of them from around the region and Europe. And quantity is matched by quality - the entry in 2009 included nine World Rally Cars and past or present champions from Britain, Jamaica and Trinidad to go head-to-head with the island's best in front of more than 20,000 enthusiastic fans.”

Fact: In 1997 and 1998 The Texaco Tecmarine Rally attracted more International competitors than the Barbados Rally in 1997 and 1998.

Fact: Certain operatives stepped in and demanded the then organizers to give up the management and organization of said event, and from 1999 the local Rally took a nose dive to having just 4 and 5 overseas competitors until a few years ago whenthe current TTRC management really made a serious and successful effort to get T&T Rallying going again.

Fact: Today we again see certain operatves jostling to be in front as the new Mins. Sport eagerly pushes to get Motor Sport back to its rightful place.

Let’s hope that we do not see the same errors being repeated.

Never mind back then , if you read it it said
From small beginnings in 1990 as one-day rally for 30 or so local competitors
.Rally Barbados has evolved and will keep evolving . As good as a gravel rally you guys have , it will be found hard to catch on with the euro crowd as gravel aint the most lenient on your car. You will have to beat the Rally Carnival , not just rally Barbados to appeal to the crowd that we pull .

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » June 7th, 2010, 11:32 am

OK, so there is a challenge to work towards.

Return to “TTRC - Rally”