Motorcycle Riders

Carenage7

Postby Carenage7 » April 26th, 2010, 10:05 pm

Motorcyclists

I was going to post this as a separate topic but I thought I'd take advantage of a captive audience.

I wanted to hear your story of sourcing/purchasing your bike.

I'll start. After riding a trail bike for a short while, I decided to look for a small street bike. I was in the market for a 250cc street bike. My search took me about 4 months, and I eventually landed a grey market 250cc Suzuki bandit. The rest is history and I'll just say I'm an advocate for avoiding all grey market bikes like the plague.

So, there seems to be only three ways of procuring a motorcycle:

1) Buying one second/third/fourth etc hand off a private owner
This has inherent risk including unknown service history, paperwork problems and general seller dishonesty.

2) Buying one from a 'dealer' or someone who has a stock of imported motorcycles.
The T&T market for street motorcycles, generally, is split into two categories. Supersport and cruisers. For simplicity I've left out dual purpose, supermoto, and trail bikes converted to supermoto by way of tire changes.

3) Having someone bring in one for you.

I'm partial to modern naked standard motorcycles, and with the aforementioned street motorcycle market, potential buyers have their pick of supersport motorcycles, and to a lesser extent, cruisers.
Personally, I've found the search for a motorcycle I want difficult.
Maybe I should force myself to become a supersport rider...... Seems as though you could close your eyes and pick out a GSX-R, CBR, R6 at random.
But look for a naked standard and things become a little harder.
This isn't a RFP or WTB post necessarily, feel free though. I just wanted to get a feel for your personal experiences.

How did you source your bike?

Was it a stressful or stress-free experience?

If someone brought one in for you, how do you rate the experience?

Thanks for your time.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 26th, 2010, 10:27 pm

My first 4 bikes were from previous local owners.
Bought my last 3 bikes (Foreign used) from Elif... Rate the experience second to non.

:twisted:

All bikes were properly licenses and with original keys and spares.
I doh play with jokers and con men.

You always get what you pay for in this industry.

8-)
Last edited by *Phoenix* on April 27th, 2010, 9:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » April 27th, 2010, 6:38 am

My 2 bikes were from local owners.. first was mint..
second took a minor fall.. frame slider, slight rash on shock and plastics..
owner didnt want to ride again and the price was right so i took it :lol:
First was hassle free, second was a little hassle as the orange and black scheme for the 08 CBR RR was a beyotch to source.. but this was handled by the man above. Elif
He will give advice, source parts, teach you to ride if you need etc etc.. bring in a specific bike (once u willing to wait)

My experience with my 2nd bike taught me about model specific fixing, sourcing of parts etc mounting up of plastics etc etc

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » April 27th, 2010, 8:28 am

paper work is the key.
No certified copy or the owner has a 'link' in license office, be very wary.
And look out for if a deal looks too good...
I was told about a zx14 that had some minor superficial damage for around $40k...
The owner had a link to get it registered etc...
Turns out that the bike is flagged in License office and officer Drakes said that anywhere he sees the bike riding he'll seize it...the bike cannot be licensed....
The owner couldn't care less, he's still trying to sell it but the bike community is too small for that, all the major players know that this bike has issues and they advise potential buyers accordingly.
I've had three bikes and two were bought from local owners, one from a foreign used dealer who brought in a unit with correct paper work and the bike was registered locally on my name.
no issues with none.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » April 27th, 2010, 8:55 am

My first bike was an 07 R1.
The bike was imported from Miami brand new by a Mr. AB. Bike came complete in a crate. Was never disassembled. However, he had to sell the bike due to family issues, and I bought it from him doing only 400 miles.
My second bike is an 08 R6.
This was ordered from the Yamaha Dealer (Greene)
Bike was imported brand new and came in a crate.
Both bikes were properly liscenced and have all doccumentation and service history. Both bikes are only serviced by the Yamaha Dealer.
My 08 R6 is now for sale. 8-)

modifierz

Postby modifierz » April 27th, 2010, 9:06 am

My first bike was a '05 CBR 600RR bought locally, I was the second owner. My second was a '07 CBR 1000RR brought in from Miami. No problems or stress buying both bikes, once you stay away from the grey area, you'll be fine.

crotch rocket

Postby crotch rocket » April 27th, 2010, 5:55 pm

Original keys and ignition dont matter now of these days.. no need in even looking at that cause that can be easily changed and they can be bought brand new from company.. once US title and import paperwork is there then thats one of the most efficient way of telling bike is "clean".. so dont think OEM keys and spares are the only way of telling that your bike is clean.. :wink:

donuts

Postby donuts » April 27th, 2010, 6:04 pm

crotch rocket, That is true, you guys must always ask for title before buying bikes.. Hear stories about many of the "top" bike sellers who you all buy bikes from sell "hot" bikes.. At the end of the day it is up to you to buy one but when licence office catch up to you then thats another story.

You guys can check your chassie # aka vin # on this website to see if your bikes are good or not

https://www.nicb.org/theft_and_fraud_awareness/vincheck

donuts

Postby donuts » April 27th, 2010, 6:06 pm

Keyser Soze wrote:paper work is the key.

Rocketraz1982

Postby Rocketraz1982 » April 27th, 2010, 7:27 pm

Hey everyone long time since i last posted been mad busy house building and not riding :(

Man bike history in the UK it started with
MODEL YEAR
Honda NSR 125 1990
Yamaha TZR 125 1994
Aprilia RS125 2001 Would still ride one now so much fun
Suzuki GSXR 400 SP 1994X2 Great bike
Honda CBR 600 F1 2001
Suzuki DRZ 400 E Smoto/Enduro 2001
Honda CBR 400 Gull arm 1993
Kawasaki ZX7R SP 1998
Suzuki Bandit 600 1998
Yamaha R1 2007

Race bikes
Triumph 675
Honda CR250 MX

Still own in UK
CCM 404 E Smoto/Enduro
Honda VFR400 NC30 1993 great fun bike

Bought my trusted Honda NX650 Rally+Overland travel bike V.SPECIAL to TT Sadly having to sell soon :(

90% of these i purchased private and have never had a single problem why please read

Paperwork is key but not foolproof...If a newish bike has no service history or recipts ETC ask why!!!!!!!!!!!

With sportsbikes always ask to see under the fairings as they hid lots of problems..Snapped engine mounts frame dents =BIG PROBLEMS

When i go to look at a bike i look at what the owner is like as much as the bikes condition..If he has a nice garage with a snap on tool chest more often than not you will get a good bike...If you ask the owner what engine oil he uses and he doesnt know run away very fast..And always feel if theres heat coming from the engine before you first start it up..If there is has the guy selling it started it to hid a possible cold start or rattle problem

Be blatant and ask how many time has he crashed it he may well just come out and say er well twice BINGO

TEST RIDE If you are a new rider take a friend that is a bit more clued up :) when you start off get the bike in second gear open the trottel slowly until you are at 3/4 trottel hold for around 8 seconds if there is a clutch problem if will show up with the revs slipping like mad (SECOND GEAR IS BEST FOR THIS TEST)
Make sure it rides in a straight line ok..when riding take the pressure off the bars and see if it holds a straight line removing you hands from the bars is best but not on a corner fast/busy/bumpy road STUPID
test ride should be 10mins

TOP TIP
When selling a bike check your tyre pressures..A friend was selling a Kawasaki zx10 Mint condition and i knew it had never gone down the road. He had 3 different people come to view all was going well until the test ride they all came back saying it handled like a POS..He was blaming the KTECH Front suspension i had fitted a few weeks prior :roll:
when i checked the front tyre pressue it was 21 PSI the rear was 23 :oops: a few days after a fourth guy came to view he took it out for a test ride and came back saying how well it handled and the bike was sold :P ...........correct pressure =best suspension mod you can do without spending a pound sorry doller!!!!!!

Any questions just ask!!!!!!!!

P.S Im putting a single bike trailer up in the F.S section within a hour check it out

Peace

modifierz

Postby modifierz » April 27th, 2010, 7:46 pm

Very true. Good read, especially for beginners

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 27th, 2010, 8:35 pm

modifierz sorry to hear u selling.........but man the UK has a shitty climate....especially for riding.......last year i was there for 6 weeks and it rained 6 days a week.......and the other day had fog :|

but u will get better options riding wise and the riding community is much much larger.......which has the downside of meeting the "squids" :lol: :lol:

BTW anyone has a contact for Elif?
i'd like to give him a call......thanks. :fadein:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 27th, 2010, 11:13 pm

sure... Elif - 747-3543

Tell him Saied from Princes Town gave it to you.. 8-)

Rocketraz1982

Postby Rocketraz1982 » April 28th, 2010, 1:10 pm

modifierz.. What part of the UK you off to????

modifierz

Postby modifierz » April 28th, 2010, 1:12 pm

Dublin

Rocketraz1982

Postby Rocketraz1982 » April 28th, 2010, 1:32 pm

Ha you do know you will be getin drunk every f-ing night the Irish love to drink :D

If you was off to London i would have given you some details of my old shop!! they could have hooked you up with a decent bike and some riding kit for a good price....And Dublin isnt UK its in southern Ireland if you say to anyone they are English or British you would be in trouble just a heads up as there is a lot of bad blood with the English :shock:

Your biggest problem if you wanted a bike is insurance its mega expensive due to the riots of the 1980s and 90s even a old guy with 15 years riding experience will pay like over 1000 pounds or 10'000 TT a year for a POS bike

Good thing is you will get payed in Euros and they = lots of $$$$$$$

modifierz

Postby modifierz » April 28th, 2010, 1:36 pm

Good looking out, I'll keep that in mind. My uncle lives in Dublin, so I have an idea of their drinking patterns :lol:

I will end up in London eventually, when my probation is over. Can't wait to buy my first bike over there.

Send me the info, I might have use for it. :mrgreen:

Rocketraz1982

Postby Rocketraz1982 » April 28th, 2010, 2:23 pm

shop details

Harpers raceshop London google for contact number

the guy to talk to is Ahmed he can sort out the clothing plus security chains etc.. And would be the first stop for a good used bike if he hasnt got anything he should be able to help. Ebay is the best source for used bikes in the UK as most people are fair weather riders :roll: so alot of bikes are used as toys rather than a proper form of transport hence low mileage well cared for example are a dime a dozen..Dont bid but contact the seller go along and view the bike with some cash and do a deal

A naked bike Honda Hornet or Bandit Etc will cost about 50% less to insure than a faired sports bike. If you are over 25 i would think you would pay around 200-300 pounds TPFT your first year (Bike sure insurance) is a good company. Road tax is about 45 pounds a year for a bike and the MOT (Vehicle check and is V.Strict) is about 25 pounds a year... DO NOT OVER LOOK THESE AS THE POLICE WILL FINE THE HELL OUT OF YOU AND YOU WILL LOOSE THE BIKE YOUR LICENCE AND WONT EVER GET INSURED AGAIN!!!!!

If you want a new or good second hand bike check out Johns of Romford in Romford Essex they are a main Honda dealer go to the workshop and ask for Aaron see what he can do for you both places just say (Ray) sent ya

Have a look on the DVLA website for licence information not sure how a Trini licence is viewed you may be able to ride for 6 months before you have to do a test and believe me the European test is really hard.
Go to Probike rider training in Chingford for your training good guys and they will get you up to speed really quick they are the best in the UK... Cost will be about 400 pounds

As for when you are in Dublin just get some waterproofs and a decent push bike :P

modifierz

Postby modifierz » April 28th, 2010, 2:29 pm

Thanks alot bro, This will come in very handy :mrgreen:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 28th, 2010, 10:22 pm

*Phoenix*, thanks for the number.....will give him a call later this week.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » April 29th, 2010, 3:06 am

Not a Probs Bro!

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » April 29th, 2010, 1:16 pm

Reading the info above from Rocketraz1982, and it's always great to know bikers look out for each other where ever in the world you may be or be from :)

That's one of the things I admire most about the biking community we've always got each others' back :)

modifierz, when you get to Dublin, bust in the Pub doors, raise your right hand in the air clenched in a fist and yell "give me freedom......or give me death" :lol:

modifierz

Postby modifierz » April 29th, 2010, 2:50 pm

^^^aaii laddy :lol:

prakash

2009 suzuki gsxr 1000

Postby prakash » April 29th, 2010, 11:06 pm

Tuners whats a reasonable price for a unit like this ?

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » April 30th, 2010, 9:55 am

^^ the 09 Gixxer 1000......it depends used from a local dealer will probably run you into between 60K - 65K on average, if it's in exceptional condition with very low milage (less than 500) I'd say about 70K

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » April 30th, 2010, 11:26 am

Anyone know anything about the said bike accident?

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... c&&start=0

modifierz

Postby modifierz » April 30th, 2010, 9:43 pm

^^^Haven't heard anything about that. Fellas rell idle in that thread :lol:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » May 1st, 2010, 7:31 am

Weekend again fellaz..... What allyuh up too?

Rocketraz1982

Postby Rocketraz1982 » May 1st, 2010, 7:58 am

Hey guys ive just put a front wheel chock up for sale in classifieds..
If you have a pick up or van could make transporting your bike much safer

check it out
Later

suspeck

Postby suspeck » May 1st, 2010, 9:56 am