$300 billion spent

An archive of the political discussions posted here for the 2010 T&T General Elections

$300 billion spent

Postby UML » May 6th, 2010, 10:10 pm

1 million is a 1000 $1000

1 billion is a 1000 $1,000,000

300 billion is 300,000 $1,000,000

das how much dem spend and we have no beds in the hospital and water in we pipes

as Kamla said...if we throw away $100 a day.....it will take 8,000,000 days for us to throw away that money!!!

how have we benefitted from this money being spent?!!

Re: $300 billion spent

Postby zoom rader » May 6th, 2010, 10:18 pm

UML wrote:1 million is a 1000 $1000

1 billion is a 1000 $1,000,000

300 billion is 300,000 $1,000,000

das how much dem spend and we have no beds in the hospital and water in we pipes

as Kamla said...if we throw away $100 a day.....it will take 8,000,000 days for us to throw away that money!!!

how have we benefitted from this money being spent?!!

Dude,
Do you really think PNM Cepep workers can understand what a Billion Dollars mean?
Maybe shango 13 can tell us, he knows how to use a PC.

Postby Damien » May 6th, 2010, 10:20 pm

Calder hart ha we money just now wait till the 25th he doggs dead

Postby UML » May 6th, 2010, 10:24 pm

das $300,000,000,000

which is 3,000,000,000 $100

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 6th, 2010, 10:28 pm

No new hospitals, but skyscrapers in POS, which makes no sense considering the traffic situation, it makes you wonder if only a certain fraction of the population is too benefit from these undertakings, no new secondary schools, only repairs to existing ones. If they are into spending money, spend it on issues that the entire nation can benefit.

But these people do not understand that its because of these undertakings, and the fact that the govt took liability for the ministers investment into clico that we have increases in taxes and our children and grandchildren will have to pay for it.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 6th, 2010, 10:28 pm

how much toilet paper is that?

sniper21

Postby sniper21 » May 6th, 2010, 11:30 pm

UML, right , I honestly fell those pnm cepepers dont know how much 300 billion is , to them thaz a lil 300 thousand ...

Postby Stephon. » May 6th, 2010, 11:38 pm

They maybe think if they save up their pay for a year they will reach 300 billion.

peacelove

Postby peacelove » May 7th, 2010, 12:04 am

curtains for the mansion don't come cheap you know :wink:

Postby Stephon. » May 7th, 2010, 1:10 am

peacelove wrote:curtains for the mansion don't come cheap you know :wink:

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » May 7th, 2010, 7:18 am

civic minded wrote:how much toilet paper is that?

still not ever enough to clean up all the sh1t that comes out of the political leader of the P....................................................

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » May 7th, 2010, 8:50 am

300 BILLION could have gotten us About :

10 new state of the art Hospitals

20 new state of the art Schools

Water for the whole of Trinidad

Electricity for the whole of Trinidad

Road repaired in all parts of the country

A new Highway network system

$50,000 BONUS in each citizen pocket

Plus change left over eh......

So we the citizens of T&T ....did we get anyone of those things yet during the last 10 years....I would like the PNM supporters to answer me.

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » May 7th, 2010, 10:18 am

To be fair, why make it sound like $300B was just wasted on nothing?

I try not to get political but almost half of that was spent on subsidies which benefits everyone in some way eg.

Senior Citizen's Grants
Disability Grants
Educational Facilities
Public Servants Pensions and Gratuities
Health Institutions
Local Government Bodies
WASA
Gas Subsidies
Infrastructure Development Fund
Heritage Stabilisation Fund

Aprox 20% of it in Public Servants wages and Salaries (though I'm one to admit that lots of them don't work enough for it :) )

Remember that it takes quite a bit of money just to keep this country going, that is all. :idea:

sniper21

Postby sniper21 » May 7th, 2010, 11:14 am

but not 300B :?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 7th, 2010, 11:19 am

pyromaniak wrote:To be fair, why make it sound like $300B was just wasted on nothing?

I try not to get political but almost half of that was spent on subsidies which benefits everyone in some way eg.

Senior Citizen's Grants
Disability Grants
Educational Facilities
Health Institutions
Local Government Bodies
WASA
Gas Subsidies

Aprox 20% of it in Public Servants wages and Salaries (though I'm one to admit that lots of them don't work enough for it :) )

Remember that it takes quite a bit of money just to keep this country going, that is all. :idea:

ay how dare u try to speak sense to these concrete head ppl - all they care about is when d pnm bandwagon passing & they throw ah juzzy with ah $500 in it : d 500 go last them ah 5 yrs ..... :P

Postby nervewrecker » May 7th, 2010, 11:24 am

you guys realise that it had enough $$$ to give almost every citizen of trinidad (citizen by birth) almost $1,000,000.00 rite?

what do we have to show for it?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 7th, 2010, 11:39 am

^ah red juzzy ..... :lol:

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » May 7th, 2010, 12:02 pm

you guys realise that it had enough $$$ to give almost every citizen of trinidad (citizen by birth) almost $1,000,000.00 rite?

Not sure I follow your math. Let's say 1,000,000 ppl X 1,000,000 dollars?

And suppose we did something along those lines how would half of the country get paid at month's end? How much would you be paying for gas for your car? How would any road get fixed or built? How would ppl who can't afford to pay to see a doctor get healthcare? How would ppl who can't afford to pay to go to school get an education? Oh right! They can spend the million dollars that they got over 8 years.
So then we can't pay bus drivers so everybody buys a car, oh lord traffic!
Nobody to pick up your garbage, go to betham yourself.
We can't support WASA, find your own water supply.
Buy solar panels for your electricity needs or maybe generate your own with your unsubsidized very expensive fuel.

I can go on, I mean really now. This country is expensive to run and the luxuries we take for granted are expensive. Very few places in the world have budgets where subsidies make up for half of governments' expense. Say thank you for that. We are lucky and all we ever do in this country is fight down each other with hardly anything more substantial than emotion.
Subsidies help everyone in the country, without them the cost of living would be a lot higher.
Our athletes are now being paid as professionals and have greater opportunities internationally, the list goes on.
Many ppl benefit from disability grants, CDAP etc. Before CDAP many ppl could not afford to buy medication and as a result suffered terribly from chronic diseases. Say thank you that we as a country can look after the less fortunate in these ways.

There are many things wrong with this country currently a lot of it which is caused by you and me but there are also a lot of things that are right, don’t forget those when we focus on the negative.

But what do I know? Keep on fighting....... :roll:

(...Rovin...) wrote:
pyromaniak wrote:To be fair, why make it sound like $300B was just wasted on nothing?

Senior Citizen's Grants
Disability Grants
Educational Facilities
Health Institutions
Local Government Bodies
WASA
Gas Subsidies

ay how dare u try to speak sense to these concrete head ppl - all they care about is when d pnm bandwagon passing & they throw ah juzzy with ah $500 in it : d 500 go last them ah 5 yrs ..... :P

Sorry I will try to refrain... :(

Postby RASC » May 7th, 2010, 12:13 pm

pyromaniak wrote:

Not sure I follow your math. Let's say 1,000,000 ppl X 1,000,000 dollars?

And suppose we did something along those lines how would half of the country get paid at month's end? How much would you be paying for gas for your car? How would any road get fixed or built? How would ppl who can't afford to pay to see a doctor get healthcare? How would ppl who can't afford to pay to go to school get an education? Oh right! They can spend the million dollars that they got over 8 years.
So then we can't pay bus drivers so everybody buys a car, oh lord traffic!
Nobody to pick up your garbage, go to betham yourself.
We can't support WASA, find your own water supply.
Buy solar panels for your electricity needs or maybe generate your own with your unsubsidized very expensive fuel.

I can go on, I mean really now. This country is expensive to run and the luxuries we take for granted are expensive. Very few places in the world have budgets where subsidies make up for half of governments' expense. Say thank you for that. We are lucky and all we ever do in this country is fight down each other with hardly anything more substantial than emotion.
Subsidies help everyone in the country, without them the cost of living would be a lot higher.
Our athletes are now being paid as professionals and have greater opportunities internationally, the list goes on.
Many ppl benefit from disability grants, CDAP etc. Before CDAP many ppl could not afford to buy medication and as a result suffered terribly from chronic diseases. Say thank you that we as a country can look after the less fortunate in these ways.

There are many things wrong with this country currently a lot of it which is caused by you and me but there are also a lot of things that are right, don’t forget those when we focus on the negative.

But what do I know? Keep on fighting....... :roll:

(...Rovin...) wrote:

Senior Citizen's Grants
Disability Grants
Educational Facilities
Health Institutions
Local Government Bodies
WASA
Gas Subsidies

Sorry I will try to refrain... :(

Nah man like you didn't get the memo.

T&T is the worst country in the world. Everything sky high expensive and nothing functions properly.

Leave them let them be. Just wait until the excuses start rolling in from 25th May...then we'll be right back to square one. Fair and Balanced? You're looking in the wrong place pal.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » May 7th, 2010, 12:19 pm

hmmm lets fuel the fire here:

All yuh forgot about the minister who ran up an almost 1 million dollar bill in the hilton- at OUR expense?

How about the ministers wife who recently received 300,000.00 for foreign visits and operations?

And those govt people who sait their butts down in certain restaurants aronund T&T every night and run up bills for thousanbds of dollars each sitting?

And 300 MILLIOn for a personal residence?

Yup - definitely i can see where some of that 3 billion helped me .

LEts remind the folks who DO not have water supply why they dont ok.

Lets shout to all those people who go to a hospital and have to sit on the floor why thats ok.

Postby RASC » May 7th, 2010, 12:26 pm

evo-STI-k,Do you really believe things will change for the better post UNC victory?

Postby nervewrecker » May 7th, 2010, 12:31 pm

RASC wrote:evo-STI-k,Do you really believe things will change for the better post UNC victory?

it did last time....

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » May 7th, 2010, 12:32 pm

what i do believe is that i woudl like honest, better management of our country!

and that will NEVER happen with a bunch of GREEDY thieves such as the pee ennemmm!

pyromaniak

Postby pyromaniak » May 7th, 2010, 1:15 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:hmmm lets fuel the fire here:

All yuh forgot about the minister who ran up an almost 1 million dollar bill in the hilton- at OUR expense?

How about the ministers wife who recently received 300,000.00 for foreign visits and operations?

And those govt people who sait their butts down in certain restaurants aronund T&T every night and run up bills for thousanbds of dollars each sitting?

And 300 MILLIOn for a personal residence?

Yup - definitely i can see where some of that 3 billion helped me .

LEts remind the folks who DO not have water supply why they dont ok.

Lets shout to all those people who go to a hospital and have to sit on the floor why thats ok.

evo, I agree with you more than you think. You are right, these things should not happen in our country. As far as politics and corruption go Trinidad and Tobago is by no means unique. Most times the richer the country the more corruption takes place (blessing and curse all in one). I do not believe that this current UNC party will govern this country any better (I haven't heard anything from them yet that will convince me otherwise) and you believe they will. These are our opinions that we are both entitled to. I was not trying to turn this into the typical UNC or PNM bashing thread, I was simply presenting an alternative view on a topic. On these forums PNM is painted as the devil and UNC as something squeaky clean that can and will never do wrong which is a very poor representation of reality. Eg. Jack Warner by far does not have a clean record.

I think if we were more constructive and objective when discussing our country's affairs we would be asking the right questions of the right ppl and be getting better results.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » May 7th, 2010, 1:36 pm

Ok pyromaniak

let me ask you- if given another chance in office do you think ANythign will change under this current pee ennem????

Will life be any better? Safer? will the Social aspect of people be addressed?

Will the definition of the word democracy finally be adhered to by the partys leader?

Well the people get a say in whats good for them?

josh

Postby josh » May 7th, 2010, 3:20 pm

don't understand how people can vote them...definitely hadda be race

this is what u r voting for when u vote for 'pee on them'

*property land tax which can keep increasing yearly(up to d gov't)

*smelta plants(which he is getting millions of dollars cut for doin so in this country)

*no vision for what will happen when resources finish in this country

and of course i could go on and on and on with the usual if he does happen to by chance to win this time- oh lord 'increased gas price again by a$$hole nunez teishera...which from there is raised everything, food sky high, they may increase road charges more again, and list goes on, nothing to help water supply, farmers, increased electricity, rent...basically everything

when unc was last in power
this country ran the smoothest
anybody in this forum could object to that is a liar

all of that just to say look a black man in power like me
'he powerful' i black too, can't have no other race run pm in this country and make myself look like a nothing nah'
think when u r voting racial people
how the country was then to now and see who will be suffering if he elected back

my 2 cents

sparky

Postby sparky » May 7th, 2010, 3:27 pm

i want my million in my hand

eyephone

Postby eyephone » May 7th, 2010, 6:28 pm

friends don't let friends vote for the pnm.

Postby zoom rader » May 7th, 2010, 7:27 pm

josh wrote:don't understand how people can vote them...definitely hadda be race

this is what u r voting for when u vote for 'pee on them'

*property land tax which can keep increasing yearly(up to d gov't)

*smelta plants(which he is getting millions of dollars cut for doin so in this country)

*no vision for what will happen when resources finish in this country

and of course i could go on and on and on with the usual if he does happen to by chance to win this time- oh lord 'increased gas price again by a$$hole nunez teishera...which from there is raised everything, food sky high, they may increase road charges more again, and list goes on, nothing to help water supply, farmers, increased electricity, rent...basically everything

when unc was last in power
this country ran the smoothest
anybody in this forum could object to that is a liar

all of that just to say look a black man in power like me
'he powerful' i black too, can't have no other race run pm in this country and make myself look like a nothing nah'
think when u r voting racial people
how the country was then to now and see who will be suffering if he elected back

my 2 cents

Good write up dude !

josh

Postby josh » May 7th, 2010, 8:07 pm

Return to “T&T GENERAL ELECTIONS 2010”