WTK: could the oil change every 10 000 using syntetic oil

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
topshotta20

WTK: could the oil change every 10 000 using syntetic oil

Postby topshotta20 » April 15th, 2010, 10:53 pm

As the topic says
WTK: If the oil could change every 10 000 using syntetic oil

Cause I spoked with the service manager and he said because of the diesel we have in trinidad, he advised me to change it every 5000 regardless of what oil i use.

WTK this cause i doing 5000 in a month and a half
could cost me cheaper to use syntetic oil rather than mineral and change every 10 000

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » April 15th, 2010, 11:30 pm

First of all, ALL the dealer will tell you that. They would make half as much money from you.
Secondly you may have warranty problems if you service every 10,000 kms.
So basically if you want to keep your warranty you have to pay the big money. Sorry.

On the other hand if you say go to hell Mr. Dealer then yes you could run your vehicle to 10,000 kms and have no adverse effects. Your fuel filters may need changing before that though depending on the vehicle, where you fill up and other things.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 16th, 2010, 7:07 am

im changin every 10,000km from now...but im still doing a service, minus oil change every 5000km...so the overall bill will be less and no worries with the warranty

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 16th, 2010, 7:30 am

jhonnieblue wrote:im changin every 10,000km from now...but im still doing a service, minus oil change every 5000km...so the overall bill will be less and no worries with the warranty

Is that possible ? - The reason i am asking is because the retarded Mazda dealership tell me i MUST do an oil change by them in order for the warranty to be honoured.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 16th, 2010, 8:04 am

i called N&M and spoke to the service manager and they told me its no prob to do the oil change every10,000km.but i just hav to come in for the normal check up as scheduled

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » April 16th, 2010, 8:15 am

I have taken a decision to STOP servicing by Southern Sales becuase of the poor, dont-care attitude, lack of technical expertise and the worse customer service in the universe (not the world)

The rip you off your hard earned money and then treats you shity on top of that.

This is me: "Im hearing a noise coming from the back, rattling - can you check it out please"

Southern Sales: "Doh study it - is a van"

WTMC ! - that was it there

Rah

Postby Rah » April 17th, 2010, 7:22 am

To be honest if you check the european Navara websites you will realise that most service every 10 000 KM and some even more. Read some of the reviews and the specifically talk about extended or higher service intervals. From my experience the 10 000 Km services are the bigger services, 5000Km ones seem to be a waste of time. I have also made the decision *recently* to service every 10,000 Km. Most synthetic can easily do 10,000 Km, the Castrol they use on the Navaras at Neal and Massy can also do the 10, 000 m. Check the website.
What i do is the other small stuff like checking battery water level, rotate tyres etc.
PS if in doubt try and remember that most pickups are supposedly "work" vehicles, few ppl who work a vehicle can do 5000 Km services, in fact most fleet vehicles service every 10.....

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 17th, 2010, 9:02 am

Rah, N&M dont use castrol...they use kendell, hence the need for a 5k service :|

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 18th, 2010, 12:14 pm

So...what does the vehicle owner's manual say? I would think the manufacturer's advice should be followed.

I remember reading in Road & Track that they recommended the vehicle manufacturer's advice be followed concerning the oil change interval rather than the oil manufacturer's claims.

Rah

Postby Rah » April 18th, 2010, 8:12 pm

Strange Jhonnieblue, they have always used Castrol hypuron with me. Rory i will check the service manual. As for obeying what the manufacturer states, there is a big debate in America about that, basically many ppl still change oil every 5000 Km and a lot of manufacturers recommend that but a lot of studies are showing that with the new oils of today combined with the newer more efficient vehicles, most oils can last minimum of 7,500 Km, most 10 000 and above.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 18th, 2010, 8:57 pm

well they told me kendell when i called this week.hence the reason for going with amsoil..i know the basis for the design of common rail engine allowed for oil changes every 10,000km for sythetic oils

Rah

Postby Rah » April 19th, 2010, 3:11 pm

Manual recommends changes every 5000 KM but as stated before most european dealerships change at 10,000 KM. Additionally N&M has used Castrol tection not hypurion every time i have serviced.

I my self i am going to try the amsoil.

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » April 20th, 2010, 9:38 am

i have been using the amsoil 15W40 heavy duty diesel and marine oil from the very first day I bought my ranger. Every 5000 km I take a sample and send it to out oil analysis lab to check viscosity breakdown, wear metals, detergents etc.

I change my oil every 20,000KM that's right 20,000 km and my ranger is a TCL, bought in 2008 nov and she is currently doing 105,558 KM (yeah ah does do reel driving)

The amsoil maring diesel synthetic has proven itself so if you'd like you can email me at oilsolltd@gmail.com and I would be happy to email you all out oil analysis reports on meh goat.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”