Lost power in 1.5 zl mazda.

MAZDA People United - it continues here

islandp5

Lost power in 1.5 zl mazda.

Postby islandp5 » January 7th, 2010, 4:24 pm

I have a 1998 99 mazda,zl motor, fine car but i tend to lose powe on hills and some times comin off a stop light, burns gas alot, and is very low powered, always have too hit the no. one gear, and has a flat sport on take off. need some help has on a cold air intake, and running stock plugs.

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » January 7th, 2010, 5:59 pm

maybe coil pack

nuffkuff

Postby nuffkuff » January 9th, 2010, 8:04 pm

gimme a call 3751330 had d same problem

Postby Rainman » January 9th, 2010, 9:54 pm

nuffkuff, it maybe beneficial to share your solution here so that everyone can benefit.

Mazdout

Postby Mazdout » January 13th, 2010, 12:45 pm

well said rainman. The entire idea of forums like these is to share ideas/educate and solve shooting problems of one's car. So fellow tuners won't get run around and spend big $$$ on what could of been easily diagnosed by a solved issue.

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » January 30th, 2010, 11:40 pm

islandp5, you get through?

nuffkuff

Postby nuffkuff » February 2nd, 2010, 1:14 am

hear wat eh fellas,i had that dead car syndrome problem no one here seemed to know what wrong, did some reading on the net it seems that these bj, zl or zm after awhile starts losing power, one solution is to manipulate the ecu to give more air and gas i did it and i flying, 50% increase in hp,no kiddin, so when u all see a green hatchback pbh doing it on the CRhighway is me, u all have to mod to get that car to run otherwise is problems. :)

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 2nd, 2010, 7:41 am

and how exactly you modded the ECU?

Postby Rainman » February 2nd, 2010, 8:09 am

He stuck a mazdaspeed decal on it, 15+ HP YO!!. If a car is not operating in its normal manner it means that something is wrong, "modding" or making changes to the vehicle that were not part of it's original design will not fix it, it may actually make it worse. Fix the problem, don't add to it.

nuffkuff

Postby nuffkuff » February 2nd, 2010, 8:59 pm

go to autospeed web site and read how to electronically modify ur car! :)

**{KinG-62}**

Postby **{KinG-62}** » February 27th, 2010, 2:02 am

check/change d gear oil......or if tranny...check/change the oil.... worked well for my b5.... :bump:

PROTEGEKID

Postby PROTEGEKID » March 29th, 2010, 4:20 pm

Check yuh knock sensor. Don't know if the ZL has one but i had a similar problem on a ZM and it turned out to be a faulty knock sensor. If it has one check to see if the insulation is melted, if so you should change for the upgraded sensor with the black wire...my two cents.

villain

Postby villain » March 29th, 2010, 9:53 pm

or just unplug it for the while and see how it runs...

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 29th, 2010, 10:01 pm

i seein a slight oil drip from my knock sensor, anybody know wat could be causing this?

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » March 30th, 2010, 12:51 am

^^^IT GOING THROUGH!!! That's how my lost in power started...with a molten, 'leaking' knock sensor. I had problems getting up hills & to overtake...not getting 'kick down'. Changed knock sensor & prob solved!
I'm doing 67k & had a bad knock sensor, somehow I feel mazda just change the colour of the wire & send it out as 'revised'.

(Thanks 2 Villain for pointing me in the direction of the knock sensor)

Pics http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 7&start=30

FullStop

Postby FullStop » March 30th, 2010, 11:10 am

thanks man, that icky thing i thought was oil is really knock sensor blood, dammit i hafta change lower control arm bushings, rear sway bar bushings, endlinks, 1 cv joint rubber, now a knock sensor, and just wen i was goin an get the 5 lug conversion, flock man, steups, this is real headache yes...

thanks Groovemaster for the clarification, i really find the kickdown was sometimesish

villain

Postby villain » March 30th, 2010, 4:04 pm

well in the mean time just unplug it...the car will feel better....

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » March 30th, 2010, 5:29 pm

Don't study it man we all in this together. Just do my routine PM on my car and it seems 2 engine mounts and my bushings gone. Have to change timing belt and tensioner and idler as they are suspect to me and tapping head seal seems leaky. All I can say for this list is and going......I think is time for the poly bushings. :twisted:

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » March 30th, 2010, 8:03 pm

villain wrote:well in the mean time just unplug it...the car will feel better....

If he has manual & unplug it that's ok but if auto the ecu would leave you climbing hills in 3rd gear!!!

villain

Postby villain » March 30th, 2010, 11:02 pm

oh yeah i forgot...lol :mrgreen:

islandp5

Re: Lost power in 1.5 zl mazda.

Postby islandp5 » May 21st, 2010, 2:44 am

I have not done anything yet because there is so much everybody is saying but where do i start i really don t want to sell my car, been have it for 6years plus and its been good so far, where do i start i was thinkin of changing the motor to the 1800 gtx what do u all think,

Postby Rainman » May 21st, 2010, 6:19 am

islandp5 wrote:I have not done anything yet because there is so much everybody is saying but where do i start i really don t want to sell my car, been have it for 6years plus and its been good so far, where do i start i was thinkin of changing the motor to the 1800 gtx what do u all think,

you mean to tell me that you have had this problem for five months and you haven't done anything because no one here can figure it out for you?

START BY SCANNING THE FACKING CAR!!!

islandp5

Postby islandp5 » June 29th, 2010, 5:37 pm

well guys i just got a knock sensor and i got back alll my power thanks a million am so happy my car is not for sale anymore. this little 1.5 with svt is pulling like a mother thanks guys.

Groovemaster

Postby Groovemaster » June 29th, 2010, 10:56 pm

Nice to hear u get through!

Return to “MAZDA”