jsr

landscaping question for backyard flooring

Postby jsr » April 18th, 2010, 6:47 pm

i want to relocate a concrete bench and table set to my back yad

it is however just dirt and grass

i am looking for an inexpensive way to put a temporary flooring so that my foot would not get bitten by ants etc when i it down.

the reason why i wan something temporary is that the area has to be filled later on for an extension to the house.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 18th, 2010, 7:00 pm

how about those interlocking pavers

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 18th, 2010, 7:52 pm

jsr

Postby jsr » April 18th, 2010, 8:03 pm

pavers may be a bit expensive

unless i get a bargain

Postby eliteauto » April 18th, 2010, 11:53 pm

cheapest way is to use tree rings or pavers to form a border around the area you want paved and backfill the area with gravel and top off with deco stones you get the park effect and the removal is easy when you wanna expand the house

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 19th, 2010, 8:04 am

Same or similar product here is $60/tile :?

jsr

Postby jsr » April 19th, 2010, 10:23 pm

i was thinking of using a vinyl sheets and topping it with broken tiles and tinset

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 20th, 2010, 12:01 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:

true but it is easily movable and it will last very long
you can make a deck anywhere you want later on, at any time.

Postby eliteauto » April 20th, 2010, 12:07 am

jsr wrote:i was thinking of using a vinyl sheets and topping it with broken tiles and tinset

that's fairly permanent and more costly that the option i presented which looks like this:

just adjust to scale for your bench and foot area

jsr

Postby jsr » April 21st, 2010, 12:38 pm

i have to factor in i have two dogs in the yard

jsr

Postby jsr » April 22nd, 2010, 9:34 am

bump

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » April 22nd, 2010, 10:18 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:

where u getting that Duane?

sufferrar

Postby sufferrar » April 25th, 2010, 12:57 am

Look up quikcrete walkmaker molds. Look for the coblestone design. You place the mold on the ground and fill with concrete. Then lift off. 2 inches thick. I've got 2 of the molds and I wouldn't mind parting with one.
http://www.quikrete.com/ProductLines/Wa ... ountry.asp

ssaroop

Postby ssaroop » April 25th, 2010, 6:56 am

Home Store in Barataria next to FT Farfan is selling the Quikrete molds. I think the price is under $200. for one.

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 25th, 2010, 12:34 pm

ssaroop wrote:Home Store in Barataria next to FT Farfan is selling the Quikrete molds. I think the price is under $200. for one.

Good potential with these but remember they need to be filled with dirt etc to prevent movement and you still need to cut the grass that sprouts up.

Mudboy wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:

where u getting that Duane?

Available at Home Store and Roopnarine's Tile Mart.

Postby Rooki3 » April 25th, 2010, 1:27 pm

grass pavers are nice :D

jsr

Postby jsr » April 27th, 2010, 2:50 pm

bump

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 27th, 2010, 4:13 pm

go to bestcrete and buy grade 2 60mm pavers

tell dem i send yuh

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 27th, 2010, 4:16 pm

another option are bestcrete patio slabs 2" x 8" x 16" - 4.80 plus vat

grass pavers are $21.24 plus vat - 4" x 17" x 23"

Postby Rooki3 » April 27th, 2010, 4:21 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:go to bestcrete and buy grade 2 60mm pavers

tell dem i send yuh

jus walk een & say Ignorant Ignis sen mih :lol:

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 27th, 2010, 4:24 pm

Rooki3 wrote:

tell dem i send yuh

^^^yuh wouldn't be the first tuner :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

jsr

Postby jsr » April 28th, 2010, 8:27 am

thanks again for the tips

Postby SR » April 28th, 2010, 8:58 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:

tell dem i send yuh

^^^yuh wouldn't be the first tuner :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

specially if yuh go to thier central location

dem people say he reel ignant

Postby crazybalhead » April 28th, 2010, 9:00 am

He up Mt Hope these days. :lol:

Postby eliteauto » April 28th, 2010, 9:48 am

the maternity hospital?

jsr

Postby jsr » April 28th, 2010, 2:25 pm

called about the patio slABS
THEY said it may not take the weight of the concrete benchesas they are only 2 inches thick

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 29th, 2010, 8:47 am

^^^^ i was thinking the same thing ....... I pavers are your best bet cost wise

idlemind

Re: landscaping question for backyard flooring

Postby idlemind » December 4th, 2010, 8:22 pm

ignis how much for the Ipavers???

Im thinking about low cost, quick solution instead of mixing concrete esp so close to Christmas...not to mention i already painted and cement would force me to paint over.

I feel i could handle the Ipavers myself, but it must offset the cost of gravel, cement, labourers and more paint.

thanks if anyone can hit me a price.

greenlantern12

Re: landscaping question for backyard flooring

Postby greenlantern12 » June 19th, 2013, 5:18 pm

Looking for a excavator in south