Jason Johnson.

An archive of the political discussions posted here for the 2010 T&T General Elections

Naka

Jason Johnson.

Postby Naka » May 4th, 2010, 7:25 pm

I'm not for any political party. Swear it. I just against racism. I remember this when I was a lil younger and never forgot that scene.

What are yur views? I know it's not really political, but lemme hear u guys. :D

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 4th, 2010, 7:37 pm

Well citizen Volney needs to tell us the people exactly what went on. I still voting UNC though.

Postby pete » May 4th, 2010, 7:48 pm

Naka

Postby Naka » May 4th, 2010, 9:20 pm

^aye thanks man.
What about Boyce, I wonder if he still dwells on it, or if he remorseful.

Postby pugboy » May 5th, 2010, 5:47 am

the alleged real story is that a nurse in the hospital made a mistake one night with the life support tubes he was on, had them hooked up wrong or something like that one night.

when they found out this the judge had to find a way to cut the trial short and used the excuse against the pathologist doctor.

the same doctor he dissed continues to do work in that field and in legal cases..........

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » May 5th, 2010, 6:05 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161652575

WHY I FREED BRAD BOYCE
Volney: I cannot be blamed
Ria Taitt Political Editor
Wednesday, May 5th 2010

UNITED NATIONAL CONGRESS (COP) St Joseph candidate Herbert Volney, a former High Court judge, yesterday defended his 1998 judgment which led to the freeing of Brad Boyce, saying that if people knew the facts of that case, they would understand why he ruled the way he did.

The Brad Boyce case, in which Volney in 1998 directed a nine-member jury to return a not guilty verdict in favour of Boyce, who was on trial for unlawfully killing Jason Johnson, was resurrected when a small group of protestors stormed the UNC meeting at St Joseph on Monday night during Volney’s address.

Speaking to the Express in a telephone interview yesterday, Volney said:

’People should read my judgment and they would quite well understand why I ruled as I had. Most people don’t recall the facts of the Brad Boyce trial. It was a case of mismanagement and a matter of intervening cause of death-broncho pneumonia, he said.

’The person (Johnson) died from something totally unrelated to the initial injury. And the onus was on the State..to negate that, that intervening event was not the substantial cause of death. The State had failed to do so,’ he added.

DEFENDS JUDGMENT: Herbert Volney

’The guy (Johnson) died not from the injuries sustained (from the blow from Boyce) but from broncho-pneumonia, (which came) because the nurses put a feeding tube down into his lungs and because of all the food that went down into his lungs. They placed him on a ventilator and the ventilator malfunctioned. And the State had to prove that it was not medical negligence on the part of the San Fernando Hospital that had been the substantial cause of death. And the State failed to do so. So I upheld the submission of no case. People don’t seem to understand the law. They just see the result and they conclude ’travesty’ (of justice).

He stated further that his decision in this case was reviewed by the Court of Appeal. The State lost its appeal against his decision and they (Court of Appeal) did not order a retrial, he noted. The State appealed again to the Privy Council which did not order a retrial, Volney said. ’The system has three layers and I was just the first. I can’t be blamed for the eventual so-called travesty of justice. There are two courts of review after me. Why don’t they (the protestors and his detractors) blame the other courts including the Court of Appeal in which three judges reviewed my decision? Why don’t they blame them? Why didn’t they order a retrial? Why don’t they blame the Privy Council for not ordering a retrial? Why are they only training their guns on me and not at the Court of Appeal or the Privy Council? They want to blame me because it is expedient to them to blame me,’ Volney stated.

The Privy Council did not order a retrial because of the nine-year lapse of time since the incident occurred. -See box

He added: ’Our system is three strikes. Three strikes! Not one’.

Volney also responded to concerns about his discussing the Naraynsingh case on the political platform. ’That matter was dead. It is finished, out of the court system. I happened to know what happened behind the scenes, because it was quite clear from the evidence. And I am quite capable of commenting on the evidence because the matter is at an end. It is not sub judice,’ Volney said.

However Volney, who gave a very fiery address on Monday night, said that the rhetoric of his first political speech would not be reproduced in his subsequent addresses on the platform. ’The rhetoric of that first meeting is not going to be the way I shall be speaking hereinafter. I am going to be dealing with issues of crime and law and order’.

On his statements on Attorney General John Jeremie, Volney said: ’Mr Jeremie is a former senator, he would be out of Parliament momentarily. I don’t care to comment on him. I have said what I had to. He is not worth my effort. I would be talking on the platform on crime, good governance of the criminal justice system and public order.

Asked about his rubber snake which he so dramatically pulled out and which looked so real, he laughed and said it belonged to his six-year-old son.

On the protestors, Volney said the Opposition intelligence indicated that the protestors were mobilised and gathered at the PNM St Joseph office.

He said should a similar situation reoccur he believes that the police would be better able to deal with the situation than they did on Monday night. ’I think that the police did not know the election law and they felt that they could not have acted as they ought to have. But what happened there- is conduct that is likely to result in a breach of peace. Because it almost come to that,’ he said.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » May 5th, 2010, 6:29 am

Why all the brad boyce noise now? People need to stop acting like sheep.

Because the man, maybe made a few bad judgements it means he's a mc? alya still voting for patos and look what that arseface do.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » May 5th, 2010, 6:29 am

toyota2nr wrote:Well citizen Volney needs to tell us the people exactly what went on. I still voting UNC though.

Why? Citizen volney doh owe anybody an explanation if you ask me.
He delivered a judgement, it there for all to read.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » May 5th, 2010, 7:40 am

TYPICAL pnm nastyness- bring up a Big RACISM issue !

HOW about the fact that The government does not want any INDIAN based forms of Entertainment in the NAPA???

:roll: :roll: :roll:

STEUPS on the whole boyce issue- the other guy started a racism issue outside of a nighclub and he got Served!

proud

Postby proud » May 5th, 2010, 7:41 am

I suggest that you keep your minds open on this Volney character, I think it was a poor choice...

http://guardian.co.tt/news/crime/2010/0 ... r-11-years

http://www.trinidadandtobagonews.com/fo ... /read/3447

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » May 5th, 2010, 7:42 am

volney better than 1 Biiiiiiillion sewer rats! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby ronsin1 » May 5th, 2010, 7:47 am

but wait since When Trinidadians does remember that far back

I though we had a 9 day memory :|

or we only remember what we want

toyota2nr

Volney?

Postby toyota2nr » May 5th, 2010, 9:53 am

crazychinee wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:Well citizen Volney needs to tell us the people exactly what went on. I still voting UNC though.

Why? Citizen volney doh owe anybody an explanation if you ask me.
He delivered a judgement, it there for all to read.

I believe he needed to clear the air on that matter. A large section of the population still believes that there was some sort of corruption in that case, especially since the defendant was WHITE. That continuously leads to the public perception that white people get away with anything in T&T.

One of Volney's reasons for aborting the case was that Dr. Hughvon DeVignes was not a forensic pathologist but an ordinary pathologist and as such had no authority to give evidence as a forensic pathologist. Even though the goodly doctor accredited and working in that role for years in Canada.

Postby Country_Bookie » May 5th, 2010, 12:03 pm

From the link provided, the matter seems to hinge on this part:

On the question of causation, the State called two medical witnesses. Both were young and relatively inexperienced. Dr des Etages was a recently qualified houseman who had observed the craniotomy (his first) and afterwards took notes of Johnson’s treatment in the neurosurgery recovery unit and, after the onset of his respiratory failure, in the intensive care unit. Dr des Vignes was the pathologist who had conducted the autopsy. He had been employed by the Trinidad and Tobago Forensic Science Centre since the previous November.

Dr des Vignes was firm in his view that Johnson had died of the complications of the concussive injuries to the brain which he had received and not because of any mishaps which had or might have occurred in the hospital. At the end of the prosecution case there was a submission of no case to answer which the judge rejected. The accused then gave evidence in support of his claim to have acted in self-defence and the defence called Dr Daisley, a medical expert. His opinion was that Johnson’s treatment in hospital had caused his death.

Events then took an unusual course. After Dr Daisley had been cross-examined, but before re-examination, the judge of his own motion recalled Dr des Vignes to ask him about his qualifications in forensic pathology. It appeared that he was not registered as such with the Trinidad and Tobago Medical Board and that his fellowship in Alberta was more in the nature of an apprenticeship than a formal course leading to a certificate or diploma. Instead, the Chief Medical Examiner, under whose general supervision he had performed some 270 autopsies, had simply written a letter recommending Dr des Vignes as competent to act as a forensic pathologist and he had been so employed by the Forensic Science Centre.

The judge then, still acting of his own accord, called Professor Chandulal, the Chief Forensic Pathologist, to ask him about the qualifications required for civil service appointment as a forensic pathologist. He said that one needed a medical degree followed by a postgraduate degree in forensic pathology which would be accepted as registrable by the Medical Board of Trinidad and Tobago. Professor Chandulal said that he was registered as a forensic pathologist but that Dr des Vignes was not.

After hearing this evidence and submissions from counsel, the judge decided that Dr des Vignes was not qualified as an expert for the purpose of giving an opinion on the cause of death and that his evidence was inadmissible and should be withdrawn from the jury. He then ruled that the evidence of Dr des Etanges did not provide a sufficient basis for a finding by the jury that Boyce had caused Johnson’s death and directed the jury to acquit.

It would seem that Volney took the view that Des Vignes was not suitably qualified because he was unwilling to admit that the feeding tubes incident played a part in the death of Johnson.

Consider the alternative if Volney did not dismiss the case and sent it to the jury. If u were a member of the jury, would u be convinced beyond a reasonable doubt that it was Boyce’s blow that led to Johnson’s death, and not the feeding tubes incident? Even if u had full faith in Des Vignes’ qualifications, I would be wondering whether he was covering up for SFGH and the possible liability the State would face if he came out and said that they had killed Johnson. Did he think that he would be seen as corrupt if he exonerated the rich white boy and did that play a factor in his decision?

After reading the Privy Council judgement, I appreciate that it was not as black and white as the media had made it out to be. Volney did what he thought was right. He was wrong, but so too were Justices Sharma, Jones and Nelson JJA.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » May 5th, 2010, 12:42 pm

what about the case where a ministers Husband was supposeldy up on a suspected almost rape case?

the attourney was allegedly chased through POS by the supposed raped womans boyfriend?

the attourney is the husband of the pnm minister.

what ever became of that case?

Postby ronsin1 » May 5th, 2010, 1:33 pm

^^ I don't remember that :|

This damn 9 days memory of mine

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » May 5th, 2010, 2:01 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:what about the case where a ministers Husband was supposeldy up on a suspected almost rape case?

the attourney was allegedly chased through POS by the supposed raped womans boyfriend?

the attourney is the husband of the pnm minister.

what ever became of that case?

buss d file na

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 5th, 2010, 3:42 pm

as someone who knows both parties (actually sat next to Jason in St Anthony's and am now Brad is one of my best friends) it is disgusting to see this brought up, but glad that Volney said what he said in the papers about his ruling - even though i do think Volney is NUTZ

I really glad brad is not in the country for all this bull, but i know his mom and family must be a nervous wreck over it., and hope that the johnson family can finally get some closure and stop having this brought up over and over every election..

and to the person who asked, Brad is extremely remorseful of the entire situation and very sympathetic to the family. he has publicly stated this numerous times.

this was jsut a cheap shot by the pnm, imagine if a set of DO SO protesters showed up at a PNM rally with placards about UDECOTT, HART, Guanapo Church, Lara Stadium, etc etc.. what would have happen??

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 5th, 2010, 4:31 pm

^^^them pee en em ppl eh civilized as d uncop ppl so riot wud break out ....

trinibourbon

Postby trinibourbon » May 5th, 2010, 4:33 pm

http://guardian.co.tt/news/crime/2010/0 ... r-11-years

Protesters included Stephen Johnson, brother of slain Jason Johnson.

Naka

Postby Naka » May 5th, 2010, 5:50 pm

Bezman wrote:as someone who knows both parties (actually sat next to Jason in St Anthony's and am now Brad is one of my best friends) it is disgusting to see this brought up, but glad that Volney said what he said in the papers about his ruling - even though i do think Volney is NUTZ

I really glad brad is not in the country for all this bull, but i know his mom and family must be a nervous wreck over it., and hope that the johnson family can finally get some closure and stop having this brought up over and over every election..

and to the person who asked, Brad is extremely remorseful of the entire situation and very sympathetic to the family. he has publicly stated this numerous times.

this was jsut a cheap shot by the pnm, imagine if a set of DO SO protesters showed up at a PNM rally with placards about UDECOTT, HART, Guanapo Church, Lara Stadium, etc etc.. what would have happen??

Apart from the political part of this speach, this was cool. And if what u say is true, that's a cool scene and that is all I need to hear, so this thread can be locked if it's anything. Cool.

Naka

Postby Naka » May 5th, 2010, 5:51 pm

btw, one more thing, did they know each other, prior to the murder?

Postby pete » May 5th, 2010, 7:44 pm

^^ What murder?! :?

Naka

Postby Naka » May 5th, 2010, 11:47 pm

^wrong choice of words, did they know each other prior to the altercation?

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » May 6th, 2010, 2:48 am

accordin to garvin nicholas on ian alleyne's morning show, he saw sewerratsing organizing the 'protestors' outside his office a little while prior to the volney incident.

Postby janfar » May 6th, 2010, 4:56 am

NANCY JOHNSON, the mother of Jason Johnson who was killed 14 years ago, said yesterday she was unaware of any plans to picket the United National Congress (UNC) meeting in St Joseph on Monday during retired Justice Herbert Volney’s maiden speech on the political platform.

Nancy Johnson said yesterday, ’I believed someone decided to do it (the protest) on their own
,’ but to this day she believed that Brad Boyce, who faced trial for unlawfully killing her son, had, ’some sort of weapon,’ that night.

She said the family had moved from their Cornelio Street, Woodbrook home because, ’anytime I opened Jason’s bedroom it would carry me back. I said I cannot live in that house anymore.’

Years after the incident, Nancy Johnson and her husband Stephen Johnson separated.

’I forgive Volney,’ she said yesterday, ’but I will never forget what he did.’

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161653549

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » May 6th, 2010, 7:26 am

janfar wrote:NANCY JOHNSON, the mother of Jason Johnson who was killed 14 years ago, said yesterday she was unaware of any plans to picket the United National Congress (UNC) meeting in St Joseph on Monday during retired Justice Herbert Volney’s maiden speech on the political platform.

Nancy Johnson said yesterday, ’I believed someone decided to do it (the protest) on their own
,’ but to this day she believed that Brad Boyce, who faced trial for unlawfully killing her son, had, ’some sort of weapon,’ that night.

She said the family had moved from their Cornelio Street, Woodbrook home because, ’anytime I opened Jason’s bedroom it would carry me back. I said I cannot live in that house anymore.’

Years after the incident, Nancy Johnson and her husband Stephen Johnson separated.

what did volney do? carry out justice Utilitizing ALL THE FACTS???

Steups- if yuh faking son was not getting on racial outside a night club- he would still be here!- no one is to blame except your own son!

Postby Gladiator » May 6th, 2010, 7:27 am

evo-STI-k wrote:
janfar wrote:NANCY JOHNSON, the mother of Jason Johnson who was killed 14 years ago, said yesterday she was unaware of any plans to picket the United National Congress (UNC) meeting in St Joseph on Monday during retired Justice Herbert Volney’s maiden speech on the political platform.

what did volney do? carry out justice Utilitizing ALL THE FACTS???

Steups- if yuh faking son was not getting on racial outside a night club- he would still be here!- no one is to blame except your own son!

Shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh...... the truth is not wanted here!!!

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » May 6th, 2010, 8:17 am

NAh man Gladiator- ah fed up with the Political Idiots using Race and bringing out dead horses to motivate stupid people!

imagine playing with the death of a child in order to promote a political party!

Thats the TYPE of people YOU want to continue to run your country?

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » May 6th, 2010, 8:23 am

evo-STI-k wrote:imagine playing with the death of a child in order to promote a political party!

UNC should bring up the death of the girl in laventille when manning had said some schupidness bout how 'there is more to that' or sumthing so.

Return to “T&T GENERAL ELECTIONS 2010”